We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Families, not for Twenty Somethings”
Review of H10 Rubicon Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
H10 Rubicon Palace
Ranked #16 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great for Families, not for Twenty Somethings”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Myself and my boyfriend stayed at the H10 Rubicon palace last week from the 8.11 to 15.11.

This hotel is not ideal for a mid-twenties couple. The entertainment is catering for families and elderly couples and there is no youthful spirit in the place. Could do with more cocktails and a bar that plays 80's to current music

Good points
Choice of Drinks included on All Inclusive - Cava, Beer, Bacardi, Malibu, Havana and Jager were all included, and the measures were very generous.
Choice of Swimming pools, the main pool can be busy due to kids, hotel entertainment and restaurant bar, but we found 3 quieter pools around the complex which were just perfect for total relaxation.
The Piano Bar and Balcony - The piano bar is large and comfortable, but the best feature was the balcony attached where you could sit comfortably for hours, drinking your free drinks and watching the sun go down, great spot. Great hard working staff in the piano bar too, very friendly and helpful.
Bedrooms - Spacious, comfortable with balcony. Very happy with room.

Bad Points

The Food - The food quality was really poor. Warm to Cold, bland and boring. When you are all inclusive you get a la carte meal thrown in. We looked forward to this as the buffet food was just upsetting our stomachs at this point. Service in A la Carte was terrible, I ordered Carbonara and it tasted exactly like the bland buttery creamy pasta in the buffet and my boyfriend ordered the chicken, only to discover it was raw in the middle. I complained to the waitress about this and the meal was taken away and nobody even tried to apologise to us. Terrible service.
Location - It is just too far from the town of Playa Blanca. Fine in taxis, costing €4.50 and very prompt. But to walk took nearly a half an hour, and considering how bad the food in the restaurant is, this walk is essential to get anything tasty.
Disco bar & Beefeeter "Irish bar"- The entertainment team do seem very friendly and energetic, but the entertainment brought in from outside is just terrible. Out of sync terrible carnival dancers were the highlight. We were told at check in that they had an Irish bar on location called the Beefeeter, as an Irish person, I was intrigued as to how an Irish bar got the name Beefeeter (traditionally an English name). Turns out the pub is not Irish nor English themed, it is just a wooden room with a small bar and a couple of tvs that play the same champions league highlights over and over again each night, Terrible place, but hard working friendly staff.
H10 Loyalty Service - I registered for the H10 loyalty service before I made my journey, at the hotel I showed my card at the desk twice and I was told to come back another time and they will try link my account up as they could not do it at the time, I eventually gave up. Another couple who registered at the hotel after the reception asked them to, received a free bottle of cava to their room for doing so.

Room Tip: Away from Main pool. 2102 was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ciara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP_HRP, Director de Relaciones Públicas at H10 Rubicon Palace, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and with other customers through this website. We are sorry to hear that we did not achieve your complete satisfaction.

The fact that we have a lot of children defines us as a familiar hotel and we will continue working to enhance this image, never forgetting to take care of couples or groups of friends that come to relax and spend calmed holidays with us offering them two swimming pools without animation and in quiet areas.

We are sorry that our Beefeater Pub was not of your liking, I can assure you that our aim is to offer a relaxed and welcoming atmosphere there as an alternative for our Piano Bar and Discoteque in the evening.

Regarding to your register in our Club H10, all guests with membership cards benefit from the advantages of joining our Loyalty Program during their stay, we apologize if there was a mistake in the procedure in your case.

We reiterate our apologies for the inconvenience you might have experienced, hoping to see you again in out hotel in the future.

Kindest regards,

Anna Muzsik
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,836
    2,678
    1,033
    341
    214
See reviews for
3,282
3,476
110
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,885)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambs, UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

I am midway through my stay as I write this and was nervous about staying here after mixed reviews. In my view it all depends on what you are used to and your own expectations.

The Good
Nice reasonably large complex with a lot of space in and around the pool areas and gardens.
Layout - nicely spread out but needs a little more tlc.
Good location with great views of Fueteventura and access to the coastal path past other hotels, beaches and town.
Children - lots to do and character Daisy keeps them entertained.
Staff - overall they are friendly but the staff in the restaurants are so busy they do not have time to build a rapport with guests. The restaurant seems to be run with a self service, pile it high minimal staff approach and works quite well.
Food - good range of food in the buffet restaurants.
Nice pool bar/restaurant overlapping the pool. Only thing is this always feels a bit dirty and sticky and some of the spilt food and drinks fall into the pool between the floor boards.
Hotel staff - overall very good but just too busy to always have time to chat to guests.

The Bad
Check in - when many coach loads of new guest arrive all the staff the have manage this process as quickly as possible. The next stage is getting to your room which means you have to wait for the train or hotels people carriers. The stage between actual check in and waiting for the transport is not that clearly communicated, there must be an easier way?
Many guests are smokers or it a least feels like this.
The beds in our room have plastic mattress protectors on them making them hot and noisy.
The very nice courtyard outside the main buffet restaurants is the smokers area meaning you have to pass though this all the time and the area always smells of smoke.
To be fair the staff work hard to clean and clear the large ash trays and also the cigarette butts around the complex.
Main buffet restaurants - very busy at peak times and congested in the central areas. Food is never that hot unless it had just come out. However today for the first time everything seemed a bit hotter so maybe some progress is being made.
Self service drinks machines and some food tends to run out before it can be replaced quickly.
Rooms - we have a standard room and I would say this is more of a 3* standard. Needs more tlc. A/C not that good and then stopped working. Has been fixed with a slight improvement. Broken and sharp corner of the glass tv table not replaced.
Internet - at times (80%) is is impossible to get access - think the system simply cannot cope with the demand. This is now a basic need for most guests.

Overall a good complex with lots of space and great location but maybe closer to a 3* than a 4*.

  • Liked — location and views
  • Disliked — food
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Monken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP_HRP, Director de Relaciones Públicas at H10 Rubicon Palace, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

In the name of the Hotel Management and all our staff we would like to thank you for sharing your opinion through this website and especially for your nice words about our staff, pools and location.

We apologize for the inconvenience due to the massive arrival of hotel guests at the same time, which can cause a short wait to get to your room on our hotel train. I can assure you that Reception staff does its best to make the check in process as fast as possible.

We are aware that our restaurants can get busy at peak times, however we offer two buffet restaurants and our Italian a la carte restaurant to give more options.

Regarding to the Internet connection, the difficulties to get connected have been solved and we offer complete coverage in the main building and by the pool bar.

Once again thank you for your review and we hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in our hotel in the future.

Kind regards,

Anna Muzsik
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

I took my 2 year old for his first holiday and we had a fantastic time. The resort is ideal for prams as lovely walks on flat paths and perfect temp in oct. When we arrived we were upgraded to a lovely room opposite the kids pool (perfect) with a beautiful sea view. The kids entertainment was spot on, with discos on a evening and even a falconry display which my son loved. The kids club staff were fantastic and make the holiday special for us. We good a free upgrade to the Italian restaurant for one evening which was very good. The only things which maybe could be improved was the food in one of the restaurants but generally the other restaurant made up for that one and didn't spoil anything. We had a brilliant time and hope to visit again soon.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HN_Goodwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

We have just returned from a week at the Rubicon Palace and although this is potentially a good hotel, it's Achilles heel is the restaurant. Main complaint is most food presented is only just warm at best and often cold. The food warming areas are not doing the job they were intended for, also combined with the fact that when food dishes are brought out from the kitchen they are only warm so hence there is very little chance of having hot food presented on your plate. Breakfast was another frustration and please if any hotel staff read this review please invest in a couple of new toasters. It's not rocket science, toaster elements are supposed to get hot and bread passes through to make toast. Simples!!! And who decided to turn off the coffee machines at lunch and dinner times.
All that aside if the restaurant got it's act together this would be a great hotel.
Fantastic grounds, pool areas and gardens. Excellent service from reception and piano bar staff. All staff are friendly, helpful and hard working. Good quality drinks premium brands included with all inclusive option. Our room was excellent, spacious, clean and with a nice sea view ( 6th floor of main building).
I would not return to this hotel as there are plenty of other quality hotels about to explore.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP_HRP, Director de Relaciones Públicas at H10 Rubicon Palace, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and for your nice words about our grounds, gardens and pool areas. I will transmit your kind mentions to Reception and Piano Bar staff. Your gratitude is the best proof of our efforts to achieve our guests’ satisfaction.

We apologize for not having been able to meet your expectations about the quality of service and meals served in our restaurants and we take your comments into account in order to improve and adapt our services to our guests’ liking.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you again in our hotel.

Best regards,

Anna Muzsik
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

This resort is set in lovely location about 40 mins walk outside Playa blanca. Pay for privledge service and you get excellent room with sea view (we could see and hear the ocean we were so close), choice of restaurants to eat in and access to privledge self service bar with chill out area. Also express check-in and free safe. Staff friendly and helpful. We tried normal buffet restaurant also ok for breakfast but not great for dinner. I'd say privilege service makes it 4 star otherwise 3 star hotel experience.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mt78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattaya, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Just returned this week , stayed at the rubicon from 6th to 13th November AI with First Choice

Overall pleased with the hotel, pretty much all as per brochure and Tripadvisor reviews (thanks)

Only things that stopped me scoring the hotel higher were that the hotel has 8 pools and all of them are very very cold (about the temperature of a cold bath at home ) even the "heated one"

This is because as Lanzarote has no natural fresh water source the water for the pools is pumped straight from the sea (Atlantic remember not as warm as the Med!) de-salinated and then pumped in the pools, in the "heated" pool you can detect a faint temperature increase in certain areas but not enough to make a difference , we ended up paying 20 euros to go in the spa pools for a couple of hours each day

Our room was fine and quite spacious , overlooking kids pool area right in middle of facilities and not far at all from the main restaurants or reception (8124) , little ants everywhere in hotel but wasnt bitten once

we travelled with our 8 month old daughter so any tips you would like just email me

weather was good pretty much everyday , didnt need a fleece and little one was in a summer dress or shorts most of the time

Food was of a pretty good standard always hot enough and good selection, drinks were good (especially branded drinks on AI) , animation team and all staff were always polite and helpful.

Wouldnt go again to this hotel purely beacause of the pools which is a big part of most peoples holiday (especially when you have kids) , we saw countless people on their first day walking round all the pools and testing the temperature, and then shaking their heads and walking away (most people i saw in pool was a dozen forwater polo)

Didnt see much reason to pay extra for privilage , menu at the volcan restaurant wasnt that exiciting , could really do with more bars (pool bar (the big boat) doesnt open at night so you only have choice of the "beefeater pub" where service is dire, or the piano bar/show bar (plaza canaria area is so underused - deserves a revamp with an open air bar area and seating)

Be wary of where your room is as we ventured into the western end of the hotel (for baby club) and its a ghost town , deathly quite with no real facilities (other than the beefeater which only opens at night)

if you like cocktail please try bar Manea its worth it (watermellon matinis and long island iced teas are great) 5 mins walk turn left out of sea front end of hotel , next to indan and argentinian restaurants

any questions please feel free to ask

Room Tip: email and ask for rooms , if you want quiet (but prepared to walk) ask for western end , we asked fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DartfordDarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RRPP_HRP, Director de Relaciones Públicas at H10 Rubicon Palace, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the time taken to send us your feedback. We appreciate your nice words about the hotel, we are happy to hear you had a nice stay with us, however our swimming pools were not warm enough for your liking.

We would like to inform you that from eight pools we offer to our guests, two are heated, the one where the entertainment activities take place and the kid’s pool. In the heated pools the temperature of the water is between 24 and 26 degrees, however, sometimes, due to the wind, you can experience a lower temperature on surface.

Once again we apologize for the inconvenience and we hope to welcome you again in our hotel.

Best regards,

Anna Muzsik
Public Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

My Husband and I have just returned from a weeks stay in this fab hotel. We were celebrating our birthdays and the staff celebrated with us. We could not fault any part of this hotel or its staff, we were upgraded to privilege services and all that came with it including a beautiful room overlooking the sea. The restaurant staff , bar staff and reception staff were all excellent in every way, nothing too much trouble especially Janco and Nicoletta in the piano bar. We also visited the Romantica Restaurant in Playa Blanca on the night of my wifes' birthday and were not disappointed, it was everything we expected and more. We are returning to the Rubicon in May 2013 and am sure it will be the first return trip of many.
Sue and Gerry Stoke on Trent.

Room Tip: Having had a Privilege room we had no complaints about anything
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Blanca
2.1 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
1.9 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#14 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,151 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#6 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3,766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
4,734 reviews
14.9 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#28 of 91 in Puerto Del Carmen
3,490 reviews
3.4 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H10 Rubicon Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H10 Rubicon Palace

Property: H10 Rubicon Palace
Address: Urbanizacion Montana Roja, s/n, 35570 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Green Hotel in Playa Blanca
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Blanca
#7 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
#11 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
#12 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — H10 Rubicon Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 584
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your H10 Rubicon Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
h10 Rubicon Palace Hotel Playa Blanca
h10 Rubicon Palace Playa Blanca
Rubicon Palace Lanzarote
Rubicon Hotel
Rubicon Lanzarote
H10 Rubicon Palace Lanzarote/Playa Blanca
Hotel h10 Rubicon Palace

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing