We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, elegant decor, excellent staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
Ranked #2 of 38 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
295 reviews
292 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 311 helpful votes
“Good location, elegant decor, excellent staff”
Reviewed January 22, 2012

We much enjoyed our nine days in the Princesa Yaiza, well located at the E edge of ‘downtown’ Playa Blanca and beside one of its few beaches. (To find proper ‘playas blancas’, walk c. 5 km further E).

The decor is a design delight - sober elegance is methodically executed throughout and the hotel thankfully lacks the architectural dramatics/bling of its typical Canaries competitor. The (modernist) art collection is interesting and there are quality temporary exhibitions - Rubens prints from the Palais Luxembourg during our visit. The hotel seems well adapted to families and to people with mobility problems.

Our fourth floor ‘junior suite’ consisted of two large rooms, a large bathroom, a balcony and a mini-kitchen, all well equipped and with especially good storage. Our W facing ‘sea view’ certainly included the sea (and the nearby ‘mountains’) but also an undeveloped site, some nondescript commercial buildings in cream (in Lanzarote!) and a Burger King. However, we had good sun on the balcony from late morning.

The breakfast buffet is excellent and has good staff support, including eggs cooked to order. We also ate dinner in each of the four à la carte restaurants and thought three of them quite good. But the Kampai - a pretend-Japanese venue with noisy theatrical cooking - would not survive long in Tokyo.

All the staff we met seemed to be on a happy team and were friendly, attentive and helpful, especially those on Reception and Public Relations. Our few problems were dealt with quickly.

This is a genuine *****L hotel, operated to that standard. However, there were a few irritants. The (free) WiFi service covered only part of our suite, required frequent reconnection and was often overloaded and slow. None of the several bars was a quiet zone in the evening. The choice of wines by the glass was very poor (typically Spanish). Coffee quality at breakfast was inconsistent.

We have been visiting the Canaries for 39 years and have stayed in most of its best hotels. Taking everything into account, we think the Princesa Yaiza comes out on top (just) and is certainly the most elegant. Recommended.

Tip – there is a good choice of restaurants in the nearby Marina Rubicon and we enjoyed return visits to El Mirador and La Casa Roja, good value and competitive with the Princesa Yaiza’s offerings.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank globaltraveller200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PYaiza, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort, responded to this review, January 30, 2012
Good Evening,
First of all we would like to thank you for such a lovely hotel´s description. You have not missed anything!! As we can read, you have appreciate the interior design, and our staff.
Bearing in mind that these comments come from a 39 years experienced Canary Islands guest, they are even a more powerful motivation.

Always yours

Ricardo Moreno
Resident Manager
info@princesayaiza.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,682 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,536
    787
    242
    77
    40
See reviews for
1,560
1,557
28
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (816)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2012

We stayed at the Princess Yaiza for a week in October 2011 and can honestly say that it is a truly outstanding hotel. It deserves exceptional comments because of the following features :
* fantastic rooms
* excellent location
* first class staff and service
* good choice of restaurants

We ate mainly in the Tapas restaurant which does an outstanding steak with melted cheese. The staff are very friendly, helpful and efficient. The ambience and lunchtime music within the courtyard setting really adds to the experience.
The Management Team are always visible and Mohammed, on Reception, demonstrates the highest qualities of customer care.
We cannot wait to get back!

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms overlooking the Burger King beacuse of the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Evergreen32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PYaiza, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort, responded to this review, January 30, 2012
Google Translation
Buenas Tardes,
Es un placer ver como nuestros clientes disfrutan de sus vacaciones con nosotros. Todo esta organizado con esta finalidad y leer que hemos conseguido nuestro objetivo, siempre es de agradecer.

Sus comentarios ya han llegado a Mohamed y al resto de compañeros que hacen posible que cada experiencia en el Hotel Princesa Yaiza sea algo diferente.

Muchas gracias por los comentarios publicados en Trip Advisor que , sin duda, hacen que nos sintamos orgullosos.

Reciba un cordial y afectuoso saludo

Ricardo Moreno
Resident Manager
info@princesayaiza.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2012

I stayed here 8-15 January 2012.

Accommodation, a suite, separate bedroom lounge with terrace and bathroom, was very well appointed, and included the provision of a mircowave, a kettle and limited supplies of tea/coffee.

The resturants for buffet style breakfast and dinner were well managed with a very wide selection of food items which were regularly replaced as required.

The staff in all areas were very friendly and efficient. - They even remembered my regular bar order by the end of the week!

Public and private accommodations areas were very clean, the suite receiving attention twice a day! - Great!

I agree with others in saying that this hotel exceeded my expectations in all areas - I hope to return!

Room Tip: I had a suite facing south - east overlooking the pool which had morning sun only. For a future visi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edinv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2012

I'm writing this review on behalf of my parents who visited the hotel from Sunday 8th January to Thursday 12th January. They had a really great stay and said the hotel exceeded expectations with wonderful facilities, staff and food.

Room Tip: They stopped in a suite and said that these were great, as the views over the sea were uninterrupted...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gemmafitzpatrick82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PYaiza, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort, responded to this review, January 30, 2012
Good Evening,
Please, Would you send our gratitude to your parents in the name of the Staff of the Princesa Yaiza ?

We really much appreciate their comments.

Best Regards

Ricardo Moreno
info@princesayaiza.com
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2012

Writing this review having just returned from a weeks stay at the Princesa Yaiza in January 2012. This is our second visit having stayed there the same time last year. Still impressed with the hotel - cannot fault it - we stayed on a "Bed & Breakfast" basis as we like to eat out but cannot fault the service and attention received by all staff at the hotel - they cannot do enough for you. Bar service and staff were excellent as were the staff in the breakfast restaurants and pool restaurant at lunchtime. Hotel is very clean and we received nice touch in that as it was our second visit they gave us complimentary champagne and strawberries which were waiting for us in our suite. Would not hesitate to recomment it do others and hope to return again next January.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nutmegclose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PYaiza, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort, responded to this review, January 15, 2012
Good Evening,
From all staff from Princesa Yaiza Hotel, we would like to thank you for your nice words and we are all working hard to keep high standards for you to enjoy next January 2013!

We all hope you and your family have a pleasant year.

Receive our best regards

Ricardo Moreno
Resident Manager
info@princesayaiza.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2012

We had a one bedroom suite in January 2012 with our 2 year old. The accommodation was of a good spec. Two minor gripes: (1)we paid for a sea view but view was over the pool and you could only squint the sea through some trees and(2) no tv in English except news. The absence of kids progammes in particular a disappointment as otherwise we could have had more time on the balcony trying to see the sea while the "box baby sitter " took the strain. Everything else about hotel super as detailed in other reviews. We were not impressed with the service or food in the Don Giovanni restaurant though the setting was lovely.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Taralulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PYaiza, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort, responded to this review, January 15, 2012
Good Evening,
We appreciate very much indeed the time you took to drop the lines you did.

We are happy you enjoyed your holidays. Regarding the TV channels, the hotel has more than 150 channels in every room and the possibility of changing the language so you can watch it according to your mother tongue. In this specific matter, we offer 5 kids channels.
It was a pity you could not enjoy this part and we take note to make sure every guest in the hotel is aware of this.

Once again, thank you for your comments and we will be more than happy to welcome you back again.

Receive our best regards

Ricardo Moreno
Resident Manager
info@princesayaiza.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2012

Went for a week for nice break. I am 7 months pregnant so wanted somewhere that had a lot of facilities on site.

Everything is spacious and very clean.

It was our first time to Lanzarote, we thought we'd landed on Mars as it is very black and hardly any trees etc. Its worth a visit to the volcano to find out why the place looks like it does.

We had a suite and our balcony looked on to the burger king side, it was nice as the sun caught you here on an afternoon if you wanted to chill after your day beside the pool.

The food is very good. The japanese is very nice, and the italian on the front is lush. However the best rated restaurant was pretty poor, also very expensive. Very nice location and view etc but very over rated and we wouldn't go back again.

The staff are wonderful, very accomodating, I broke a glass in the room, didn't dare clean it up in case I cut myself and rang reception, they were there within minutes and quickly cleared up the glass and resolved the issue.

Also we had 2 single matresses pushed together to make up a double bed, we rang reception and said we wanted a king size bed as we had paid for this. they again were there within minutes with a new matress.

When you get there you get a glass of champers or orange or water, check in is easy and your bags are in your room around the same time as you are.

We had lovely weather at end of November, very plesant and not too hot.

They were working on the pool at the bottom doing some kind of refurb which was a little bit unpleasant due to the smell of the glue used on the pool.

The hotels location is fantastic also, we wanted to watch the football on the Saturday afternoon so turned right out the hotel (burger king end) and there were a few bars we could sit in the shade and watch the footie. We got a pizza to share and a few drinks which was nice.

Also turning left out the hotel there is a marina. We didn't visit but it looks nice. We also got a car for a few days and the town looks really nice, flat, block paved streets and loads of restaurants.

When the baby comes we would definately come back to this hotel. However I would probably go b&b so we can expore the town more. To walk around with the pushchair this resort and the local town is ideal.

The entertainment on the night was pretty poor but we weren't bothered as enjoyed the early nights.

The TV in the room had loads of chanels, once we worked out how to convert the movie chanels to english! We had a guy come to the room to show us how it worked properly.

All in all, if you are a couple wanting to come away to chill. With children or a small baby this resort and location of playa blanca is ideal, friendly and lovely.

We didn't use the spa facilities at all.

The drinks from the pool bar are very expensive 6 euros for a smoothie but you expect to pay more in a luxury resort.

I can't fault the place at all.

If you can afford to pay the extra to stay at this place then I would definatley do it as it far surpassses most other 5 star resorts we have stayed in due to it being so spacious.

Room Tip: we stayed on 3rd floor. If you stay on the 4th probably better view. The rooms which look on to burg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank moogle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PYaiza, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort, responded to this review, January 15, 2012
Good Evening,
First of all we would like to congratulate you and we are sure that everything will be just perfect and in your next stay we can meet your baby!

We are motivated for comments like yours, being such a splash of satisfaction to read that we met your expectations.

Thank you for your warm words.

Receive our best regards and all the best for this 2012.

Ricardo Moreno
Resident Manager
info@princesayaiza.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Blanca
0.8 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#6 of 38 in Playa Blanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,649 reviews
1.3 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
0.2 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#13 of 38 in Playa Blanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,562 reviews
0.1 mi away
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
#8 of 38 in Playa Blanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,556 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort

Property: Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
Address: Avda. Papagayo, 22, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#2 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
#3 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 385
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed in the colonial canaries style, with its traditional, picturesque balconies, and exotic interior tropical, excellent facilities and faultless service, Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort is a welcoming, five-star luxury hotel, conceived to satisfy the most demanding customer by making their stay a unique and unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, TravelUp, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Princesa Yaiza Hotel Playa Blanca
Princess Yaiza Lanzarote
Hotel Princesa Yaiza Suite
Princess Yaiza Hotel Lanzarote
Princesa Yaiza Lanzarote
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing