We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time, hotel very good.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 24, 2014

We have just returned from a 10 day stay, and it was great, hotel really clean, food really good particularly the fresh cooked pastas, have a fussy child and he always had something to eat.

We had the Royal Elite service worth every penny, from having a separate dining room for breakfast which was great to get tea, coffee & freshly squeezed orange juice delivered to your table, then buffet style breakfast also freshly made omelettes of your choice, then the Royal Elite lounge for any branded drink of your choice, along with nibbles and daily papers. The service was great, snack bar also great so were all the pools, we had no problem getting a sunbed either.

The room was fine good size for a family of 4 with a lovely sea view and view of Fuertevantura and as we had Royal Elite we had the fridge stocked with water & soft drinks, also only had to pay a deposit for the safe as someone said on here you had to pay but we certainly didn't. I would say the service was great and staff great. The hotel is big and must admit when we arrived at night it was a bit confusing but after the first morning it was a dawdle to get round. The kids loved it too, also pool towels included is great to as your don't need to worry about packing towels. We ate in the Italian most nights as it was a bit quiter and my daughter loved the pizzas. Also booked the oriental one night which was fine too. The beach at the front was bot great but there was s super beach just bit away from the holiday Also the animation team was great always on the go - Great time had by all - would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Susan157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subdireccion S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2014

Dear Susan157,

Thank you very much for your comments and your nice words to the Hotel. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your holidays at Sandos, and look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Natalia Bravo de Laguna
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,516)
There are newer reviews for Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,597 - 2,603 of 6,516 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2014

Just spent a fantastic week with my wife and this Hotel Chain does not let you down. A happy friendly resort with great staff, room quality was great, we opted for the Royal Elite Service was not let down. Nice chill bar, great room service topped off with the most fantastic views from our Balcony,
The Food was good and although we were a couple amongst loads of families everyone mingled well, it was so relaxing and now looking forward to our next Sandos Adventure after Benidorm and Lanzarote they really are a great company. And finally thanks to the Girls at Thomas Cook Moreton who always deliver.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper try not to get C6 rooms as it's under the chill out bar didn't bo...
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subdireccion S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2014

Dear Gary H,

Thank you for bringing us your feelings: we really appreciate your comments and remarks.

We look forward to hearing from you in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Natalia Bravo de Laguna
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Wife see the holiday at very reasonable price AI. Booked on the Sunday, flew out on the Wednesday!!
We've been to Papagayo area 20yrs ago and remembered the rugged cliffs with the quiete stunning beaches. Turned out this hotel was the closest to them! Nice coincidence! This area being a nature reserve is really unspoilt so if you plan to stay on one of the beaches take some water and grub with you, also sun cream . Ah yes , you will also see people in their birthday suits.
If that bothers you stay around one of the pools back at the hotel I guess!!
The hotel is very large but you don't feel hemmed in .
Most rooms have beach and sea views. The " beach " has hardly any sand and quite rocky. The view of the sea spanning out is really nice.
Our room was adequate. Food plentiful and varied. Give the so called Mexican restaurant a wide berth it's crap... The Italian consists of pasta and pizza . French one really nice , that's why you pay on top for that one!!
Snack bar open if you miss one of your courses. Never tried it, I think it's burgers n stuff.
All in all we had a good relaxed week. Would go same sort of time again , out of the school hols.
I've always taken the view I don't go for the staff , good or bad , however they had the time of day for you.
Only down side we got stuck on the M11 on way home.. Good ol UK...

Room Tip: Upgrade to royal elite
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 3lunon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subdireccion S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2014

Dear 3lunon,

We really appreciate your comments and remarks and hope to see you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Natalia Bravo de Laguna
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

We visited Sandos at the end of June for a weeks break.
The hotel is situated at the very end of the prom walkway from Playa Blanca which takes around 20 mins to walk to the pretty harbour.
The beach directly opposite the hotel is volcanic and quick stoney but if you turn right out of the hotels front entrance and follow the quite undulating path you will find a fabulous large sandy beach. Follow the beach to the far end and you will find 2 or 3 secluded coves where nude sunbathing is the norm.

We arrived at the hotel after a 90in transfer and was impressed with the speedy and friendly check in. We were shown and given a map of the hotel which is useful in the first few days as the hotel is large on many levels spread over 3 buildings.
We upgraded to the sea view and premium drink option which we believe was worth while. We had a lovely room with Central sea view located near the spa, restaurant and main bar.
Having your own lounge with premium drinks throughout the day was a nice touch if you wanted a break from the sun.
The pools were warm and relaxing and as we only used the pools for a few hours a day if that getting a lounger wasn't an issue. We used the beach for the majority of the day.
The restaurant does get busy but the food is really nice with great choices most nights and for lunchtime too. We used our exclusive dinning room for breakfast which was relaxing first thing in the morning.
Staff were very friendly and helpful which seems to be the norm in Lanzarote.
The one thing that could be improved on is that the IC option at the bar stops at 11pm which is a shame as most people disappear at this time when things are just starting to flow. You can still get draft beer and 'wine' from the all night snack bar but it wasn't to my liking. If the option was to midnight it would be nice to continue chatting etc without feeling that everywhere is closing up for the night.
The WiFi is hard to connect to in busy periods of the day buy didn't cause too many issues. We still managed to get our dose of Facebook etc. after all you are on holiday so it was nice to be app free really
Overall this a great hotel with good food and friendly staff.
If you don't mind walking to the beach or Playa Blanca (free bus runs 3 times a day to Playa Blanca beach) or just wish to chill by the pools than this is a great place. If you wish to party party then you may find it a little too quite in the evening.
We may return at sometime as it is the best out of 3 hotels that we have stayed at in Lanzarote.
Happy holidays.

Stayed: June 2014
5  Thank phil-le18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

First note that while this Hotel is a 4 star hotel, it's a SPANISH 4 stars. There have been some bad reviews online which mostly came from people with unrealistic expectations.

That said, this is the best hotel I've stayed in in the Canaries, and fully intend to return their in every 6 months.

I'll put up front that the hotel has probably the best location on the island. It is however, a good 20 minutes walk from the main town. It's also probably not suitable for anyone who struggles to walk, as it's spread across multiple floors and a large area. (It's massive!) Pushchairs should be fine though as there are lifts and ramps.

While the beach in front is pretty awful, literally 5 minutes walk down the Hill is the 1/2km long completely unspoilt golden sand Papagayo Beach. Go out of the the reception door and turn right as you exit the car park and follow the well defined path into what appears to be nothingness and you'll find it. (Sadly a bit too rough for wheelchairs!) Note there are no toilets, shops or ANYTHING on the beach... just sand.

The hotel has been undergoing a series of improvement since changing hands a couple of years ago, including a rebrand and a refit of some of the bar. This appears to be an ongoing investment process and looks good for the future.

My room was excellent although a little dated. The TV was a 21" CRT, and doesn't cost any extra, and had a few English-language channels include BBC world service and CNN... same as normal really. Bedding was clean and all the towels seemed newish and not the sandpaper offered by other hotels. Air-con was included and worked, just remember to shut the patio door as there is a sensor.

Important for me is always the safe as I travel with a lot of electronic gadgets, and was the key-then-code type where you put the key inside then enter your own code. It safe was €3 a night plus €20 deposit and was big enough for my netbook but wouldn't fit a full sized laptop and you have to keep putting the code in afresh each time.

The cleaners were efficient and regular, and don't hassle you if you put up the "Do not disturb" sign.

The daytime facilities were great, although the mini-golf could do with a lot of maintenance.

The evening entertainment was sparse, a show for the kids and an occasional turn, but you probably don't go to this sort of hotel for the night-life.

The bars are open until 00:30, but only serve all-inclusive until 23:00, except for the snack bar which is open ALL NIGHT, which is VERY dangerous and can leave you with an unplanned hangover! Have a good hunt when you get there and find all 5 bars, the "Chill-out" bar is on the rooftop right at the end through the main bar, however when I visited was undergoing a refit, with the pool-side bar re-opening to fill in. Most bars just about had Wifi.

Food was good... the main "international" restaurant was similar to most good quality all inclusive hotels, but the Hotel also includes, as part of the All-inclusive package, access to it's Italianish, Mexicanish and Orientalish restaurants - though you need to book early to get a place as they are popular.

All the staff were friendly and competent and spoke good English.

Room Tip: Make sure you visit Papagayo Beach at least once. It's also worth following the coastal path pas...
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank casaloco_cricklade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subdireccion S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

Dear heyhoUK_CRICKLADE,

Thank you very much for your comments and remarks: we really appreciate your nice words to the Hotel and the Staff.

We look forward to hearing from you in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Natalia Bravo de Laguna
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

arrived for a 7 night stay here.myself and girlfriend from the 10th to the 17th of july. first impressions of the hotel was the size massive! and you could tell it was well maintained the cleanliness was great which is what you want. when we got there our room wasn't ready as the flight was running early for once but this wasn't a problem as we checked in at reception and our suitcases were stored for us in a secure room.

we were then free to walk around the hotel but first a quick help yourself glass of champagne in the main lobby and perfect timing as lunch was being served in the restaurant so we went for some food. the choice over the week was excellent, could not fault it at all always something new to try fresh fruit and lots of different meat and fish. I'm a really fussy eater but tried so many different foods and loved them. the oriental restaurant was so good fantastic dishes cooked fresh, book it as soon as you get there at reception as we only managed to get booked in it for one day as there was no space the rest of our stay. so much choice at breakfast buffet too which is in the international restaurant. never worry if you miss restaurant times as food is on the go all the time at the snack bar next to the chill out bar the times are on the bars and restaurant for there opening times.

there is 4 pools at this hotel, we always managed to get a lounger to get some sun. we always used the one down from the chill out bar easier to get a drink :). drinks where good too cocktails at night only but red, white and ros'e wine, beer, tea, coffee and soft drinks available all threw the day both alcoholic and non-alcohlolic slushes and ice-cream served there too. some spirits not inclusive so check but very cheap and good measures.

our room was nice and clean a brilliant view from the balcony looking over the atlantic ocean and night view of fuetaventura lanzarotes sister island. air-con worked good make sure patio door is shut properly as that activates air con, the tv only news channels in English but your not there to watch tv. the room safe isn't included in the price what was a bit of a let down, and we were only given a 1 litre bottle of water which you had to refill yourself or buy from the machines.

there is great views from the hotel and you can have a nice walk to playa blanca which takes about 15 mins to walk to. you will find the market which is on Wednesday and Saturday great chance to grab bargains and souvenirs . keep walking to the marina were you will pass the boat harbour amazing yachts etc.. to be seen and costa dorda where there was many shops and restaurants also excursions shops if your wanting to have a great day out as they all look great we would recommend the eco tour in the Renault twizy from the playa blanca supermarket. it was a great way to look around the island and seen some fantastic views.

all in all if you want a nice chilled out holiday great food and relaxing time this is the place to go. we would defiantly return as our stay was excellent. the staff were nice always said hello/hola and a very clean hotel. also loads of things for kids to do.

happy holidays :)

Room Tip: we stayed in b block really good views
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank andyema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

The hotel is overall very nice, clean, tidy and friendly staff. The standard rooms are a little dated but again they're clean and tidy with comfortable beds and lovely views from the balcony (we had a sea view). The 'air con' is little more than a cold built in fan but was acceptable. The restaurants and bars were all very nice and the food/drink was a very good standard with plenty of choice. The pool areas were also nice although I don't think (or at least it didn't feel) that any of the pools were heated. There are also signs everywhere that clearly state that sunbed reservation with towels is not allowed. This was not enforced and everyday was a struggle to find a shaded bed that wasn't reserved if you didn't get out early enough (on one occasion the beds next to us were vacant for 4 hours despite having towels on them). This isn't really a hotel for people that don't like children as there were loads and it wasn't quiet. The hotel is in a good location by the beach and a short walk along the prom to other areas. All in all we enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel to others.

Room Tip: Most rooms have a sea view but to get the best views then anything in blocks b,c or d on the 3rd flo...
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LCM83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Blanca
1.5 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
0.1 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
0.8 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#6 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3,825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
6.7 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
4,932 reviews
1.7 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#14 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort

Address: Calle Las Acacias, no 6 | Playa Las Coloradas, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Playa Blanca
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Blanca
#3 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#6 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
#7 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
#8 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range: $180 - $366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 488
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort All Inclusive is located on the seafront in Playa Blanca, Lanzarote. The hotel is close to beaches of the Papagayo Natural Park (600m). The Timanfaya National Park is 20 km away. The rooms are spacious and bright, with a balcony with views, bathroom with hairdryer, satellite TV with international channels. Each room provides a safety deposit box (supplement charge). The complex provides four outside pools, gym, minigolf and sports center, plus spa, sauna and steam bath. It also has eight bars, a disco and a snack bar, as well as a few restaurants: - International Restaurant - Italian Restaurant - Fusion Restaurant: Alternately Mexican/Oriental Nights The front desk is 24 hour manned and has a tourist information including car rental and tour services. The hotel provides free Wi-Fi in public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandos Papagayo Arena Beach Hotel
Papagayo Arena Lanzarote
Papagayo Arena Resort
Hotel Papagayo Arena
Papagayo Arena Hotel Lanzarote
Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing