We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Playa Blanca
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,823)
Filter reviews
3,823 results
Traveler rating
2,295
931
405
116
76
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2,295
931
405
116
76
Show reviews that mention
All reviews piano bar el volcan dolce vita dinner show privilege restaurant a la carte restaurants salt water privilege package buffet restaurant privilege room privilege service guest services privilege guests golf buggy half board lovely hotel mikes coffee shop
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
110 - 115 of 3,823 reviews
Reviewed January 20, 2020

Both myself and my wife came here for a weeks winter break.
We expected good things (as people are inclined to with 5 star ratings) and initially we were not disappointed.
The general appearance of the hotel and the staff are top notch. Our room was great and appeared to be newly refurbished with a generous sized room with rainfall shower and a very comfortable bed.
The main restaurant too was of good standard although some of the hot foods were not always hot which appears to be a recurring theme with other guests whom we have spoken with.
We also tried the specialty restaurants, most of which were good; apart from the Asian which I can only describe as mediocre at best, the starter was poor with dry chicken skewers and my wife left her main course. Our opinion on the meal was relayed to the waiter (whom did ask but seemed perplexed at our response as it was negative) but I prefer to be honest.
Both my wife and I try to get in some exercises on our holidays and I can only say that the gym was poor - small, Ill equipped and not available after 10am unless you pay or are a privilege member?!
Poor...
These are seemingly minor points but I feel they may be relevant to other holiday makers, I do feel that the hotel are definitely trying to capitilise on people at check in presenting the privilege package to what should already be a 5 star facility..
Some other good points are the steakhouse-very good food but as with all the restaurants you have to book as soon as you land or theres a very real risk of missing out!
The Bistro bar is also good for afternoon tea with very good sandwiches and a scrummy lemon pie.
In essence, if your hotel is 5 star, why is there a need for 'privilege'? Says it all really.
Would we return? Maybe, but as most people I don't like to be ripped off
and I would only return if I could
get a good deal.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
6  Thank brianpF5012CR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H10_Rubicon_Palace, Director General at H10 Rubicon Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear brianpF5012CR,

First of all, thank you for trusting in this hotel for your holiday and thank you for the time you took to share an opinion with all of us through Tripadvisor.

We regret the stay at the hotel was not as you expected. We apologise if the quality of the Sakura restaurant did not live up to your expectations and we regret that some facilities (such as the gym) did not fulfil your hopes.

We understand that not everybody want to enjoy the same type of holidays, and that's why the hotel is offering many different packages suitable for everybody's wishes. Privilege service has an extra charge adding more services to their stay. Many guests find it well worth the money spent and some others consider that they don't need those services to enjoy all the variety of facilities we already offer in the hotel for the other packages.

Of course, everybody can choose and we are very glad to know that each guest enjoys the package they book. We are sorry if we didn't achieve your expectations with this matter. Thank you for your comments since every feedback help us to improve.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you back in the future in order to improve your experience and provide you a better holiday.

Kind regards,
The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2020

our room was very clean with plenty of very hot water in the shower at all times of the day maid was very pleasent and helpful clean linen every day turn down and chocolates every night as a H10 member we were treated very well. The ground around the pool was jet washed every other day. While the staff try to get you to join the priveledge club I dont think its worth the 40 euros per person per night on top of the cost of the holiday they still had to pay for premium drinks at the bar after Jan3rd this happened without prior notice to the guest.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Derwent15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H10_Rubicon_Palace, Director General at H10 Rubicon Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Derwent15,

Thank you for leaving your comment on tripadvisor. We are so happy that you liked the cleanliness of the room and gardens. We will take your note about the premium drinks in account. Your special comment about the staff is the best award we can receive.

We really hope to welcome you again at the hotel.

Best regards,
The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2020 via mobile

We didn't make it here in September 2019 as we were hit with the downfall off thomas cook so we booked for january this year was so looking forward to visiting the Rubicon for the 4th time. We were not dissapointed the room we had was the best ever ,bottle of cava, robes and slippers, beach towel and beach bag the view from the balcony was amazing. As per usual the staff are a credit to your business very helpfull they always look like they are enjoying there work nothing is too much trouble too them. We are Scottish and when they were pouring my husband's whisky the young man said say stop sir, to which my husband answered, I'm Scottish I will never say stop to whisky. So a massive thank you for making our stay a fabulous one look forward to our next visit. P.s. we would like the same room

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank Wils W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H10_Rubicon_Palace, Director General at H10 Rubicon Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Wils W,

Thank you for trusting the H10 Rubicon Palace to spend your holidays, and taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. We are honored to hear that we have been able to meet your expectations as a guest for the 4th time. It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your sea view room and the small gifts we had prepared for your. Your special mention to our staff is motivational for our staff whom seek to provide the best experience possible for all of our guests. It would be an honor and great pleasure to welcome you back to the H10 Rubicon Palace. Thank you for your kind message.

Kind regards,
The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2020

Our first Christmas hotel holiday and impressed with this one. A few comments: check in was quite slow when we arrived and we also had to wait a while for the porter to arrive with his buggy to take us to our room. However, all the reception staff were very friendly and helpful. Lots of lovely Christmas decorations but not tacky. You were encouraged to book the a la carte restaurants as soon as possible but we still couldn't get into the Asian. Lots of choice in the larger of the two buffet restaurants but the food was a bit cold sometimes. I think the hotel was full over the Christmas week so it was really busy. The bar in the main hotel needs more staff. Every time we went there we waited over ten minutes to get served. Always queues at the bar as well. Unless of course you've tipped a waiter and then you'll get priority service. We used the small sports bar and got great service all the time.

Despite it being a full house, we always found a sunbed.

The location of the hotel is about a 20 minute walk along the sea front to the town of Playa Blanca. Taxis are about 5 euros and the buses are fairly frequent from right outside the front of the hotel.

Would we go back? Yes, but would try and find a cheaper deal and avoid Christmas.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Delilah2704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H10_Rubicon_Palace, Director General at H10 Rubicon Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Delilah2704,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rubicon Palace as a place to enjoy your holiday. We also want to thank you for leaving a comment on tripadvisor. We will take your different notes and comments about the check in, the thematic restaurants, and the gastronomy in account. Your comment about the staff is the best award we can receive.

We really hope to welcome you again in the hotel, so we can improve your expectations.

Best regards,
The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2020

What an amazing two weeks away our family had! We waited all year for this holiday and we wasn't disappointed at all. H10 Rubicon Palace 5* for everything from start to finish.
Pricing up Dec 2020! We cant wait to return.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank raganwhite88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H10_Rubicon_Palace, Director General at H10 Rubicon Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Raganwhite88,

We would like to thank you for choosing Rubicon Palace as a place to enjoy your two weeks holiday and thank you for leaving a review on tripadvisor. We are really happy that the hotel did not disappointed you.
We really hope to welcome you again in the future.

Best Regards,
The Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews