We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“christmas in lanzarote 2008”
Review of HL Paradise Island

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
HL Paradise Island
Ranked #27 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Reviewed January 20, 2009

we booked christmas and new year in lanzarote to get away from the cold weather in england

we were very open minded as we had not been away for christmas and new year before
the waether was lovely 6 days of 20 degrees and one day of rain
came back with a lovely tan and very relaxed

nice hotel , generally clean throughout the hotel,the rooms were 90% clean and did need a bottle of bleach around the bathroom taps, floor, bath etc

the entrance to the hotel was a good one , the desk staff were very helpful and spoke very good english

the hotel was very far away from all bars and attractions it was a £8 return taxi ride to the marina in playa blanca.


the food was fantastic on christmas day,and new years eve fresh king prawns, veal, beef, serloin steak, fish, turkey (no raost pototoes th0) salad, lots of plenty of lovely cooked food

the rest of the stay was very basic food and rather tasteless, there was not much choice for children, it was chips and pasta and a pasta sauce which was not very nice looking

the hotel pools were very clean i would say spotless but the pool was ABSOL FREEZING, it took yr breathe away dipping yr toe in!!

the daytime entertainment was very very poor, the children played football most of the day . alone, the mini golf area was very poor and had not be cleaned of sand in forver i think,all families tried to have a game of mini golf and gave up from bordeom

the nite time etertainment room was very well used and need an overall good clean

the nite time etertainment was fair, the reps did try very hard but it was very waring after 3 nites
the snake man was very entertaining i highly recommened a viewing

the bar service was poor again, only 2 drinks per person was allowed and only one bar person was serving at all times, the queue was around 12 people all throughout the holidays

the bar staff spoke very poor english and you barley understood wat drink you were oprdering

generall the holiday was 7/10 but it could have been better if smaLL improvenments were made by the hotel

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank KATWALKHAIR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,217)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,373 - 2,379 of 3,217 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2009

We stayed at the Hotel Paradise Island from 30th November to the 8th December 2008. We ave a 6 month old son and just wanted to go somewhere we knew. We have been to Playa Blanca before and enjoyed it so we decided to go back. We had previously stayed in the Rubicon Palace but couldn't get accomodation. We saw the reviews for theHotel Paradise were mixed but as it was a 3* we weren't expecting much. We arrived at around 4pm and the staff were very eficient in booking you in, filling out the paperwork and then showing you where your room was based. The layout of the hotel was easy with a pushchair lots of ramps etc. We were based near to the small pool which was a very quiet area. I think at busy times though it might be loud! The rooms were spacious and clean and they had set a travel cot up for us with clean bedding. You have to pay for the safe's and the tv but you can pay for certain channels. I also didn't have to pay as much as other people have reported on here.

The pools were cold and there was only one that was slightly warm but there were kids jumping in and out and playing games with the animacion team who worked really hard to entertain all ages from kids to adults. Lots of sports to do with them i.e archery and water volleyball which always got a good turnout.
The pool bar is help yourself to ice cream, snacks and beer. The beer is San Miguel and a Local beer. There are also water coolers and fizzy drinks for the kids. The hotel don't like you filling your own bottles up for hygiene reasons but if you ask at the bar they will give you a bottle of water.

THE FOOD
Food at the hotel was limited. For breakfast there were cereals but the milk is not very nice. Lots of hot breakfast , sausages, tomatoes, eggs etc. Toast takes about 4 minutes to even get remotely brown which was very frustrating!!! There were chips for breakfast but when we spoke to an English couple they said they were glad of this as there kids ate breakfast with chips and egg.?
Not for me!
Tere was a microwave to warm my baby's food up and also a large urn where i could fill hois flask up with hot water for the day for his bottles which helped out.
Dinner time there were lots of salads, meat (pork) and pasta. Also fish and soups. This was more or less repeated at teatime. Desserts were icecream, jellys and fruit. There were ample amounts and you can try as many dishes as you want. There is a chinese in the hotel which only does about 2 main meals with rice and noodles but it was nice and made a change.

The walk into Playa blanca was about 30 mins. It's a nice walk too but if you want a taxi there is a rank just outside the hotel and down the bank which costs around 3 euros. You can also order one from reception. There is a bus laid on for guests which takes you to the beach and picks you up. Think this is 3 times a day. Get there early though as it was always full.

Playa Blanca is full of lovely restaurants and bars along the sea front. A few english pubs that show things like X Factor, Eastenders etc but these were full when we went by. Also they are busy at night. If you follow the coastal path go right up to the marina. This has just been finished and there is a lovely retaurant called the Brisa Marina Grill. We had a lovely meal here and it wasn't that expensive. You ovelook the marina where the boats are and its just so relaxing and lovely. We then had a walk around. There are lots of designer shops here and if you have the money you can get some great bargains. The market is also based here on Wednesday and Saturday ( Ithink) and it was a really good market. Lookout for the human statues they are amazing!

We also went on a boat trip to Fuertaventura. I would advise against this if you have kids. We were told you have 1 hour at the beach of correljo and 3 hours in the town. We thought this was good idea with a baby but when we were half way there they told us it was 3 hours on the beach!!! 3 hours on the beach with a baby..... Not good and other parents were complaining too.


Our stay was relaxed and good. I only ever saw 1 cockroach and it was dead ( i have stopped in 5* accomodation and seen more). you can't stop them and tey are everywhere abroad. There is a large amount of cats in Lanzarote and yes they are a problem as they do just wander in and out of hotels and restaurants but they don't know any differant. If you like all inclusive and eating out a couple of times a week then i would say stop here. If you like all inclusive and stay in the hotel for eevery meal time then look elsewhere as you will soon get bored oof the food.

All in all not a bad week away and we would go back.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hardwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2009

stayed here from the 1st of jan for 1 week with my hubby and 2 wee boys, if you like fish you will be okay there wasnt much choice for me and the kids struggled a bit, the rooms were kept clean but i felt there was a lot of damp feeling to our clothes, and the rooms are a bit smelly,

I hate people who complain but now it is my turn, you were always queing 1 hour to check in and there is only one person at all the bars, which became very busy,
cant really complain for what i paid i think we drank our quota.
the entertainment staff were very good and they got to know all the kids by name they tried very hard to get us all involved.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank angelaScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2009

4 Adults, 27,28,33,34 year olds, we wanted sun, good food for our Christmas Break, we arrived Christmas day at 4pm no food was arranged for us so we took a short walk to the small marina. Our Christmas dinner was lovely, the tables were decorated and Xmas music was playing. The staff worked very hard, filling glasses with wine and water. The food servered that evening was great. We had great weather which also makes a holiday, the rooms were a bit dated but the hotel was 3*, we normally go 4* so we were not expecting the same standart. The food for me sometimes was limited in choice but I am fussy, the other 3 always managed to eat. The entertainment was ok, some nights better than others. New Years Eve was a great night again the food was lovely the hotel opened the large room upstairs gave us party bags and fireworks again another great night.

If you are used to 4or5* hotels then do not go as you will be disappointed, I really enjoyed my week although I do not think I could have spent two weeks in the hotel only because of the food for me. The snacks were the worst you got chesse and ham sandwiches 3 times in a day and nothing else. (in your room you get a sandwich maker so we would make toastes)

Remember to take a hair dryer, and yes you do need to pay for sky & air conditioning which I think is unreasonable but again I believe because of the hotel being 3* you do get less.

If you want a clean hotel a bit dated and you are not too fussy with food then go to this hotel, they also work hard with kids and have a big swing park at the bottom.

  • Stayed: December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank AngScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2009

Like others, I was slightly concerned by comments made by previous reviewers. I was travelling in a party of 17 people for a 7 day Winter Break over the New Year Festivities. Whilst I agree with many of the previous comments none of them spoiled the holiday to the point that we were desperate to leave. The holiday for us was a trade off between accommodation versus the chance of some affordable winter sun.

Now for the facts......The hotel lobby & bar/rooms/pools/grounds were clean and tidy and the sun beds were in good condition. We had 8 rooms in total, each with two single beds in the bedroom and the scope for sleeping a third person in the lounge on the sofa. Each room had a fridge and a two ring hob, ideal for boiling water for coffee / tea when away from the bar/restaurant. There was a small safe in each room....12 euros for the week with a 10 euro refundable deposit. The English TV channels were subscription only....I believe about 16 euros for the week...we did not bother though. The maid service was 5 in every 7 days....it was patchy to say the least but acceptable....we did not leave a tip though.

Now to the 2 restaurants, yes at peak times seating was limited but we found that sitting in the Chinese Restaurant was generally a better option and cooler. The hotel has 2 restaurants, both buffet style with self service wine/beer/soft drinks. They were opposite each other so people tended to sit wherever and flip between the 2 for food. The food was varied and to an acceptable standard in my eyes but like with most 'all inclusive' holidays you tend to get fed up with food in the end wherever you are.

Now to the bars....all inclusive drink choice was ok. There was a pool bar open during the day and a lobby bar and another near the entertainment room open during the evening. We tended to use the lobby bar as the entertainment was not that good and had limited seating, as did the lobby area. The bar staff seemed to work on a go slow in the evening with a continual queue at the lobby bar and there was a generally enforced '2 drinks per person' rule. All inclusive finished at 11pm so if we felt inclined we double stacked the drinks beforehand.

The hotel has a courtesy coach to the beach/shops each day but they are only about a 15 minute walk away in any case. On New Years Eve there was a gala dinner which consisted of posh table cloths, served wine at the table and buffet style food, all be it different choices to the usual ones on offer. The entertainment was a 3 man rock band in the upper bar above reception (only night this bar was open during our stay) but this started a little too late in my eyes for New Years Eve....11.15pm.

So overall an enjoyable holiday not a horror story, it only rained on one day with sunshine for the majority of the time.

  • Stayed: December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Traveller01963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2009

We booked this hotel as a last minute 1-week holiday in November to get some winter sun, at £400 each from Bath Travel. Although cold at night, it was shorts and tee shirt weather during the day so we were lucky.

This is the first time we have booked all-inclusive and we not expecting much for the money, but we were very pleasantly surprised. The studio rooms were OK and serviced for 5 out of the 7 days, just could not find out what days that would be? Only kitchen equipment in the apartments was some cutlery and a saucepan, note no hairdryer.

The food was good and plentiful; we especially liked the fresh sardines and tuna steaks. It may sound odd but at every dinner there was vegetable soup and each day was different and delicious, accompanied with lovely fresh bread. If you MUST have chips, these were available with most meals, interestingly they had a dedicated children’s buffet.

Drinks seem to be of a low alcohol content, otherwise what we drank we both would have been comatose; we could not drink the wine at all, but if you ask for the sparklng Cava that was palatable.

An organised island tour for one day cost more than 4 days car hire, so we opted for the hire car and had a great time sightseeing, highly recommended; it is a very interesting island with lava fields and deserted beaches. We covered the entire island in those 4 days. Note; don’t fall for the trick of paying 40euros for a full tank of fuel and be asked to return the car empty; instead decline and bring the car back with a full tank. Despite 4 hard days of driving, up and down steep hillsides we only used ¾ tank and that cost 21euros to top up; petrol is much cheaper than the UK or even mainland Spain.

Next to the hotel is an extinct volcano and it is surprising easy to walk up and worth the climb, just don’t try it in sandals. The new 6km sea front promenade is worth exploring from the castle at one end to the lighthouse at the other.

Overall we were pleased with the hotel, the staff were very helpful, the pool areas always clean, the minor complaints would be the rooms, which need upgrading and the hotel’s location, a 30 minute walk into town. Also note that you have to pay for all extras like Sky TV, safe and air-con.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cheap_traveller77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2008

We returned on Christmas Day, after reading the reviews we had second thoughts about going. When we got their the reception was very friendly, our room was very clean.
The buffet had a good selection every day, My son is a very picky eater and even he found something to eat each day. I have stayed at 5 star all inclusive and this was a very good standard.
The pool very clean and staff very friendly.
Would definately recommend anyone with children to go, Returning next year,

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JULES2766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa Blanca hotels
1.1 mi away
THB Tropical Island
THB Tropical Island
#25 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,898 reviews
1.1 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#15 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,434 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lanzasur Club
Lanzasur Club
#23 of 37 in Playa Blanca
1,717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun
1.4 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
1.9 mi away
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
#28 of 37 in Playa Blanca
1,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HL Paradise Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HL Paradise Island

Address: P- 28 Calle Montana Casa, 35570 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range: $134 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — HL Paradise Island 3*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in a slightly elevated location at the edge of the village Playa Blanca, approx. 1500 mtrs from the beach and approx. 2000 mtrs from the village centre with it’s bars, restaurants and shops. A free bus shuttle service to the Playa Dorada beach is arranged several times a day. The hotel consists of 290 modern apartments (renovated 2015/16) which are allocated in two story apartments. The main building offers a lobby with reception, bar and TV corner. It also offers three restaurants - an international, an Asian and an Italian one. The facilities includes as well a mini market, a pool bar, a gym and a disco. In the well kept gardens you will find 4 swimming pools (one of them heated 01/11-30/04) and a sun terrace with sun beds and umbrellas (free of charge). Pool towels will be provided against a small deposit. The water park “Dino Park”, which is opened daily, is attached to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your HL Paradise Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Paradise Island Hotel Playa Blanca
Paradise Island Lanzarote
Aparthotel Paradise Island Playa Blanca
Paradise Island Playa Blanca
HL Paradise Island Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing