We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect first holiday.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
H10 Timanfaya Palace
Ranked #1 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 21, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Timanfaya Palace in July last year. We are a couple in our early 20's and we decided to go for two weeks on the all inclusive package. We spent months researching where to go for our first holiday together, and after a lot of searching we came across the Timanfaya Palace. From the moment we stepped foot into this hotel we knew we had chosen well. We were welcomed with a cold glass of bubbly and a greeting from our thompson rep, after a short wait to check in we were on our way to our room.

We had booked a double sea view room and when we arrived we were surprised to find that we had been upgraded to a superior room on the 2nd floor (219) as it was my girlfriends birthday during our stay. Everything about our room was spot on, it was very clean, had plenty of space and a lovely bathroom. The bed was huge and very comfortable which was great as my girlfriend couldn't push me out while asleep! We had a great view of the sea and pool area and was great to sit out on the balcony at night to watch the sun set.

The food at the hotel was really good, please don't listen to any previous bad reviews as some people can be really picky. It was a buffet restaurant With a different theme each night, in which the food varied. We got to eat at the al la carte restaurant once each week, which was a real treat. We loved it that much that we ordered the same thing both times! Boring but we couldn't resist! As well as the food being good the selection of drinks on the all inclusive option was also great the only downside was that only a few of the cocktails were included but we would defiantly recommend going all inclusive if you can! Just a word of warning for all the blokes, if you are dining in the hotel restaurant for your evening meal you have to wear a long pair of trousers or jeans, however during the day shorts are fine. For anyone wanting to eat out there is a lovely Italian restaurant called Luna Rossa just a 10/15 min walk down the road, next door to it is a really nice chilled out cocktail bar, I took my girlfriend for her birthday and the cocktails were expensive but worth it!

A couple of tips for everyone:
Unfortunately if you want a decent sun bed you will have to get up early, there is a rule saying that you can't reserve them but its not enforced. We found the best thing to do was to get up and put your towels out at 8am then head off to get some breakfast, by then the sun is out.
If you are thinking of taking the water taxi it's a great way of getting to the Rubicon Marina Market and the Papayago beaches but don't make the same mistake as us and walk all the way there to find its closed on a Sunday!
We found the best time to head down to eat was around 7 pm, if you get there that little bit earlier you get to select your own table which is nice.
We tried the free scuba diving session in the hotel pool, it's was great so we booked to go out in the sea which was literally a 30 second walk away, would really recommend it to anyone!

To sum up we both really enjoyed our time at the Timanfaya Hotel, one of the main reasons we booked this hotel was because it was an adult only environment and we didn't want a hotel full of children, we went home after our two week stay feeling relaxed and de-stressed. We highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a chilled out holiday and we will definitely be returning in the future!

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
8  Thank MHiggins89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VazquezRomero, General Manager at H10 Timanfaya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Dear MHiggins89,

Thank you very much for your nice review and your rate of 5!.

I´m really because you were happy in your first holidays with your girlfriend in our hotel.
Thanks a lot for the wholes complements!.

Hope seeing you soon!!.

Kind regards,

José Angel Vázquez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,840)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,649 - 3,655 of 5,840 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2013

We have just returned from a really lovely ten day holiday at the Timanfaya Palace. The hotel is in a lovely location with beautiful sea views across to the nearby island of Fuerteventura and pleasant walks either into the local town where there are plenty of cafes, restaurants, bars and shops, or to the lighthouse in the other direction.

The rooms are spacious with enormous comfortable beds and, if you book a privilege room there is a coffee machine and an ipod dock, both of which we made good use of. Also if you book privilege and all inclusive this entitles you to eat in the A la carte Kasbah restaurant every night and for every breakfast, and this really made our holiday. Although the food in the main restaurant is good, dinner at the Kasbah was much more civilised with excellent service and many little extra touches which made the evening dining experience more of an event. Breakfasts in the main restaurant have a selection of almost everything you could think of and the food in the pool bar at lunch time was always freshly prepared and piping hot. We particularly enjoyed the fish dishes especially the langoustines, all of which was included in the all inclusive package (everything was).

We found the staff to be friendly and efficient especially those working in the pool bar who then transferred to the piano bar in the evening. Although they obviously work very long hours they were unfailingly pleasant and helpful and the same attitude was shown by the staff in the Kasbah restaurant and Mike's coffee shop where the coffee and cake were divine.The reception staff are a little surly but this does not inhibit their efficiency. The lady that cleaned our room, Manoly, was also unfailingly pleasant and helpful with nothing being too much trouble for her and our room was always spotless.

Now to entertainment. Normally just the mention of the word is enough to turn my husband into a grumpy old man but having persuaded him to try the downstairs entertainment lounge we were fortunate to experience brother of James Corden and his guitar playing sidekick a.k.a. The Secret. The duo incorporate pitch perfect vocals with by sublime multi-layered guitar backing to perform beautiful cover versions of songs both old and new and also performed by the pool bar on a number of lunch times which we really enjoyed. Not only are they great musicians they are also very funny so well done to the discerning H10 manager who booked these two. We also enjoyed the laid back ambiance in the piano bar and thought the saxophonist was excellent although we found the pianist a little clinical.

The pool area is ideal to lounge around when the weather is good and there are plenty of sun beds so it was great that the Timanfaya is the first hotel we have been to that actually enforces the no reserving of sunbeds policy. I enjoyed regular swims in the beautiful main pool. Yes it's cold but it's about 60 metres long so you can't expect it to be heated to a warm temperature and also when the weather is hot it is very refreshing to cool down in there.

The managers are the hotel are very visible and we were particularly impressed with the Deputy Manager Javier Moreno who walked the site every day and came to speak to people in the restaurant most evenings. He sorted out our one and only niggle during the holiday and stopped it from escalating into something which could have ruined our holiday. He is a great ambassador for the Timanfaya Palace and for H10 hotels.

This was one of our best holidays. Having been to the hotel when it was a family venue we prefer it now that it is adults only and we will be returning with our friends later in the year.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank andymunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VazquezRomero, General Manager at H10 Timanfaya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Dear andymunt ,

Thank you very much for you nice review, your rate of 5 and for coming back !!!!.

Yes, the hotel is very different now as we used to be. We were not bad, you know, guests were happy, but now, with the new concept and new service, you are even happier!!.

Thanks again and see you soon!.

Kind regards,

José Angel Vázquez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Stayed late March for 11 nights-all inclusive. Food very good, lots of choice. Some people have said that they found some of the staff unfriendly and the restaurant like a canteen. We didn't. Very good quality all inclusive drinks etc., and no scimping on amounts served. No problem finding sun beds and a very good main pool. Very good, clean promanade for walking. Metal steps into the sea, just outside the hotel, if you want to snorkel. No problem recommending this hotel.

Room Tip: Not the basement and try to get one without a floor above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Icanmoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VazquezRomero, General Manager at H10 Timanfaya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Dear Icanmoan,

Thank you very much for your review and your rate of 5!!.

I thank you that you say my staff are friendly. You know, a big hotel is as a village, and always can be different points of view. My staff work very hard and always do their best. I appreciate, that most guest think they are very nice.

Kind regards,

José Angel Vázquez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Just wanted to say what a lovely hotel in all areas. Right on the beach and being able to walk
to several beaches too is very good.
We could fault the hotel everything was excellent, rooms very clean with good views if requested.
Many people have put bad reports about this hotel , but we felt it needs to be said how good the
hotel is.
Yes if you go in the restaurant there are busy times but on the door it tells you when is the busy time is so you can avoid this.
The staff are all very friendly and yes sometimes very busy in the restaurant at the busy times.If
You make an effort with them they are very helpful to you.
The only bad thing we would say is take you own tea bags .
We were there from 4th to 14th April being an adult only hotel we enjoyed no children there.
Nearly all the people in the hotel said they would go back.

Room Tip: Get a sea view room or pool view. Superior rooms are available too
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Gilly F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VazquezRomero, General Manager at H10 Timanfaya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2013

Dear Gilly F,

Thank you very much for your nice review and your rate of 5!!.

I don´t understand very well this: "The only bad thing we would say is take you own tea bags ". We have different teas at the restaurant and in the Mike´s Coffee. I can suppose that is is because you like very strong breakfast tea, I we cannot find stronger... Sorry for this : (

I hope seeing you soon.

Kind regards

Jose Angel Vazquez
General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Just returned from this hotel 18th April.lovely hotel very clean and sea view rooms are very spacious.location is also good if you're like us don't mind walking.the breakfast was nice but evening meal was ok what you expect from buffet restuarents.the entertainment was non existent so we found the Irish anvil bar was a good night.hotel be aware is full of very old people were in our fifties and we were amongst the youngest.but we had a great holiday.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VazquezRomero, General Manager at H10 Timanfaya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Dear Catherine,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are an quiet hotel a we don´t have a very strong entertaiment program. Our guest prefer quiet during the day and live music evenings. We also have 3x week prefessional shows.

The averega age of our guest in this month is 50 years old. In Easter and in summer they are much younger.

Kind regards,

José Angel Vazquez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We have just returned from a one week stay at this hotel as all inclusive guests. The hotel upon arrival has an impressive reception area and reception staff who were friendly and helpful. Check in upon arrival was dealt with swiftly and efficiently. We stayed in room 518 which had a good overall seaview and pool view. The room was above average in size and well maintained throughout the week.

The restaurant was always very busy but the standard of food was excellant. Try the grill in the mornings for the fresh juice - delicious! and the scrummy omelettes with the filling of your choice. We lunched in the poolside bar where the menu was basic for all inclusive guests but generally good. There is plenty of choice in the evening and again the grill is the best option for fresh fish. We enjoy healthy eating and there was a great choice enabling us to do so. The amount and quality of fresh fruit in the main restaurant was amazing at breakfast and in the evning and we really enjoyed this. Also plenty of salad on offer along with a multitude of other choices if desired. It was a litle disconcerting however that the restaurant staff whipped the plates off the table as soon as you put your knife and fork down and sometimes before you had finished your food , a little over enthusiatic at times!!

The entertainment in the evenings was ok but finished at 11pm on the dot and then everything just went very quiet, unfortunately it was too windy to sit out on the terrace and it was really cold in the evenings. The piano bar is lovely but again wound up very early. We felt this was to accomodate the rather mature clientele this hotel seems to attract.

The coastline is very dramatic and we enjoyed scenic walks along the promenade. and were impressed with the beauty of the island.

We loved the hotel and felt that it was very well managed and impressively maintained. It was great that the hotel staff collected up any towels left on sunbeds before 9.30am and this did give us a chuckle. There are plenty of sunbeds to go around and there is no need to be claiming them so early in the morning.The pool area and gardens are kept beautifully but unfortunately the pools were too cold this early in the season to swim in.

We would not return to Lanzarote as its just so windy! However we enjoyed the hotel very much and would recommend it to anyone who wants a luxury hotel and a quiet break. :-)

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Su G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VazquezRomero, General Manager at H10 Timanfaya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Dear Su G,

Thank you very much for your nice review, nice comments and rate of 5.

It is true that Lanzarote and Fuerteventura are windig. Fuerteventura is even more windig than Lanzarote (Fuerte= Strong Ventura= Wind). Normally it is very windig in June and July, and it is nice because it is not so heat.
In april it shouldn´t be so windig....

If you come back looking for no wind, your months are september and october.

Kind regards,

José Angel Vázquez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We had a sunny easter break at Timanfya Palace to get away from the long grey winter months we've had here in the UK! 1st week of April. Generally the weather was good, 22-24'c, bit cool and cloudy to begin with most mornings, but by 11.30-12.00 the sun would burn through, and be quite hot between 4-5pm.
The hotel itself is in a nice position right on the seafront promenade, which runs the entire coast from the lighthouse peninsular, all the way past the hotel, and through the resort of Playa Blanca to the new marina. With views across towards Fuerteventura.
The grounds of the hotel are pleasent, and sunbeds nicely spread out. The swimming pools however are very cold indeed. Even for me, it was somewhat bracing!! The poolside bar, and lunchtime snackbar were well staffed mostly, and handily placed to get drinks from during the daytime by the pool, and for a snack at lunchtime. Just a tip..DO NOT order the burgers off the menu. Dreadful, reformed frozen burgers. Awful. Avoid these! However the Pizza's, freshly made were quite tasty, and the usual toasted sandwiches, and buffet salad bar. There is open daily a Coffee-Shop, which served very nice fresh coffees, and cake, although a shame that this was located in the basement level of the hotel, quite dark and dingy unfortunately. This would of been far better situated somewhere which you could get some natural sunlight, or even some seating outside. On the subject of coffee, that served at breakfast time in the main buffet restaurant was TERRIBLE! Luckily in our room, on the 2nd Floor, we had a lovely Expresso maker, which was very welcome, and a nice touch.
The room itself was very spacious, reasonable bathroom area, and had a very nice, private terrace with views over the pool, and across the sea to Fuerteventura. One of the best Terraces that i've experienced in this class of hotel. So top marks for that....Although, on our departure day, we had the facility of a room for half an hour too freshen up for our trip home, and this was much higher up, I think Floor 4, and the view although toward the sea, looked out initially across the service walkway for staff, and rather untidy roof tops of the other floors. Not very impressive to say the least! Also, the walkways outside the room very very noisy when someone wheeled their suitcase past! Could do with a carpeted centre runner ideally!
Food wise, the main buffet restaurant was what you'd expect. Very busy, and at peak times, a bit chaotic. The staff worked very hard, but it wasn't a relaxing dining experience at all! Tables being constantly cleared aand relayed, the food...average. A good selection, and something for most people, but lacking any quality, or refinement really. The show cooking area wasn't really that much better either, and lacked imagination. A shame. The a'la carte restaurant, which you could book into once on your weeks holiday, was somewhat better, and far more relaxing and enjoyable. Better food, and service. I would recommend going on an All Inclusive basis, and not worry the costs of drinks, bottles of wine, coffees, ice-creams, and lunchtimes. I think, well worth the extra.
Overall, this hotel met my expectations, there are always area's which could be improved, and this hotel was certainly no exception. Need to address a few things, but overall not too bad. A solid 3.5/4 Stars. Not without it's faults, but a pleasent holiday.

Room Tip: avoid basement room. Floor 2 very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cashy72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VazquezRomero, General Manager at H10 Timanfaya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Dear Cashy,

Thank you for your review.

As you say, the hotel is very full, and in some times, the restaurants are very busy. Because of that we open then a long time to have the possibility to find a quite moment.
Breakfast we open oficially from 8 to 10:30. You may come in before (without show cooking) or even reserve a early breakfast at any time...
Dinner we open from 18:30 to 22:00h.

About the coffee, I´m sorry that you didn´t get the information that you can order a nespresso fro free in the morning by breakfast.

Hoping seeing you soon,

Kind regards,

José Angel Vázquez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa Blanca hotels
1.4 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
1.2 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#14 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,461 reviews
1.4 mi away
H10 Sentido White Suites
H10 Sentido White Suites
#7 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#8 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3,943 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
2.7 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H10 Timanfaya Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H10 Timanfaya Palace

Address: C/ Gran Canaria, 1 | Montana Roja, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Blanca
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
#3 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
#4 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range: $136 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — H10 Timanfaya Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 297
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Prestigia, Hotwire, H10 Hotels, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your H10 Timanfaya Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
h10 Timanfaya Palace Hotel Playa Blanca
h10 Timanfaya Palace Playa Blanca
Timanfaya Palace Lanzarote
H10 Timanfaya Palace Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing