We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel but too big!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of H10 Rubicon Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
H10 Rubicon Palace
Ranked #12 of 38 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Peterborough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great hotel but too big!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

Spent a week at the hotel, returned on the 19th january. The hotel complex is huge....we were greeted with a glass of champagne or orange juice on arrival, plenty of staff on reception to help with the booking in process..all very friendly. The room we were allocated was pretty basic, although we thought that it was supposed to be one of the better ones, adequately furnished; the beds however were very uncomfortable and I was glad not to have to sleep in them for more than a week. There was a choice of two general restaurants with one for adilts only...nice if you are travelling without children yourself. The food could not be faulted, great variety of choices with a chef on hand at the grill cooking steaks, chicken and fish...something for everyone, the larger of the two was a bit manic, staff rushing around everywhere...certainly would not like to stay at the height of season. The bars offered a good choice of wines but were very busy at peak times and you had to rely on being spotted and served.
We possibly would not go back, not because there was any great fault with the hotel, it was just too big and also in a rather remote location.

Room Tip: Check out the different rooms available and see what the hotel offers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,665
    2,563
    967
    316
    196
See reviews for
3,095
3,307
101
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,811)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Midlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

We went in July 2013 and the children enjoyed it so much (ages 5 and 2) we went back for the new year (flew out Boxing Day for a week)

We did upgrade to privilege on our second visit (booked hotel direct and flight separately). It was well worth it, a much nicer experience at meal times. The children calmly sat at the table, rather than wanting to get up with everyone else. It is the same menu, so I guess if you are there for two weeks it might get tedious, but the food is excellent and service always very good.

The rooms were not that different to the standard junior suite. We did have a coffee machine, robes, slippers, free safe, internet. Nice to have free bottle water (although you still have to pay for mini bar), branded drinks, such as San Miguel, baileys, Bacardi.

There are areas which need improvement, Daisy could do with a wash for one! There is still no drink facilities at the children's pool. If you are in the help yourself restaurants, it is a free for all. We tried it for one day but gave up, as difficult to get a table, no cutlery and food quality looked better in the privilege restaurant. The main pools are also too cold and one is very salty. Which is a shame as lovely large pool, but always empty.

Our 6 year old daughter loves the Daisy club. Made lots of friends and wanted to go in every day. Our two year old wasn't so keen on the 'baby' club. He's too old for the babies but too young to join his sister. The baby room lacks toys, no cars, trains. Our son liked the ball pit, colouring, face painting, park and they both loved the children's disco every night.

If you like walking or running, take your gear, a really nice few miles walk/jog to the light house along the coastal path.

All the staff work extremely hard, all very helpful and if you have any complaints they are quick to help and out it right.

Only one thing really sticks out that didn't work for us and it was the new year gala meal. In the privilege restaurant it was a 6 course, waiter service. By 10pm, 3 hours later, we had another 3 courses to go and the children were very restless and missing the entertainment. We would have been better advised to join the help your self restaurant for that night, which I'm told the food was excellent with lobster (husbands favourite and we didn't have this in privilege)

Overall, a good family holiday for young children. Privilege is the way to go, but first time we went we didn't pay privilege and still had an excellent holiday.

Room Tip: Joing H10 club before you go, email any special requests such as travel cot, kettle, sea view and no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MidlandsThomas44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

Back home after another fantastic two week holiday at the Rubicon Palace. Everything went smoothly from the time we left home until we arrived at the hotel. Travelled with First Choice. Have been to this hotel a few times and as usual we were not disappointed. The staff could not have been more helpful and always very pleasant. Only thing we complained about was the WFI connections. Really bad and we were told this would hopefully be better by the time we go back in May. The meals were great and we thought even better than last visit if that was possible. So many choices to choose from and I dont think anyone could complain. We had a lovely meal in the Volcan A La Carte restaurant and a few nights later visited the Italian restaurant which we enyoyed more than the Volcan but that was just our preference as both meals were great. Our room as usual was lovely and was checked by maintenance as we were arriving and a few little scrapes on the balcony were touched up so the hotel is definitely keeping up to the maintenace work. The maid was thorough and we were very happy with her cleaning for the whole two weeks. Although the weather was not as good as in other January holidays there was plenty to keep guests occupied and the animation team worked very hard. We had seen some of the evening shows but very pleased with the ones which were new to us. We sat in the piano bar at some point during the day and were amazed at how quick we were served even when there were quite a few guests waiting. The bar staff were absolutely fantastic. Probably should mention that most of the drinks were known brands and my husband was so pleased to get his usual brand of whisky! The hotel is situated quite a way out of Playa Blanca but there is a local bus which runs every half hour and only costs one euro thirtyfive. Taxis are readily available outside the hotel. The walk along the seafront is very nice and even on a dull day the scenery was so nice. I could talk about the good points of this hotel all day so maybe you should just go and try it out for yourselves and I am sure you wont be disappointed. Just as an after thought we were pleased to see members of the management team on patrol most days checking that all was well and taking a real interest in the staff aswell as the guests. So nice to see management who cared.

Room Tip: We prefer rooms in the main building but know guests who prefer rooms near the pools just a matter o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jandm51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

Very nice Hotel, greeted with a glass of champagne. I was surprised by how big the Hotel resort is, we where taken to our room by a train . Breakfast's are fab, loads of choice for lunch & evening meals where ok. Drinks are very good , loads of choice for all inc. We were lucky to get a privilege room which was to a very high standard. Lovely pool area and gardens are kept immaculate , would recommend the spar (which is not all inc ) and have to pay for gym after 10am which was disappointing . Overall a excellent Hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for a week from 12 Jan 2014 and unfortunately the weather wasn't great, obviously no ones fault but the fact that the heated kids pool was not heated made it unbearably cold. We were gutted about this as the kids pirate ship was an attraction for us booking. The heating was broken and the first choice reps weren't much help and gave the impression that they'd only just found out about the problem but other guests said it had been broken for a while and they had spoken to Reps. The only heated pool was still quite cold but we braved it for the sake of our 2 year old! The pools were lovely to look at but far too cold! Maybe in peak season when hotter they would be fine. The food was okay and staff generally fine too but wouldn't say they were outstanding. The all inclusive drinks were good and food and drink were available all day. Some if the reviews re.food are a bit harsh so don't worry too much. The staff we're good at providing us with milk for child to take back to the room which we were grateful for. The small play parks came in handy and during rain we went to kids club with our little ones which was good. Not much else for young kids to do though. The hotel is pleasant but the usual bits of maintenance are required but nothing major at all. Playa Blanca was nice, it was a lovely walk to the beach (45 mins), but not too much to do. A trip to Rancho Texas animal park was good, kids loved it! Overall okay but wouldn't rush back!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank Breko3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

We arrived at The Rubicon Palace on Boxing Day 2013 for a 3 week stay.
We have visited the hotel many times over the past 10 years. As always we were looked after fabulously by Paula Fernandez and the wonderful staff throughout the hotel. Salvatore looked after us brilliantly in the restaurant each day, amazing service and nothing is ever too much trouble.
New Years Eve (Our 3rd time) was as good as ever, stunning food, fabulous staff, great music, brilliant fireworks and a wonderful start to 2014.
The hotel is in a beautiful quiet location with an excellent walk to both Playa Blanca and Rubicon Marina.
It must be very difficult maintaining a hotel of this size but every time we return improvements have been made.
This year I thoroughly enjoyed great exercise classes Yoga, Pilates & Stretching (Needed during a long stay!) Paulina the trainer was extremely professional, it was held in a perfect location overlooking the beautiful sea. A great start to the day.
We look forward to visiting you all again

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 661Gledhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

We stayed here for two weeks over New Year. The complex is huge, and if you are at the far end it can take 10 minutes to walk to reception. When you arrive make sure you get good directions to your room as it took us the best part of 15 minutes to locate it, which wasn't ideal! We were a young family and had chosen the hotel for the activities that our 2.5 year old could enjoy. The baby club was absolutely excellent and Ariadna and the other baby club staff were brilliant. Our daughter asked to go every day! There is a mini disco on an evening and afterwards a mini cinema that shows a Disney film. Our daughter asked to go to this one night also and it's great, you sign them in and out for as long as they want to go and it's a room with cushions for them to lounge in and watch the film. It's across from the showbar so you can easily check on them and are on hand if there are any problems.

The food was fantastic, we normally eat out of the hotel at least once a week when we are on all inclusive but we didn't have one meal out of the hotel. The selection and quality was just excellent and I've never eaten such amazing desserts and chocolate brownies abroad. The only comment I would make is that tables could be re-set quicker in the restaurants.

We found the walk into Playa Blanca slightly longer than we would have hoped, but we just got a taxi whenever we wanted to go there. It's about 4-5 Euros each way.

The only downsides were that the WiFi was terrible. It is free, and you can't pay for a better service, my husband managed to log onto it but I couldn't in two weeks, and I heard others complaining of the same problem! The second issue was that the hotel is on an incline and it is not always easy to get around with a pushchair (or wheelchair) without going a very long way around. The hotel should look to put more ramps near steps as this would make life so much easier.

Overall we had an excellent holiday and we will almost definitely return to the Rubicon Palace and/or a H10 hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank jules10001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Blanca
1.9 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#14 of 38 in Playa Blanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,801 reviews
2.1 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
2.8 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#5 of 38 in Playa Blanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
14.9 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#28 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,188 reviews
2.2 mi away
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
#9 of 38 in Playa Blanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H10 Rubicon Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H10 Rubicon Palace

Property: H10 Rubicon Palace
Address: Urbanizacion Montana Roja, s/n, 35570 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Green Hotel in Playa Blanca
#7 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
#9 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
#11 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — H10 Rubicon Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 584
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity and Prestigia so you can book your H10 Rubicon Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
h10 Rubicon Palace Hotel Playa Blanca
h10 Rubicon Palace Playa Blanca
Rubicon Palace Lanzarote
Rubicon Hotel
Rubicon Lanzarote
H10 Rubicon Palace Lanzarote/Playa Blanca
Hotel h10 Rubicon Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing