We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family holiday food is not great”
Review of HL Paradise Island

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
HL Paradise Island
Ranked #30 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Reviewed September 29, 2012

All I will say is that the food is not very good. We went all inclusive and were hard pressed to find something for the kids. We found something but it was usual salad, rice and chips. I'm not a reviewer usually but thought I would share my experience. If we ain't met our friends staying in club playa blanca we would have hated it. Just take note. You can eat in all other hotels that are the same owners, ie, club playa blanca, (hotel Lopez) check them all out first.
Pool was lovely but watch out for the usual people putting put towels at 7 am!
Wouldn t go back.
Beds are very hard

Room Tip: Choose somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank angiross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,273)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,816 - 1,822 of 3,273 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2012

Have just returned from the Paradise Island in Lanzarote, 13th-27th September 2012. For us, this is a revisit, having been there approx: 14 years ago. Sadly not alot has changed. When we were there first, there was a lot of development going on, and we assumed the buildings, would include shops and restaurants, but sadly no. The nearest shop was on the seafront in Playa Blanca a good 35 minutes walk away or a quick 4€ taxi fare away, but a courtesy bus was available at limited times (no evenings)
Well, the reception was very clean and modern, all the staff were very friendly and helpful, we were alocated room 223, overlooking the pool area. The rooms were quite large, with separate bedroom. We found the bed to be very hard and uncomfortable, taking off the plastic under sheet, did help. Unfortunately during our visit the rooms were cleaned only 6 times, and then no clean towels were left we had to go to reception,some towels were very thin and did not smell very nice. As for the restaurant, we did see quite a few cockroaches, and ants. Quite a good selection of food, but was sometimes only warm, and repetitive, except for the food that was freshly cooked, very disappointing. Help yourself to the drinks, beer, wine, soft drinks and water was available. A good plus, is to visit the Chinese buffet, excellent food, the chef was brilliant!
Outside by the pools was the pool bar, when we arrived, we could help yourself to drinks (alcholic dispensed by the bar staff) but after the first week this stopped and the machines were turned around facing the bar, this caused long queues, especially with children,because there was only one member of staff serving. The same with the bar upstairs!
Sadly the animation team left alot to be desired, although. they do try very hard to keep everyone entertained. Our biggest gripe was the sound system, which had too much bass and loud, the tables would vibrate, several people would leave after the bingo, because of the sheer volume!
The new waterpark was very good, a new addition since our last visit, and was a great hit with the youngsters. The pool area and gardens, were kept beautiful.
It was a bit of a pain to be charged for the air conditioning and tv remotes (10€ deposit refundable) and the safe was 12€ week, plus a 10€ deposit).
We did the North Coast tour, well worth the money, but the Thomas Cook was more expensive, than those available in the centre, and you could go anyday, try there.
This might seem a very negative review, but in general, they offer a good value for money hotel, there are a lot of good points, which you will find when you visit, perhaps I was expecting too much after our last visit, but it will probably be another 14 years until we return. It is a great paradise for children, with lots on offer, please don't be put off, if you think, it ticks all your boxes, then go for it, Lanzarote has so much to offer as an Island. The weather was perfect sun all the way, which is what holidays are all about.

Room Tip: Corner appartments did seem have 2 bedrooms, pool view very nice, but quite noisey at night, until t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rogerdunstan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

I have just returned from here and thought it was so good i had to write this review to counteract all the bad reviews i initially read online before i travelled.
This was the best holiday i have had with my family, large waterpark onsite with friendly lifeguards which were great with children.
Thomas cook entertainment team were amazing, kept all ages well entertained throughout the day and night, they truly made our holiday fantastic. They were very approachable and never passed by without stopping and chatting etc.
The rooms were immaculate, cleaned 5 times a week, never saw many bugs etc as you would expect aboad. Food was a great selection and enough variety for all. All staff at the hotel were polite and friendly. could have easily stayed onsite for the whole two weeks and been well entertained. The kids club was great, the team very good at coming up with ideas to keep the children entertained. Met loads of great friends which i hope to keep in touch with - this is the first time we experienced such a friendly, family atmosphere, everyone joined in with the games and shows put on by Thomas cook staff and had a great time together!
There are so many bad reviews online but please do not be put off as i would recommend this trip to anyone. This trip will appeal to all ages.
There is always a breeze which disguises how hot it really is, we were badly burnt within 2 hours of arriving even tho we were protected with factor 50 so be very prepared.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Shut up all you moaners, I am just back from Paradise Island where I stayed for two weeks and was paranoid before I went because I read reviews from people who just seem to moan about the least wee thing.Our accommodation was okay the food was good and the staff could not do enough to help us. Yes the food is repetitive but you don't have to eat the same thing every night ( there is plenty of choice) Thomas Cook Entertainment crew were great and the Animation team also. Our room was cleaned and we always had clean towels.
Yes you do have to hire your air con and a safe but I have always had to do that on a holiday.
Fab time and we are thinking of going back later in the year.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the sea are nice and quiet anhd an upstairs room in my opinion isn't as prone to a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank sandra b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Recently returned from a weeks holiday at paradise island, good holiday accommodation, well laid out, and very clean, excellent food choice, rooms cleaned 5 times a week. We did find beds were very hard and uncomfortable. Did find the music at night too loud and unnecessary, also no disrespect to the entertainment crew, but it was pretty rubbish and boring, having travelled to lanzarote many times the entertainment in previous hotels has been enjoyable as acts were brought in, and each night was varied. Also the mini disco was not suitable for the young children as most of them did not understand what they had too do. Staff excellent and polite nothing was too much trouble. Although the food was excellent and plentiful, during the week we saw three cockroaches scurrying around the dining room, which was not good too see. Otherwise a good holiday weather fantastic, waterpark excellent. Not sure if we would return though.

Room Tip: Dont have a room by the cesspit, the smell is awful. Its near the waterpark
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank franky55190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Me and my partner visited Paradise Island between the 13th of September to the 20th. First impression of the hotel wasn't great. Everyone who worked there was polite and friendly. Having a safe and aircon is a must so having to pay deposits for both was bad. Food was horrible in my opinion and the same thing everyday,only edible thing was breakfast, otherwise we ate out every night. There was an ants nest outside our apartment, so having millions of ants outside everyday was vile. 641 btw! The cleaners only came twice whilst there, we had no clean towels so had to ask reception everyday! The room was nice and spacious though :) and the weather was beautiful! This hotel is defiantly more for families, would not return here.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Laura J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Just back from a week of sun at Paradise Island.
All staff very friendly and worked really hard to keep everyone happy.
Entertainment crew for Thomas Cook where great, always spoke on passing and never stopped all day and night.
Food was very good, plenty choice and great salads and desserts.
Our room was cleaned 5 days in the week and very clean.
AC was free and you only needed a 10euro deposit for remote.
thomas cook/ Airtours brochure says free internet access which is nonsense. You need to pay for access to the wifi.
Don't know where people get the idea the Waterpark had very little slides. I counted 4 flumes, 1 for rubber rings, 2 death slides, a 4 person slide and a lazy river for under 1.2m kids. Also a seperate pool area with smaller slides for small kids. I must admit that work is still going on to extend the park and the pictures in brochure are nothing like whats available but still great fun which is all free and drinks at waterpark are part of all inclusive deal.
Only let down was nothing to do with the hotel but the mindless individuals who thought it was ok to leave there rubbish, fag ends, and plastic cups around the pool even though there was plenty bins to use.
Overaul a great holiday and would definately go back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank BigYid73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa Blanca hotels
0.5 mi away
HL Club Playa Banca
HL Club Playa Banca
#31 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,142 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel HL Rio Playa Blanca
Hotel HL Rio Playa Blanca
#22 of 37 in Playa Blanca
1,779 reviews
1.1 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#14 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
THB Tropical Island
THB Tropical Island
#25 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,994 reviews
1.9 mi away
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
Rubimar Suite ApartHotel
#27 of 37 in Playa Blanca
1,358 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HL Paradise Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HL Paradise Island

Address: Calle Francia 2, 35570 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain (Formerly Aparthotel Paradise Island)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range: $141 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — HL Paradise Island 3*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in a slightly elevated location at the edge of the village Playa Blanca, approx. 1500 mtrs from the beach and approx. 2000 mtrs from the village centre with it’s bars, restaurants and shops. A free bus shuttle service to the Playa Dorada beach is arranged several times a day. The hotel consists of 290 modern apartments (renovated 2015/16) which are allocated in two story apartments. The main building offers a lobby with reception, bar and TV corner. It also offers three restaurants - an international, an Asian and an Italian one. The facilities includes as well a mini market, a pool bar, a gym and a disco. In the well kept gardens you will find 4 swimming pools (one of them heated 01/11-30/04) and a sun terrace with sun beds and umbrellas (free of charge). Pool towels will be provided against a small deposit. The water park “Dino Park”, which is opened daily, is attached to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Otel, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your HL Paradise Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Paradise Island Hotel Playa Blanca
Paradise Island Lanzarote
Aparthotel Paradise Island Playa Blanca
Paradise Island Playa Blanca
HL Paradise Island Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing