We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thankyou for rescuing our holiday!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
H10 Timanfaya Palace
Ranked #1 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 18, 2012

We moved to the H10 Timanfaya from the H10 Princess due to feeling we had not been given what we booked at the Princess.
So glad we did! The Timanfaya is a lovely hotel. We had stayed there previously about eight years ago, but it is even better now having had a refurb. The gardens and the pool setting with the waterfall are wonderful. The dining room has been tastefully decorated and the food is very good. Plenty of choice. Would like to say congratulations to the Chef on Chinese night!
We wanted a twin room, these are not on the best side of the hotel, presumably because this is now an adults only hotel and the rooms mainly have king size beds. However, it was a lovely large room and we had a double bed each, great nights sleep!
My only critisicm, and that for such a good hotel the entertainment could be better, but maybe that will improve as the season goes on.
The staff, especially reception, are very good.
The deposit on the hire of the pool towels is 20 euro each, which I felt was a bit high, but of course this is refunded when you return them, and you can change them every day free of charge.
Thankyou Timanfaya!

Room Tip: If you want a twin room ask for the 5th floor. If not, the best views are overlooking the pool and s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank pathols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,741)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,107 - 4,113 of 5,741 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2012

This time round we thought the Timanfaya Palace really deserves a review. We are a couple in their 50s been back at least 8 - 10 times. The pools, gardens, and waterfalls are fabulous, all  originally designed very well.  The food is wonderful, the kitchen staff work extremely hard to produce such menu variations and displays. This is the best food & choice for the cost we've experienced anywhere we have stayed and we have travelled extensively in the EU. The  restaurant staff are excellent, so too are the piano bar staff,very attentive and professional. Thanks to you all especially the head chefs and their kitchen staff. Any people unhappy with the food at this hotel, bearing in mind the size of the hotel and the type of break you must want if you stay here, are  misguided.
By default,Thomson & the H10 reception  staff prevented our planned  criticism  of room allocation procedures by responding quickly & honestly to our request to move rooms. Room allocation has tended to be a problem for us at the Timanfaya despite our regular bookings. However, although we feel we could extensively comment on the issue, we think it is perhaps better to leave guests to form their own opinions.
If H10 could swap the gym with the coffee bar, its too cold & dark down there for coffee & rethink ALL the chairs and seating in ALL areas. What are those large round seats in the restaurant actually doing there they perform no function & get in the way. This  hotel would be outstanding. We are sure that much credit must go  to the attentive concern and accurate discernment of the present Manager.  A peaceful well designed paradise for people wanting a blue sky retreat in the gentle lanzarote breeze.

Room Tip: Request clarification from your tour provider concerning the room view definitions. H10 could provid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Sam907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2012

We booked (half board) last minute for the week before Easter and were pleasantly surprised. The Hotel is well run with friendly and helpful staff. Rooms are large and well decorated and cleaned daily.- beds comfortable and big enough to get lost in! Even though we were allocated a Garden view we had a great view of the sea and lighthouse over the rooftops (Rm 417). Only "complaint" was the room towels could be a little thicker!
The large pool was clean and deep enough at one end (under the waterfall) for try-out SCUBA dives and although a little cool initially, very pleasant for swimming.
The restaurant food was surprisingly good for a buffet style with a variety of well cooked and presented dishes each day. The restaurant has the feel of a cruise ship with large windows overlooking the sea, drinks prices are reasonable, 8.90 euros for house wine 2.90 for a beer. The hotel position is good with decent walks in both directions along the promenade. About 4 miles to Rubicon Marina and 2 to the lighthouse. Thompsons' reps were excellent
I enjoyed the week and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Stayed here in room 437 from 5th - 12th April. The room was lovely, very clean, modern and large with a full sea view. Lovely pool area with plenty of sun loungers. Pool towels, safe and mini bar or fridge can be hired for a deposit, which was fine. The main restaurant served a good variety of food and the service was excellent. The only issue with the food was that it was quite bland in taste and always needed to be seasoned heavily. The pool restaurant also served a good variety of dishes and again the service was excellent - we personally found the food here to be better flavoured. The entertainment was of a good standard and in particular the Argentinian Fusion and Polynesian Dreams were excellent. I had a facial and foot massage in the spa and at 40 euro it was excellent value for money. We chose this hotel having switched from a cruise and we had no regrets as we met some lovely people and felt really relaxed after our weeks stay. I would have no hesitation recommending this hotel or returning to it for another holiday.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Shush1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

We had stayed at this hotel in 2005 having had great recommendations by friends. It was at
that time a very enjoyable stay.
This time we were disappointed. We had a good deal and were given a subterranean room
ie underground and no view. Although we complained we could not be moved for a few days.
The buffet was very full and always busy.
The staff were unhelpful and rude.
The hotel felt as if it needed a good clean.

Because of our disappointment and because we like Playa Blanca we would return but having looked around other hotels and asked to see their rooms would probably go to
the Princess Yaiza or the Melia Volcano which are both situated near the New Marina

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kirstyskennelmate100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VazquezRomero, Director General at H10 Timanfaya Palace, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2012

Dear kirstyskennelmate,

Thank you very much for you time and for your coments. I´m sorry that you were not totally happy with your holidays.

Your coments make me sad and surprise when I read that my staff is unhelpful and rude. In the H10 Timanfaya Palace we understand how important your vacations are. Our goal is to have customer completely happy in our hotel, and always do our best and more for this....

I please you to give me in private more information about this (Who, when, what happened…).

I can understand that you were not happy having a 0 level floor, specially if it is to the back side.
I´m sorry for that. We have many different types of rooms and we give the worst ones only when the hotel is 100%. In this situation we give the guest exactly what they have booked. If other guests have book a good room, it is not fair giving you a better room and them a worse room than they have booked. However I see you got a better room in few days. I'm sure you mean my staff was rude for this. I´m sorry. If it is for another situation, please let me know.

If you decide to come back again, please, don`t hesitate to contact me.

Kind regards,

José Ángel Vázquez
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Stayed at Timanfaya Palace In March 2012. The Hotel was perfectly situated right on the beach! with a lovely walk along the promenade into Playa Blanca about a 10 minute walk, which was lovely or the other way to the light house. Food was good, lots of variety. Had a meal in the a la carte restaurant which we could not fault. Entertainment was ok. We paid for a sea view room, which was a sea room in the loosest sense of the word. If you craned your neck you could see it, just! The room itself was nicely furnished, clean and large. Bathroom was fine. We travelled independently so on arriving had to find our own way to our room with our suit cases no porter to help! Overall the holiday and hotel plus the weather was great, would recommend it to all coulples.

Room Tip: pool rooms looked in a nice position. Higher rather than lower. Upgraded but dont know whether that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank timothy_brumpton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Went back in late March after a very good Christmas break and if anything this was even better.
We went for a Junior Suite and all inclusive for 10 days and booked direct with the hotel to add to our H10 club points, arranged our own flight with Easyjet which is like a bus ride these days.
Arrived early afternoon by taxi (arranged by the hotel) and the room was ready, suites are like the privilege rooms only bigger and have two balconies, but all the usual facilities.
The food is very good, plenty of choice – too much at times – and variety; drinks are plentiful and good quality. A la Carte was good again too.
No problem getting a sun bed although they do get ‘reserved’ very early and often not used much in the day which can be annoying if trying to get out of the wind. Pools were warm enough to use once you got used to them I was informed but didn’t try them.
Entertainment had improved with guest saxophonist (great to hear him play in the restaurant), pianist and guitarist plus the resident people; animation had adapted more to the adult clientele and worked hard, not our scene, but we did enjoy the lounge bar evening sessions.
The windows got cleaned during our stay which threw a bit of light on things, but it’s a big 2 day job.
Hired a car through the hotel for a couple of days and had lunch out in Puerto Calero and Villa Toldeo (Cost Teguise) which was great; and we got to see more of the island, driving is OK if a bit ‘hairy’ at times in the mountains.

Anything missing? I'd like a proper full spa or perhaps an arrangement with a sister hotel that has one and be able to dine outdoors (other than the pool bar), perhaps on the big terrace upstairs?

A really enjoyable holiday, good value and obviously they must be getting things right as it was high occupancy for the time of the year. Going back in mid June – well someone has to do it!

Room Tip: sea view room or suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank madhatterWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Blanca
1.4 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
1.4 mi away
H10 Sentido White Suites
H10 Sentido White Suites
#8 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,787 reviews
1.2 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#14 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#6 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3,866 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
9.0 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
5,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H10 Timanfaya Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H10 Timanfaya Palace

Address: C/ Gran Canaria, 1 | Montana Roja, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Blanca
#1 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
#3 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
#4 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range: $141 - $313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — H10 Timanfaya Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 297
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, H10 Hotels, Prestigia, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your H10 Timanfaya Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
h10 Timanfaya Palace Hotel Playa Blanca
h10 Timanfaya Palace Playa Blanca
Timanfaya Palace Lanzarote
H10 Timanfaya Palace Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing