We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Return Visit” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of H10 Timanfaya Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
H10 Timanfaya Palace
Ranked #1 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Return Visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

Having never stayed in the same hotel twice my husband and I made an exception for the Timanfaya Palace, having had such a wonderful experience there 2 years previously. We were not disappointed and as we sat with our drinks in the bar on our first night, in beautiful surroundings and a child free environment we both took a deep sigh and said 'I love this place'! I would urge people to go All Inclusive as the drinks are branded drinks not just local spirits, including cocktails and there is plenty of choice with the food. Ice creams, bottled water, tapas & pizza at the pool bar are all included too.

We had an upgrade to a room with a sea view and a large balcony, it was spacious and clean although it was not on the front row and overlooked the roof of the corridor below and the skips at the back but it did have a sea view!

Our main complaint last time was the fact people were getting up before sunrise to reserve sunbeds and we were pleased to see that a new system has been implemented and any towels on reserved beds before 9.30am are removed although unless you attend the welcome meeting no-one informs you of this. Having been to the hotel twice and Playa Blanca for the last 3 years we did not attend this meeting. There were plenty of sunbeds and after walking into Playa Blanca one morning we still managed to find some free ones after lunch. The winds were particular bad for the first part of the week and we were beginning to feel a bit battered by them but being British we were on holiday and we were determined to sit in the sun wind or no wind, however the heat was deceiving and I did get burnt even though I used suncream and judging by other guests bright red patches of skin so did they.

Hotel staff are friendly and work very hard. We loved Angeles who worked in the Piano Bar & Pool Bar. She was always smiling and had boundless energy.

We can't fault the hotel, however if I have to be picky I would say that in some communal places it was looking a bit tired, although I think they are doing some work so maybe its on the 'to do' list.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Tansy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Angel V, General Manager at H10 Timanfaya Palace, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Tansy B,

Thank you for your 4th visit.

I appreciate that you explain why you rate us with time with 4 points intead of 5: because of our rule of removing towels on reserved beds before 9.30am... I am sorry that you do not agree with that. We have this rule from summer 2012 and all guests are very happy with it (sorry, not all, always there is an exception). We have at leats 6 warming notes at the pool area about this rule.

THanks for your nice words about our staff.

Kind regards,

José Angel Vázquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,278
    1,378
    372
    110
    51
See reviews for
377
4,117
56
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,914)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

We stayed at the Timanfaya Palace with Friends on a Privilege Room basis. From check in to check out we had a wonderful relaxing time despite the weather (only experienced sun 2 out of 7 days) as it was very windy and cloudy. The rooms were spacious and cleaned daily with a turndown service every evening. I have to say that the food was excellent in the buffet with plenty of choice for everyone. The staff were professional and friendly with nothing being too much trouble. I am sure we will return one day.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Soulsister10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Angel V, General Manager at H10 Timanfaya Palace, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Soulsister10,

Thank you for your nice review and your rate of 5 points.

I am glad that you enjoyed our hotel and the privilege service.

I am sorry about the cloundy days :..(

Kind regards,

José Angel Vazquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

Can't say much that hasn't already been said. Lovely adult only hotel, good room, great choice and quality of food, lots of entertainment options to choose from during the day and evening and friendly staff throughout. We stayed all inclusive which would definitely recommend and have nothing bad to say. A perfect relaxing stay if be it a little windy.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Caroline K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Angel V, General Manager at H10 Timanfaya Palace, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Caroline K,

Gracias !!!. Thank you for your review and for the 5 points!!.

I hope to see you back soon!.

Kind regards,

José Angel Vazquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

I like to do a bit of research for a holiday for my wife and I. We decided on Lanzarote and the H10 Timanfaya Palace this year. We also decided on all inclusive after several half board holidays.
We booked with Thomson Holidays for seven night from the 8th of June 2014.
When we got to the hotel we were welcomed with a glass of cold bubbly. The reception was large and cool, and stylish. The check in was super easy, and we were given the essential information for the stay. the room was not ready as we arrived at around 1330hrs, and we were told the room would be ready at three pm. We were able to stow the luggage in a secure room, and advised that we could go down to the restaurant for lunch.
This was the introduction to the buffet, and I can not praise it enough. There was plenty of choice, and my wife who is a vegetarian (most of the time) had no worries.There was always plenty for her to choose from. I had a cracking time, lots of different hot dishes and the show cooking was always worth a visit,breakfast lunch and dinner.
The room was big, light and airy, we had a wonderful view over the sea, the bathroom was huge and well appointed. The daily maid service was again really excellent, and the room always looked and smelled nice after they had been.
My only one small observation, is the block of rooms we stayed in, were next to the buffet restaurant and kitchens,and at times the corridor smelt of the kitchen, however the room never did.
The swimming pool was cold but that was wonderful after the heat of the day. There are two pools and plenty of sun loungers and parasols to go around. The grounds are spread over a large area, and the sun loungers are also spread around the grounds. Most areas are wheel chair accessible.
The sea is also just wonderful. There are steps just out of the bottom gate down the small rock face into the sea. Go to the one just to the right of the exit, and around high tide use the ladder to climb into the sea and look at all the beautiful fish around you. I went in everyday and was always blown away by the amount and variety of the fish in the area, Just be warned there were on a couple of days quite large numbers of small jelly fish. I did get stung but it was not to painful, and wore of after two or three hours. Take a camera that can be used underwater and you will get some wonderful shots, I know as I did.
The staff from the manager down were always willing to help, and always said hello to you.
The manager and his deputy attended the Thomson welcome meeting and welcomed us to their hotel, and asked us to speak to them if we had any concerns.
The Thomson staff never got in your face, they were always happy to try and help with any query and always gave an answer, also they were visible around the lobby at the stated times.
We had wonder evening entertainment when we wanted and really enjoyed Il Quattro (the Il Divo tribute act), we spent a couple of evenings in the piano bar, with discrete entertainers who played the guitar and sang one night, and a saxophonist the other.
The only problem we had was with the constant wind on the island. It was blowy all the time apart from a couple days. We knew it was a windy island, however the reps did say it was windier than normal that week (sods law).
To recap, an excellent hotel, with excellent staff and excellent food and excellent entertainment, all delivered by Thompson and the H10 Timanfaya Palace Hotel. My wife and I can not recommend the hotel or the holiday enough.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank markc530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Angel V, General Manager at H10 Timanfaya Palace, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear markc530,

Thank you for your nice review and rate of 5 points.

I agree with you that corridor of rooms 268-277, close to the kitchen, smells to food... Sometimes it is nice, but you can fed up. Next week we are going to close the area with a little wall and a glass dorr to separate it and send the smell to the roof.

Kind regards,

José Angel Vázquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

We have just returned from a week long stay at the Timanfaya Palace and I have to say the hotel really does live up to the pictures. Its a fantastic hotel in a great location situated on a lovely promenade where you can walk to the lighthouse and all the way to the marina rubicon, we found the hotel pool area to be great as it is really spread out so you don't feel like you are sat on top of fellow guests! There is plenty of entertainment if you want it with activities and live music daily, its not our thing but its all inside so you can't hear it from your room which is a bonus as a lot of hotels have the evening entertainment outside. A short walk from the hotel is the beach Playa Flamingo which has bright blue sea, crystal waters and white sand although the sea was freezing it was beautiful, also a short walk from the hotel is an old Volcano Roja well worth the walk up to the top, amazing views across Playa Blanca but make sure you wear trainers. The weather was fantastic although incredibly windy so make sure you wear plenty of sunscreen! We had room 513 which had stunning views out to sea and had the sun all afternoon until the sunset, the best bit is its completely private so you can completely chill out, the room is also very modern and has a massive super king bed! We don't tend to go to the same place twice as the world is a very big place but I could definitely be tempted to return here.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a sea view and ask for a room on a high floor to get the most from the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Devonshire_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Angel V, General Manager at H10 Timanfaya Palace, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Devonshire_traveller,

Thank you very much for your nice review and your rate of 5 points.

You are veru clever about the weather. It is very usual seeing people with red skin because they think the sun is not warming... because of the wind.

Thank you for maybe be your exception in the future and come back to our hotel.

Kind regards,

José Angel Vázquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

We just returned from 7 nights all inclusive at the Timanfaya Palace. This was our 5th stay over the last 13 years and it keeps getting better. The staff are excellent, very friendly, happy and nothing is too much trouble. The hotel is very clean and all the staff work very hard. The food was really good, lots of choice and there was also showcase cooking which was great.The new indoor swimming pool is lovely and a great addition to the hotel facilities.We enjoyed most of the evening entertainment. On our last night a new residential band called Lunar Fall had their first show and were fantastic, these 2 young guys are singers and played the electric guitar, their choice of music had everyone up on the floor and is one of the best residential bands we have heard.We hope to return to this hotel again soon.

Room Tip: request a quiet room, with a pool or sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank happylady123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Angel V, General Manager at H10 Timanfaya Palace, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear happylady123,

Thank you very much for your nice review, your rate of 5 points and specially for coming so often to our hotel. Gracias!!!.

We hope to see you soon too.

Kind regards,

José Angel Vázquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shipley
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

We stayed at this hotel in March and the hotel is fantastic in every way.We are returning for our tenth trip in July this year and can't wait.the rooms are excellent and the restaurant food is 5star quality.
See you all soon David and Jenny

Room Tip: High floor rooms are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank davidandjennyShipley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Angel V, General Manager at H10 Timanfaya Palace, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear David and Jenny,

You came in March and coming in July again? ...Thank you!!!!.

I hope you are so happy in July as you were in March, unless... Don't hesitate to come to speak to us as soon as possible!!.

Kind regards,

José Angel Vázquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Blanca
1.3 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
2.0 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#5 of 37 in Playa Blanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,541 reviews
1.2 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#14 of 37 in Playa Blanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
#9 of 37 in Playa Blanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,422 reviews
2.6 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
12.4 mi away
Lani's Suites de Luxe
Lani's Suites de Luxe
#1 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H10 Timanfaya Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H10 Timanfaya Palace

Property: H10 Timanfaya Palace
Address: C/ Gran Canaria, 1 | Montana Roja, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Blanca
#3 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
#4 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — H10 Timanfaya Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 297
Also Known As:
h10 Timanfaya Palace Hotel Playa Blanca
h10 Timanfaya Palace Playa Blanca
Timanfaya Palace Lanzarote
H10 Timanfaya Palace Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing