We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very peaceful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
H10 Timanfaya Palace
Ranked #1 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Very nice hotel, clean and tidy, very nice and helpful staff. Peaceful and relaxing hotel if that's what your after. Got bored of the food after a two week stay though, very repetative. Went as a half board, but after three days upgraded to all inclusive as drinks were working out a bit pricey. Bar staff very friendly and funny, especially Jonny. They also weren't shy at pouring the drinks, very very large measures haha. Must say the entertainment was very poor, having stayed at the rubicon palace just six month earlier with very good entertainment in the nights. Thompson reps Sarah and Louise were amazing and couldn't do enough to help, they were also in on and helped arrange my surprise wedding proposal on board the catlanza catamaran.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jellybeen76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VazquezRomero, General Manager at H10 Timanfaya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear jellybeen76,

Thnak you for your review. I´m sorry that you were not very happy in our hotel. when you say you were happy in Rubicón. We are very different to Rubicón. We are not worse or better, just different. We are a quiet hotel just for adults/couples who want to chill out, and this is the concept of our entertainment. Although we have several professional shows and life music every day, we are not a party hotel. I can understand you if you thought you would find the same as in Rubicón in a better product.

When you look for a quiet holiday, we are here for you, you´ll be welcome, and for a huge animation team, you can enjoy our Rubicón.

Kind regards,

José Angel Vázquez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,838)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,468 - 3,474 of 5,838 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed from 11th-18th July, the first few days everything was excellent, however, when we got halfway through the week (when the new guests had arrived) the service in the restaurant and pool bar went downhill FAST! We were waiting to order food in the pool bar for 15 mins even after asking to be served! The food was nice but there seemed to be the same sort of thing every night which got very boring. Apart from that, everything else was brilliant. The a la carte restaurant was fantastic, the food was delicious! The beds were extremely comfy and the rooms were lovely, only thing I missed was use of the fridge which we would've had to pay extra far, and since we'd already spent so much we didn't feel it was right to charge for its use

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarolRose_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VazquezRomero, General Manager at H10 Timanfaya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear CarolRose_13,

Thank you for your review.

I´sorry, we cannot offer the minibar for free. We see in the Canary Islands many guests buy drinks in the supermarket and use the minibar to keep them cool... With this charge, the hotels get a little profit.
By us you can get the minibar for free is you buy 10 drinks, any ones, water, for example.
For all inclusive guests and for privilege, the mini is also for free (drinks not incluided, just the minifridge).

Kind regards,

José Angel Vázquez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Just returned from a week at The Timanfaya Palace, half board. The Hotel is very impressive on arrival, the reception area has the wow factor! The reception staff were really friendly and efficient booking everybody in and there was quite a few arrived off our bus. We were on the 4th floor with a sea view and our room was lovely and, as I have read here before, it had a HUGE extremely comfy bed and really nice big bathroom . Or room was always really clean and well looked after by the maids. Unfortunately we did have a bit of trouble with ants and reported it to reception but nothing was done. Our room was so quiet and peaceful didnt hear any noise from any where, perfect! The food in the restaraunt was lovely, fresh cooked back bacon for breakfast was such a bonus as was the fresh omelettes ,but maybe need a slighly faster toaster, it took about 4 times to get any colour on the bread!! Dinners had such an amazing choice and we really loved the theme nights especially the chinese night. We have to say a big thank you to Moctar he was a joy always smiling and happy to serve us, looked forward to seeing him every day!!
It was at meal times and at the pool that the Adults only was such a joy, peaceful quiet dinners and relaxing by the pool we will def go Adults only again.. The pool area was perfect, as said many times, plenty of sun beds with space in between so you dont have to whisper to your husband so you dont disturb other people near you. Yes the pool is cold to get into, just like every other holday pool we have been to ,but as soon as you are in its lovely, and the jaccuzzi was so nice. Again a few ants at some of the beds near the grassy area so be careful.
We really liked the piano bar with the variety of seats, some extremely comfortable some a challenge to get out of!! , but must say the bar service was a bit slower here than in most other areas of the hotel. And we really need to mention the resident duo it was a pleasure to listen to them (some mean guitar playing, that boy has talent) . The promenade outside the Hotel takes you into a busier part of Playa Blanca and its a comfortable 15-20min stroll it was nice to explore a bit as its nice and quiet at the hotel and this gives you other options.
If I had any points to bring up it would be that the bedroom doors on our floor could do with freshening up a bit with a coat of paint as they were all flaking off a bit.
We really had a wonderful time and the Timanfaya Palace has to be one of the very best Hotels we have stayed at and highly recommend it to any one. Thank you for a lovely holiday!! .

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Yvonne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VazquezRomero, General Manager at H10 Timanfaya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Dear Yvonne J,

Thank you very much for your nice review and your rate of 5 points!. GRACIAS!, I appreciate it!!.

I challenge you to do a test: measure the time it takes to get home in a toast. I did it at home and was really surprise....!!!. At the hotel it takes the same. ; )

I hope to see you soon. Thank you again.

Kind regards,

José Angel Vázquez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

This hotel offers a first class service. We were greeted with a glass of bubbly on arrival, must neeeded after flight and coach transfer and were quickly checked in. The week before I emailed the hotel to request a higher level room as I was a bit concerned about the lack of view posted by other reviewers. They definitely came through and we had a wonderful sea view which overlooked the bay towards the lighthouse (room 246). Pool areas are very good and getting a sun lounger at any time of the day is never a problem. We stayed on a half board basis which was definitely enough food but be careful with the price of certain drinks - a small bottle of water costs 2 euros 30! Food in the buffet restaurant was always of a good standard and the show cooking where the chefs prepare and cook fresh meat and fish is a bonus! If we had stayed for more than one week the food would probably have got rather boring. Service for drinks in the buffet restaurant was very good and we were not kept waiting long at all. Staff also cleared plates very quickly. The adult only feature of the hotel was lovely! Really peaceful and relaxing environment which was perfect for a week's getaway. However, if you are looking for bars/clubs to venture out to Playa Blanca does offer some nightlife. The Thomson rep suggested we go to the Papayago centre which has several bars and bar/clubs which are open until 4am or 7am. I would definitely return to this luxurious and relaxing hotel and to the resort of Playa Blanca!

Room Tip: Email the hotel in advance to request a room with a view! We stayed in room 246 which was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Sara180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VazquezRomero, General Manager at H10 Timanfaya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Dear Sara180,

Thank you for your nice review. I´m glad you enjoyed your holidays and got exactly what you expected. As you know us alredy, maybe in your next visit you rate us with 5 points....

I hope to see you soon.

Kind regards,

José Angel Vázquez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We had a Refurbished Standard room. The room was clean and tidy and was exactly what we expected. The air conditioner was pretty good and the room safe was available at an extra cost and it was possible to get free wifi in the room, but it couldn't be counted on. The mini bar fridge had to be hired at a day rate which was unusual, as we usually would use it to keep some water cool in the room, but as we were all inclusive it wasn't a problem.

The public areas of the hotel all look good and are always clean and tidy. The lack of air conditioning in the lobby bar is one of the few things that could be improved upon at this hotel.

The food was of a good standard, basically what we expected from a Thomson couples hotel.
No complaints. The waiting staff were friendly and attentive.

The main pools are lovely and kept in good condition. This is the first hotel we have ever been to that does act on people reserving sunbeds. Any unattended towels left on sunbeds before 9.30am are removed to handed into reception. The water falls and other water features which feed into the main pool unfortunately are not kept in good condition and are the other area the hotel should improve upon.

The hotel entertainment is exactly what we have come to expect from a Thomson couples hotel, however, this didn't appear to have been arranged by Thomson, but by the hotel Blue Team, who seem much more active at this hotel than the Thomson team. The Thomson rep was regularly available if required.

Room Tip: Request a refurbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dave T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VazquezRomero, General Manager at H10 Timanfaya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dear Dave T,

Thank you for your review.

Can you please send me a private email explainig what do you find incorrect in the water falls?.

Muchas gracias!.

Kind regards,

José Angel Vázquez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Just returned from a weeks stay at this hotel on a half board basis. We were a group of six adults aged from 30-68. Arrived late at night (approx 10pm) and quickly checked in and told that food would be available after 10.30pm, we did not expect to have food on our first night with arriving late so this was a bonus. Any food or drink purchased goes on a tab to be payed at the end of your stay, no cash is taken. I only knew about this before hand from reading it on a review on here otherwise I might have found this a bit annoying, you can ask for a print out of your bill from reception at anytime though and I would suggest doing this every few days so you can keep tabs on how much you have spent, it's quite easy to spend spend spend when the cash isn't actually coming out of your purse.
We had a garden view room on floor 2 (no 236) which was very stylish and modern with air con and a balcony and a view of the sea from the side. Cannot fault the room, cleaned every day and tea and coffee replenished. You need to pay for the use of the safe and fridge, 3 Euro a day for the fridge or free for the week if you purchase 10 items to go in it.
The food was amazing! something for everyone and at breakfast, along with the usual cereals, toast, cooked breakfast etc you could also have omelettes, fried eggs, cheese and ham toasties, pancakes and proper english bacon cooked right in front of you. Also freshly prepared smoothies and milkshakes! There was a different theme each evening, again with plenty of choice and the chocolate fountain and pick n mix was a bonus! Men cannot wear shorts for dinner but are allowed at breakfast. I'm in two minds about this rule, yes I agree it looks better when people dress for dinner but it was so warm in the restaurant it didn't seem fair and in my mind the rule should also apply to women, there were loads of women wearing shorts for dinner and nothing was said to them? again this is something I only discovered from reading othere reviews on here so men make sure you take long trousers!
The entertainment was really good. We watched the African and Mowtown shows which were really good but get in early to get a seat as it gets very busy. Party night on Tuesday was fab! free tapas and Mojitos from 6pm at the pool bar! and really good entertainment from a latino group.
The water in the pools was cold but to be honest this was fine with us as it was so warm we welcomed the chance to cool down. There is a deep pool with a waterfall, another which is about waist deep, a jacuzzi and a smaller round pool.
Our flight home was at 9pm and we were being collected at 6pm but we had to be out of our room at 12pm so you need to get to reception early (between 9-10am) to get your name down for a courtesy room to make sure you get a good time, we got it at 4pm for half an hour which gave us just enought time to shower and change.
Out and about it's about a 5 min walk to the nearest beach which was also where the closest supermarket was, there were a few restaurants there too. It's about a 20/30min walk to playa blanca which has a lot more shops, bars and restaurants.
We also made the decision to climb Timanfaya volcano on one of the hottest days! it was quite an effort but really is worth it, the views were amazing, just take plenty of water, suncream and make sure you have good shoes, I wore flip flops and fell on my bottom as the path is quite rocky and steep in parts.
All staff were really helpful and friendly, especially the restaurant staff.
My only real complaint was the lack of air con in the restaurant, reception, piano bar and disco bar and we spent most nights sat by the pool or on the terrace outside but there was also a lack of available tables and chairs out there for everyone, it really would make all the difference if you had air con in these areas it was so hot without it.
All in all I had a really good relaxing stay at Timanfaya Palace. Would I go back? Yes! but please please please consider getting air con in the places mentioned above.

Room Tip: We had room 236 which was advertised as a garden view but we also had a side view of the sea :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lainey4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VazquezRomero, General Manager at H10 Timanfaya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dear lainey4,

Thank you very much for your nice review and your rate of 5 points. MUCHAS GRACIAS!!!.

Very nice pictures too...!!!!

I hope to see you soon back.

Kind regards,

José Angel Vázquez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We have just returned from a lovely holiday in Lanzarote staying at the H10 Timanfaya Palace. We thought it would be most helpful to give, what we feel were, the top 5 positives and possible drawbacks to staying here.

Positives:
- Great location - This hotel is directly on the promenade and it has beautiful views. It is about 15 to 20 minutes walk to the town and we really enjoyed walking each day.
- Pool Area - The pool area is lovely, most importantly the sunbeds are not squashed in and you can have space around you if you are happy to sit away from the pool. There are plenty of parasols, lots of shades and we could have got a sunbed at anytime of the day.
- Selection of drinks - The selection of drinks was really varied with all premium brands on offer. The measures are very generous and the house wine was lovely.
- Buffet Restaurant - There was a good variety of food with something for everyone. The grill was particularly helpful for fussy eaters like myself. The themed nights worked very well and meant you were eating lots of different food. (There is also a pool bar at lunch but if you are on AI not everything is available for you to order free of charge. In addition there is a waiter service restaurant, beautifully decorated but the food at the buffet restaurant was just as good!)
- Adults only - heaven!

Things to consider:
- Lack of Air-Con - The air conditioning is insufficient for the temperatures (even in the rooms). The hotel has a policy of trousers for dinner & with bad air conditioning it was stifling at times. We we unable to sit inside the lobby bar at 11pm to listen to the saxophonist as it was so unbearably hot! Just being able to wear tailored shorts would have helped (& we feel this is smarter than jeans!)
- Inconsistent Standards of Service - Some of the service during our holiday was excellent however unfortunately it was not consistent. There are just not enough waiters/waitresses for the size of the buffet restaurant meaning we often had to chase people to get drinks etc.
- Entertainment - We did enjoy some (the Motown night was amazing), but on the whole it isn't great. Not a problem for us as we were happy to go to the other bar but worth mentioning.
- Temperature of the pool - The pools are very cold (some people like this), we would have preferred one to be slightly heated to make it more comfortable to sit in.
- Additional costs - Be prepared that you have to pay a €20 deposit for pool towels, a deposit for the safe and for use of the fridge in your room.

We wanted this review to be as balanced as possible. We had a very enjoyable holiday & would recommend this hotel to friends ... if the air conditioning improves!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Keri L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VazquezRomero, General Manager at H10 Timanfaya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Dear Kerry,

Thank you very much for your review.

Let me go to the "Things to consider":
-The dress code is just for dinner at the restaurant. You can use the bars wearing shorts, if you wish. We have a nice terrace at the piano bar. At the reception area, as it is so BIG and with many open areas and doors, it is impossible to keep the air conditioning.
-not enough waiters/waitresses: we open the buffet restaurant from 18:45 to 22/22:15... From 18:45 to 20:15 and from 21:30 to 22:15 they have plenty free time. From 20:30 to 21:30, when the restaurant is 100% full, the service is not so quickly. We cannot contract more staff just to have a nice service for one hour and to lose their time the rest of the working time...
-Temperature of the pool. From nov./13 we open the new indoor pool, heated enough.
-Deposits: we must keep this money that we give back when the guests return the items (keys, towels...), unless, we lose most of them.

Thank you very much again for your review.

Kind regards,

José Ángel Vázquez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa Blanca hotels
1.4 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
1.2 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#14 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,461 reviews
1.4 mi away
H10 Sentido White Suites
H10 Sentido White Suites
#7 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
2 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#8 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3,941 reviews
2.7 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H10 Timanfaya Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H10 Timanfaya Palace

Address: C/ Gran Canaria, 1 | Montana Roja, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Blanca
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
#3 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
#4 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range: $136 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — H10 Timanfaya Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 297
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, H10 Hotels, Prestigia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your H10 Timanfaya Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
h10 Timanfaya Palace Hotel Playa Blanca
h10 Timanfaya Palace Playa Blanca
Timanfaya Palace Lanzarote
H10 Timanfaya Palace Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing