We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice winter break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Nice last minute winter break, nice food a selection of different restaurants when booked at reception which was very easy. great drinks some branded spirits nice cocktails and great cava. Rooms are very dated but clean enough for a nice holiday, hotel nice around pool areas all publics areas are ok but a little dated also. As previous reviews stated some towels a little worn some great they must be in the process of changing them for new.
This hotel does not have anything around it except mountains to the left, sea to the front with a rocky beach could not sunbathe on beach and a walk to the nice marine approx 30 mins walk on a nice path .
Did not see any entertainment as it was full of kids and outside with plastic glasses to drink from which we hate so did not partake of this.
There Are plenty of bars to sit and have a nice drink a nice outside bar with a great view out to sea

We paid £800 for a week AI for 2'if it had been more expensive I would have been disappointed as hotel needs to be updated for it to warrant the 4 stars it has, we have stayed in lanzarote on numerous occasions in better hotels which were also 4 stars
We had a great time and the hotel was ideal for the time of year and what we paid

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fortyStoke_on_trent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subdireccion S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Dear fortyStoke_on_trent,

Thanks for bringing your feelings and if you want to spend again your next holidays in our Hotel, we will be delighted to attend you.

Yours faithfully,

Natalia Bravo de Laguna
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,604)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,898 - 2,904 of 6,604 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2014

We stayed at the Sandos Papagayo Arena on a Jet 2 package from 4th - 11th March and we found the experience to be much better than we had expected based on our our experiences in the 5* Sandos San Blas, Tenerife last year. We knew that we would likely be the last off the bus from the airport and this proved to be the case 1 hour and 10 minutes after leaving the airport. The hotel entry and atrium were stunning and reception had us on our way to our room in Block G within five minutes with glasses of Cava in hand. The room could not have been easier to find and those who find their directions difficult must be wearing blinkers. The room, bathroom and balcony were very spacious and the balcony had the bonus of pool, sea and Fuertenventura views.We were also welcomed with a bottle of Cava on ice that was completely unexpected. Many have stated on here that the rooms are dated, possibly this is the case but they are very well maintained and ours was faultless.
We were given the option to dine in the French, Mexican, Italian and Oriental restaurants but we found that the standard and choice of the food in the main buffet restaurant was totally to our taste so we left the others alone in case of disappointment. The lunchtime salad buffet in the pool snack bar was also ideal and greatly varied with many local dishes. In both dining areas the food was regularly replenished and we certainly never saw any sign of the food being recycled in any shape or form.
The drinks were also of a good standard, Ballantynes whisky or J & B if preferred, Cruz Campo and Amstel beers and a varied choice of local brandies in the all inclusive drinks. Neither Ballantynes nor J & B would be sniffed at in my local. Unlike San Blas, it was a pleasure to be served beer in "adult" sized glasses in the main bars rather than silly little plastic cups. This also applies to the spirit measures which appeared to be rationed in San Blas. We had considered the Royal Elite option but are now pleased that we took the basic package that was "elite" enough for us.
We found the staff to be the friendliest that we have ever come across in any hotel that we have visited and were greeted everywhere with smiles and cheery "Olas" and "Buenos Dias" that we tried our best to reciprocate in our best pidgin Spanish albeit with Scottish west coast accents.
Will we return next year? Possibly but we now like the Sandos experience so much we might try the one in Benidorm for our winter break next year but if we find that Papagayo has become adult only we will have no hesitation in returning sooner.
Our seven days were up too soon and were first on the bus for the 1.5 hour haul back to the airport a journey that we felt was too long and no fault of the hotel. This was compensated for in the descent in to Glasgow at sunset when at 10,000 feet we were welcomed by our lovely Kintyre silhouetted against a golden backdrop of Gigha, Islay Jura and Colonsay, a truly magnificent sight after arid Lanzarote.

Room Tip: We think that any floor above ground level would suit most travellers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thebooler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subdireccion S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Dear thebooler,

Thank you very much for bringing us your feelings. We appreciate your comments and remarks and the trust you have placed on Sandos Hotels.
We look forward to welcome you again, here or in Benidorm...

Yours faithfully,
Natalia Bravo de Laguna
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We travelled as a party of four adults,looking for some winter sun away from the U.K. Check in was swift, with a drink of cava available whilst booking in. We were given adjoining rooms as requested via email, and the allocated ground floor rooms, Block B, were perfectly situated and facing the small pebbly beach. You could here the waves crashing whilst in the room which was nice. The bed was huge and comfortable and the room was adequate for our needs, with a daily cleaning service.The staff we met were all friendly, and polite, and were a credit to this hotel.

Food was plentiful, with enough choice for everyone, and there were small areas dotted around the hotel where you could make a snack in case you wanted something else. Most plates were piled high in the restaurant, a good indication of the food standards. Drinks were self service at meal times, and both the local lager and wine was nice.

The location meant no passing traffic and a walk to Playa Blanca and the nearby Rubicon marina was easy,and paved with a wide path that followed the coast, with sea views. The marina is so pretty and dotted with small restaurants and shops, and has a twice weekly market.

There were many areas to have drinks, and although the hotel was quite full towards the end of the holiday, seats could still be found in the bars. The entertainment was a bit mediocre, but this did in no way affect the quality of our holiday. We spent our evenings chatting with other guests and watching the sunset, from the relaxing rooftop lounge.

We would recommend this hotel to others, and hope to return next February for a relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: most rooms have sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynnian2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subdireccion S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Dear Lynnian2014,

Thank you very much for bringing us your feelings. We appreciate your comments and remarks and the trust you have placed on us.
We look forward to welcome you again.

Yours faithfully,
Natalia Bravo de Laguna
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Really enjoyed this hotel.Great location,lovely varied food options and very clean hotel and rooms.15mins walk to lovely beach.Walk another thirty and you will come to beautiful bar overlooking another sandy beach.Well worth the extra walk.Sea water chilly but nice.Only one heated pool but big enough for all.We were in block H room 1106.Bit close to entertainment at night although all quiet by eleven.loads of space in Rooney with lovely outlook from balcony.taxi into town 4 Euros without tip.Bikes 12Euros per day as you can ride into and beyond Playa Blanca.This takes about 40minutes or 15 to the marina on a lovely promenade.always lots of sun beds in all areas.Unlike Egypt or Turkey we always felt really safe and not hassled by anyone.all in all a great holiday and would recommend this hotel and this lovely undeveloped area.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Bluey1592
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subdireccion S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Dear Bluey1592,

We appreciate your comments and remarks and thank you for the trust you have placed on us.

Yours faithfully,
Natalia Bravo de Laguna
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Very good all inclusive. staff, room, food and drink all of a high standard. The location was ideal for the fit and active who like a long was to the marina or playa blanca. I would definetly recommend a visit.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank npelliot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subdireccion S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Dear ellio12345,

Thank you very much for bringing us your feelings.

We look forward to welcome you again.

Yours faithfully,
Natalia Bravo de Laguna
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

We stayed in this hotel at the end of febuary and had a very pleasant witer break. We stayed 7 nights and really couldn't find any faults with the running of the hotel or any of the facilities. I was there with my girlfriend and a couple of her family members.

On arrival we were allocated our room quickly by the friendly reception staff and greeted with a glass of Cava in reception which is always a nice gesture. The complex is quite large and it's easy to loose your way around it until you get used to being there. The room was very clean and tidy with plenty of storage space although my girlfriend noticed there was no hanging space for longer garments, until I realised that the shelves could be moved.

The food in the main restaurant was plentiful and varied, always plenty of choices on offer. We did make use of all the three themed restaurants throughout our weeks stay. All three were very good particualy the french restaurant which was more than worth the extra payment. Drinks were always readily available in the restauarants including Cava. The snack bar and pool bar were well organised and always kept supplied with nice snacks and drinks throughout the day.

The bars at the hotel could sometimes get a little busy and have queues forming but the staff were alert to this and soon sorted out the queues. The drinks on offer were of good quality and if you weren't satisfied with them you could always upgrade to 'Royal Elite' where you could have branded drinks and some other benifits, as i didn't take this option I'm not sure what they were. All the bar staff were very helpful and friendly.

I used the spa a couple of times which a pleasant change from just lying on a sunbed, which a this time of year there was no problem getting one.

Finally the hotel is the last one on 'the run' this was not a problem for me as I enjoyed the walk into Playa Blanca. There was a curtesy bus from the hotel into the centre of town and taxis were relatively inexpensive. Playa Blanca was a nice place with plenty of good bars and restaurants and a lot of shops.we discovered on the walk in along the the front another little place 'Rubicon Marina' which had some nice little bars to stop and have a drink before continuing your walk into Playa blanca or on the way back to the Sandos.

I would visit this hotel again as it has friendly and very helpful staff from reception down to the room maids and ground keeping staff. It's kept spotlessly clean also.

Room Tip: All rooms have either a pool or seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank terryjohnson58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subdireccion S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Dear terryjohnson58,

Thank you very much for your kind words. We will keep on working hard to improve in all aspects in order to make your stay unforgettable.
We hope to see you again in the near future.

Yours faithfully,
Natalia Bravo de Laguna
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We have just returned from 11 nights here and we all had a fantastic time. Hotel is very clean in all areas. Meals are varied, fresh and hot. Tables are cleared quickly and we never had a problem getting a table. Plenty of space to soak up the sun and sun beds always available. Hotel is in a great location between the papagayo beaches and resort. Lovely walk along the prom to the marina for a stroll or continue to the main resort centre if your feeling more energetic. A great hotel in great location, would be very happy to return.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
4  Thank LincsSophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subdireccion S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Dear LincsSoph,

Thank you very much for your kind words. We will keep on working hard to improve in all aspects in order to make your stay unforgettable.
We hope to see you again in the near future.

Yours faithfully,
Natalia Bravo de Laguna
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Blanca
0.1 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun
1.5 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
0.8 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#6 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3,875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
1.7 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#15 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,376 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
5,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort

Address: Calle Las Acacias, no 6 | Playa Las Coloradas, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Blanca
#3 Green Hotel in Playa Blanca
#6 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#7 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
#8 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range: $176 - $364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 488
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort All Inclusive is located on the seafront in Playa Blanca, Lanzarote. The hotel is close to beaches of the Papagayo Natural Park (600m). The Timanfaya National Park is 20 km away. The rooms are spacious and bright, with a balcony with views, bathroom with hairdryer, satellite TV with international channels. Each room provides a safety deposit box (supplement charge). The complex provides four outside pools, gym, minigolf and sports center, plus spa, sauna and steam bath. It also has eight bars, a disco and a snack bar, as well as a few restaurants: - International Restaurant - Italian Restaurant - Fusion Restaurant: Alternately Mexican/Oriental Nights The front desk is 24 hour manned and has a tourist information including car rental and tour services. The hotel provides free Wi-Fi in public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandos Papagayo Arena Beach Hotel
Papagayo Arena Lanzarote
Papagayo Arena Resort
Hotel Papagayo Arena
Papagayo Arena Hotel Lanzarote
Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing