We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will deffinantly be returning”
Review of HL Paradise Island

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
HL Paradise Island
Ranked #30 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Stayed in the paridise island from the 19th sep for a week with my mum and 12 yr old daughter...
The hotel entertainment team were fab, the food not bad tasted worse, every1 very friendly...
On the whole we enjoyed ourselves and will deffinantly be returning next year...only thing is i would rate it more a 3* than a 4*...but dont let that put you off cos its still a great hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mathias65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelesLopez, Headoffice Hoteles Lopez at HL Paradise Island, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear guest,

thank you very much for your comment.
We are very happy that you spent a lovely holiday in our Hotel and will be hopefully back with us next year.
Wishing you all the best, we remain with

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,226)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,548 - 1,554 of 3,226 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2013

My partner and I stayed here from 19th September for two weeks.

We were met with drinks upon arrival at check in. The check in was fast and efficient. The reception staff spoke very good English and were always very happy to help.

We had a top level apartment as I had requested, this was of a good size with a small balcony with airer on one side and a huge terrace the other side. The room was cleaned 5 days a week and towels changed when requested. This was done to a fair standard. Did not experience many problems. The air conditioning started leaking, this was rectified quickly and we also requested a couple of extra pillows which again arrived the same morning. While we were there the electric water heater was changed, so they are clearly undertaking quite a bit of maintenance still, which is a good sign.

The pool was clean and of a fair size. The temperature also wasn't too bad. Certainly been in a lot colder. The pool area itself could be a little messy at times. There were plenty of bins, but people in a lot of instances chose not to use them. You would get some flies about because others chose to just leave plates and plastic cups laying about with half empty drinks or food that that they had not wanted and abandoned. There are a quite a few broken sunbeds where the backs do not stay up, this needs rectifying. It could also be a bit of a battle to get sunbeds as people put their towels on them at stupid o'clock, but then did not use them for hours. The sunbeds down at the water park were a lot better and always plenty available.

The same went for the bar and entertainment areas, people would spill drinks on the floor and not clear up, even though there were children running about, sometimes with bare feet. They would leave lots of unwanted drinks half empty on the tables and clear off.. At the pool bar and in the restaurant food would be dropped and not picked up. I am sure they would not do this at home, so why when on holiday? They might be on an all inclusive plan with staff waiting on them, but there is no need to be a slob. Yes the staff could be pushed to keep up at times at the bar and restaurant, but a little consideration would not have gone amiss as they certainly had their work cut out. The restaurant staff worked very hard and were still beavering away in the restaurant late at night.

Now the food! Having read some peoples comments previously I am wondering what some people eat at home. The food was at the temperature it should have been. At breakfast there was cereal, fruit juices, bread, cheese, ham, all the necessary stuff for a full English breakfast, croissants and so on.

Lunch time there were pizza, burgers, chips etc at the pool bar, plus later in the afternoon a toaster was brought out and you could do toasted sanwiches. There were also ice creams mid afternoon at the pool bar. Ice cream was also available in the restaurant at meal times.

The main restaurant for lunch and evening has pretty much everything imaginable. If you could not find something there to eat there is something seriously wrong. There was bread, salads, paella, pasta, rice, meat, fish and vegetables. There was a Mexican evening one night and the Chinese.

The Canarian potatoes were really lovely, We had all types of meat, including duck and veal. Some of these were cooked on the griddle right in front of you. The desserts were to die for. The coconut macaroons were gorgeous. Every day there was a lovely sponge cake with layers of cream, lemon curd or other other sauces, with more cream around the outside and then fruit on top, something different every day. There is no way you would go hungry at this hotel.

A few things did get recycled into something else, and some worked better than others. What people don't think about is that the restaurant manager is judged on how much wasteage there is. I am sure that these places want to minimise that. It does not help that some people take a lot more than what they actually want and then leave half of it. Some nights there was so much things to choose from, that some people felt they had to have a bit of it all.

The water park was fab, with some really fast chutes and slides. There is also a bungee trampoline, football pitch, go karts and kiddy area with water slides.

The entertainment was ok, but could be a bit repetitive. There was a kids session every night, then bingo. A couple of the shows we saw twice as we were there for two weeks. However the Thomas Cook reps vary theirs shows on a two week basis. Some were better than others, but you cannot fault their enthusiasm and effort. Don't know where Ben gets his energy from, but he made me feel knackered just watching him. Thomas cook could do with providing them some better props and facilities as they were working with quite limited resources.

The daytime activities were good, my partner joined in with the afternoon session of water polo. There was water aerobics, the club dance, quizes, table tennis and beer pong. You could be as lazy or active as you wanted.

We took a few trips out to Timanfaya national park. The amount of lava is awesome. We also went to Puerto Calero for the yellow submarine trip. There are couple of old shipwrecks down there and lots of marine life, so definitely worth a go. We also got a local bus to Puerto Del Carman which has a beautiful beach and a ton of shops for you ladies. We went on a day trip over to Fuerteventura and wandered around Corralejo for a few hours.

Playa Blanca itself is lovely and clean, the main shopping street is pedestrianised, there is another main road with shops and the Rubicon Marina is at the other end. It is quite a distance from one end of the resort to the other. There is a lovely promanade all the way along though with more shops and restaurants along the prom at the town end. There is a market twice a week at the marina, with some good stuff.

The hotel location is quite a substantial distance from the resort centre but we walked it a couple of times. Would not normally blanch at the distance, but it was the heat that made it hard work. The courtesy bus is back and forward all day though until early evening. Then a taxi is only a few euros after that.

All in all this was a very good holiday for the money and I would definitely recommend it to anyone with or without children and those who like to eat a lot!

Room Tip: ask for an upstairs room as they have better outside space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank L0rraineandTrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Where do i start what a great holiday met some wonderful people the hl reps was brilliant Thomas cook reps was very entertaining and fun to watch especially Ben been home two days and I'm still doing the cho cho wa swimming pool was good for all ages pool side entertaiment was good rather liked that beer pong you had a large varity of foods hot and cold the only bad point about the holiday is that they didn't have a crèche to stick the wife inn lol the location of the hotel was good very nice walk in to town with the family baby of 9months lad of 8 and a girl of 13 the taxi fares are very cheap and the free coach was also a good thing very reliable I miss the place already thanks for the memories great times

Room Tip: 407 was good wasn't to far from the action
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Karlspencer1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelesLopez, Headoffice Hoteles Lopez at HL Paradise Island, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear guest,

thank you very much for your comment.
We are very happy that you had a great time in our Hotel and would be very happy welcoming you soon again.

Wishing you and your family all the best, we remain with

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

me my boyfriend and my 3 year old daughter stayed at the paradise from 19th September for 14 nights .... We had an amazing time the food was not that bad it was not excellent but u were fed all day and there was plenty of choice ... But we did eat out a few times which was nice and only a 5 min taxi ride if that to playa blanca or u could get on the free bus which picked u up from outside the hotel ... The dino park is excellent if u have a little 1 mine would be in there all day and made lots of little friends it's also good for the older ones 2.... The mini disco was good the whole entertainment team r excellent Stevie, lorna,Lizzy and Ben even in the days they are around with games by the pool side for adults and kids defo play the beer pong hahaha ....anyways don't listen to the bad reviews its how you make it that will decide your holiday we had a super time and would defiantly go back there

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Susie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Arrived late in the evening and was told there was a late arrival buffet put on which was a pleasant surprise, the food in general is ok not amazing, there are some odd selections but we never went hungry, there is more an issue at busier times like breakfast when 20 people are queuing to use 1 toaster !

We asked for a sea view room which we got and that was a god send as the entertainment noise went on until 1am, luckily we were far enough away for it not to be a problem.

The hotel and restaurant staff were always polite and friendly although sometimes over run meaning tables couldn't be cleared fast enough.

The hotel grounds are fairly clean and tidy certainly not the worst I've seen, there seems to be an ongoing sewer problem which leads to smells in some areas of the grounds, luckily not near our room, a couple we chatted to had sewage come up into their room which sounds awful.

The evening entertainment was ok nothing amazing although the entertainment staff certainly earn their money, it doesn't last all too long as they are more concerned with getting the adult games going. Sadly there are a few that spoil it for the rest by not keeping tabs on their kids while they plough through the free drink available.

The pools are ok, quite cold and the water could do with changing a little more often as it was quite murky and full of chlorine but quite refreshing when the temp hit 35 degrees.

The dino park was good fun for the kids although the slides for the older kids and adults are quite brutal !

You can pay 10 euro's each for tv and air con remotes but they are not worth it, the air con is useless and the tv only gets one british channel, the beds are quite uncomfortable which along with the lack of air con led to some sleepless nights.

My main issue is that as a first time all inclusive customer I wasn't made aware of what I was and wasn't allowed, only by talking to fellow guests you learn what is the norm.

I would stay there again but maybe not all inclusive, luckily we know the area quite well and with a hire car can eat out for cheaper and the food would be better quality. The on site shop is ok but quite highly overpriced compared to the supermarket 5 minutes away.

Certainly not the worst hotel but not quite 4 star as they claim.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are better and away from the entertainment noise in the evening, ideal for younger fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelesLopez, Headoffice Hoteles Lopez at HL Paradise Island, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Dear guest,

thank you very much for your comment.
We are very happy that you generally had a good time in our hotel and are thankful for your review and suggestions which will be passed on to the different heads of department as well as to the management in order to improve.
Wishing you all the best and hopefully welcoming you again, we remain with

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Stayed here at new year. Nothing in comparison to other holidays we have had abroad at that time of year. Count down and music at bells good they gave out party hats and streamers and you count down with old tradition of eating grapes, be careful they have seeds so don't let children try, ours nearly choked!! We saw some fireworks then everything just seemed to filter off quite quickly. Rooms were basic but spacious. Food was not that great and the wine was awful!! The entertainment was loud with quite a few regulars, I think, who kind of took over. The aqua park was good and kids enjoyed the flumes even although the water was freezing. This hotel is a bit out of the way if you have little kids - a bit far to walk into town but taxi is only a few euros. For what we paid I was a bit disappointed.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed in 213 room had nothing to complain about the hotel staff were brill food was fab got board but plenty if choice kids entertainment was excellent water park too entertainment excellent at night went out for a few meals absolutely gorgeous swam with the seals walked up the volcano cdnt wish for a Better holiday very family friendly older kids were a little loud sometimes but security sorted it and plenty for adults too beer pong killer darts water polo daily very funny xx

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joppo2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa Blanca hotels
0.5 mi away
HL Club Playa Banca
HL Club Playa Banca
#31 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,126 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel HL Rio Playa Blanca
Hotel HL Rio Playa Blanca
#22 of 37 in Playa Blanca
1,753 reviews
1.1 mi away
THB Tropical Island
THB Tropical Island
#25 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#14 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,465 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lanzasur Club
Lanzasur Club
#23 of 37 in Playa Blanca
1,723 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HL Paradise Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HL Paradise Island

Address: P- 28 Calle Montana Casa, 35570 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range: $135 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — HL Paradise Island 3*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in a slightly elevated location at the edge of the village Playa Blanca, approx. 1500 mtrs from the beach and approx. 2000 mtrs from the village centre with it’s bars, restaurants and shops. A free bus shuttle service to the Playa Dorada beach is arranged several times a day. The hotel consists of 290 modern apartments (renovated 2015/16) which are allocated in two story apartments. The main building offers a lobby with reception, bar and TV corner. It also offers three restaurants - an international, an Asian and an Italian one. The facilities includes as well a mini market, a pool bar, a gym and a disco. In the well kept gardens you will find 4 swimming pools (one of them heated 01/11-30/04) and a sun terrace with sun beds and umbrellas (free of charge). Pool towels will be provided against a small deposit. The water park “Dino Park”, which is opened daily, is attached to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your HL Paradise Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Paradise Island Hotel Playa Blanca
Paradise Island Lanzarote
Aparthotel Paradise Island Playa Blanca
Paradise Island Playa Blanca
HL Paradise Island Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing