We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best in Playa Blanca!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
H10 Timanfaya Palace
Ranked #1 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 24, 2013

I first stayed at the hotel when it opened in 1998 and uniquely, in my view, Timanfaya Palace has remained at the top of its game. Two years ago the hotel was in the middle of renovations when we visited and so I was interested to see how much it had changed.

Well, the alterations make the hotel even better value in my view. The Reception and entrance areas are now generally much grander with lofted ceilings and huge marble pillars (except that they're not really made of marble as I know from seeing them being constructed in 2011!) The piano bar is elegant and comfortable, and the marble floors (genuine marble!) shine - the whole atmosphere is one of sophisticated Spanish glamour. The main restaurant has had a makeover too and the views across the gardens and palm trees to the sea make a a wonderful backdrop during breakfast and dinner. Outside the gardens have been improved too, with new facilities near the mini-golf. Meanwhile, revamped bedrooms with ultramodern furniture remain as roomy as ever and balcony/terrace areas are large in comparison to most hotels. The showers - an important feature for me - are exactly as they should be . . . hot and with fearsome jets of water. Just the thing after a sticky day in temperatures which never fell below the mid 20s when we were there.

But it's the team that make any hotel special and at Timanfaya Palace they've got the best. At Reception (where daily you can pick up the free password if you're a wifi freak like me), the team does everything possible to make your holiday special and they do it with a smile. Anna P has been at the hotel for seven years and it was Anna who checked us in - despite the pressures of a check-in day, she remained cheerful and helpful. Nora and Samanta also impressed us with their helpfulness.

New to the hotel is an a la carte outlet called the Kasbah on the ground floor and also a cafe bar called Drinke's. You can eat in the Kasbah at a reduced cost if you're a hotel guest and Drinke's makes a change if you want to shade yourself from the sun for a cappuccino and a mufffin. The seats are comfy and it's very peaceful, and Loly makes you feel very welcome. It's thanks to Loly that I still have my beach towel because she ran after me with it when I left!

In the main restaurant, Franc and his deputy manager do a fantastic job keeping everything organised. The options available are all self-service and the presentation is amazing. At breakfast, you're greeted with tables and serveries loaded with fresh fruit, yoghurts, breads and rolls of every description, cold meats, cheeses, eggs and bacon, omelettes, croissants, preserves, cakes, doughnuts, teas, coffee, fresh fruit drinks . . . the lot! Full marks to the chef and his team because the breakfasts were marvellous. And as a bonus, the trays are constantly topped up so nothing runs out.

A good tip is to wander across to the grill where some foods are freshly prepared. In the morning, this might be where fresh oranges are squeezed or where eggs, omelettes and bacon are fried. The chefs here are all cheerful but I would pick out Arora. What a lovely smile she has, even when cooking what must be the 100th omelette of the day!

In the evening, the food at dinner hits new heights. Free aperitifs are served as you go in and the displays dazzle even more so than at breakfast. For starters, there's mussels, prawns, pilchards, cheeses (including Stilton which I love), ham, beef, sauces, salads, rice, pasta, freshly-baked breads and rolls. Then there are the mains - from steaks, hake, shark, and paella to freshly cooked meats like turkey, pork and beef at the grill. I like the idea that guests are of all nationalities because the food reflects national tastes, but if you like to eat only British food then you won't be disappointed. Puds are rich and calorie-laden . . . gateaux, ice creams, pies, fairy cakes, vanilla slices, fresh fruit, cheeses.

The waiters work hard to make sure that tables are cleared and orders for drinks fulfilled. Franc busies himself in the process and it isn't unusual to see the general manager, Vasques Romero, and his deputy come in as well. Of the waiters, quiet Alesandra was a star, Jose was a real character (often whistling while he worked) and Alfredo impressed because of his ability to make small talk with good eye contact even though he was working just as hard as all the others.

Outside, the pools were never that busy - possibly because they were unheated - but this suited me. Wall-to-wall sunshine means you need to be able to cool off from time to time. In the pool bar, ice cream cornets at €1,10 were good value - free if you're all-inclusive - and around the gardens there were cheerful helpers who offered everything from table tennis to Spanish lessons. But we tended to spend most of our time reading and swimming which was quite enough after mornings spent walking along the promenade into Playa Blanca.

If you've got this far, you'll have gathered correctly that we liked the Timanfaya Palace. Well you're wrong. We didn't like it - we loved it! And we'll be back to stay for another holiday.

Just one thing. I have an unsolved mystery about Playa Blanca itself. The town is beautiful - not too big and with real character. The cafes are friendly as well and as a bonus you can easily catch one of the ferries from the harbour over to Fuerteventura if you fancy a change. But the mystery centres on one of the seafront cafes in Playa Blanca. It has a green parrot perched beneath a sunshade on the prom. Do you know him? Danny (I think that's his name) is a real character, one day screeching at everyone, the next as quiet as a lamb and content to climb up and down his perches. If you've been there, have you seen him? Even more importantly (for our curiosity), do you know what happened to the green and grey parrots who used to live there? We asked the waiters and they simply smiled and said they'd gone "upstairs" - did they mean they retired from public life . . . or that they are no more, so to speak.

Overall then, Playa Blanca is lovely. And the jewel in its crown is the Timanfaya Palace Hotel. I congratulate Senor Vasques Romero for his inspirational leadership and hope that he doesn't leave until we've had a few more holidays there!

Room Tip: Avoid those prefixed '0' because they are below ground level. The best rooms overlook the po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DGchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VazquezRomero, General Manager at H10 Timanfaya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Dear DGchester ,

Thank you very much indeed for you nice and complete review. I appreciate it!!!. And of course thanks a lot for your rate of 5 points!!.

We have changed many things the last years and we haven´t finished yet... we are preparing for november a new service that we really need and you´ll enjoy, As soon as we beging this the works, I´ll tell you.... So don´t wait so long to come back ; )

Kind regards,

José Angel Vázquez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,735)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,557 - 3,563 of 5,736 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed in the timanfaya in July 2012 for a pre-wedding getaway just for me, my mum and my sister and had a lovely stay. Hotel is in a great location, so close to the beach and a row of shops, restaurants and bars. We went all inclusive and was so worth it and getting a nice cocktail round the pool just added to the benefit. A lovely couples resort I would say too, nice clean rooms with great balcony views. Buffet was good for breakfast, lunch and dinner... Good variety of food and a lovely cocktail bar in the lobby to have a drink before we want out for the evening. If u didn't want to go all inclusive there are so many other bars and restaurants close by that you wouldn't have to worry, there's a great selection right on your doorstep. A great place and would love to go back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CharandMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VazquezRomero, General Manager at H10 Timanfaya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear CharandMatt,

Thank you for your nice review.

From July to now, abril, we have got much more experience with our new product... and we have also improve a bit. I hope you can come again to enjoy it!.

Kind regards,

José Angel Vázquez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Just back from a week at the Timanfaya Palace (room 215), agree with all the previous positive comments, couldn't fault it, good food, clean rooms, hope to re-visit soon, hopefully to the same room if It can be arranged!! The difference between this hotel and others we have visited in Lanzarote is the visible presence of the manager and second manager who do an exceptional job making sure that everyone has the best possible holiday.
Can't wait to return!! Thank you!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank corsalady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VazquezRomero, General Manager at H10 Timanfaya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear corsalady,

Thank you for your very nice reviews and your rate of 5!!!...
With this comments, I´m blushing ....

When you come back, send us an Email wish your wishes. We don´t promise, but do our best to get it for you, or so similar as possible.

See you soon!.

Kind regards,

José Angel Vázquez
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Timanfaya Palace in July last year. We are a couple in our early 20's and we decided to go for two weeks on the all inclusive package. We spent months researching where to go for our first holiday together, and after a lot of searching we came across the Timanfaya Palace. From the moment we stepped foot into this hotel we knew we had chosen well. We were welcomed with a cold glass of bubbly and a greeting from our thompson rep, after a short wait to check in we were on our way to our room.

We had booked a double sea view room and when we arrived we were surprised to find that we had been upgraded to a superior room on the 2nd floor (219) as it was my girlfriends birthday during our stay. Everything about our room was spot on, it was very clean, had plenty of space and a lovely bathroom. The bed was huge and very comfortable which was great as my girlfriend couldn't push me out while asleep! We had a great view of the sea and pool area and was great to sit out on the balcony at night to watch the sun set.

The food at the hotel was really good, please don't listen to any previous bad reviews as some people can be really picky. It was a buffet restaurant With a different theme each night, in which the food varied. We got to eat at the al la carte restaurant once each week, which was a real treat. We loved it that much that we ordered the same thing both times! Boring but we couldn't resist! As well as the food being good the selection of drinks on the all inclusive option was also great the only downside was that only a few of the cocktails were included but we would defiantly recommend going all inclusive if you can! Just a word of warning for all the blokes, if you are dining in the hotel restaurant for your evening meal you have to wear a long pair of trousers or jeans, however during the day shorts are fine. For anyone wanting to eat out there is a lovely Italian restaurant called Luna Rossa just a 10/15 min walk down the road, next door to it is a really nice chilled out cocktail bar, I took my girlfriend for her birthday and the cocktails were expensive but worth it!

A couple of tips for everyone:
Unfortunately if you want a decent sun bed you will have to get up early, there is a rule saying that you can't reserve them but its not enforced. We found the best thing to do was to get up and put your towels out at 8am then head off to get some breakfast, by then the sun is out.
If you are thinking of taking the water taxi it's a great way of getting to the Rubicon Marina Market and the Papayago beaches but don't make the same mistake as us and walk all the way there to find its closed on a Sunday!
We found the best time to head down to eat was around 7 pm, if you get there that little bit earlier you get to select your own table which is nice.
We tried the free scuba diving session in the hotel pool, it's was great so we booked to go out in the sea which was literally a 30 second walk away, would really recommend it to anyone!

To sum up we both really enjoyed our time at the Timanfaya Hotel, one of the main reasons we booked this hotel was because it was an adult only environment and we didn't want a hotel full of children, we went home after our two week stay feeling relaxed and de-stressed. We highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a chilled out holiday and we will definitely be returning in the future!

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
8  Thank MHiggins89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VazquezRomero, General Manager at H10 Timanfaya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Dear MHiggins89,

Thank you very much for your nice review and your rate of 5!.

I´m really because you were happy in your first holidays with your girlfriend in our hotel.
Thanks a lot for the wholes complements!.

Hope seeing you soon!!.

Kind regards,

José Angel Vázquez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We have just returned from a really lovely ten day holiday at the Timanfaya Palace. The hotel is in a lovely location with beautiful sea views across to the nearby island of Fuerteventura and pleasant walks either into the local town where there are plenty of cafes, restaurants, bars and shops, or to the lighthouse in the other direction.

The rooms are spacious with enormous comfortable beds and, if you book a privilege room there is a coffee machine and an ipod dock, both of which we made good use of. Also if you book privilege and all inclusive this entitles you to eat in the A la carte Kasbah restaurant every night and for every breakfast, and this really made our holiday. Although the food in the main restaurant is good, dinner at the Kasbah was much more civilised with excellent service and many little extra touches which made the evening dining experience more of an event. Breakfasts in the main restaurant have a selection of almost everything you could think of and the food in the pool bar at lunch time was always freshly prepared and piping hot. We particularly enjoyed the fish dishes especially the langoustines, all of which was included in the all inclusive package (everything was).

We found the staff to be friendly and efficient especially those working in the pool bar who then transferred to the piano bar in the evening. Although they obviously work very long hours they were unfailingly pleasant and helpful and the same attitude was shown by the staff in the Kasbah restaurant and Mike's coffee shop where the coffee and cake were divine.The reception staff are a little surly but this does not inhibit their efficiency. The lady that cleaned our room, Manoly, was also unfailingly pleasant and helpful with nothing being too much trouble for her and our room was always spotless.

Now to entertainment. Normally just the mention of the word is enough to turn my husband into a grumpy old man but having persuaded him to try the downstairs entertainment lounge we were fortunate to experience brother of James Corden and his guitar playing sidekick a.k.a. The Secret. The duo incorporate pitch perfect vocals with by sublime multi-layered guitar backing to perform beautiful cover versions of songs both old and new and also performed by the pool bar on a number of lunch times which we really enjoyed. Not only are they great musicians they are also very funny so well done to the discerning H10 manager who booked these two. We also enjoyed the laid back ambiance in the piano bar and thought the saxophonist was excellent although we found the pianist a little clinical.

The pool area is ideal to lounge around when the weather is good and there are plenty of sun beds so it was great that the Timanfaya is the first hotel we have been to that actually enforces the no reserving of sunbeds policy. I enjoyed regular swims in the beautiful main pool. Yes it's cold but it's about 60 metres long so you can't expect it to be heated to a warm temperature and also when the weather is hot it is very refreshing to cool down in there.

The managers are the hotel are very visible and we were particularly impressed with the Deputy Manager Javier Moreno who walked the site every day and came to speak to people in the restaurant most evenings. He sorted out our one and only niggle during the holiday and stopped it from escalating into something which could have ruined our holiday. He is a great ambassador for the Timanfaya Palace and for H10 hotels.

This was one of our best holidays. Having been to the hotel when it was a family venue we prefer it now that it is adults only and we will be returning with our friends later in the year.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank andymunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VazquezRomero, General Manager at H10 Timanfaya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Dear andymunt ,

Thank you very much for you nice review, your rate of 5 and for coming back !!!!.

Yes, the hotel is very different now as we used to be. We were not bad, you know, guests were happy, but now, with the new concept and new service, you are even happier!!.

Thanks again and see you soon!.

Kind regards,

José Angel Vázquez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Stayed late March for 11 nights-all inclusive. Food very good, lots of choice. Some people have said that they found some of the staff unfriendly and the restaurant like a canteen. We didn't. Very good quality all inclusive drinks etc., and no scimping on amounts served. No problem finding sun beds and a very good main pool. Very good, clean promanade for walking. Metal steps into the sea, just outside the hotel, if you want to snorkel. No problem recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: Not the basement and try to get one without a floor above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Icanmoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VazquezRomero, General Manager at H10 Timanfaya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Dear Icanmoan,

Thank you very much for your review and your rate of 5!!.

I thank you that you say my staff are friendly. You know, a big hotel is as a village, and always can be different points of view. My staff work very hard and always do their best. I appreciate, that most guest think they are very nice.

Kind regards,

José Angel Vázquez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Just wanted to say what a lovely hotel in all areas. Right on the beach and being able to walk
to several beaches too is very good.
We could fault the hotel everything was excellent, rooms very clean with good views if requested.
Many people have put bad reports about this hotel , but we felt it needs to be said how good the
hotel is.
Yes if you go in the restaurant there are busy times but on the door it tells you when is the busy time is so you can avoid this.
The staff are all very friendly and yes sometimes very busy in the restaurant at the busy times.If
You make an effort with them they are very helpful to you.
The only bad thing we would say is take you own tea bags .
We were there from 4th to 14th April being an adult only hotel we enjoyed no children there.
Nearly all the people in the hotel said they would go back.

Room Tip: Get a sea view room or pool view. Superior rooms are available too
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Gilly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VazquezRomero, General Manager at H10 Timanfaya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear Gilly F,

Thank you very much for your nice review and your rate of 5!!.

I don´t understand very well this: "The only bad thing we would say is take you own tea bags ". We have different teas at the restaurant and in the Mike´s Coffee. I can suppose that is is because you like very strong breakfast tea, I we cannot find stronger... Sorry for this : (

I hope seeing you soon.

Kind regards

Jose Angel Vazquez
General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Blanca
1.4 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
1.4 mi away
H10 Sentido White Suites
H10 Sentido White Suites
#8 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,780 reviews
1.2 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#14 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#6 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3,865 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
9.0 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
5,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H10 Timanfaya Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H10 Timanfaya Palace

Address: C/ Gran Canaria, 1 | Montana Roja, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Blanca
#3 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
#4 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range: $140 - $314 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — H10 Timanfaya Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 297
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, H10 Hotels, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Travelocity and Evoline ltd so you can book your H10 Timanfaya Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
h10 Timanfaya Palace Hotel Playa Blanca
h10 Timanfaya Palace Playa Blanca
Timanfaya Palace Lanzarote
H10 Timanfaya Palace Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing