We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best Adults only hotel in Spain”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
H10 Timanfaya Palace
Ranked #1 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“The best Adults only hotel in Spain”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

As all inclusive privileged guests allocated a sea view room on the third floor we looked forward to a lovely holiday – that is what we got.
From the time we walked into the hotel the ambiance was peaceful and quiet, with a warm Spanish feel and staff that were helpful and pleasant.

We agree with most of the positive reviews but have some constructive criticism.
The room was comfortable but perhaps the beds firmer than one would wish. There was an absence of noise, although the sound of luggage being trailed in the corridors by guests leaving, especially in early morning, was exacerbated by the sound of luggage wheels on the tiles that needed the joints filled. In addition the hotel would have benefited by being redecorated in some areas.

The meals in the main restaurant were very good; there was a wide and varied choice and the waiters were very efficient. However,on our first visit to the A la Carte restaurant the meal was most disappointing, there was no-one waiting to welcome dinners causing some delay before we were shown a table. Each dish of the three course meal was poor, so much so, that we found it necessary to make a complaint. There was nothing wrong with the produce; it was the inability of the Chef to prepare tasty dishes that failed in this instance. Fortunately on our second and subsequent visits there was considerable improvement at dinnertime and the breakfast were very good. The A la Carte Restaurant is the hotel flagship, as far as dinning is concerned, it should reflect the high standard that the hotel wishes to show. This is possible without additional cost by attention to detail. For example, the introduction of a daily special (Theme of the day?) dish provided by the main restaurant would extend the menu. Also at breakfast some tables were not available and rather than guest being asked to move to another table a sign placed on these tables would have avoided embarrassment.

The heated swimming pool on the fourth floor was excellent but why was it closed at 5pm while there were a number of sun-bathers in the area who would have continued using the pool?

Privileged sunbathing area is very nice, close to the heated swimming pool and has the best view, but Privileged room could do with improvement, it's too small and pretty useless if you are on all inclusive package. Also there was no Light Tonic water to choose from, only original sugary one, it's not good if you are trying to avoid too much sugar intake.

Overall it was a superb holiday and we are looking forward to visit this hotel again and highly recommend it to those looking for an adult only holiday.

Room Tip: All inclusive is worth every penny, as you get premium selection of drinks. Sea view 3rd floor rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Angel V, General Manager at H10 Timanfaya Palace, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear James H,

Thank you very much for your review and the 5 points.

I'm really impressed for your pictures. They are a very high quality... I love this one: http://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/Hotel_Review-g652121-d289261-Reviews-H10_Timanfaya_Palace-Playa_Blanca_Lanzarote_Canary_Islands.html#LIGHTBOXVIEW

About the opening time of the indoor pool, oficially it is from 9 to 17:00 and real is from 8:00 to 18:00

I agree with you abouth the privilege lounge. Do you know that we at this hotel invented the privilege? We were the first and obviously we have become obsolete ... Next week, around the 7th may, we begin with the improvements of the lounge... It is going to be bigger and nicer....

If you are in the privilege and miss one (not expensive) common product, you can request it and we ... Don't ask for Moet or similar... but just light tonic water???... of course we bring during your stay!!!.

See you soon.

Kind regards,

José Angel Vázquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,489
    1,419
    380
    110
    53
See reviews for
397
4,326
58
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,001)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

This is our second visit to the Timanfaya Palace and we were not disappointed. It is the perfect place to relax and unwind being in a quiet location and not suffering from 'animation' teams constantly trying to wake you up! Don't expect wonderful food or entertainment - what there is is adequate (buffet meals seldom are exciting). We chose the all inclusive option and were very happy with the choice of wine, beers and spirits available. Staff are all very happy, friendly and helpful, the hotel is clean throughout and the outside areas all well kept. We enjoy walking and it is a very pleasant walk to Playa Blanca along the seafront promenade, with plenty of bars and benches to stop and rest at and admire the view.

Room Tip: Choose a sea view on an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bmwsheilaz3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Angel V, General Manager at H10 Timanfaya Palace, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear bmwsheilaz3,

Thank you for your review and for coming back again.

Haven't you found improvement from march 2012?.

I thank you and appreciate you have rate us 5 points in the six different areas, but just 4 in general... Maybe in your next visit, as we work very hard every days, implementing new ideas... you rate us 5 points.

Kind regards,

José Angel Vázquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
91 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

From the moment you check in to the moment you leave the staff are on hand to help make your stay the best they can. Having paid extra for a sea view and asked for a quiet room we were lucky to have been given 437 affording us un interrupted sea views a large balcony and not over looked. Our favourite sun beds were around the newly built indoor pool and so close to our room we could return in moments to make a cup of tea. On booking we chose the half board option and were delighted when we checked in that we could swap lunch with dinner. Buffet Breakfast lunch and dinner offer both hot and cold options with plenty of variety and you can purchase wine at reasonable quality and prices. We didn't try the pool bar or Kasbah a la carta. The hotel is situated close to Playa Blanca and you can walk all the way along the car free path into Playa Blanca and the Marina Rubicon both offering plenty of dinning options. The H10 Timanfaya Palace came highly recommended and it didn't disappoint.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank marandnic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Angel V, General Manager at H10 Timanfaya Palace, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear marandnic,

Thank you very much for your nice review and your rate of 5 points.

As we are now doing a garden on the roof of the 3rd floor in the south part of the hotel, in 2 week we begin with the north part... This is, the view from 437 in 3 weeks will be much better!!.

Gracias!. See you soon!.

José Angel Vázquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 29, 2014

The only real thing that was impressive about the timamfaya was its size,once you get over the surprise of how huge and spacious the entrance/reception area is and really start to take in your surroundings this hotel looks a little tired,the fixtures and fittings in the piano bar area are tatty and grubby with exposed electrical wiring odserved on one of the bookcases,if you are going to have white and light coloured furniture it needs to be clean and in good repair which this was not,the food was average,it says it all when a microwave is next to the servoury so you can warm your food up before taking it to your table and this appliance did not work half the time,two prehistoric toasters which took an age to even warm bread let alone brown it,and a very limited choice of deserts
The whole place is inherently noisy due to its long tiled passages and staff who walk around supplied with two way radios who's volume controls are turned up to maximum.if you do decide to visit this hotel and you are offered rooms 168, 268 or 368 don't accept them as they back onto the kitchen and trollies full of crockery and cutlery are wheeled around with gay abandon starting at about half 6 in the morning and come evening meal time the noise level becomes similar to living next to a main rail route,this coupled with the maids storage cuboard right outside the room housing more trollies operated by very nice Canarian ladies who seem to have broken volume controls despite the "silencio" Sign on the wall next to their den.The rooms themselves are again of a good size but they also or the one we had was a little rough around the edges and balcony view was two thirds obstructed by a huge cactus
The only plus I can come up with is the hotel's policy on reserving sun loungers,any towels placed on beds before 9.30 are removed by the pool attendants so everybody gets a fair chance and there is no shortage of said loungers so procuring one was not a problem.
Would I stay in this hotel again probably not, its current **** rating is unjustified imo. probably based on its past reputation and its size, I've stayed in far better *** establishments with far better food and in far better states of repair

Room Tip: Beware of room numbers 168,268,368 back onto the kitchen and terribly noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikePatchPatchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Angel V, General Manager at H10 Timanfaya Palace, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear MikePatchPatchen,

I'm sorry that you were unhappy in our hotel. I have just checked with the reception and with the public relations if we have any report about you and... no news...!!!.. No one has heart from you...

-If your main problem was the location of your room... we could have moved you to another room the same cathegory you have paid.

-If the other problem is that we have 2 two "prehistoric" toasters, although I bought them in january... we can toast your bread in the grill. You say it take "an age "... I have checked and I take 30 seconds less than at home, where it take 180 seconds.

-"Very limited choice of deserts"... I'm sorry that you find it so. It is my favourite buffet... We are going to keep it, as I personally think we have more variety and quality than many 5 stars. I'm sorry if we have different point of view.

-"I've stayed in far better *** establishments"... I don't doubt it, It is possible... Their managers and owner are/were doing a great job.

-"Would I stay in this hotel again probably not". As you don't close the door, as you don't say you are sure you don't come back again.... If you come back, please, contact me before...

Regards,

José Angel Vázquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

This hotel has exceeded expectations. The Staff are to be commended for their consistent high standards, nothing being too much trouble. The Assistant Manager Javier was everywhere, making sure guests were happy and things were running smoothly. Entertainment was very good, both in the bar and the disco. Plenty of choice in the restaurant and good quality. We will definitely return.!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ra_cox1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Angel V, General Manager at H10 Timanfaya Palace, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear ra_cox1,

Thank you very much for your review and rate of 5 points.

Thank you for your point of view writting that we could be a 5 star hotel. The later comment rate us with 3 points and writes he has been in better 3 star hotels.... Fortunatly all reviews in April are similar as yours, and the later one is just the exception, unless this would be a failure for us...

Thanks again. Kind regards,

José Angel Vázquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

We came here for our honeymoon on April 20th 2014. On arrival was greeted with champayne and the check in was quick and simple. We were also greeted with a bottle of champayne in our room which was a lovley touch. The resturant is very big with lots of different choices of food. Staff are all friendly and would give you all the time in the world. The evening entertainment is very well presented with well rehearsed acts. The drinks were all well know brands and the staff were very genours with their measures. The pool bar was very nice and quick service for all food and drink. Would def return to this hotel.....awsome xx

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Melanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Angel V, General Manager at H10 Timanfaya Palace, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Melanie S,

THANK YOU very much for your nice review. As you write you came for honeymoon, normally you should be a young couple... As most our guests are +50 it is an honour if you are young that you rate us 5 points!.

See you soon!.

Kind regards,

José Angel Vázquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Unbelieveable from start to finish. We stayed on an all inclusive basis from 10-20 April. The hotel is furnished to a high standard with marble everywhere. The staff are exceptional in their tireless efficiency, friendliness and eager to please attitude. Nothing is too much trouble. Our room was spacious and comfortable and of a high standard. The grounds are spacious and luxurious. Now to the best bit. When they say all inclusive they include good quality branded drinks. I overdosed on Bombay Sapphire and Torres 10 yo brandy with the occasional beer/sangria. My wife headed for the cocktail list and dry martini with brandy/beer and sangria. Measures were more than generous and the waiter service in the piano bar in the evening was of the highest quality. Attentive, friendly and efficient. Fancy a meal during the day and the poolside bar/restaurant was magnificent. Plenty to chose from the all inclusive list. Fancy just a coffee and the coffee bar inside (next to the SkySports TV) was top class. Good selection of different all inclusive hot drinks. The restaurant was nicely laid out with tables for varying numbers of diners. Always greeted warmly by the staff and on many occasions being shown to a vacant table even though there was over upwards of 200 people dining at the time. The quality of the food and the variety was first class. House all inclusive wine was of a good quality. The quality thing about this hotel is that they have high standards especially the dress code in the restaurant and piano bar in the evening. No beachwear, no flipflops and gentlemen have to wear long trousers. Some of the ladies really made the effort and brought style to the evening. Those that chose not to dress smartly embarrassingly stood out and I observed these guests making more of an effort the next evening I enjoyed ever minute of this hotel and we have already decided to book for next year already. Trouble is.......I expect everyone else is saying the same thing.

Room Tip: Chose the upgrade for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Eric A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Angel V, General Manager at H10 Timanfaya Palace, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Eric A,

Thank you very much for your nice review and your rate of 5 points.

I agree with your and with many other guests about the quality of our all inclusive. When we decided it some years ago we wanted to be different to other all inclusive: we are much more expensive than other all inclusive, but the quality is much higher than any other. I think it is worth.
We just have 25% of our guests in AI, and enjoy the same quality as the guest in half board that pay directly por their drinks and meals.

Thank again. Kind regards,

José Angel Vázquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Blanca
1.4 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
2.1 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#6 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3,713 reviews
1.4 mi away
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
#8 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#14 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,053 reviews
23.5 mi away
Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only
9.0 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
4,640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H10 Timanfaya Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H10 Timanfaya Palace

Property: H10 Timanfaya Palace
Address: C/ Gran Canaria, 1 | Montana Roja, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Blanca
#3 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
#4 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — H10 Timanfaya Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 297
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, H10 Hotels, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your H10 Timanfaya Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
h10 Timanfaya Palace Hotel Playa Blanca
h10 Timanfaya Palace Playa Blanca
Timanfaya Palace Lanzarote
H10 Timanfaya Palace Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing