We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“H10 timanfaya” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of H10 Timanfaya Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
H10 Timanfaya Palace
Ranked #1 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“H10 timanfaya”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

Just back from 7 nights AI 7-14th Oct. booked with Thomson. Flights as usual were fine. Hotel transfer about 35 mins. We were quickly dealt with at reception, but did see others waiting ages. You enter the hotel on the 4th floor which is strange, there is one floor above, and 4 below. Piano bar is part of reception area but is functional and comfortable, it leads out onto a roof terrace with great views. Disco bar is on 3rd floor, buffet restaurant is on 2nd floor. Speciality restaurant, Mikes coffee bar, privilege lounge and pool access are on 1st floor [ground floor] and some rooms are below this. Buffet restaurant is a bit mixed up as the tables are not laid out with a walkway between them resulting in people wandering about trying to find their table. Breakfast is superb with good choice, note 'real' bacon is available freshly grilled on the open range section along with eggs etc. Other meals were fine with good choice but deserts were repetative and bland. Drinks were fine, real coke, sprite etc, beer was perfectly good and spirits available on AI were great, mostly known brands. You do have to pay for special brandy's etc. Pool bar is good, and the lunch time menu is perfectly accetable, pools however are useless- one is nothing more than a childrens pool, the main one is not quite a metre deep and both are freezing cold. Plenty of sun beds and staff will bring more out if required, they will also REMOVE any towels placed before 09.30 and left unattended without exeption- brilliant! Pool area and gardens are lovely. All staff work hard and are pleasant and friendly. Evening shows are ok, pool bar guitarist at lunch time is very talented, piano bar guitarist is also very good, not so the lady pianist, and we found the sax player boring, fortunately these are not on together but on different nights. Sepeciality restaurant is excellent [ one visit included]. We had room 508, on the top floor with a great see view, we got what we paid for. The lower rooms would worry me as some were on floor 0, which was below garden level. The best are on floor 3 or 5 as these are split levels. Rooms are lovely, decorated in very modern styles, bathrooms are also fine, you have to remember how much traffic these rooms get.. My main criticism would be the level of noise heard in the corridors and bedroom, you could hear people talking, flushing the loo, closing wardrobe doors etc, and of course the ones who somehow manage to drag a 5 ton weight across the floor and around the bedroom 4 or 5 times at 2am whilst wearing pit boots, and then slam the door twice before shouting to each other on the balcony before slamming the patio doors-bliss! Of course this is down to the inconsiderate visitors not the hotel. In truth this is an ok hotel, we had a pleasant stay and got to relax as this was what we needed, but I don't see it as 4 star, we have stayed in better for less money.

Room Tip: book a sea view and ask for high floor, don't bother with privilege as you still use all the sam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LYNKEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,274
    1,378
    371
    110
    50
See reviews for
376
4,112
56
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,911)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Just returned from a week half board at The Timanfaya Palace. Flights with Thomson, on time, check in good. Glass of champagne on arrival at hotel at 10.30 - nice touch. Our check in was fine, but did hear, and see people waiting 30 mins at the reception. First impressions were good, music from piano bar drifts across reception. Given room 257 on second floor (reception is on 4th floor, so you have to take the lift down) Lovely spacious room, with garden/pool view. It was 10.30pm when we arrived and we were told there was a cold meal waiting for us in the dining room. This was a salad with ham,cheese and turkey, with cake to follow and water and orange juice.

Staff helpful, except one of the 'suits' in the dining room. A small guy, who lacked tact. In the middle of our meal he'd just walk up to the table and say "room number", i had my fork halfway to my mouth when he asked me to sign for the drinks.

Breakfast was excellent. Eggs and pancakes freshly cooked and juices freshly made. Lunch at the the pool bar was ok. Evening meals we felt lacked taste, very bland. Ate out on the last night.

The sun bed situation seems to have been resolved. You can't reserve them before 9.30am now, and we did see towels taken off before that time. It was fine if you were sitting on them.

Best thing about the hotel was its adults only, so very relaxing around the pool. Didn't hear much noise at night as a previous reviewer did, although the people in the next room did set their alarm clock for 7am every morning !! Why ? You're on holiday !

Can't comment on the entertainment as didn't watch it. Found a lovely bar, go out the gate by the pool, turn right and walk about 15 mins. Its just past The Hotel Natura Palace. Nice atmosphere there.

Drinks in the hotel all branded and good measures, but coffee is revolting !!

We asked about upgrading to AI before we went and were told it was £300 for the two of us, so we decided to stay half board as we thought it was pricey. When we came to settle our bill (which was all the drinks we had, ice creams and lunches) it cost us £120, so that was definitely the right decision.

Would definitely go back ,but maybe B & B

Room Tip: Refuse rooms that start with 0. These are below ground level
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kimbo077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed at the Timanfaya palace in early Sept 2012. Yes this is a lovely hotel, but would agree with the all the bad as well as the good comments on this site. We were very worried we might get one of the basement rooms talked about, but we were happily in a room on the second floor at the end of the corridor. This room had a nice pool view and was quite quiet. We noticed that the balconies terraces on the lower floors were bigger than on the higher floors. possibly the rooms on higher floors may be smaller too.?? Ours was fine. The TV had a few English channels not BBC1 but had BBC news channel. Room cleaned fine, but did notice a few short cuts taken by staff, who were very hard working and cheerful. (re using towel that had been discarded.) Overall the hotel was pretty clean, but could be very stuffy and unbearably hot inside. We did not go to any entertainment because of this. The hotel must have been very full. we were on half board and found this rather un-relaxing. Don't get me wrong the food itself was fantastic. However the tables were so close together and with no ventilation, we found it was not what we really enjoyed. The waiters could be a bit surly, and seemed to favour those ordering wine rather than water. In the evening you will always have to pay extra for any drink even water. The staff are over zealous at removing your plates when you finish your food, often only seconds after your fork went down! It is obvious to get so many people in and out as quickly as
poss. Food was lovely, but would not do this sort of holiday again.
We got out of the hotel to do some exploring, went on the submarine safari...very good. Saw the volcanos, and papagayo beach, plus other sites. good to hire a car and get out.
Re the sun bed fiasco, there are not enough parasols and shady areas for the many people in the hotel. If you want to get a sun bed at say 10 am, you will have to hunt for one and drag it to an area where you can sit together. yes peeps were up at 5am putting out their towels. There may be just enough sun beds, but like the restaurant it does not make it relaxing.
Overall it depends what you want from your holiday, it may suit some very well as so much entertainment provided, but a bit too packed for us.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room with pool view, for a standard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank issie69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Just returned from a trip to this hotel where we’ve gone since 2003. The hotel has always had a large no. of repeat guests and H10 have their own loyalty club system which offers regular customers benefits which accrue after each visit. However this year now that Thomson have a guaranteed % of booked rooms, it seems that the management no longer acknowledge their loyal clients in the ways they used to. Perhaps that’s why there were fewer there? Reception had to be reminded to provide several of the basic privileges.
Timanafaya Palace has never coped well when it’s full …..and still doesn’t!! Queues at reception…staff overworked because of shortages. Dining room air con not working properly ….same as last year! Evening turn - downs getting earlier and earlier. Staff are helpful and friendly, as always but generally overworked and unable to give the level of service that once made Timanfaya Palace such a jewel .
Pool area and gardens are well maintained and clean but from where has this insane and selfish towels on sunbeds at the crack of dawn come from??? It has never been a problem in previous years but in 2012 it has become a scourge with some guests reserving sunbeds at 1.00 am!!! The hotel maintain there are sufficient sunbeds for guests but there are clearly insufficient parasols. In its current state of occupancy unless you are a very early riser then be prepared to spend the day with no shade or no sunbed.
The gym continues to be a disappointment. Poorly equipped and what equipment is in there is broken. No change from previous years there, then! Is it the age profile of the clientele that determines the lack of updating? If so, perhaps it should be rebranded from “couples only” to ”OAPs only”.
The staff and management are trying their hardest but Timanfaya Palace isn’t the hotel it was and is struggling under the weight of guest numbers.
Will we return? Well, I suppose all good things come to an end but never say never.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlueSkyKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Just returned from a brilliant 2 weeks at this hotel. First visit, as we always go to Atlantica Imperial Rhodes. However we rate this as good! I cannot believe the negative reviews some people give. If you are pleasant to the staff you will find that they will resipricate. We found all of the staff to be friendly and very efficient, esp the bar staff ( the 2 young girls esp ) In the piano bar , where we spent most evenings, the staff were welcoming and amusing, making for a good night with pleasing entertainment, esp the singer/guitarists. The resident duo ( rikki and salvatore were the best we have come across, and we are well travelled! ) The shows we saw in the show bar were excellent, notably the 'Electric guitarists/flamenco' and the 'argentinian evening'. The food was excellent, both in the restaurant and the snacks at the pool bar. Despite what we have read, wherever we were, we had a very quick service! The rooms were always exceptionally clean. When we were there the management enforced the 'don't put towells down until 9.30'. Some ignorant engish complained, but most of us thought this was brilliant, stopping the selfish from grabbing chairs early and not returning until afternoon. I think all hotels should adopt this ! The management were always around and accessible. Our only concern, not that it affected us, was that some people had to wait a very long time upon arriving for their rooms to be ready.I think that this is the only issue that needs to be adressed. However, all in all, this is a fantastic hotel, which we will certainly return to!! I would like to thank all of the staff for making it so brilliant. We also met some brilliant people, who our holiday so special!!

Room Tip: Pay extra for a sea view.. it's worth it! Preferably over the larger pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Downley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffs
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

very nice hotel, lobby and public areas are very clean and classy.
food is excellent for all inclusive and drinks included mainly are to a high standard.
overall a very relaxing atmosphere and a real chill out.
the only let down was that our room on the lowest floor (0) smelled of damp the whole stay and was a little tatty, i think these rooms have yet to be renovated and are not in keeping with the standard of the rest of the hotel which really is excellent.

Room Tip: avoid 0 Floor ( ours smelled of damp)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jimboStaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kirby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed 6th October for 7 days (3rd floor - room 373). The room was well equipped and clean. Maid service was excellent. The room has a pool and sea view. We went 'all inclusive' and the food was extremely good - particularly the buffet lunch. The outstanding feature of this hotel is the customer service. All the staff appear well managed and as a consequence they all appear to be happy and well motivated. Waiter service in all the bars and restaurants is far better than some 5 star hotels we have stayed in. We cannot comment on sunbeds as we never used them preferring to go out walking or visiting other areas during the day. The downside - entertainment was a bit ropey some nights and some of the reception staff would benefit from being reminded that first impressions count and that a friendly attitude goes a long way to cover some of the 'cracks'. The other guests mainly consisted of older couples making this an ideal venue for a quiet relaxing break. We would definitely return to this hotel and would recommend it.

Room Tip: 3rd or 4th floor with pool and sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bernard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Blanca
1.3 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
2.0 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#5 of 37 in Playa Blanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,536 reviews
1.2 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#13 of 37 in Playa Blanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
#9 of 37 in Playa Blanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,421 reviews
2.6 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
12.4 mi away
Lani's Suites de Luxe
Lani's Suites de Luxe
#1 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H10 Timanfaya Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H10 Timanfaya Palace

Property: H10 Timanfaya Palace
Address: C/ Gran Canaria, 1 | Montana Roja, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Blanca
#3 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
#4 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — H10 Timanfaya Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 297
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your H10 Timanfaya Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
h10 Timanfaya Palace Hotel Playa Blanca
h10 Timanfaya Palace Playa Blanca
Timanfaya Palace Lanzarote
H10 Timanfaya Palace Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing