We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Retirement treat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
H10 Timanfaya Palace
Ranked #1 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Hotel was very clean and well run. Staff pleasant and helpful especially restaurant staff. Would have liked the disco bar entertainment to have lasted until midnight as it finished at 10.30pm most nights, however I understand you are catering for the majority not minority. Food good and terrace bar ideal for watching the sunset after a lovely day relaxing by the pool. Made use of gym and tennis courts and location great for walking the promenade to town and marina.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Sandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Angel V, General Manager at H10 Timanfaya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Dear Sandra R,

Thank you for your review.

We keep the bars open till 01:00 AM, but not the shows, that finish normally at 10:30 or the live music, that finishes at 11:00
Although we kept the entertaintment longer, most guest go to their room before 11:00 pm, and, as you say, we organize the hotel for the majority.
The few guests that stay till midday, enjoy a nice chat.

Kind regards,

Jose Angel Vazquez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,671)
There are newer reviews for H10 Timanfaya Palace
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,988 - 2,994 of 5,671 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Timanfaya Palace. We had a very nice, spacious room with a view across the garden and one of the three pools to the sea. The buffet had plenty of choice and we had no problems with service even though the hotel was full. Wine prices were reasonable. Bubbles were on offer at breakfast and an aperitif before dinner (no charge.) Several daytime activities were available including pilates, archery and shooting or if you prefer you could always stroll along the promenade either to the lighthouse or into town. Evening entertainment was mixed (the Drifters tribute act being the best.) The new heated indoor pool was also appreciated.
Minus points were lukewarm "hot" food at times, rubbish toasters, noisy corridors and charges for the use of the safe (17 euros) and fridge (21 euros.)
The hotel couldn't do anything about the weather so overall, well done and highly recommended!

Room Tip: Avoid the cheaper garden rooms which may be below ground level with no sun!
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Russ48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Angel V, General Manager at H10 Timanfaya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Dear Russ48,

Thank you very much for your review and your rate of 5 points. Gracias!.

I'm sorry about the weather... february has been very stranger for Lanzarote... I'm having now holidays and the weather has began very good... The weather is very important we you have hollidays. I wish we always had good weather :)

Kind regards,

José Angel Vázquez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

First time at Lanzarote, great hotel. We were there for 10 days from Feb 6th.
Hotel location is great as it is very near to the sea, there is also a wide promenade which gives plenty of opportunity for coastal walking. Supermarkets & restaurants are within 5 minutes walk. Playa Blanca is a quiet area.
The hotel accommodation is excellent, the rooms are well equipped, spacious, and a high standard of cleanliness is maintained.
Restaurant facilities can sometimes be a bit chaotic – but to be expected with buffet service.
Food quality, variation and availability is excellent.
The hotel grounds are spacious with layout of palms & shrubs providing attractive seating areas around the various water features & pools.
The provision of a covered, outside swimming pool was a great addition.
Staff were friendly & efficient.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Angel V, General Manager at H10 Timanfaya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Dear Bob C,

Thank you very much for your nice review and your rate of 5 points. Muchas gracias!!.

Thanks for beeing a great 10 guests!.

Kind regards,

José Angel Vázquez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Back again for our winter break February 2014. Six consecutive years and the hotel still manage to surprise us with their upgrades to facilities and improvements.
This year there was a new indoor heated pool with a nice sunbathing area protected from the breeze with glass panels. Also the WiFi does not need a new pass code every day, you stay with the code you put in on the first day for the length of your stay.
The food was excellent with freshly cooked bacon and eggs for breakfast and individually cooked specials every evening in the main restaurant. The Casbah restaurant, meals served to the table, was very good with an improved menu choice from last year and excellent service.
There is an excellent culture of service to the guests from reception, restaurant staff and cleaners which made our stay very enjoyable. See you again next year or maybe sooner.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank evsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Angel V, General Manager at H10 Timanfaya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Dear evsie,

Thank you very much for your nice review and your rate of 5 points!. Gracias!.

See you next year... or even this year!.

Kind regards,

José Angel Vázquez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

On the first day of our week long break at the Timanfaya Palace, my husband fell down the stairs,he broke his collar bone. He had decided to take the stairs and not the lift back to our room after breakfast. The stairwell is very dark, the lights went off at about 8am, and as inside the building, had no sun light. We spent the first day of our holiday, six hours in fact in the Hospital. The Assistant Manager`s comment was "sorry" .
Our room was lovely with views out to sea, the food, although abit of a crush to get it, was good.

Room Tip: Rooms over looking the pool
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Angel V, General Manager at H10 Timanfaya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

Dear colin B,

I'm sorry about your husband's accident. My second manager, as you write, contacted you in case you needed soomething (well done Javier!), and said "sorry". I don't know what else you expected... I personally checked if there was light enough, and it was. I even went with the thomson rep came with me, and she agreed.

Of course you can be sad or angry as your husband had an accident, but please, don't blame us.

Last time I went to UK I got a big cold... and I don't blame anyone, just me.

Sorry again.
Regards,

José Angel Vázquez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Just spent a great week at Timanfaya Palace and really enjoyed the experience. The overall feeling is of space and airiness. We were on the 2nd floor sea view and it was lovely. The room was big with plenty of wardrobe space , huge comfy bed and two different types of pillow for comfort. There was a small fridge which was a great touch which meant we could keep drinks cold and fresh milk for the tea and coffee as there was also a kettle in the room. Even the tap water was more than plesant enough to drink cold.The pools were very cold but not unusable when the sun shined which was most of the time. When it was windy , a short walk away was a lovely yellow sandy beach which always offered shelter from the breeze.
I have read several negative comments about the buffet dining. You have to realise that feeding so many people, from all over europe and further afield must be a daunting task and I found it very good with a big selection every time. There were things that did not appeal but was lapped up by other nationalities. This will happen but overall there was plenty of good tasty meals. You could always go to the `show cooking` where chefs would freshly cook several cuts of fish, steaks, chops etc
I found the drinks a little pricey, but show me a hotel bar that isnt. You dont pay for drinks at the time but you show them the room card and a tab is run. The morning you are checking out the bill is slid under your door for you to check against the slips you are given every time you get a drink. This was spot on and accurate.
Its advertised with Thompson as a `couples resort` which it is but we found it a little too elderly orientated. Would have liked a slightly younger atmospere, we are 58 but we felt as though it needed livening up, but only a little.
Grips, well there always will be something but they should not distract from the fact that overall we would return in the future .
Ive mention the elderly atmospere already. Also the front desk on check in give you the meal times but very little else. It was not explained about the drink tab system. The first time we ordered a drink we were almost told off for not having the room card with us, felt like a naughty school boy. This may have been explained at the welcome meeting but the info should be provided to those who cannot face sitting in a room while reps try and sell you excursions.The hotel is quiet and peaceful with the exception of some of the staff. We were near the kitchen (269) and at 06.50 the sound of rolling thunder woke us every morning. It was a cart of something for the kitchen heavily loaded with solid wheels on tiled floors, it was horrendous, maybe phnumatic tyres ? The door to the kitchen open and the staff hollering at each other and in the eary hours the two way radios the staff carry on max volume, non of these are ways I like being woken . If the management read this review please take them as positives which would be easy to rectify and make the experience perfect.
Despite these gripes we would stay again.

Room Tip: Get a sea view, away from the kitchen. Buy your drinks locally and keep in the fridge, save a lot.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlanYv0nne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Angel V, General Manager at H10 Timanfaya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Dear AlanYv0nne,

I read carefully all the reviews and I try to answer everyone. Sometimes, if I am very busy, I prefer answering quietly afterwards, as I'm doing now.

As we are a no-cash hotel, it is necessary to show your hotel card if you wish to drink or eat something, unless we cannot know your room number.
We are a quiet hotel with 7 days a week live music at several times, a 4 professional shows. We are perfect for people 50+ or yourger looking for quiet and relax. For other people looking for more party or ambiente, I recomend our H10 Timanfaya Palace.

Thank you again for your review.

Kind regards,

José Angel Vazquez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We have just returned from the Timanfaya Palace and are already thinking of when we can return. We had a disaster holiday last year in Crete. So we very apprehensive about another holiday. We didn't need of worried. The hotel is brilliant. Where to start. Very welcoming and clean. Offered champagne on arrival. Check in was fine and lots of information given. Our room was at the back of the hotel over looking the mountain along the coast towards the lighthouse. It was a double room massive bed very comfortable. Bathroom was large and adequate. Large balcony table and chairs. A bottle of red wine on the dressing table. Tea and coffe facilities. Wonderful selection of foods. We did all inclusive. We had a couple of lunches out as we were out for the day. But so much choice . Even meat and fish cooked to order. We had one meal in the alacarte restaurant and that was very good. Outside the pools area is a lovely coffee stoke lunch bar and all cooked fresh. Very clean pools and plenty of places and sunbeds to relax on. At the back of the hotel is a promenade to either walk to the lighthouse or into Playa Blanca. Both not taxing walks. We hired a car for one day at the hotel and it was very reasonable. There was entertainment and it was very good but when we went the bar in the evening we always met some people to have a chat to and that was lovely. Plenty of choices on what to drink.
We would recommend this hotel and we cannot wait to return

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Susan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jose Angel V, General Manager at H10 Timanfaya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Dear Susan E,

Thank you for your very nice review.

It's a pity that you write so many nice comments about us and just rate 4 points...

Kind regards,

José Angel Vazquez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Blanca
1.4 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
1.4 mi away
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
#8 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,732 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#6 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3,824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#14 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,300 reviews
9.0 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
4,932 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H10 Timanfaya Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H10 Timanfaya Palace

Address: C/ Gran Canaria, 1 | Montana Roja, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Blanca
#3 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
#4 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range: $139 - $315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — H10 Timanfaya Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 297
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, H10 Hotels, Prestigia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your H10 Timanfaya Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
h10 Timanfaya Palace Hotel Playa Blanca
h10 Timanfaya Palace Playa Blanca
Timanfaya Palace Lanzarote
H10 Timanfaya Palace Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing