We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor for a 4 star rated hotel.”
Review of HL Paradise Island

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
HL Paradise Island
Ranked #28 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We've just returned from a week at Paradise Island and found it somewhat lacking for a 4 star rated hotel. Some food items at breakfast had regularly run out by 9 o'clock and were not replenished , " finished " I was told when I asked . At busy times there were long queues at the food bar , 25 minutes one night , and we regularly had to set our own table. We weren't over impressed with the quality of the food , but there was plenty of choice , especially salads and cold dishes. Unlike some previous guests we did see cockroaches in the Restaurant. Drinks in the Lobby bar were regularly served in plastic glasses , as there weren't enough staff to go around and collect glasses , and when they did go glass collecting it usually led to long queues to be served with drinks. There are no drinks on self service at the pool bar , so again there were long queues to be served. Although advertised as being available for hire there were no matresses on the sunbeds...........not very comfortable at all ! Our apartment was on the upper level which was good as it had a secluded sun terrace. The AC was good ( deposit for the remote control ) and the apartment was kept clean by the maids , service was 5 days a week.Our grandchildren enjoyed the water park and pools and spent most days in there.Overall we were dissapointed with the quality of th ehoteland thought it was overrated.

Room Tip: The rooms on the upper levels , even numbers ( access from a short stairway outside the apartment...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank norcol67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,174)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,631 - 1,637 of 3,175 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stayed at Paradise island over the 7 - 21 March, it was our honeymoon and our 4 year old son came too. I read alot of the reviews on this website before travelling and was nervous. There was no need to be at all, the food is amazing, plenty of choice and we found it was always hot and cooked! Of course there were some foods i personally don't like but im not going to base my review around that, possibly others have. There is a brill selection of all different types of food, i love salad and there was plenty of that to choose from, as well as various cooked meals, pasta, fish, paella, 'fast food', etc.
There are cats that live in the grounds of the hotel, didn't bother us at all and i'm not a cat lover.
We didn't see one cockroach or any other bug.
There is a bad sewage smell by the waterpark and when the plants are getting watered, its not pleasant at all but breath in, hold your nose and you'll pass through it.
The apartment we were in was overlooking the sea, it was lovely, clean, modern, great. Hardly ever in the room, the housekeeping staff did a great job.
Jaime and Josep who work at the pool bar were great, Jaime always had a laugh with us and made up some interesting cocktails. The other bar staff were also friendly.
The HL Animation team were fantastic, George & Eljo were so funny, got people involved in the activities, such as darts, archery and shooting. They joined in the banter and even got pushed in the pool, so much fun, great memories.
The Thomas Cook entertainers were also great, fab with the kids.
The whole hotel is spotless.
We had an amazing honeymoon and would go back.

Our one complaint would be that Thomas Cook were filming an advert while we were here, 2 days of our holiday were spent with the film crew dictating our day, this isnt the hotels fault at all. We found it annoying.

Also, as soon as we arrived home we discovered that unfortunately we had left a camera memory card in the safe in our room, i contacted the hotel immediately and it was found!! So relieved, but i have now been home 2 weeks and havent had much luck getting the card returned. At first i was told it was for the Thomas Cook reps to sort out, i had to keep ringing, to then find out the rep wont post it and the hotel now hopefully will, the reason i am writing about this on here is im hoping that someone from the hotel will read this and help me, i have rung the hotel about 8 times, sent emails with no replies, rang various Thomas Cook departments, been in to the store we booked the holiday and no one seems to be able to help. The reception staff told me a week ago they would 'try' and post it to me, when i emailed back and expressed how grateful i was, i asked if they could let me know when it had been posted and i have heard nothing back. So, if there is a manager reading this, is it possible you could look it to it for me, im sure you can understand the importance of all those family pictures im missing.- Thank you.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Rorometro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelesLopez, Headoffice Hoteles Lopez at HL Paradise Island, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Dear Paradise Island guest,

thank you very much for taking your time and letting us know your opinion.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your holiday. Regarding your memory stick I inform you that it has been sent on behalf of the hotel to you. It may arrive during the next days.
If you want to contact our head office, I invite you to do this under: reservation@hoteleslopez.com.

Wishing you and your family all the best, we remain with

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Upon arrival the staff were helpful and friendly. We had a couple of problems with the apartment but were sorted straightaway. We booked this apartment as it said refurbished - I THINK NOT, it was well in need of it I would say, unless we were in one that was waiting to be done, then don't be fooled.... One bedroom apartments are for 4 persons but only have 2 chairs on the terrace (or balcony) so if there are 4 of you 2 can only have a chair !!!! Towels in the bathroom not very desirable I'm afraid but obviously had to make do. Try and get a room on the second floor as its horrendous at bed time, you hear everything, some people have no respect for holidaymakers underneath.

Also you have to pay deposits for EVERYTHING, towels, air con, safe, TV remote so you have pretty much spent up before you even started. I'd prefer to pay a little more for my holiday and have all inclusive like it states...

There was only ONE member of staff at the pool bar, therefore be prepared to queue, it was ridiculous, to say there are 290 apartments and only ever one member of staff, felt really sorry for them really as you can imagine they were getting some stick from angry holidaymakers. Same for the lobby bar, again ONE member of staff and plastic glasses as don't have time to collect or wash, you have to put them in the bin, he did a good job bless him but so needed more staff.

Food here we thought was great, some people said it was repetitive but that's only if you make it repetitive yourself by getting the same things. There was a vast salad bar, different joint of meat freshly carved every day and pretty much all you could ask and as much as you want. All in all pretty much everything. Only thing is if you want a table you have to go as soon as restaurant opens otherwise you WONT get a table and have to hang around until someone has finished then get your own cutlery and napkins etc .....

Waterpark slides are fab for the young (and old !!) but the life guards are VERY keen on blowing there whistles for the slightest thing, so beware ..... Also the waterpark closes are 5pm, NO it doesn't the staff go home at 5pm, as at 4.15pm they shut the drinks hut, start tidying the sunbeds and turn water features off and close half the slides off.....

I wont return to this hotel as a lot of things let it down, understaffed, not refurbished, things generally not as stated. The only thing I can say is my little boy loved the waterpark, which made us happy .......

Room Tip: Second floor is a must, don't get an apartment near the waterpark as it smells like sewerage nea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EstelleEastYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelesLopez, Headoffice Hoteles Lopez at HL Paradise Island, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Dear Paradise Island guest,

thank you very much for taking your time and letting us know your opinion about holidaying with us.
We are sorry that you were not happy with our hotel as our aim is to satisfy all our clients but we therefore appreciate your comment in order to improve our services.
Wishing you and your family all the best, we remain with

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed here from 18th till 25th March and really looking forward to some sun and relaxation -
1. ARRIVAL - coach direct from airport to hotel without no other stops which was great - arrived at tea time check in was quick courteous and friendly - went straight to apartments unpacked and went to pool side bar for a drink and a stroll round the grounds to find our bearings
2. ROOMS - clean and spacious (room 111 & 109) lower levels - DO NOT HAVE LOWER LEVEL ROOMS as you can hear people walking about and moving furniture above especially if they have small children running round - ask for the upper level apartments if you can manage a few steps and much better views from balconies - rooms cleaned each day except wed/sat and was of a 3* standard - mattresses FAR TOO HARD and gave me back ache after first couple of nights if you have an existing back condition be aware! The pillows were as thin as sheets and you'd need at least 3 for a comfortable headrest
Didn't have any cockroaches which is great too!
3. POOL AREA - the first day of our holiday the main pool and half of sunbed area was closed due to them filming a holiday advert with James Nesbitt - the kids used the smaller (heated thank god) pool but got crowded due to main pool closed - to make things worse they had loads of Thomas cook and HL staff stood around telling everyone to be quiet every 5mins whilst they filmed - this was an absolute nightmare especially with an 8year old autistic child! How the hell was he supposed to be kept quiet!!?!?!? One of the HL staff was quite forceful in her approach and this really pissed us off and spoilt our first day of our holiday - we have submitted an official complaint with our Thomas cook rep as we had no notification of this at time of booking/lead up to booking/check in at hotel apart from a letter in all other hotel bumf that there may be some 'slight disruption' in the dino waterpark. Really put a damper on the weeks holiday.
Apart from that and they also came to film the wed too the pool area is lovely although a fair few of the plastic sunbeds were broken but as it wasn't that busy it was good
4. DINO WATERPARK - went here on the Thursday/friday & sunday and all I can say IT IS FAB! Whatever age you'll have a great time - sunbeds situated in front of the toddler area so you can keep an eye on them and attended by pool attendants at all times blowing whistles if kids don't follow the rules - the larger slides were great and depth of pools are good for 8years+ and 120cm high to go on - less windy down there than round the pool a great sun trap :) - only downside was kiosk for drinks only served soft drinks for all inclusive guests if you wanted food or beer etc You had to walk up to pool bar but took less than 2mins so no big deal
5. LOCATION - is a little out the way of main Playa Blanca area but we walked it in 20mins but was a nice walk taking in the volcano scenery - there was a free shuttle bus to town which we used on the sat morning which was good but we missed the 3pm bus and the next one wasn't till 5 so ended up walking back but good exercise lol - market in playa blanca sat/wed am is great but watch your bags as it does get hustle and bustle

6. FOOD - great choice each sitting plenty of food so don't know why people have complained - Chinese available 3 times a week and Mexican night Fridays which was lovely - all food topped up continually and drinks on tap too although kept running out of glasses

7. RESTAURANT - not enough staff to keep tables cleared throughout service - not enough cutlery through service kept having to take it off other tables - not enough larger tables for parties of 5 or more - we had to keep moving tables together and getting chairs from other areas - table clothes need to be changed more often and seat covers a little tatty and need changing - staff helpful and accommodating tho :)

8. ENTERTAINMENT - kids entertainment from 8pm onwards - great shows but defo targeted towards younger kids, 8+ may not like it - mine just sat and played on their DSI's - bingo for the adults - animal shows which resulted in photos with various animals for 10euros each so be warned! It cost me! Lol - team were great, friendly, and made you feel welcome a little cheesy but a laugh and ended up getting dragged on stage much to the embarrassment of my kids

GENERAL -
• a few cats but they don't bother you just make sure if your kids touch em to wash their hands and take antibacterial hand gel too!
• no cockroaches seen maybe thanks to the cats
• read before we travelled that some people had been robbed - don't know how if you pay the 16euros for the in-room safe and grounds well lit at night we didn't feel unsafe at all
• tv remotes for 10euros refundable - couple of English speaking channels for kids entertainment and news channels - flat screen tvs
• Thomas cook rep on hand everyday apart from Sundays

All in all it was a great holiday and WE WOULD DEFO GO BACK :0)

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank NatCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelesLopez, Headoffice Hoteles Lopez at HL Paradise Island, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Dear Paradise Island guest,

thank you very much for taking your time and letting us know your opinion about holidaying with us.
We are very happy, that you had a lovely stay and appreciate your comment in order to improve and will submit the information to the departments in charge.
Wishing you and your family all the best we hope to welcoming you soon again, we remain with

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

We stayed here for a week 17/3/13, my wife booked it and i was horrified when i read the reviews thinking we were going to have a bad holiday. How room 133 was spotless and in a good quite position but near enough to everything that was going on which was plenty if you wanted it or just chill out if you didnt want to join in. The entertainments team didnt stop to make sure you had a good time and i want to thank you all for your help advice and laughs you gave us all. How people can complain about the food is beyond me, how can you not find something you like from about 15 main dishes, salads, pastas, potatoes, rices etc etc you have never seen so much food, I didnt fancy some of it but then i dont fancy everything on the menu in a resturant either. All the staff from the resturant, Charlotte on reception and our cleaner were so friendly and helpful. We were mum,dad Archie 18 months and nan and grandad and we had a great time. The only thing i would worry about ( like anywere ) was if it was full up and very busy, we were lucky as just before half term. 2 downsides the first is the mattreses are to hard, and the pillows are as thick as a ciggarate paper.

Room Tip: get near 133 if possible, lovely few over the sea if you have the top apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Les E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelesLopez, Headoffice Hoteles Lopez at HL Paradise Island, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Dear Paradise Island guest,

thank you very much for taking your time and letting us know your opinion about holidaying with us.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your holidays and will pass the suggested information on to the departments in charge in order to improve our services.
Looking forward to welcoming you soon, we wish all the best to you and your family.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

The staff are very nice and friendly although some of the non Spanish ones not very well informed about information regarding the island. The food not bad but 'boring', almost the same every day.
The location is a bit too far to walk to the beach and the shuttle bus does not run as often as I think it should. The rooms are ok but need some maintenance...and the rooms were not cleaned very well, there was an empty plastic cup on the stairs for 3 days.The communal areas and the gardens are very well kept and clean. Only one pool is heated so could get a bit crowded in the afternoon. I would recommend the hotel but only because I got a good deal with Neckermann.
Very good value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelesLopez, Headoffice Hoteles Lopez at HL Paradise Island, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Dear Paradise Island guest,

thank you very much for taking your time and letting us know your opinion about holidaying with us.
We appreciate very much your suggestions and in order to improve, we will pass the information on to the departments in charge!
Wishing you and your family all the best, we remain with

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stayed in playa blanca from the 18th march till 25th march, we had a really good time, rooms were spotless, food was fab! We also celebrated one of the party's birthday whilst we was there and the restaurant done us a special table and a bottle of red wine, the only problem we had was with Thomas cook they didn't advise us that they was going to be filming an advert and they kept telling the children to be quiet witch I thought was wrong that Thomas cook didn't tell us when we booked. Overall the hotel in itself is really good, we will definitely be telling people about this hotel, everybody in the hotel is lovely even down to the cleaners, we had a great time ignore the bad comments!!!!!!!

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
8  Thank Ray T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelesLopez, Headoffice Hoteles Lopez at HL Paradise Island, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Dear Paradise Island guest,

thank you very much for taking your time and letting us know your opinion about your holidaying with us.
We are very happy that you had a wonderful stay and hope welcoming you soon again.
We wish all the best for you and your family and remain with

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa Blanca hotels
1.1 mi away
THB Tropical Island
THB Tropical Island
#25 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,831 reviews
2.6 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
0.4 mi away
Lanzasur Club
Lanzasur Club
#22 of 37 in Playa Blanca
1,696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#14 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,367 reviews
1.9 mi away
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
#27 of 37 in Playa Blanca
1,309 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HL Paradise Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HL Paradise Island

Address: P- 28 Calle Montana Casa, 35570 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range: $130 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — HL Paradise Island 3*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in a slightly elevated location at the edge of the village Playa Blanca, approx. 1500 mtrs from the beach and approx. 2000 mtrs from the village centre with it’s bars, restaurants and shops. A free bus shuttle service to the Playa Dorada beach is arranged several times a day. The hotel consists of 290 modern apartments (renovated 2015/16) which are allocated in two story apartments. The main building offers a lobby with reception, bar and TV corner. It also offers three restaurants - an international, an Asian and an Italian one. The facilities includes as well a mini market, a pool bar, a gym and a disco. In the well kept gardens you will find 4 swimming pools (one of them heated 01/11-30/04) and a sun terrace with sun beds and umbrellas (free of charge). Pool towels will be provided against a small deposit. The water park “Dino Park”, which is opened daily, is attached to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your HL Paradise Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Paradise Island Hotel Playa Blanca
Paradise Island Lanzarote
Aparthotel Paradise Island Playa Blanca
Paradise Island Playa Blanca
HL Paradise Island Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing