We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
H10 Timanfaya Palace
Ranked #1 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“very nice hotel”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

my husband and i have just returned from a weeks stay at this hotel ,. the hotel was very nice , execellent location with lovely rooms with big large bed and big balcony. We stayed half board which was very nice ,the food had very good choice and really good quality ,drinks prices were very reasonable too for hotel.
Just one or two little issues the service in bar round pool for lunch was very slow and not very friendly waiters with miserable faces and could be quite rude, we always stay in four star hotels and have never come across such a silly way of having to pay 20euro each deposit for beach towels, why not just have card system as in other 4 star hotels?
When we arrived there was no welcome drink or anybody to take our bags to the room which was quite a challange as the room numbers were not easy to find.These are just little touches we expect but this would not put us of going back to this hotel in the future

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jeffandjohnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,543
    1,437
    385
    110
    53
See reviews for
405
4,389
58
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,018)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Poole
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Having had a brilliant time in the Princess Yaiza Hotel in the summer (which we couldn't fault), we were looking forward to returning to the area with our daughter (aged 22) at half term. However, we found the Timanfaya Palace very tried, especially the outside area.We are aware that they are trying to update the hotel and the rooms were fine - very basic, but Ok, but I wouldn't go there again unless the renervations are all completed.
We were near the kitchens unfortunately and every morning from 8am there was such a terrific noise and there was no way of sleeping through. I have no idea what they were doing with the plates, but the crashing sounds were so loud.
We had to pay for the safe, something we have not had to do for years!
The corridors (hallway is too good a term for them!) smelt and were not very nice.
The water features were tired and looked dreadful as did the mini golf area. The pictures on their website do not show the hotel as it really is.
There was also no WiFi in the room or round the pool. In fact trying to get it in the lobby of the hotel was practically impossible. In this day and age that is riduculous.
the restaurant by the pool served good food, but the head waiter was so sweating we were worried about it dripping in our food (the odd wipe with towel would not have gone amiss) and we found a hair in our chips!!!
If you go to Playa Blanca - I'd chose the Princess Yaiza

Room Tip: Do not have a room near the kitchen
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

My honest opinion , we went during the half term break so that may have a bearing .
For ,
nice place right on coast , nice walks to playa blanca , food was ok , wine and drinks were v good , some staff were v friendly , well set out hotel .
Against
I've read other reviews who said staff were friendly but I honestly found most of them miserable , especially the restruant staff , never smile or very helpfull and don't go for breakfast after 10 as they only want to get set up for lunch and are actually rude ! at dinner one night I ordered a glass of wine and there were flies in it , it happens , when I pointed it out I was given another with more flies in ! I took the flies out and put them on the tablecloth and showed the waiter , she said I'll get you a new bottle , no apology and left flies there the whole meal ! .
We paid for a room upgrade , £250 or so , room was very nice with sea view but overlooked the loading bay and where the rubbish and glass are disposed of , so no late lay ins , I did enquire at reception but was told " you have what you paid for " . You can only get drinks from 1 bar during the day , which can get busy . it is very quiet , more geared towards the 60 age bracket , or was that week . Entertainment is the same couple virtually every day and night , although good you can have too much .
All in all could have been much better if the staff had been friendly ,

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymena
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

my husband and i not long back from Timanfaya palace hotel.First time in Lanzarote and after staying at this hotel.will be back.Found all staff very friendly and helpfull.food very good,good variety,rooms comfortable.would definitley go back

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank happycouple877
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Timanfaya Palace. Our room was very modern, the bed was huge and we had a large balcony perfect for a glass of wine in the evening! The hotel is perfectly located in Playa Blanca, just a short walk to the beach, two small supermarkets and a few bars. If you turn right and walk along the promenade you will find a few restaurants and bars. We ate in the Italian restaurant to celebrate our anniversary and we had a fantastic meal overlooking the ocean, perfect! Definitely recommend it!
We booked on a half board basis and we both thought the breakfast and dinner choices were excellent. The restaurant was themed during the evening which ensured that we were never bored with the food. All the food was fresh and tasty, great selection. We did consider all inclusive when we checked into the hotel, but we decided against it as we thought we won't get value for money. We ate lunch out at the local bars and restaurants and we were pleasantly surprised at how reasonable eating out was, approx 20 euro for us both with drinks.
We both enjoy lazing in the sun, so the hotel pool and beach front was lovely and relaxing. A few times a week a guitarist plays while you sunbathe and there are plenty of activities to do if you feel energetic!!
The hotel decor is modern and attractive and the main bar is beautiful, we enjoyed lovely cocktails there whilst listening to a pianist, guitarist or saxophonist on different nights.
My only complaint was the standard of cleaning and the maids. Our balcony floor was dirty and I asked three times for it to be washed. I also felt that the general standard of cleaning in the bedroom and bathroom wasn't up to standard. I did report this to reception but I didn't feel the standard improved. We hired the fridge and we found that some of our wine was disappearing from the bottle! My husband also had some cigarettes taken. If you visit this hotel lock up your vino from the greedy maids!!
If you are looking for a relaxing adults only hotel I'd definitely recommend this hotel, great location and Lanzarote is a brilliant island to explore.
p.s. take a travel iron, you have to hire an iron and ironing board!!

Room Tip: We didn't book or request a sea view, we were given a room on the side of the hotel and we still...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nickyrhondda2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Have just returned from an eleven day break at this delightful hotel, last month I stayed at a five star hotel in Madeira which was, in my opinion worthy of no more than three stars at best and I would never return!
This hotel is worthy of its four stars and in many respects is deserving of more, the manager, Jose, and his staff work very hard to meet your needs, always visible and ready to assist you with a smile, the room was very well presented and kept very clean during our stay. We stayed half board and found the pool restaurant very good at lunch time, great choice and very reasonably priced.
The hotel seems to have a good grip on the usual problems getting a sun bed, towels placed on beds before nine thirty were promptly removed!
Food in the buffet was excellent at breakfast and dinner, we shall be retuning very soon...

Room Tip: Fourth floor best In my opinion
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed in the Timanfaya Palace for two week in September (from the 17th approx). Been very busy since booking more holidays - but didn't want to forget about our experiences. The hotel itself is lovely, very clean and good location. We thought the food was fabulous - we did go to the a la carte restaurant a couple of times, which was excellent - but to be honest we found the main restaurant just as good. Plenty of choice, even for a fussy vegetarian! The theme nights were particularly good, as was the seafood and fish. Loved the chocolate fountain! We often ate very late and we still had excellent choices as if we had walked in as the restaurant opened. We tended to eat at the pool bar for lunch which we felt was cooler, but the food and choices were just as good. (Especially the ice cream)
We stayed on the 5th floor with views round the bay to the lighthouse in one direction and Playa Blanca in the other. Very quiet and peaceful - we were right on the end so no one walked past our doors! Rooms were kept spotlessly clean every day and beds were big and comfy - what more do you want - on second thoughts keep that to yourself!
Being an adults only hotel its not so frantic and is definitely a more relaxed atmosphere. Plenty to do if you wanted to join in, but as the name of the review suggests we were there to eat, drink and relax - mission accomplished!!
The staff really made this holiday - very professional, helpful, friendly and great fun to be with. We didn't meet one grumpy or disinterested member of staff - of any level, there were plenty of managers etc around, and the door to the hotel manager's office was always open if you needed to see him.
Whilst we were there hotel decided to tackle the problem of early morning sunbed brigade. From other reviews its apparent this is still being enforced, and we wish the hotel good luck with this, it was a brave decision to tackle the practise and was executed well.
The only thing we really thought could be better was moving Mikes coffee shop, which is lovely but perhaps in the wrong place. We wondered whether it, or something like it could be placed on the terrace off the reception area - which seemed to us to be a wasted area. To sit there and have a coffee looking out towards the sea would have been wonderful.
Having said that we thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and thought so highly of the H10 package that we have booked a party of ten adults into the Ocean Maya Royale Mexico next year. Thank you Timanfaya Palace xxx

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank SKIDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Blanca
1.4 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
2.1 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#6 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3,766 reviews
1.4 mi away
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
#8 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#14 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,150 reviews
9.0 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
4,734 reviews
23.5 mi away
Barcelo Teguise Beach - Adults only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H10 Timanfaya Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H10 Timanfaya Palace

Property: H10 Timanfaya Palace
Address: C/ Gran Canaria, 1 | Montana Roja, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Blanca
#3 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
#4 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — H10 Timanfaya Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 297
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, H10 Hotels, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your H10 Timanfaya Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
h10 Timanfaya Palace Hotel Playa Blanca
h10 Timanfaya Palace Playa Blanca
Timanfaya Palace Lanzarote
H10 Timanfaya Palace Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing