We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,661)
Filter reviews
2,661 results
Traveler rating
1,528
695
294
84
60
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,528
695
294
84
60
Show reviews that mention
All reviews piano bar el volcan privilege restaurant dolce vita a la carte restaurants privilege desk salt water privilege package buffet restaurant guest services privilege room mikes coffee star hotel privilege service privilege guests half board main building
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
96 - 101 of 2,661 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

On arrival, the lobby and reception areas are very good and certainly worthy of 5*. The complimentary glass of cava on arrival was much welcomed, however check-in was slow.

The room was a major disappointment - perhaps my expectation was too high. I had visited Dubai the week before on a business trip, but then no - it’s a 5* hotel and the room should be furnished and equipped to a good standard. We had stayed at the Radisson Blu in Gran Canaria in April 2018 and the Sheraton Salobre, Gran Canaria in April 2017 - both were 5* hotels and the rooms reflected it + both holidays cost less than the Rubicón. I also stayed at the Zafiro Palace in Alcudia last August - again, 5* and room was fabulous.

The room at the Rubicón looked tired - the laminate floor was cracked and a hazard (especially to young feet), the furniture chipped. The bathroom had clearly seen better days. This was a 3* star bedroom!.

I headed back to Reception to be told the room I had been allocated was 2 levels above the room I had booked. I’d booked a Standard and they had upgraded me to a Superior, Sea view room. The attitude was....”So there, be grateful!”. The Manager went on to say the hotel was fully booked & that everyone wants to move room, we are full!!!. What kind of statement is that!.

It clearly highlights there is a broader issue with their rooms....but more alarming was the arrogance!’. A few moments later he reappeared and offered to upgrade me to a Privilege room at an additional cost of €840. Hold on, I had already upgraded from HB to All-inc at a cost of €940. The Manager clearly thought I had won the lottery!. I explained I didn’t want to spend more money and simply want a room that didn’t pose a hazard to me or my family. His flippant response was, a Standard room will be available tomorrow. We eventually agreed that one of the maintenance team would come to the room and fix the floor, which they did. It poses the question, why wasn’t it fixed earlier?, why did it need a guest to report it? - surely housekeeping would have seen it and should have reported it. To me, it demonstrates the arrogance of the management at the hotel. I suggest H10 send them to a true 5* hotel to experience quality facilities, service and overall customer experience.

On the positives, the pools are nice (but freezing cold), it’s a shame because very few people use the larger pools and the hotel again refuse to acknowledge this is a problem (just look at the number of people who have commented on this). Listen to your clients and address it!.

Restaurants offered plenty of choice, I loved the buffet - great selection and food very tasty. We also ate at the Italian and Asian restaurants- the former was excellent - pleasant setting and tasty food. Asian was ok.

We loved Mike’s for a nice coffee or Milkshake.

Unfortunately my eldest daughter had a stomach bug for 2 days (we only ate at the hotel), not sure if she picked up something from the kids pool or from the pool side bar. The only thing she had eaten different to us was a slice of pizza at the poolside bar. However, I always found the food at the poolside bar to be ok and hot. So not sure of the source. The rest of us were fine.

Service and staff at restaurants and bars were excellent (it was extremely busy and they were efficient). Food was good.

Overall, Hotel was good, but let down by 3* room. My message to management, don’t rest on your laurels of having a 5* rating, you should always be looking to improve your facilities and guest experience.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
3  Thank Departure803578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H10_Rubicon_Palace, Director General at H10 Rubicon Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Departure803578,

Thank you for choosing the H10 Rubicon Palace Hotel and for sharing this review.
We are glad you loved the great gastronomic offer, both in the buffets and the A la Carte restaurants, the bars and the brand new spotless grounds (we are proudly located on a majestic area of which 50.000 square meters are gardens surrounding pools, amazing views, bars and beauty centre!).
Thank you for giving us the opportunity to answer you. We can not get to understand what do you actually mean with the "not 5 star" comment since the concession of the category is granted by autonomous organisations.
We really regret you didn’t contact our Guest Relations team in order to track your stay and to make it more enjoyable, since it is the department in charge of looking after any kind of non satisfactory notification. We have the feeling that many of your different comments could have been easily solved by our teams. Our main target is to make sure you enjoy your holidays, but if we don’t know about your non satisfaction, we cannot proceed properly and unfortunately there is nothing we can do right now.
For sure, your different comments and notifications will be taken into account carefully, in order to improve, since the main goal of the hotel is to offer better experiences each season, increasing the guests’ satisfaction and providing always better quality standards.
Every feedback is studied in addition of the weekly survey control we are doing at the hotel, giving us a very good result about where to put our efforts on.
Please just be sure that of the 8 pools, 3 are heated (we keep note of the temperatures every day so we can monitor them properly). Our pools are the most popular of the island. Few hotels can boast of this advantage.
Nevertheless, the climatic conditions that accompany your stay may punctually change your thermal perception, creating a sensation of freshness that is not related to the temperature of the pool but the cool wind from the outside (it is an island in the middle of the ocean after all).
At the end of the day we feel the urge to say that we are actually a bit surprised about the experience you are describing since we are first in both Playa Blanca and Lanzarote in the Tripadvisor quality-price ranking, and in the top 20 of the 1300 hotels in the Canary Islands.
At the end of the day after reading very carefully your review and sending each notification to the concerned department, we think that maybe this was not just the type of hotel you were looking for, as our service is well known for being up to the quality-price we offer and we have a big amount of repeating guests trusting us several times per year and being very satisfied each time they come.

Best regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

In my opinion this hotel is more for families than couples,with no adult only areas. The location is far from playa Blanca approx 40 minutes at a fast pace walk, we personally liked the walk each day however not great for people with mobility issues unless you get a taxi.
We were on half board basis, breakfast was an experience and often felt like I was in a busy airport, evening meal was ok but we often ate out.
The rooms are ok but we were in 6077 which was right at the other end of the hotel, the cleaner was not consistent and would often not leave towels and the key card would often not work so long walk back to reception.
The gym was way too small for the size of the hotel and only free until 10am
The hotel was ok but definitely not a 5 star in my opinion.

Room tip: Ask for a room nearer to main hotel
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank BristolSearcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H10_Rubicon_Palace, Director General at H10 Rubicon Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear BristolSearcher,

thank you for choosing the H10 Rubicon Palace Hotel for your holidays in the amazing island of Lanzarote.
Thank you for giving us the opportunity to answer you. We can not get to understand what do you actually mean with the "not 5 star" comment since the concession of the category is granted by autonomous organisations.
Regarding the pair of examples, our priority is to do our best to make your vacation satisfactory, but if you do not transmit this type of small details, important in your opinion, we will not be able to satisfy you: as soon as we meet our guests at the check in, we warn them to pay attention not to put their room keys next to their mobiles as there is a chance they demagnetise, for example, we do not have many guests queuing and complaining about this matter because it happen in very rare situation.
The great majority of our guests are very happy with the location, the Hotel find itself in a corner of paradise facing Fuerteventura, literally above the Atlantic ocean, behind the majestic volcan Montaña Roja and the promenade through Playa Blanca is a very beautiful and romantic walk.
Please be sure that we are always open to receive constructive judgements since they can help us improve and understand where to focus our efforts more, but unfortunately the issues you are listing do not give us this feeling: we are actually a bit surprised since we are the No. 1 in both Playa Blanca and Lanzarote in the quality-price ranking prepared by Tripadvisor and we are in the top 20 of the 1300 hotels in the Canary Islands.
Of course, gastronomy tastes and opinions are something really subjective that depends on each person but as you certainly know from your stay, we do a weekly survey control in every restaurant, where the great majority of our guests rate us and the general feedback is more than positive.
At the end of the day after reading very carefully your review and sending each notification to the concerned department, we think that maybe this was not just the type of hotel you were looking for, as our service is well known for being up to the quality-price we offer and we have a big amount of repeating guests trusting us several times per year and being very satisfied each time they come.

Best regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were very pleased with the hotel. Our rooms had the sea view and balcony as described and were in the main hotel. We had a five year old with us and the facilities available for children were excellent, including kids' club and live shows for them. The food was good; half board. Evening entertainment was enjoyable and I would recommend this hotel. Beautiful coastal walk into Playa Blanca with direct access from the hotel.

Room tip: Seventh floor I would recommend with quiet air conditioning and no outside noise to disturb.
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
3  Thank Rita F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H10_Rubicon_Palace, Director General at H10 Rubicon Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear RitaF,
thank you for choosing the H10 Rubicon Palace Hotel for your holidays in the amazing Lanzarote and for sharing this awesome review!
We are more than proud to read that you and your family had a wonderful time with us! The Animation team is indeed ready everyday to please kids of all ages from the youngest to the elder ones! And for the adults there is plenty of choice as well! We are glad you liked the great gastronomic offer and the majestic grounds! The location is indeed breath taking, this is a corner of Paradise literally above the Atlantic ocean!
We really hope we can welcome you back again as soon,
Best regards
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed at the hotel for a week with my daughter. First impressions were excellent - reception area is a wow and the grounds are immaculate scratch the surface however and the 5 stars slip somewhat. A patio door that didn't lock and took 3 days to fix, initially told it would be 7 until I spoke to guest relations, not exactly 5 star. Cleaning of room was lacklustre at best, I cleaned the shower myself on 3 occasions and bed linen not changed at all - 5 star??Food in buffet was hit or miss and God forbid you wanted a coffee in the morning it was a case of hunt the waiter! Ate in 3 of the a la carte restaurants and food in all was excellent. The experience in La Dolce Vita was marred by lack of organisation, no cava on arrival, waited 20 minutes before anyone came to take an order. Food was excellent then when we were enjoying dessert we were left the tab to have the drinks added - really poor. This should have been done by the person managing instead I had to find the very lovely waiter who had served us our drinks. Overall I think this resort is excellent for families but for couples when it is peak season I definitely would not return. The service really let it down, which is a shame as it is a beautiful resort.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
3  Thank Claireew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H10_Rubicon_Palace, Director General at H10 Rubicon Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Claireew,

Thank you for letting us know your concerns and also please know that we really appreciate your few positive comments, having highlighted that our brand new grounds are spotless and beautiful.
Please be sure that we are always open to receive constructive judgements since they can help us improve and understand where to focus our efforts more, but unfortunately the issues you are listing do not give us this feeling: we are actually a bit surprised since we are the No. 1 in both Playa Blanca and Lanzarote in the quality-price ranking prepared by Tripadvisor and we are in the top 20 of the 1300 hotels in the Canary Islands.
Thank you for having highlighted that you liked the great gastronomic offer, there are 2 buffets restaurants, three a la carte restaurants and one gourmet restaurant after all! Regarding your comment about our organisation we feel the urge to say that the random term does not reflect anything in concrete terms: we do a weekly survey control in every restaurant, where the great majority of our guests rate us and the general feedback is more than positive.
At the end of the day we would have loved to meet you and take actions so you would have seen that we really do care about guests' opinion. After reading very carefully your review and sending each notification to the concerned department, we think that maybe this was not just the type of hotel you were looking for, as our service is well known for being up to the quality-price we offer and we have a big amount of repeating guests trusting us several times per year and being very satisfied each time they come.

Best regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I came for a family holiday with a 4 month old baby, the room they provided was the standard double room, but these are spacious, clean and very nicely decorated. The one area that could be improved is to have better controls for the air conditioning, there was only on or off, with no temperature control.

The one major downside is the fact that they have 8 pools, but only 1 is heated, and the children's pools are not heated at all (which seems a little bizarre to me). Therefore the one pool that is heated is always very busy, so I could not use it to swim with my baby.

The actual resort is quite large with plenty of activities to keep a family entertained for a week. The location is a little but out of the way from the main town of Playa Blanca, but we walked to Playa Flamingo beach in about 20 minutes, and it was a nice leisurely stroll along the promenade. The main town and marina can easily be reached by taxi (around €5).

The buffet food was actually good and there was plenty of choice so there will be at least one dish that you will like on each day. We also went to the Italian restaurant and the steakhouse, both of which were very good. However, it can be very difficult to get bookings for the non-buffet restaurants, and part of the reason why is that the restaurants are not open every day (Note to hotel: if they are open everyday then more people will get a better food experience). If you are not all inclusive, the drinks are actually not that expensive therefore you do not need to go outside to get drinks.

Overall a nice hotel with very friendly staff which is ideal for a family with children of at least 4 years of age. Worthy of its 5 star rating for the amenities.

Room tip: Ask for a room closer to the main reception building, otherwise it is a longish walk to your room each day
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank 768danip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H10_Rubicon_Palace, Director General at H10 Rubicon Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear 768danip,

thank you for choosing the H10 Rubicon Palace Hotel for your holidays in the amazing island of Lanzarote and for sharing this review.
We are glad you and your family liked the gastronomic offer, there are 6 restaurants in here, perhaps next time you will try the Asian and the Gourmet one as well!
The Hotel is indeed located in a corner of paradise itself, facing the dunes of Fuerteventura, literally above the Atlantic Ocean with the majestic volcan Montaña Roja behind.
Thank you for having highlighted that the dedication and passion the whole staff puts in its job everyday is well appreciated and recognised. Our Animation team takes care of your kids from the very little ones to the elder, in fact there are three kids clubs operating all day everyday and there is plenty of choice of activities for the adults as well!
We are pleased you liked the brand new rooms, the size of the whole area and the beautiful promenade next to the shore.
We urge to inform you that there are 8 outdoor pools, and we are pleased to confirm that 3 of them are heated, one for the adults, and two for the kids.
Nevertheless, the climatic conditions that accompany your stay may punctually change your thermal perception, creating a sensation of freshness that is not related to the temperature of the pool but the cool wind from the outside (it is an island in the middle of the ocean after all).
Please be sure that our heated pools are the most popular of the island. Few hotels can boast of this advantage.
Thank you again for taking your time to share this comments, we will certainly take everything into consideration, as you already know, our guests opinion is of primary importance for us!
It would be a great pleasure to welcome you again in the future, in order to provide you excellent holidays and memories! And who knows, with all the improvements we are already making, maybe next time we will deserve a full rating!

Best regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews