We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel”
Review of H10 Rubicon Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
H10 Rubicon Palace
Ranked #17 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Hotel”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Stayed here in December for one week and really enjoyed it. The food is good with plenty to choose from. We were lucky with the weather as every day the sun was splitting the sky. There were plenty of sun beds which you would expect for the time of the year. The room was pleasant enough but the aircon was turned off, and although it was not too hot, we were bitten by mosquitoes. My only complaint was the cost of hiring the room safe. Considering that we had already paid for being all inclusive, I think that 17euros per week was an excessive charge.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,086 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,828
    2,674
    1,029
    341
    214
See reviews for
3,272
3,470
110
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,879)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carnforth
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed at the Rubicon from 6th to 16th December, this was our 2nd visit to the hotel, and I can honestly say that in the 3 years since our last visit there have been a few improvements which have made the hotel even better than I remember. We always get a private taxi on holiday nowadays to avoid the queues at reception and we were the only people at the desk checking in so all was sorted by the very efficient Severine with a glass of cava in about 15 minutes. We are members of the H10 club, easy to join online and free, and got an upgrade to a sea view room in the main hotel building on the 7th floor, which is the highest, with glorious views over the whole hotel the sea and Fuerteventura. We asked for a kettle for the room and this was provided at no extra cost with coffee and tea left by the maid every day when she had cleaned our room, she was lovely. The sun was on the double balcony from morning until sunset, and the weather was glorious every day, 24/26 deg, apart from 1 cloudy day which was perfect for walking along the promenade to Playa Blanca a very pleasant 40 minute stroll. The hotel is large and quite spread out and the gardens are immaculately kept by a very hard working team of gardeners, one of the team, a lovely lady called Gloria obviously loved her job and loved to have a chat to us when we passed by.
We ate breakfast outside in the sun every day in the main restaurant and the quality and choice of food was wonderful, and the addition of an omelette station was very welcome indeed. Our lunch was on the boat in the main pool and was perfect for salad, paella and fish with a glass of the very palatable rose wine, if you want burgers, pizza etc these were also available. We would like to say a very big thank you to Adriana and Laura at the pool bar for serving us with a smile and helping me with my basic Spanish, and all the other waiters and waitresses who work there socks off to keep tables cleared always with a smile and an "hola".
It was warm enough in the evening to sit outside at the restaurant with a little help from some patio heaters and some nights a cardigan, the choice of food is very varied and so difficult to choose from if like me you like to try new things and the addition of a fresh pasta station is excellent. The wine, red white and rose you help yourself to from barrels, along with lager and
either still or sparkling water.
We would have a pre-dinner drink in the piano bar, the choice of named spirits, cocktails, wine and cava is excellent and the staff are all very friendly and efficient, if you sit outside on the terrace the views over the hotel and over to Fuerteventura by night are lovely. After dinner we would return to the piano bar to hear either jazz or spanish guitar or a singer, the hotel entertainment on the floor below in the disco bar by all accounts was very good but we didn't see any of it to comment personally.
We always go to the arts and craft market at the Rubicon Marina on Saturdays and Wednesdays, it is about an hour and 15 minutes walk which we enjoy, or a 5/6 euro taxi ride, well worth a visit to get some unusual Christmas presents, with a stop half way at Playa Blanca
for a coffee or a cold beer to break the journey.
My husband went in the gym twice, which is free from 7 until 10 in the mornibg and 5 euros after this, he said it is very well equipped and cool with with free towels and water, we did not use the spa as the weather was too nice to be inside.
We had a late flight home and would like to thank Allessandro on reception for all his help organising a late check out for us in a room just up from ours until we left at 6.30pm, well worth
the 40 euros.
We were very sad to leave but will most definitely be back next December, I am already checking out the prices.

Room Tip: We like high floor and sea view so 7th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SoulgirlCarnforth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tadworth
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

This is the second time I've stayed at the h10 Rubicon Palace and I would thoroughly recommend it to everyone, the staff are polite friendly and know how to show guests a good time, there is a nice walk from the hotel to the town centre about an hours walk but if you don't feel like walking taxis are readily available, the beaches are fantastic with views to Fueteventura a must for all to see.
We spent Christmas and will be spending new year at the hotel and have been spoilt for choice of food entertainment and a really nice touch from the hotel on Christmas Day was a gift left for all guests and a visit from Father Christmas riding a camel I can't wait to come back again.
The only niggle was the hard beds and intermittent wifi connection but apart from that it was bang on.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandra b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Very good holiday and the hotel accommodated a large number of people with ease. Food was always good and the Xmas buffet was excellent. Clientele was a mix of ages and nationalities but all are well catered for and the staff are friendly and efficient. Good choice for a family holiday, the only downsides are the distance from the main town and the reliability of the wireless connection.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CraigS0106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We had a great holiday at the H10 Rubicon and will go back next year ,we were looked after very well the food was great all staff were very nice and helpful and room was very clean a very nice hotel .

Room Tip: We had a sea view and it was nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 546Brian546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We have just returned from the Rubicon Palace and had a great holiday. This was our third time here and found it to be even better than our last visit in January. We stayed for 2 weeks and the weather was lovely and warm after a couple of partly cloudy days to start with. We had made a room request and got exactly what we wanted. We got a bottle of Cava and salsa's and bath robes and slippers in our room. Our room was amazing with a massive balcony with wonderful views over the sea to Fuerteventura. We used the spa on several ocassions and enjoyed this again. We cannot fault anything at all. I had been a bit concerned reading some reviews before we went but having been to the hotel before I had my doubts about these. What I notice with some bad reviews is the reviewer says that they have travelled to ther area before but they have not posted reviews of these holidays-why? The only thing I dont like is the busy restaurant in the evening but in my experience this is usually the case with larger all inclusives. We tried to time our meals so that it was a bit quieter. I also found that the dress standards have been relaxed. Most people were very smart but some natonalities who are supposed to very stylish were definitely not. None of this spoiled our holiday and we found that there was always somewhere to find peace and quiet. We may try somewhere different next winter but it will be hard to match this. I would thoroughlly recommend this hotel for a winter break.

Room Tip: Rooms with a full sea view may be quite a walk and not suitable for less mobile
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ladya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthLincolnshire, england
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Stayed for 1 week comm 13th Dec Privege Service ,stunning views 8525. after reading the reviews prior to going, was a little bit apprehensive. Hotel was lovely, spottlessly clean all the time, the grounds where outstanding, staff working on them all the time we where there. Plenty of sunbeds and pararsols available all day no problem.The weather was amazing 7 full days of sun, just a slight breeze which was very welcoming.
I dont think it was explained to us in enough detail which areas we could be use for the Privilege meal service, our biggest niggle was there was not enough information given on arrival where to eat ect, breakfast lunch and evening meal
We soon fell into a pattern, Breakfast in the Volcan which was superb, Lunch in the pool bar, which was very poor, luke warm food and nearly everyday the same things out to eat, quite a few flys too. Our choice though as could have gone into the main resteraunt but only needed a snack at Lunchtime this seemed the most appropiate area and to sit on the Boat was lovely, shame about the food.
The main pool was freezing and if we saw 6 people venture in it each day that was the most, what a waste!!
The Main restaurant was busy but the Food and choice was amazing, allways hot, staff very polite and wellcoming.
Had evening meal in the Volcan 3 nights, good Menu but no airconditioning, too hot too be comfortable, lovely doors all the way round, but where never opened, pity because you could,nt sit in there too long.
Tried to get Wi Fi in the seating area near to the Piano Lounge , no luck but the day,after tried in our room and had service everyday afterthat.
Walked along the Prom one afternoon, but never got to Playa Blanca, shame Rubicon dont run trips on the MiniTrain that goes round the complex as it was parked up most of the time near the reception area.
Hardly saw anyone use the Spa whilst we where there.
Thursday to Sunday was Bliss, then the Children arrived!!! we have our own Granchildren at home so no particular gripe with kids, all of a sudden the Resaurant was packed and noisy, kids jumping in and out of the pool, with blow up seats and airbeds.
Went to watch the Grease NIght, at 10.00pm but walked out, children in pushchairs, children of all ages running about all over,parents oblivious to what they where doing and not caring either!
IThought we where in a ressession, .
Anyway thouroughly enjoyed our stay, Excellent standard, totally rested, just would NOT go when school holidays are on again, glad we did,nt book for 2 weeks though.

Room Tip: Higher floor, Privelige Service recomended
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tigra61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Blanca
2.1 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
1.9 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#13 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,134 reviews
14.9 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#28 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#6 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3,761 reviews
9.6 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
4,725 reviews
3.4 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H10 Rubicon Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H10 Rubicon Palace

Property: H10 Rubicon Palace
Address: Urbanizacion Montana Roja, s/n, 35570 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Green Hotel in Playa Blanca
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Blanca
#7 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
#11 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
#13 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — H10 Rubicon Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 584
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your H10 Rubicon Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
h10 Rubicon Palace Hotel Playa Blanca
h10 Rubicon Palace Playa Blanca
Rubicon Palace Lanzarote
Rubicon Hotel
Rubicon Lanzarote
H10 Rubicon Palace Lanzarote/Playa Blanca
Hotel h10 Rubicon Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing