We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable Holiday” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of H10 Rubicon Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
H10 Rubicon Palace
Ranked #12 of 38 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Holiday”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

GOOD: Choice of food, Bar service, cleanliness, friendly helpful staff, public areas.

IMPROVEMENT NEEDED: Availability of heating in rooms. I was given a small two bar electric fire when I raised the matter at reception. Lanzarote is prone to winds and cool evenings during the winter. Usually the aircon in similar hotels can be turned up to meet the need. Not in the Rubicon Palace! Our room was large and only received sun in the morning. The corridors in the numerous hotel blocks are twisty and exposed to the elements. The walk back to the room was at times rather cool!

OTHER PONTS: Hotel is approx 2 km from the main part of Playa Blanca, There is a lovely coastal tiled path which you can access directly from the hotels extensive grounds.If you enjoy a varied coastal walk without the need for hiking boots this is for you! There is a good local circular bus service No 30. There is a flat fare of 1 euro 30 cents. The bus stops outside the hotel every 30 minutes.

Room Tip: If you have walking difficulties request a room in the main building as this is a very large spread...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lbflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,665
    2,563
    967
    316
    196
See reviews for
3,095
3,307
101
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,811)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

As soon as we arrived outside the hotel I knew it was going to be the treat I was hoping for. It exceeded my expectations as far as the staff service, decor, facilities and abundance of food choices were concerned. I would definately recommend it to my friends and I hope to back again next year.

I would suggest that for an all inclusive stay, the hotel should provide drinking water in the rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor to avoid disturbance from people above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

This hotel is lucky to be ranked 11th out of 39 hotels in Trip Advisor. From the initial outward appearances it appears to offer quality, the impressive foyer, well maintained gardens, wonderful views and coastal pathway; its location is the envy of most Hotel operators.

However, look deeper and you will discover an operator who is delivering a bland, mushy, repetitive, unimaginative, tepid menu in a canteen like environment, below most motorway service station standards. Many positive reviews come from those who have purchased the “Privilege” package but they get to eat elsewhere.

We found the staff courteous but far too stretched and too few in number to provide the level of service expected in a four star hotel ( the accountants are in charge). Our room maid was lovely but the standard of the ongoing room care is poor with split lampshade, curtains partially off rail, overflowing cistern, dust on wall and in crevices, worn furniture and the most incredible un-adjustable wonky mirror and pictures, there is no evidence that any quality standard is maintained.

Only one pool was semi heated where all participation activities took place. So if it’s a bit more peace and relaxation you want then your choice is one of the five cold pools.

With 584 rooms this hotel offers good three star facilities for families with young children. Having stayed at H10 Hotels before we recommend the H10 Timanfaya Palace to couples as it gives better value. At the very least you get a tablecloth at mealtimes. Only advice there is not to accept ground floor rooms as they can flood, we’ve seen it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank D M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP_HRP, Director de Relaciones Públicas at H10 Rubicon Palace, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your opinion about our hotel on this website. We are sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations.

Our position in the ranking on Tripadvisor is thank to all our guests who post their review and most of them have only positive comments about their stay with us and lot of them come back every year.

We apologize if we failed in your case and we have taken note of your comments in order to prevent these incidents of happening again.

Kind regards,

Anna Muzsik
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

Hi this was our 5th visit to this complex and it will be our 6th in Sept what we like is the size of the rooms on this occasion we where lucky and got a sea view room, the Rubicon is not a hotel building but a complex its ideal for every body be it family's or singles though to be fair if you are young and Lively you may get bored at certain times of the year there are several swimming pools on site one being Salt water. The food is excellent and is served in two main restaurants though if you fancy something a little different there is a waiter service restaurant and Italian waiter service restaurant though you have to pay for these unless you upgrade to privilege (though you do have you own private bar etc with the upgrade)
On the downside you are approx 3 kms out of Playa Blanca ,though we always hire a car from the airport to the Rubicon where there's plenty of car parking

Room Tip: Upgrade to sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank shunty2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

I was a little apprehensive having read previous reports but all i can say is I could not fault this hotel at all. I had previously emailed the hotel to ask if we could have a room close to our friends who we were going with, but had booked separately, when we arrived we were given rooms next to each other, rooms 8722 and 8723 these were large roomy and close to all amenities.
food is excellent, what a choice, branded drinks for all inclusive. Excellent animation team that work extremely hard all day with numerous activities if you want it, from Yoga, stretching, pistol shooting, archery, darts amongst them. they also have excellent activities for children although as retired couples this did not affect us. Children were never a problem as the staff keep them occupied all the time.
the hotel its self is well spaced kept beautiful with hard working. friendly staff, The only down side is, it is a good 45mins walk into the centre. but it is a lovely walk, we did not mind this as we like a walk and a taxi is only 3.80 euros which we used at night time when we went out a couple of times. The king size beds can be a little hard but a couple we spoke to asked if anything could be done about this and they immediately put a foam mattress on the top, good service.
As adults we really appreciated the piano bar.
All in all an excellent holiday and i would thoroughly recomment it.

Room Tip: our room 8722 and 8733 ideal place for everything although you have to climb some steps as they are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a week with family 6 adults. I would rate this hotel 3star plus going on other hotels I have stayed at AI in Turkey, having said that I have never stayed AI in Spain so do not know if they are really like for like as different country's have different standards. What I will say is this hotel is lovely and clean, bedrooms and bathrooms are big and clean. The staff are lovely , and children are entertained for most of the time. The food is varied, breakfast particularly good. The food is like most buffet style food ,okay. The large restaurant is very canteen like, much preferred the smaller one that serves the same food. On AI you have to serve your own drinks which is either water wine ,cava , beer or soft drinks. Would have liked waiter service as it made it feel like I was in a canteen and for a 4 star hotel I thought this was poor. Also you go to the bar in the main bar area to be served, although sometimes a waiter did walk round and take orders. Not all drinks are included in AI but enough to satisfy most. The drinks are mixed strong so be aware. The hotel is very nice and so are the grounds swimming pools etc. Can't comment on entertainment at night as we sat in piano bar all the time. The weather unfortunately was not good , but we hired a mini bus and went out every day, this island is beautiful , it would be a shame not to visit the wonderful places there are to see on it. The volcano trip is awesome had a great day. A must see is the albino crabs in the caves, the caves are stunning, basically a volcanic tube that has been transformed into a oasis, stunning . Walked into Playa Blanca which as previously said takes about 40 minutes and worth the walk. All in all a fantastic holiday .

Room Tip: Some rooms might be a good walk to the main Hotel, so ask for a room near if you having walking disa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sarisbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Had wonderful stays at the Rubicon as couple and so glad we went back now we have a daughter! The rooms are large enough to be comfortable as a family, TV specilay modern enough to take our daughters USB of movies. Restaurants with full range of foods to satisfye us and kids. Mini Club and mini disco was absolutley magical for our daughter. What made it special - there kids animation team, so full of energy and more importantly, so kind. What we will always remember - celerbrating our daughters 2nd birthday at the hotel. At a very economical hotel rate, we had a kids party in there beautiful salon. With photo fantastic kids and adult buffet, decorations, balloons, music and wonderful animation team entertainment and manegment of the party. In all, we commited to 5 weeks stay at the Rubicon. We didnt want to leave, our daughter is missing it there so much and we cant wait to go back!

Room Tip: Most memorable sea view rooms, Block A or B.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sheila A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Blanca
1.9 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#14 of 38 in Playa Blanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,801 reviews
2.1 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
2.8 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#5 of 38 in Playa Blanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
14.9 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#28 of 94 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,188 reviews
2.2 mi away
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
#9 of 38 in Playa Blanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H10 Rubicon Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H10 Rubicon Palace

Property: H10 Rubicon Palace
Address: Urbanizacion Montana Roja, s/n, 35570 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Blanca
#4 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Green Hotel in Playa Blanca
#7 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
#9 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
#11 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — H10 Rubicon Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 584
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia and Prestigia so you can book your H10 Rubicon Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
h10 Rubicon Palace Hotel Playa Blanca
h10 Rubicon Palace Playa Blanca
Rubicon Palace Lanzarote
Rubicon Hotel
Rubicon Lanzarote
H10 Rubicon Palace Lanzarote/Playa Blanca
Hotel h10 Rubicon Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing