We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place fantastic ppl”
Review of HL Paradise Island

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
HL Paradise Island
Ranked #30 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic place fantastic ppl”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed in 213 room had nothing to complain about the hotel staff were brill food was fab got board but plenty if choice kids entertainment was excellent water park too entertainment excellent at night went out for a few meals absolutely gorgeous swam with the seals walked up the volcano cdnt wish for a Better holiday very family friendly older kids were a little loud sometimes but security sorted it and plenty for adults too beer pong killer darts water polo daily very funny xx

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joppo2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,054 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    732
    1,025
    652
    312
    333
See reviews for
2,031
543
13
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (559)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

I holidayed at at paradise island on 5th sept to 11th sept with my o/h, mother in law and my 2 children 1 year and 7 years.
I thought the hotel was great first off all I will mention some bad points because there are and it wouldn't be normal for it to be all good ! The pools really were too cold my daughter screamed whenever I took her near water which kind of spoiled her first time away :-(,sun loungers a bit grubby, that's really bout it.
Now for the rest we arrived late at night we were told there was a buffet. Our room 545 and it was great location between water park and hotel. Food was amazing I really don't understand what people are complaining about what do yous want honestly couldn't fault food my o/h is the fussiest person and he enjoyed it the kids section was great.
NOW CUP SITUATION - I thinks it terrible that people are complaining about this it shocking I do not want my children around people drinking with glasses too many accidents happen and I wouldn't see you taking them too the bar so get over it. Entertainment teams are amazing they work there little butts off always something on for kids never a dull moment my boy had loads off fun loved playing football. Water park was great my boy just couldn't get enough great fun for all ages just water too cold for my wee one. Taxi to beach about 4 euro we walked a couple off times but is wee bit away we didn't feel need to venture out as there was so much going on at hotel.
PLEASE don't be put off by bad reviews it really is good place just people ranting as they have nothing better too do my whole family enjoyed,
Paradise island if there one thing you could get sorted get the pools done it needs be a bit warmer :-D.

Room Tip: Have fun!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lanny0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelesLopez, Headoffice Hoteles Lopez at HL Paradise Island, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your comment.
The entire Paradise Island team is very happy to hear that you spent a nice holiday.
The suggestions you made will be passed on to the different head of department and the management in order to improve the service for our clients.

Wishing you & your family all the best, we remain with

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed October 1, 2013

After worrying for months an nearly changing our holiday after reading reviews on here we where very pleasantly surprised. Food was lovely could always find something yes repetitive but was always something all staff are lovely and can't do enough to help entertainment fantastic for kids and the team worked so hard Ben was hilarious! Water park fantastic and lots of fun. The only issue we had was the smell outside the room as the sewage but seem to effect some of the 200 and 300 rooms but once u closed doors it was gone so didn't effect us realy. I would defiantly recommend paradise island and think everyone who goes will b pleasantly surprised

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank XX1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2013

stayed at this dump from 5th-19th sept it says its under gone a refurb my lord please tell me where, i stayed in room 118 from the time we arrived until we left there was a constant sewerage smell in our room had maintenance men out several times but still they couldnt seem to address the smell was offered a room change on our last day!!! now the dining room or should i say cattle market food terrible, never did we get a table that was clean we ended up clearing away other ppls dirty dishes because there was never enough staff on an the 1s that were were so rude if we pointed out our table needed cleaning, no plates on many occasions. entertainment abissmal adults given plastic cups to drink out of yobs running riot mind you i blame the parents who didnt seem too give 2 hoots as long as they werent annoying them i was ill for over 3 days with sickness bug rep was told but didnt seem to interested was later told by a few members of staff that numerous ppl had it too my advice to hard working ppl looking for a family holiday KEEP AWAY FROM THIS DUMP there are much much nicer hotels in lanzaeote.

Room Tip: avoid room 118
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vikki t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Playa Blanca hotels

Aberystwyth, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Not sure why there are so many bad reviews for this place. Stayed at the hotel from 12th September. There are a lot of children and children's activities held on the Main stage but there are also other bars to drink in. Staff were always helpful, called you taxis right outside the hotel whenever you needed, were always there for anything else. Lost the key to one of the suitcases and the receptionist called the maintenance guy who got to our apartment before we even got back. Room was lovely, always clean and so spacious. Food was very nice and lots of choice, there is a Chinese food night on 3 or so of the nights as well as the main restaurant. Alcohol tasted abit rubbish but what can you expect when its all inc :) our apartment was about 10 steps from the waterpark which was great fun, there was all inclusive there too. And free shuttle bus to the beach came in handy. Basically lovely place, would definitely recommend to people with children and couples coming for a nice, not too hectic, holiday.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolverhampton
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 29, 2013

just got back 26 sep weather fantastic hotel and apartments nice plenty of room clean food ok but oh dear if you are looking for entertainment and you are over 10 years this is not the place for you although the team worked really hard every thing is gearded up for the kids nothing for adults unless you like bingo did go to rep and say why they couldn't have music dance quizzes in room down stairs as this was not been used for any thing and they had both English & spainish teams so surely two could have done this but rep just shook her shoulders although we did enjoy the week we spent there we wouldn't return for that reason xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Room Tip: we were in rooms 661 &663 ok near to water park
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gap777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Just returned from a 2 week stay (12 - 26 Sept). Myself, husband, my parents and my two children aged 13 and 9 travelled. Was a bit nervous after reading reviews but they are not deserved. Hotel is spotlessly clean. All the staff are helpful and polite and the entertainment team do a really good job getting everyone involved in the activities but if you dont want to join in then they dont bother you.The food and drink is typical of an all inclusive holiday and there is something for everyone although I do think they could add some british bacon and sausages to the breakfast menu. Hotel was completely full when we went but we managed to get a sunbed everyday. Pool area was fab although you do get the odd family that leave their kids roam around the pool on their own and you find yourself watching them to make sure they dont fall in while their parents are supping their cocktails completely oblivious to the danger. We always go all inclusive and have to say we couldnt believe how laid back they about the food in that you could take food from the chinese into one of the other restaurants or just fill your plate and eat it by the pool whereas normally you are not allowed to take food from the restaurant in other hotels. There is a beer pump on the outside of the pool bar so you could just go and help yourself and yes the drinks are served in plastic cups but you wouldnt want glass around the pool area anyway but if you are totally against the plastic cup then they have no objection to you taking a pint glass to the bar and they will use that for you. Maids came in almost everyday of our holiday. Bar and restaurant staff were always busy but they still had a smile on their face for you. The hotel is a fair walk into town but you can get a taxi for 3 euros but in all honesty you dont need to leave hotel cos everything is there. If you do venture out then go to a bar called Popeyes as they show the footy and they only charge 2 euros for a pint or 1 euro during happy hour. All in all I cant fault this hotel or its staff. If I had to say anything bad about the place then it would be about some of the british guests who seem to go all out to drink as much alcohol as they possibly can and then become a pain in the backside by tea-time when they cant stand up. The entertainment teams (both Thomas Cook and Hotel team) worked really hard and always put on a show in the evening but I did miss the outside shows that normally come to hotels like the parrot show etc. I would definately return here and the kids loved all the activities like killer darts and football but be careful adults as they play a game called Beer pong everyday and if you lose you have to down beers and vodkas. Waterpark is absolutely fantastic for adults and kids. If you go on any of the trips then try the wild west night as it is fantastic. They also do another night called MHT (its a drag night) and while the show is ok they cram as many people as possible on the tables and it is really uncomfortable. One more thing is dont take travellers cheques as there is nowhere to cash them in. I even went into proper banks in Playa Blanca and they wouldnt take them either so take cash or your bank card cos as long as you got a room safe then you will be fine. When you get to hotel you have to pay a 10 euro deposit for the tv remote and 10 euros for the air con remote. The safe is 16 euros per week and also a 10 euro deposit but you get all the deposits back at the end of the holiday. The have a launderette in the hotel which is 5 euros per load which includes the detergent. The lady in the shop next to the hotel is an absolute miserable cow and she has a fit if you ask her for change. The hotel wifi is not the best but you can use the internet in reception for 1 euro (10 minutes).

Room Tip: Our room was in the 500 block which is right by the entertainment and pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank malcolm h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Blanca
1.1 mi away
THB Tropical Island
THB Tropical Island
#23 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,677 reviews
1.1 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#12 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,207 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lanzasur Club
Lanzasur Club
#22 of 37 in Playa Blanca
1,654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
#28 of 37 in Playa Blanca
1,279 reviews
2.6 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
22.3 mi away
Aparthotel Lanzarote Paradise
Aparthotel Lanzarote Paradise
#26 of 38 in Costa Teguise
879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HL Paradise Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HL Paradise Island

Property: HL Paradise Island
Address: Urbanizacion Montana Roja, P-28, 35570 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — HL Paradise Island 3*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in a slightly elevated location at the edge of the village Playa Blanca, approx. 1500 mtrs from the beach and approx. 2000 mtrs from the village centre with it’s bars, restaurants and shops. A free bus shuttle service to the Playa Dorada beach is arranged several times a day. The hotel consists of 290 modern apartments (renovated 2015/16) which are allocated in two story apartments. The main building offers a lobby with reception, bar and TV corner. It also offers three restaurants - an international, an Asian and an Italian one. The facilities includes as well a mini market, a pool bar, a gym and a disco. In the well kept gardens you will find 4 swimming pools (one of them heated 01/11-30/04) and a sun terrace with sun beds and umbrellas (free of charge). Pool towels will be provided against a small deposit. The water park “Dino Park”, which is opened daily, is attached to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your HL Paradise Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Paradise Island Hotel Playa Blanca
Paradise Island Lanzarote
Aparthotel Paradise Island Playa Blanca
Paradise Island Playa Blanca
HL Paradise Island Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing