We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“suited us fine”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
H10 Lanzarote Princess
Ranked #13 of 38 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
notts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“suited us fine”
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Stayed here 11th to 18th November on all inclusive.
Holiday was booked through travel republic.
I think just about everything has been covered in previous reviews but here is my opinion.
We just went for a chill out week and it suited us just fine.
Check in was quick and efficient.
We had room 057 on the ground floor near the pool restaurant, not much of a view but nice and quiet. The room was huge, not one of the refurbished ones but it was fine for us and very, very clean, as was all areas of the hotel.
There has been a lot of work done to upgrade certain areas and it’s looking great, there is still a bit to do though, the ‘to do’ areas were starting to look a bit tired.
They were doing the gardens while we were there but there was no noise or disruption.
Food was fine, usual all inclusive fare and loads of choice.
Drinks in the piano bar were good especially the cocktails.
Can’t comment on the function room, we didn’t venture in there.
A lot of the people staying here were older people and some had been going there for years, there were a few families, all guests were very friendly.
The hotel staff are lovely, always had a smile and said hello, but the star of them all was Danny, he was on the privilege desk, he always had a smile on his face, always happy and was very helpful, this guy should get a promotion!.
They have a coffee shop, Mike’s, this is great. We spent a lot of time here, be careful though the coffees can be more potent than the drinks in the bar lol.
Didn’t venture into the pools as the weather wasn’t that hot while we were there but other people were using them, there were plenty of sun beds too.
Location is great, just a minutes stroll to the bars, restaurants and shops.
There is a no smoking policy at this hotel so you can only smoke outside, take a portable ashtray if you do smoke as ash trays are few and far between, even being a smoker myself I hate to see cigarette ends all over the place.
The only gripes we had about the hotel are, as the hotel is a 'cash free zone' all drinks/snacks for half board guests are charged to the room, but all guests, even on all inclusive have to sign a till receipt every time you have a drink/snack from the bars/ pool bars or go in the restaurant for evening meal for the drinks, the only place you didn’t was in Mike’s, waste of paper and staff time if you ask me, that’s what the wristband is for surely. And the pool restaurant really needs to do something about the pigeons around the food, this needs closing off, maybe some netting around the top and more glass panels around it to close it off so they can’t get in.

So there you have it, the positives far outweigh the negatives and I would definitely go back to this hotel or recommend it to family and friends for a chill out holiday.

Thank you H10 Lanzarote princess for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ravens-ramblings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lnz_hlp, BOOKING DEPARTMENT at H10 Lanzarote Princess, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear client,

Thank you for your nice comments and for having chosen our hotel to enjoy your last holiday in Lanzarote.

We hope to welcome you again in our hotel,

Yours sincerely,

Virginia Peyrano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,956 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,917
    1,910
    764
    249
    116
See reviews for
1,798
2,270
85
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,260)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich
Level Contributor
73 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Stayed in this hotel for only 3 nights with a family group of 13, not 1 of the group liked the hotel.


Firstly the reception is very nice and but staff were slow in checking us in. When we got to the room they looked dated and all of the group were on the ground floor all the rooms smelt which we think may of been damp but we saw no visual evidence of this.

The pool water was very cloudy and the surrounding area needed maintenance.

They charged for the use of the room safe and you have to leave a deposit for pool towel.

The first evening we eat in the restaurant and the great choice of food BUT a lot of it was barely warm and nor very tasty, we had booked half board but eat out the following 2 nights.

The piano bar was full of mosquito's.

The only plus side of the Hotel is its location, it was VERY clean and the champagne welcome is a nice touch.

The hotel is a 3 star at the best try another hotel.

Room Tip: Not the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alyshaluke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Returned home last week after an 11 night stay. Our welcome was as specified, including champagne and after a 2.5 hour wait we were allowed our room. It was a refurbished room on the 2nd floor overlooking the pool area and mostly O K. It was cleaned regularly but the corridor carpets were very tacky and in need of a good clean. Perhaps the corridors are also due to be refurbished. The hotel is in an excellent position with lovely grounds and plenty of loungers. At dinner we experienced some of the negative aspects of the hotel. On entering the dining room we noticed many uncleared tables and, as there was noone to show us to a table, it was difficult to find a laid up table. The excessive noise soon became apparent and it was more like a canteen than a 4 star hotel dining room. The food was monotonous and mostly tasteless and it was often difficult to find what you wanted because of poor layout. The staff were very hard working and mostly very pleasant. Breakfast was a little better but not of the standard of other H 10 hotels. The new piano bar is very pleasant if you could find a seat and the live music was good. Drinks service is very slow but this may be to avoid allowing all inclusive guests to be given too many drinks. Again, we state that this hotel is in a wonderful position close to the coastal walk and midway between Playa Blanca and the Rubicon marina but, like many guests who have stayed here up to 25 times, we will not be returning.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool are generally quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KensCrits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lnz_hlp, BOOKING DEPARTMENT at H10 Lanzarote Princess, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear client,

Thank you very much for having chosen our hotel for spend your holidays in Lanzarote.

We take note of your opinions and we would like to thank you because these comments help to improve the quality of our service and give us the possibility to change any mistakes that have been made.

We would like to inform you that the check in time is at 3 pm. Check out is at 12 am, for this reason we need time to be cleaning the rooms.

We try to give the rooms before 3 pm, but due to the large number of check outs and that we have to clean it, not always is possible.

We hope to welcome you again in our hotel.

Yours sincerely,

Virginia Peyrano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

A nice hotel. A good and friendly welcome, glass of champagne welcome. Our room was on the ground floor a family room for just the two of us was a nice surprise, meaning we had room to spread out and have a sofa to lounge on. True it was a bit dated but it was clean - a real must. Bathroom was spacious and clean. Room was serviced everyday, that also patio. We did have to complain about the air conditioning, or should I say lack of it. Luckily we were staying late September and weather although hot during the day, did cool down in the evening. As the unit was broken it leaked quite alot onto a shiny tiled floor making it a hazzard area, sadly several complaints to reception proved fruitless and it took one of the lovely ladies who serviced the room to make a complaint on my behalf, despite her lack of english and mine of spanish!!! It finally got sorted by the engineers placing buckets in the heating unit to catch the drips, we were assured it would be sorted before the next visitors to the room, hopefully that is the case.
Pool area good, but not really being pool people it is hard to comment, we did notice however (and I know it is a world wide problem) that certain visitors to the hotel didn`t adhere to the "please do not place towels to reserve sun beds" many people did.
Dining was an experience. Canteen atmosphere comes to mind. Food ok, we didn`t go hungry, but it did become very repetitive and the joshling around the food islands was at times very unpleasant. Noise levels- well never did get to grips with that. The atmosphere sadly didn`t lead to a nice leisurely evening meal with friends
Having paid for our meals up front we chose not to go to enjoy the bars and bistro`s in the area. Therefore, we would most definitly go back to this hotel but on a B & B basis only.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ifwoollard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

I would stay at this hotel again - purely on location.
5 min to beach and same again to the centre of the bars and restaurants. No money spent on taxis or the like. This is my 6th visit to Lanzarote.

Checking In I was expecting the glass of cava I had read about on here, it was on the desk but not offered. Maybe it's only for all inclusive? The man checking in was a bit curt too (compared to all the other staff).

The room was 303, facing the back of the hotel but could see the port if you leaned out over the balcony. Good size room, good sized bathroom. It was a quiet room (well apart from the bin lorry every morning and the patio doors that rattle in the wind. But bins need emptied and a bit of cardboard between the doors fixed that, so just minor annoyance)
What was not acceptable was the mattress. It beggars belief that they have flat screen tv's in the rooms and the worst mattresses! After the 2nd attempt reception got housekeeping to change the worst one of the two. What was also not good was the blood stains on the wall from we presumed Mosquitos.

I thought the on show areas looked pretty good but the rooms could be cleaner. Compared to iberostar papagayo it wasn't very clean. Maybe the cleaners don't have enough time?

Along with the iberostar papagayo the food leaves something to be desired - but I have decided that this is what all inclusive type places are like. Only having had breakfast I can't say much more. The staff in there work their socks off and some of the guests are just plain rude!

It was November but there were lots of sunbeds and they all looked in very good condition. Great having a keycard gate opposite the pools. Also great that the key cards worked the whole time and didn't need reset!

Didn't use the entertainment but the free WiFi is very good in the reception area.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gmmax1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

My friend and I have just returned from the Lanzarote Princess Hotel.The hotel is beautiful and so clean, The rooms are lovely, cool and very comfortable.The hotel is ideally situated in Playa Blanca and is only a short walk from the seafront and beach.We met some lovely people here
and have booked to return on the 28th Feb 2013.Great place to eat nearby try Tipico Espanol Restuarant great Sardines and Sea Bass and lovely funny waiters.Lisa... Staff at the hotel were great friendly and very helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking pool are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lnz_hlp, BOOKING DEPARTMENT at H10 Lanzarote Princess, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear client,

Thank you for your nice comments and for having chosen our hotel to enjoy your last holiday in Lanzarote.

We feel very happy knowing that we have complied with your expectations about the different aspects of the Hotel like the food and the location.

We hope to welcome you again in our hotel,

Yours sincerely,

Virginia Peyrano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Stayed there for one week in November with my wife , the hotel sits in a perfect location and is therfor really busy all year round .the pool area is nice and clean with plenty of sun beds to be had at any time of the day , all the staff are nice and friendly but that's about it for the positive feedback ! Get passed the reception area and the hotel itself is shabby and a bit grubby ,bits of work being done all over the hotel with dust and muck on the hall carpets . the dining room is big but defiantly not big enough for the amount of guests in an evening , we stayed half board but only went in there twice for dinner .it was an awful experience , far to busy no free tables and not enough food so we went out and paid for dinner the rest of the week . some nice little restaurants near buy thankfully !to top it all off on our last day we returned back to our room to find our door had been left open buy the maid ..perfect ! We still made sure we had a good week not letting anything get to us . definitely not a 4 star hotel , you can do better .

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Northerner099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lnz_hlp, BOOKING DEPARTMENT at H10 Lanzarote Princess, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Dear Customer,

Thank you very much for your comments, both good and bad helps us to improve every day. We promise you that we will take in mind your nice words to offer a good service.

We hope to welcome you again.

Best regards,

Virginia Peyrano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Blanca
0.2 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
1.0 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#6 of 38 in Playa Blanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,645 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
#8 of 38 in Playa Blanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,550 reviews
1.5 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
13.1 mi away
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
Sol Lanzarote All Inclusive
#30 of 95 in Puerto Del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to H10 Lanzarote Princess? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H10 Lanzarote Princess

Property: H10 Lanzarote Princess
Address: C/ La Macio, 1, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
#12 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
#15 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — H10 Lanzarote Princess 4*
Number of rooms: 406
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the fishing village of Playa Blanca, in the south of Lanzarote, H10 Lanzarote Princess is well renowned on the island for its facilities and high quality services. The hotel has recently been refurbished, giving it a very modern design with a vintage touch, while new services have also been added. Check out Sakura, our new oriental restaurant and pop into the new specialised coffee shop Mike's Coffee. Come and discover the Despacio Beauty Centre and, if you're looking for the extra touch of exclusivity, we can offer you Privilege, Exclusive Rooms and Services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelUp, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your H10 Lanzarote Princess reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
h10 Lanzarote Princess Hotel Playa Blanca
h10 Lanzarote Princess Playa Blanca
Lanzarote Princess Hotel
Princess Hotel Lanzarote

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing