We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lanzarote Princess - Refurbishment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
H10 Lanzarote Princess
Ranked #14 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 3, 2013

As a family we use to visit this Hotel on a regular basis and at that time were this Hotels biggest fans, however once the Disco opened across the road from the Princess and ruined a number of holidays with the noise which goes on until the early hours of the morning, particularly at weekends, we decided to holiday elsewhere. We had missed the Princess and its beautiful pool and easy access to the lovely local beach, so after a period of a few years we decided to give it another try and booked an 11 day holiday for April.
Having just returned after a fantastic week of wall to wall sunshine I thought I would report on the Hotel following its recent refurbishment. It has certainly had a face lift, but unfortunately like some facelifts I dont think it will stay looking this good for long! One has to ask why the design team has gone for `style` over `durability`? This is a family BEACH Hotel yet in their professional opinion thought snow white leather Chesterfields; chairs; and loose soft fabric couches in public areas; wall paper in bedrooms (already torn and peeling) would keep their appearance for decades to come? Why on earth have all the lovely warm wooden doors and fascias been painted a boring off white colour? The corridor carpets have been replaced with stripey coloured carpet on a cream back ground and by the end of our relatively short stay the stains on the white leather chesterfields and chairs were beginning to show; the cushions were all saggy and getting tossed around by some young children; the stains of spilt drinks and dropped ice creams/lollies were all to obvious on the corridor carpets - Its a family beach hotel not some up market boutique type hotel in Madrid! H10 have spent all this money on the refurbishment without thinking it through! Its very much style over substance!
Apart from the Soup which is a tasteless Minestrone most days, there is still a wide variety of food to choose from, however having said that I have to agree with some of the food critics, H10 are either NOT buying in quality meat OR the young chef, with the filthy looking bandage/wrist guard(?) around his wrist, who was cooking the meat; fish; poultry needs to find another career! He poured vast quantities of cold oil onto the food before and half way through the cooking resulting in the `freshly cooked` meat being tough and tasteless; as was the fish and chicken! The Steak was so thin it could have been flash cooked in a minute and NOT drowned in cold oil and left to reheat for 7/8 minutes! I would definately sugest a visit to the new coffee room, a great place for ice drinks and delicious cake and I hear that an open area will accommodate a barbecue which will hopefully offer delicious food (depending on the chef of course).
The staff numbers in the bars have been reduced, so it makes it difficult to get table service and I`m sure must be costing H10 a fortune in profits from lost drink orders. Its very much the same entertainment in the piano bar - Saxaphone/Piano oh how I wish they would have alternative nights with Piano/Saxaphone and Piano/vocalist. The entertain in general was very poor compared to other hotels we have stayed at. I would suggest a visit to Mollie`s Irish Bar (which is half way down the little path that lead to the beach) the entertainment there is good and the table service much better than H10`s!
Would I recommend this Hotel? Well if you are looking for a good 3 star this should suit you, however if you want a 4 star hotel look online at the Yaiza but it will cost you a lot more, but you do get quality.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room/suite on an upper floor that has sun in the afternoon and that is NOT opposite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Silversands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,362)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,983 - 2,989 of 5,362 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed for a week all inclusive at Easter this year and were pleasantly suprised by this Hotel. We had a refurbished room to the back and it was lovely!
The all inclusive package was one of the best I have experienced, the food was plentiful and varied - I find it hard to understand any criticism on this as there was always something different to eat. The drinks package was excellent too - all cocktails were included (which is not the norm).
The lounge areas were very modern and comfortable and apart from the non existent wi-fi connection, I could not fault them.
The pool area was large but sunbeds were plentiful, even if the best spots were taken before 9am!
If I had to criticise anything it would be the 1 evening meal included with the AI package which was in the Sakura restaurant - the food was truly awful and I seriously considered popping into the buffet for something edible!
All in all, we will definitely return to this hotel as it had everything we look for in a holiday - great location, wonderful staff, good food and drinks package and a beautiful room.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MMWScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We've just returned from another holiday at this hotel and once again had a great time.(Stayed mid April and had 8 days of wall to wall sunshine) The reason we like the hotel is because of its closeness to the Playa Dorada beach and the village of Playa Blanca. We went half board because we like to stroll into the village in the evenings. Over the years there as always been a wide variety of food on offer in the restaurant and the staff are always willing to help with any problem you may have. I have recommended this hotel to a number of friends over the years and will continue to do so.

Room Tip: Ask for a room which has the sun on its balcony in the afternoon. Its a nice way to finish the day o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rodney H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We have just returned from a fabulous holiday in Playa Blanca staying at the H10 Lanzarote Princess Hotel for eleven nights on half board. Whilst over the years we have stayed here many times we couldn't help but notice the considerable changes & vast improvements which have taken place since our last visit during March last year. The reception, bar & the entertainment areas have all been completely refurbished as have most of the guest rooms. Most importantly for us from the minute we walked through the door to the day we departed the staff were absolutely brilliant. They could not have been more helpful, polite & attentive. In fact when it comes to customer service they are the most focused & motivated staff we have witnessed for a very long time. Our room was very clean, modern in décor, well equipped & most importantly the bed was very comfortable. Our bedding was changed every 2/3 days & the room was cleaned meticulously every day. In the dining room the food was varied with something for everyone. Impossible to contemplate anyone ever going hungry with the choice available. Most people tended to favour the freshly grilled meat or fish cooked before your very eyes. In our case we particularly enjoyed the salads, pizzas & fresh fruit and especially the themed nights which consisted of Canarias, Asian, Italian & Mexican evenings. After a good meal time to relax in one of the many comfy chairs available to watch one of the professional shows brought in several times each week which were highly entertaining. The hotel is perfectly located close to the lovely Dorada Beach, in one direction there is a nice stroll to into Playa Blanca harbour with the ferries back & forth to Fuerteventura & in the other direction to the beautiful Rubicon Marina. Most days we tended to relax on the many sunbeds surrounding the pool area where Palm trees abound. As the weather was extremely hot the pool was the perfect temperature to cool off. For us the Lanzarote Princess just gets better & better. How wonderful to discover a management team focused on continuous improvement. Can't wait to go back...

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

April 26th, just got back from 2 weeks at this H10.where the 4 star rating comes from I haven't a clue. I down rated it to a reasonable 3 stars only. The accommodation space in our suite was good although extremely tired furnishings let it down and it was not as advertised on the website in any stretch of the imagination. Pictures show upgraded suites and ours must have been years old. The wardrobes were poor, no room for a long dress, veneer all coming off the drawers which then caught on clothing. The patio doors/windows rattled at night due to the wind and had to be wedged closed with a spoon, noise from the disco (across the road) at throwing out time at 2am took some getting use to..
Rather angry at having to pay 16 euros per week for room safe when on an all inclusive package and 30 euros for pool towels deposit..
Food after one week was boring, so dined in the evening at Cervantes 200yds down the road towards town...Brilliant food and value..
Bar service is poor and slow although the measures are large, The speciality restaurant we thought was rubbish and cancelled 3 bookings as a result of our first visit. Do not order curry as it was the poorest I have ever had in 64 yrs, don't think it had been anywhere near any spices at all. The Chicken Tikka Masala was also tasteless, hence the reason we cancelled our other bookings.
We paid just over 2100 euros for our suite (excluding flights and transfers) and it was just not worth it.............

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank greenorchid152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Stayed end of march. Good hotel,good location. Food good but a bit samey. We went all inclusive and also had the priviledge package. If you were half board this would be well worth it. You get the best rooms and loads of extras. The priviledge lounge was open 24 hrs. With being all inclusive it was still worth it because if you wanted a sea/pool view you had to pay £200 odd for it. Service good. No problem with sunbeds. One night (our anniversary) we went out for ameal at la romantica (just down the road)-superb. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gordon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

This hotel was gorgeous, our room was massive with lots of storage, the bathroom was very spacious and the balcony was big the only downfall was the view which was the back of a building site, Thank goodness the building site wasn't noisy and the never seemed to be at work. The food was delicious with lots of choice ! All staff were lovely and very helpful. The pool was gorgeous very modern and huge lots of room and we never struggled to get 6 beds in a row !!! would definitely return if we could afford it !! P.S the hotel is located in the best place ever just a bit off the main road and very close to the gorgeous play blanca beach !!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JordanaL_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Blanca
0.2 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
0.3 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
1.5 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
H10 Sentido White Suites
H10 Sentido White Suites
#8 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,779 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#6 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3,864 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
5,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H10 Lanzarote Princess? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H10 Lanzarote Princess

Address: C/ La Macio, 1, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
#12 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
#15 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range: $125 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — H10 Lanzarote Princess 4*
Number of rooms: 406
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the fishing village of Playa Blanca, in the south of Lanzarote, H10 Lanzarote Princess is well renowned on the island for its facilities and high quality services. The hotel has recently been refurbished, giving it a very modern design with a vintage touch, while new services have also been added. Check out Sakura, our new oriental restaurant and pop into the new specialised coffee shop Mike's Coffee. Come and discover the Despacio Beauty Centre and, if you're looking for the extra touch of exclusivity, we can offer you Privilege, Exclusive Rooms and Services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Prestigia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your H10 Lanzarote Princess reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
h10 Lanzarote Princess Hotel Playa Blanca
h10 Lanzarote Princess Playa Blanca
Lanzarote Princess Hotel
Princess Hotel Lanzarote

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing