We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable week at the Timanfaya Palace”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
H10 Timanfaya Palace
Ranked #1 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Enjoyable week at the Timanfaya Palace”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Recently returned home from a week at the Timanfaya Palace.We booked our flights with JET2 from Manchester,private taxi with Travel Republic from Arrecife airport to the hotel, both were punctual and efficient, the hotel was booked online also taking.the Priviledge Superior Room Half Board option (pay on arrival in pounds or euros).
On arrival we were allocated room 253 on the 2nd floor at the end of a corridor with an excellent sea view and sunny balcony.The receptionist took 50 euros deposit for 2 towels,fridge and safe keys which were fully refunded at the end of our stay(part of priviledge deal).
The beds were comfortable and very large and there was a bathroom with toiletries and a hair dryer, towels were changed and toiletries replenished as required.
The room had a TV, but only had news channels(BBC NEW24,SKYNEWS and CNN). which was disappointing since we like to watch some TV even when on holiday in the evening.
The Priviledge Package came with Bathrobes,slippers,daily newspaper(order/collect from shop onsite at midday).The Priviledge Lounge (accessed gained with room key) contained branded drinks (e.g Bacardi),beers,tea/coffee,soft drinks and botttles of water,Internet access was also available(password changed daily -see reception for latest).The room also contained a TV.
The Dining Room was buffet style for both breakfasr and Dinner.The `show cooking` available for both meals(top left corner of dining room)was very popular and guaranteed hot food which was not always the case from the main servery in the evening.The general quality of the food was good with plenty of choice(take the Smoothies at breakfast ( by show cooking ) instead of vending juices).We enjoyed a meal at the Kasbah Al la Carte one evening at no extra charge with the Priviledge Upgrade.One downside in the main dining room was that some of the seating
would only provide a backrest if you were over 6` 6" tall !

There is plenty of promenade walking availablefrom outside the hotel to the lighthouse(1hr) or the Rubicon Marina(1hr).Beyond the Rubicon Marina the coastal path cotinues on towards Papagayo beach for those wanting a longer walk.

Taxis are cheap,we paid 5 euros from the Rubicon Marina to the Hotel when we didn`t fancy the hour walk back..

The hotel is trying to stop sunbed reseration,we did not have a problem obtaining a sunbed when required,however the staff did remove towels left on sunbeds before 9.30am on the day of our departure.(subbeds are very comfortable).

Would we stay again ? - probably

Room Tip: Ask for high floor - end of corridor (liitle or no passing traffic)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank philyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VazquezRomero, Gerente at H10 Timanfaya Palace, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Philyn,
Thank you for your review. We appreciate it.
I hope you come back soon.

Kind regards,

José Angel Vázquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,594
    1,456
    388
    113
    53
See reviews for
412
4,449
58
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,030)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
warwick
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

This was our first visit to this hotel,although it had been recommended by our friends who spend 4weeks in January there every year.The hotel is tastefully designed,spacious,clean with a friendly atmosphere.It is well worth paying extra for a sea view room,and floor level 3or above,as the lower floors look out at ground level.We booked for half-board,& we were not disappointed
with the evening buffet,which had plenty of variety each night,although had we stayed longer than a week,we would have felt a night at a restaurant would have been a change!.There is an a-la-cart restaurant at the hotel,which we believe to be very good although we didn't actually use it.The hotel is nicely positioned with a short stroll to the harbour along a pleasant promenade.Possibly the only moan is the actual dining room,it's quite basicly designed and gets VERY crowded at peak times.Also the evening entertainment has much to be desired,although the musicians performing in the 'piano-bar' were excellent.We will definately consider a return visit.

.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank warwickrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VazquezRomero, Gerente at H10 Timanfaya Palace, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear warwickrose,

Thank yoou very much for your nice review.
Next time you come, you should try the Kasbah Restaurant.

You are right, we need more place for show bar. the We are buying 50 new armchairs that we get in 2 weeks...

Kind regards,

José Angel Vázquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

This is my second review of this hotel. The first being in November 2012 where I rated it as excellent value for money and where I highlighted the quality of the food. Well nothing much has changed. It continues to provide excellent value for money. On this occasion we (my wife and I ) paid for a sea view room which was well worth the extra. However, the hall accessing our room had some problem with its ventilation and tended to have a strong smell of fried fish. Setting that aside our room’s (435) view more than compensated for the short smelly walk along the corridor.
The main reason why I have returned to review this hotel is to comment on the hotel’s poor quality of the internet service. I could be said that it is unfair to criticise the hotel for something which is free however, this is now starting to become a standard feature of most hotels in the US and Europe is starting to follow. With that in mind the 110 kbs capped service is nearly unusable it is so slow. I’m not an internet expert but I think the old British Telecom dialup service promised a minimum of 250kbs, and that is from the probably worst of the internet providers.
So my review is directed to the H10 group, wake up and smell the coffee and set up a proper wifi network which has sufficient bandwidth for Skype and can also be accessed from the rooms or at least the balconies

Room Tip: Pay extra for the sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VazquezRomero, General Manager at H10 Timanfaya Palace, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear ian L,

Thank you for your nice report and for the rating of 5.

I agree with you that the wifi is not good enough. Right now our computer department in H10 are working to find a solution, because we cannot get more speed with the normal line.
They have promised me in one moth we´ll have a solution. Moreover, from nov.2013 we´ll have wifi in the 70% of the whole hotel...

Kind regards,

José Angel Vázquez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed here for 1 week last September (2012). We have stayed in Playa Blanca many times and enjoy the resort as it is a very relaxing place with a lovely clean sandy beach and good restaurants.

The Hotel is large and spacious, but does not feel busy or overcrowded. The pool area is very pleasent with lots of freely available comfy sunbeds (although there is still the issue of people getting up at silly o'clock to reserve their favourite sunbed and then not use it for half the day). Plenty of sunbeds to go round, so no need to do this, but I guess it is just human nature on this type of holiday......

As other people have said, ALWAYS pay the extra to get a pool/sea view. I wouldn't like to be in one of the ground level rooms as these have no view as the gardens slope upwards from these balconies.

The rooms are large and modern, as you would expect from this type of hotel. We booked half board and you can swap dinner for lunch instead, as we did on a couple of days. This alllows you to walk into Playa Blanca (15mins easy flat walking) to sample some of the excellent food at the local restaurants along the old harbour frontand watch the sun set over the small bay - lovely!

We hired cycles and cycled alog the sea front to the lighthouse (probably about 5 miles of fairly easy cycle route). Also cycled in the other direction to the new harbour on the day when the market was being held. Easy to lock the cycles in the stands at the roadside and then explore the market. Good assortment of table cloths, beach wear etc, so worth a visit. The new harbour also has some nice cafes and restaurants.

This hotel is in a good overall location and is great for a quiet holiday as it has become an adults only hotel in recent years.

A small minus to this hotel (although it wouldn't stop us staying there again) is the evening entertainment. The upstairs bar occasionally had some live music which was fine, but this bar always seemed very busy. The downstairs "entertainment" bar seems to be rather a souless place. One evening the entertainment team organised a Poker evening - so few people attendning, it was held in the pool bar. Another evening involved asking people to lay on the small beach directly opposite the hotel to listen to listen to music and look at the stars! No-onder the upstairs bar is so busy! If the hotel wants to inject some life into evening entertainment, they should get some decent entertainment acts in from outside rather than rely on the inhouse team.

That aside - would I stay again if in Playa Blanca? Absolutely!

Room Tip: Pay and get a sea or pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dreaminofnextholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VazquezRomero, General Manager at H10 Timanfaya Palace, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear dreaminofnextholiday,
I like your nick name ; )

Thanks for the nice review.

Just to give a right information to other guests, we just have the "blankets on the beach" in Summer... Now the weather is nice during the day, but in the evening is not so nice to go to the beach...

For next summer we are already preparing new surprises...

Kind regards,

José Angel Vázquez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013

This was our fourth visit to the Timanfaya Palace. We had come to take time out from the British Winter and recharge our batteries. To save you clicking on the ‘more’ button I would summarise as follows. My wife and I are both over 65; we have seen the hotel make improvements over the years and overall we enjoy the hotel, like the staff, the location suits us and the restful ambiance is also to our taste. In all we will be back as soon as we raid the piggy bank and ‘yes’ - it is an hotel we would recommend.
The hotel is still up to tourist 4 star standard but you may want to consider the following three points:-
1 The Timanfaya is a couple’s only hotel. This means no children under 16 and that puts it in a different class to the other H10 ‘family’ hotels in Playa Blanca. There are young people in the Timanfaya but as the description indicates, they are mainly couples. There were a few family groups whilst we were there but they were the exception. We noted that the average age this March appeared to be 50+ but the ‘younger’ set did not appear out of place.
2 The Timanfaya is situated outside of Playa Blanca. There is a refreshing walk into Playa Blanca along the Promenade, about an hours ‘stroll’, with possibly another half hour if you wish to carry on to the Marina Rubicon, well worth a visit. A taxi from the hotel to Playa Blanca is about 5 Euros (a controlled price). If you want a hectic night life, this is not the place for you; there are other resorts you could try. There is entertainment in the hotel on most nights, usually an hour long variety act of some form with disco or ‘lounge’ type music; but because of the reserved make up of the audience don’t expect too much in the way of dancing. The entertainment staff, headed by Ben, encourage people to get up and dance.
3 The Timanfaya is part of the H10 chain but, as indicated in a previous comment, it does have an identity of its own. Most of the guests are British but there are other nationalities; primarily German and Spanish; however all appear to want a quiet time in the sun. An issue regarding the ’booking’ of sun beds by the dawn towel excursion has been solved by removing unaccompanied towels from the beds before 09:30. This can be policed by the staff, but not always – which it should be to leave no doubt for the dawn raiders. In any case, should all sun beds be taken at any time during the day you can request a member of staff to supply an extra one.
The latter comment does indicate that the management of the hotel do try to be all things to all people whilst at the same time being attentive to an individual’s needs. They may not always succeed but they do try and are at a minimum approachable. Most of the front of house staff speak good english and all staff will respond to a smile and friendly greeting. These can be few and far between from some of the guests. The buffet restaurant has come in for some criticism; too large, no tables, rude staff and wrong food. This of course is a matter of perception and timing. The Kasbah restaurant can offer an alternative if you wish service and presentation, but of course at a price.
The weather in Lanzarotti is generally good but not 100% reliable, and there is often a wind which can keep you cool (cold?) and this can mean you getting accidentally sunburnt. A clothing tip is to take at least one warm outfit as, like all hotels in hot climates, it can be difficult to get warm on cold days as no heating is available. Air conditioning – yes, heating – no. The lack of a heated swimming pool in the cooler months does put many off ‘water relaxation’. We understand that the hotel is due to have a heated indoor swimming pool by November this year.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the first floor (room numbers starting with a 1). If no others available ask for one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TWOOF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Stayed at this hotel in Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, for a week in March 2013. Hotel is a modern design making it big and spacious in the main areas. The bedroom and bathroom were also a good size, well appointed and kept clean by the friendly maid service. The hotel is in a really good location, about 15-20 mins walk from the town along the seafront in one direction and about 30 mins walk to the lighthouse in the opposite direction. We found the restaurant the most disappointing aspect of the hotel - the food was ok (7/10), with lots of choice but it was a bit of a scrabble to find a table each morning and evening. Certainly the staff could have been more helpful, and less surly, if only we could distract them from laying up for the next meal session. A bit too much cafeteria-like for a quality hotel. The food at the pool bar was good and the drinks at all bars were great value in very pleasant environments. There were a few other niggles including the interminably slow wifi which needed a pass renewing daily (why?). Having said all of that, we had a lovely week and I would definitely consider going back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anthony K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

This was our first half board and adult only holiday for 10 days in March. Overall it was very enjoyable and a good place for a winter break.
Hotel has a nice environment and is in a good location. It is only a short (20minute) walk from Playa Blanca, which is a nice small town even though most of the shops sell the usual tatt.
Nice pool side area but there were a lot of towels on sun beds so we ended up doing the same.
We were not used to half board but the food was generally very good with a varied choice. There was themed menu every night and something for every taste. On the down side, tea and coffee is appalling. The exception is Micks Cafe on the 1st floor, although you'll need to pay here. Suggest you take your own and make sure you get a kettle in your room. Room was very good and the double bed was huge and comfortable.

The hotel sells itself as 4 star but doesn’t quite live up to this. I would say it is a good 3 star by English standards. Some points to note that could be improved. You need to find out before you go exactly what is included as everything, safe, access to fridge in room, is extra and this was clear from the first welcome. They even tried to charge 7 Euros for an iron. The swimming pool is not heated in the winter even though temperatures were mid 20's.

It was an adults only hotel but be warned at 55 and 53 we were in a "young" minority. Definitely for the retired and well over 65's. The entertainment was aimed at this age group and we found it to be of a poor standard.

The Thompson reps were very good and very helpful; Liz and Craig.

Car hire is cheap and recommended as a cheap way of seeing the islands attractions. Use the car hire company in the hotel foyer. In three days you will have seen all the sights as Lanzarote is about the size of Warwickshire.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a pool view, which also has a view of the sea. Try and avoid the lower ground fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank octim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Blanca
1.4 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
2.1 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#6 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3,797 reviews
1.4 mi away
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
#8 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#12 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,222 reviews
9.0 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
4,832 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H10 Timanfaya Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H10 Timanfaya Palace

Property: H10 Timanfaya Palace
Address: C/ Gran Canaria, 1 | Montana Roja, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Blanca
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
#3 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
#4 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — H10 Timanfaya Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 297
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, H10 Hotels, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your H10 Timanfaya Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
h10 Timanfaya Palace Hotel Playa Blanca
h10 Timanfaya Palace Playa Blanca
Timanfaya Palace Lanzarote
H10 Timanfaya Palace Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing