We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“marvelous rubicon”
Review of H10 Rubicon Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
H10 Rubicon Palace
Ranked #15 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
rotherham
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“marvelous rubicon”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

we stayed here for 2 weeks with friends and had a fantastic holiday, food was great with loads of choice at every meal good selection of snacks inbetween. the drinks were in plastic glasses in the pool area but in the bars at night they use glass the service in the bars was very good you even had waitress service so you didn`t even have to move from your seat and they were very pleasant and polite spoke very good english can`t fault them at all.The hotel was very bright and well decorated our room was large with a kingsize bed and cleaned every day with clean bedding. Lost count of the number of pools seemed to be every were you went with plenty of sunbeds loads of entertainment day and night the staff work very hard here would recomend to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stuart r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,837
    2,680
    1,033
    341
    214
See reviews for
3,284
3,477
110
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,885)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

We arrived tired and distressed, minus 2 suitcases and 1 wrapped in plastic (damaged before we even left Manchester airport) swiftly checked in and informed that we could go for something to eat before the dining room closed and our suitcases would be delivered to our room, having a tired 3 year old with us we declined the offer of food and were taken to our rooms.
We had adjoining rooms, ours had a super king double bed, wardrobe with a safe and 2 drawers, 2 further small storage units, one housing the fridge, the other as a stand for the TV , coffee table, and comfy chair, also a long table/desk and high backed chair, a balcony the size of a small back yard, with patio furniture to sit and enjoy the late afternoon sunshine, the other members of our family had 2 queen size beds and a put u up bed for their little girl, bathrooms had plenty of toiletries, which was just as well because half our luggage had failed to arrive.
We didn't go to the welcome meeting as we had been to the island before and knew what to expect. We usually spent the early morning by the daisy pool, or went to flamingo beach, both perfect for the little one, enjoyed lunch around 1 30 after which it became too hot for her and she had a siesta, we would then return to the pool for a late afternoon dip before evening meal around 7pm.
The entertainment is animation team, who do try and work tirelessly, our 3 year old fell in love with daisy, and we were lucky enough to be able to book her to come and say good night, this was the icing on the cake, almost as good as Father Christmas coming, just ask at reception and they will arrange it, they even give a little gift (a daisy doll).
Taxis are parked outside the hotel, and the bus stop just across the grass verge, the weather was glorious, a brisk cool breeze in the evenings meant we needed to cover up, we were plagued with mosquitoes in the evening, we had to spray the rooms before we went out at night, and keep the doors closed, which made the rooms a bit stuffy, but better that than being bitten constantly.
We found this to be a lovely family hotel, a nice mix of age groups, we didn't feel like it was full of children nor did it feel like gods waiting room, we were able to get 4 sun beds together at any time of day, people were putting towels down at the crack of dawn usually by the pool close to the entertainment, and the snack bar, but it didn't bother us because we didn't feel the need to keep topping up with food and drink, and a short stroll isn't too much effort surely?
As my title suggests, we were so lucky to have chosen this hotel, it saved our holiday, Thomson and First Choice nearly ruined it, 1 suitcase destroyed before it left Manchester, 2 not delivered ( 1 of which took 4 days to arrive!) and their total lack of customer care is beyond belief, they will not do anything to assist until you return to the UK fortunately I had split mine and hubby's clothes, the others had not done so, we spent the first 3 days trying to source clothing and essentials, we were told by the rep that a payment of £25 used to be made per day in resort, but as this was found to be insufficient, they no longer made payments until you return to the UK and sort it out after your holiday, Unbelievable!
To end on a more positive note, we found all staff at the Rubicon Palace to be so helpful, perhaps they could give Thomsons/First Choice a few tips on customer care. We have been home less than 6 hours and already thinking of returning.

Room Tip: Email before arriving explaining your circumstances, they will do their best to help
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luvitalywales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HULL UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 25, 2013

In February my wife and I had an enjoyable two weeks AI holiday at the H10 Rubicon Palace.This was our second visit to the hotel after 2 years and although we enjoyed our first visit, very much,we though the hotel was better this time as the resteraunt seating arrangement was much better. The food was very good with a good selection and a varied theme menu every day.No one should go hungry as there is something there for everyones tastes! The accomadation was excellent and clean and we found the staff very friendly and helpful. All the staff work very hard at this hotel so we cant praise them enough! Looking forwards to our visit next year!l Muchas Gracias!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Dunmow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

we stayed for 5 nights 18th apr-22nd.the hotel is huge(by far the biggest ive ever been to),but we found the staff very helpful and friendly.the rooms were spotless, and the grounds were litter free.lost count of the number of pools,5/6 i think,they just seemed to crop up every time you went round a corner!!we frequented one of the smaller pools to the right of the complex and this was perfect as most of the families with children stayed closer to the main pool.i think the main pool may have been heated,but ours was not and was a bit chilly,but not too bad.the usual sad gits putting towels on sunbeds was all to evident(drives me nuts),but we were poolside by around 9am so we didnt have any problems as we were normally the first there(well,first to actually stay and sunbathe).we upgraded to all inclusive,and thought the food was very good,with plenty of variety.the hotel location is a little way from the main resort area(25-30 min walk?),but its aprox 4 euros cab fare into town,so not too bad.i have to say i think its a great place to take a youngish family during school hols,but wouldnt go myself without kids at that time,can only imagine it would be manic!!as it was,the hotel seems to have been overtaken by OAP'S,and with the crap uk weather good luck to them!!!overall, a very enoyable stay!

Room Tip: we were room 6009,rotten view over the car park and no sun in the evening,ask for room with balconey...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WINKLE67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Spent a week during the Easter holidays so it was particularly busy with families, as you would expect. I can concur with a lot of previous reviewers' positive comments about the hotel - very friendly welcome from all staff; good selection of food at all times; could always find a sunbed before 10am; room spotlessly clean. Restaurant often with a queue waiting to get in, and reason seemed to be not enough staff to clear the tables in time - but staff that were there realy worked hard and nothing was too much trouble. Didn't see any of the in-house entertainment (not really into that, and especially not after others' comments about its quality) but the Beefeater Pub on site is good, with excellent staff: shows football but not premiership matches - have to go into Playa Blanca for that. Bus stop to Playa Blanca is right outside the main entrance; cost 1.60 euros each way and buses every 15 minutes. There isn't much around the hotel so a leisurely walk among the waterfront or a bus to Playa Blanca is worthwhile. Last point - the all inclusive offer does include some branded drinks so rather than put some photos on Tripadvisor of the views, the hotel etc, I've included a few of the pages from the drinks menu to give you an idea of what you can get. Or you can pay for an upgrade that includes ALL drinks, but we were perfectly happy with what we got with the ordinary AI offer.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank YTH26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

We are newcomers to all inclusive but we have just enjoyed an excellent ten days at The Rubicon Palace. The "tourist" rooms are fine but you cn upgrade to "privilege" if you so wish. We took an ordinary room with a balcony and sea view which was perfectly adequate. It is a very large estate and rooms can be, as with all this type of hotel, a long way from the bars and restaurants, however we have passed the first flush of youth and prefer a room near to the amenities. When we arrived, we were allocated to a room a considerable distance from the main hall and we asked I there wa something a little nearer. We were looked after by a very charming senior receptionist named Noemi Requena. She relocated us to a much more suitable room and I cannot commend her pleasant manner and patience too highly. It cannot be easy when a couple of coach loads of visitors arrive after a long flight and, quite naturally, with some somewhat impatient requests. All the staff, at whatever level, were most courteous and helpful at all times whether breakfast clearing staff, or in the bar at midnight. It is their enthusiasm and all round general pleasantness that really makes for a great holiday. Food is at the usual standard of inclusive hotels, neither brilliant nor poor but perfectly adequate. My only gripe was that all my favourite Spanish foods, roast suckling pig, Segovian style lamb and braised oxtail were all served on the same evening so I had to make a pig of myself.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Oystereater A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barton upon humber
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a weeks holiday at the H10 Rubicon Palace going there to celebrate our wedding anniversary, we were really impressed by our room and the facilities that came with going privilege, however we were bitterly disappointed to find that after paying the extra for this service we found that in the A La Carte El Volcan restaurant young children were admitted, they were running around and causing a nuisance,IE knocking over a bottle of wine on its stand, this ruined the whole experience for us, we are not against children but thought ( rather stupidly as it stated in the brochure ' not suitable for children under 12 ') that going privilege would afford us the chance to eat amongst adults only. The privilege lounge was fantastic, but once again young children were admitted even though it stated in the brochure ' not suitable for children under 12 '. Would we return again, not sure, ifthey guaranteed that it would be child free YES. I might add that the children causing thses problems were British, the other nationalities were very well behaved, makes you sometimes ashamed to be British. The staff were fantastic and couldn't do enough for you.

Room Tip: we had room 8525 which had a panoramic view of the sea and the islands of La Gomera and Fuertaventur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kasiap1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Blanca
2.1 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
1.9 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#13 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,159 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#6 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3,770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
4,742 reviews
14.9 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#30 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,500 reviews
3.4 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H10 Rubicon Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H10 Rubicon Palace

Property: H10 Rubicon Palace
Address: Urbanizacion Montana Roja, s/n, 35570 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Green Hotel in Playa Blanca
#7 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
#11 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
#11 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — H10 Rubicon Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 584
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Prestigia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your H10 Rubicon Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
h10 Rubicon Palace Hotel Playa Blanca
h10 Rubicon Palace Playa Blanca
Rubicon Palace Lanzarote
Rubicon Hotel
Rubicon Lanzarote
H10 Rubicon Palace Lanzarote/Playa Blanca
Hotel h10 Rubicon Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing