We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall excellent only a few minor niggles”
Review of H10 Rubicon Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
H10 Rubicon Palace
Ranked #17 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Overall excellent only a few minor niggles”
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

Just back from 2 weeks, 3 families with 3 rooms. All rooms we great although grandparents ( there for a month ) were initially put I'n a room overlooking the car park, they were moved with no complaints.

We had 3 children , 4 months, 3 years and nearly 4. They loved the pool except it was too cold as the heating wasn't on, we did complain and they sent a man to test the temp, they said it was 23 deg and that was the max temp allowed I'n lanzarote !,

The smaller main pool was also cold but refreshing and ok if moving.

The 2nd week of our stay was half term I'n uk and it was busier ( but still not crowded ) but magically the heating was on I'n both pools and it was much much better.

We were all inclusive and this is definitely the option to take. Food was fine and allowing for the quantities they had to prepare was always well presented and very nice. We never struggled to find something we liked. It's generally worthwhile queuing for a few minutes at the open kitchens for the show cooking. Each night is themed and repeats on a weekly basis. Slight criticism that childrens choice is a bit limited , but the kids didn't seem to mind too much.

The smaller dining room is a bit calmer than the large one but no childrens section, so if you've no kids head for it for dinner.

Breakfast was excellent except for the machine coffee, which wasn't unpleasant but is not coffee as we know it. If this could be addressed it would make the dining experience 100%. you can get an espresso from one of the machines and top up with milk which results I'n a nice coffee, but this is only on 1 of the many machines and only I'n the small room.

One frustration not of the hotels doing is the queues at the coffee machines due to ( mainly fellow UK) guests not being able to read and follow simple written instructions, tip if you press the button with White coffee on it, you get a White coffee, neither looking blankly at the machine or pressing the White coffee, then the milk button will get you a coffee, if you can't grasp this please move aside and let the queue of people behind you use the machine. ( rant over )

Final niggle is that if you sit outside covered area I'n the evening to eat you have to put up with selfish people smoking either I'n the dining area or the adjacent courtyard, even though this is external the smoke gathers I'n the covered over area.

Apart from the above minor issues the hotel, food , drink and staff were excellent, even the all inclusive wine was ok and the on tap beer was San Miguel .

We did a couple of the activities which were fun and good to meet fellow guests. The entertainment team are like machines, they never stop and are always cheery and friendly, special note about Charles (French from reunion island ) he was very professional / friendly and fun. 3 of us also walked up the adjacent volcano with him and a colleague, this is worth doing.

The walk into playa is very pleasant (45 min easy levelish walk) taxi back 3 to 4 euros.

We would return to this hotel and if the pools were to be warmer would have no complaints whatsoever.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rosivdapir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,086 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,828
    2,674
    1,029
    341
    214
See reviews for
3,272
3,470
110
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,879)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here with our 16 month old daughter for the last 2 weeks of January. We were on an all inclusive basis and, although we had a fantastic holiday, there were one or two areas that we felt needed tweaking if the H10 wish to improve on being rated 11th in the resort.

The good: The baby club facility (1-3yrs only) was outstanding. They take your little treasure from 12 months and have a range of activities which start at 10am and finish with the mini disco and the awarding of 'diplomas' for 'outstanding play in the ball-pool' and such like. Daisy, the hotel mascot, was a big hit with all the children and Harriet would be looking out each evening in the dining room, hoping to catch a glimpse of her and be invited to the mini-disco (no invitation actually needed!) The club is available for 5 hours per day but if, like us, you only want to leave them for an hour or so at a time, that's fine too. Well done animation team for all the fun and enthusiasm you provide for the children.

Also good were the grounds and layout. Beautifully kept gardens which were a pleasure to stroll, as was the promenade which we walked on a regular basis (playa blanca is 40 mins with a pram). The room (7045) was lovely with sunny balcony and sea view, also close to the main reception and all the facilities. Slight niggle, white plastic furniture on the balcony made sitting out a little less of an experience.

Pools: There are a few pools dotted about, all of which look lovely but took your breath away with how cold they were. None of us swam until the last 2 days of our holiday when, as we discovered by chance, after someone had complained, the hotel heated the lovely baby pool. Once we discovered the heating had been turned on, it was fab and we realised how much we'd missed being able to swim. Really good layout and a couple of fun slides. If the pools are cold on your holiday, I'd suggest you complain immediately rather than waiting as we did.

Staff: this is where it became a bit of a lottery. Entertainment team were all excellent, friendly and accommodating. The restaurant staff were, for the most part, very pleasant and attentive, although they seem to work 'stations' and on a couple of occasions we had the misfortune to be in an area with a really miserable young woman, her rudeness made more evident by the contrast with the other staff who were great. Finally on personnel, we found the reception staff a little brusque, perhaps due to workload. With just a tweak here and there the staffing element could be excellent.

Food and drink: This is where it all goes a bit awry. Ok, there's no waiter service. It's a 4 star and it would be unreasonable to expect this so no complaints there. However, queuing for coffee at the machine in the morning could become an irritation if you allowed it to. What was worse, for my husband in particular, was the coffee itself. Absolutely awful. To the point that we would exit the hotel onto the promenade, turn right, and stop for coffee at the bar approx 300 yards away. Really, if coffee is your thing, you'll need to pay for it outside of the hotel or take your own and heat it in the microwave because what's on offer is a frothy, sweet concoction that isn't like any coffee I've ever tasted.

Now for the food: Again, something of a mixed bag. My honest opinion is that the chefs are great, and theres certainly a good variety of choices - we always found SOMETHING to eat - and plenty of it. However, the overriding impression is the poor quality of the meat. A great chef can only be great if the ingredients are good and I suspect that this is an area where the hotel is trying to save a bit of money. The end result of which is that we wouldn't make this our first choice hotel if we were returning to Lanzarote.

Drinks: We're getting a bit too old for late night parties and with a young baby we were generally in our room for around 10pm with a baileys coffee (which was lovely). However, prior to that it was a bit of a scrum at the bar - desperately trying to remember whose turn it was next so as not to push in! As many reviews have said, the piano bar was good but with a lack of seating. They could do with an additional quiet but spacious bar to accommodate all the guests. Drink quality was generally good with branded drinks served, but the cocktails were pretty woeful (pre-bottled instead of mixing) apart from the mojito.

Overall: In summary, we enjoyed our holiday to Playa Blanca, so much so that we're going back in a week's time. But not to the H10, principally because of the food quality and coffee (would you believe!). Playa Blanca is a quiet resort with a relaxing atmosphere and they cater really well for young children.

None of the issues I've highlighted stopped us from having a great time and as far as the H10 is concerned, I WOULD recommend it for a young family if you get a good deal as we (think we) did (£1600 2 adults and baby), but be aware of, and prepared to accept, the shortcomings, before you travel.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
7 Thank Anna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
magherafelt
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Just returned from week in rubicon palace.Would recommend it to anyone. Very impressed.Hotel in a wonderful location with long coastal walks and amazing views .Excellant choice of fresh food all day long. Staff were very friendly and helpful.Would definately go back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank vivienne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyde, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed from 31st January for 10 days. So wish it had been longer!! We were in room 7008 which was very spacious and kept beautifully clean and tidy by excellent staff
The weather could have been better for about 6 of the days but that is not the hotels fault.
The food was very well prepared and presented. Some people will complain at anything but we thoroughly enjoyed it.
We arrived back on Monday and Wednesday had been to the Travel Agent and booked again for June !!
The only fault ( and not the hotel 's fault )
Is the "progressive parents" who think it is totally ok to let their kids do whatever they want at meal times. Call me old fashioned but a little consideration for other guests would greatly be appreciated.
Apart from that gripe everything about the hotel is wonderful.
There is a lovely long walk into Playa Blanca along the cliff top. You need a good daily walk after all the food.
Well done to all the wonderful staff. See you in June.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PaulJam6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Fantastic hotel ,very clean and comfortable .entertainment was good day and night, the animation team did not stop . The little restaurant by the pool was lovely for snacks and paella and chips and burgers,the bigger restaurants have a vast selection of food,cant fault it .there are lots of areas for you to relax inside and out.the weather was lovely and warm for January about 23 24 degrees,we had a great time and are going back next year .

Room Tip: We had a room away from the main pool , it was lovely and quiet with lovely views of the sea xx
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davidandrea30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We are just back from the Rubicon and have had a lovely time. We stayed in a privilege room again, I would definitely recommend this. The room had a great sea view, right on the front overlooking the lighthouse. The staff are attentive, polite and helpful. The food in the privilege restaurant was good. We hired a car and there was always space to park after we returned from our day out. The walk down to the lighthouse or up to the town is lovely. There are a some bars and restaurants a few hundred yards from the hotel if you fancy going out. If you want to go further but don't want to drive, you can take a taxi. Tip - when driving to and from the airport, take the Femes road, it is much prettier and probably a little quicker too.

Room Tip: Pay for a privilege room, the perks are worth it. You get use of the privilege complementary bar eve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorfolkStar29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigan
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here as a family of five, we loved it. The food was great, the entertainment was fabulous, no it isn't broadway shows but the entertainment team work from early morning till late at night, they really try hard. Bella is fab.
Spanish night was on a Tuesday with live music and dancing, tapas and drinks, all the ladies were given flowers.
The only faults I can say are, we should of been given interconnecting rooms as a family of five.
The hotel really needs to heat more pools, they are wasted, they heated the kids pirate ship pool on our last two days and the kids loved it.
The cold pools are a big problem my lips went blue and it does stop you wanting to play with your kids in them which is what a holiday is all about.
The other fault are the photographers that stalk around, they are a nuisance, get rid of them especially when the male one asked my 18 year old daughter out, he was 30 odd. My 10 year old daughter became upset as they wouldn't take no as an answer.
The other problem was people staring at meal times mainly people with no children, it's rude to stare but obviously some people didn't think so. My children were not misbehaving or loud.
Overall it is a massive hotel and the staff do a great job and have manners which some hotel staff don't.
Well done Rubicon and see you soon !

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lissy1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Blanca
2.1 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
1.9 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#13 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,134 reviews
14.9 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#28 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#6 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3,761 reviews
9.6 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
4,729 reviews
3.4 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H10 Rubicon Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H10 Rubicon Palace

Property: H10 Rubicon Palace
Address: Urbanizacion Montana Roja, s/n, 35570 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Green Hotel in Playa Blanca
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Blanca
#7 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
#11 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
#13 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — H10 Rubicon Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 584
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your H10 Rubicon Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
h10 Rubicon Palace Hotel Playa Blanca
h10 Rubicon Palace Playa Blanca
Rubicon Palace Lanzarote
Rubicon Hotel
Rubicon Lanzarote
H10 Rubicon Palace Lanzarote/Playa Blanca
Hotel h10 Rubicon Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing