We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2nd visit and just keeps getting better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort
Ranked #7 of 38 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
County Durham
Level Contributor
130 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“2nd visit and just keeps getting better”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Stayed with my husband last two weeks in november. We love this hotel and it was our second visit. It is a big complex but at that time of year never feels busy. Views are just stunning. It is a good walk into town along the lovely promenade but there is something different around every corner. We stayed in c block which is very quiet as you don't get the noise from the pool area during the day.

Free bus into town.

The food is varied and good quality at every meal. I never had the same meal twice in two weeks. Since our last visit the Mexican restaurant and chill out terrace have been added. The mexican restaurant is converted from the pool snack bar on an evening. This was also excellent and a very varied selection. The Chinese restaurant is also worth a visit. The chill out terrace has lovely views and a nice place to sit for an early evening drink.

The hotel is spotlessly clean.

All staff are friendly and good at their jobs, down to good management, but in particular we found our maid Sandra, Victor, Frika and Theresa from the Green Bar and mariesol from the Mexican restaurant to be very polite, efficient and friendly.

wifi doesn't have any coverage in the rooms but ok in all public areas.

Free use of the spa, gym and towels.

If there was one criticism it would be that there is just no outside space where non-smokers can relax without breathing in smoke. There is a very small area on the canarian bar balcony which is designated non -smoking but no one obeys this rule. Even the chillout terrace, which is huge, could be segregated very easily.

Still a fabulous, well run hotel though and we will return.

Room Tip: A, B & c blocks are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank happyholidaymaker48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,122
    2,202
    656
    158
    71
See reviews for
2,284
2,907
68
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,809)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Just got back from the Sandos Papagayo Arena. Stayed 9th to 21st November 13. Travelled with Jet2 which we found to be excellent. We have been many times before and find the hotel suits our needs perfectly. Excellent quality of food, very pleasent staff, good entertainment, great animation team and the hotel is well placed for a relaxing holiday. It was my birthday whilst we were there and the hotel sent a bottle of bubbly and a card to the room on the actual day. Very nice touch we thought and we would like to thank the management for this gesture. We emailed beforehand asking for a certain room location and this was provided as per our request. In our opinion the rooms in blocks B or C are the best with the great sea views. The only downside as far as we are concerned was the gym, my husband visited this everyday but did say it was in need of an upgrade as a lot of the equipment was broken or faulty.
Tip, The shuttle service from the airport always drops off last and picks up first from this hotel so the transfer can be quite long. A taxi is 40 euoro's each way and worht the expense.
We will certainly return as this hotel is like a home from home.

Room Tip: Rooms in B or C block have fantastic sea views, try to get a room here on the 5th or 6th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ManchesterLorna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for the 1st week of November. I chose this hotel because of the excellent reviews. When we arrived we were not disappointed. The hotel is at the end of the resort and it would take about 45 mins to an hour to walk to the centre but we took taxis to the centre several times. We were charged between 3.5 and 5 euros each way and it took around 5 mins. It was lovely and peaceful on our balcony though being at the end of the resort as no one had to walk by on the promenade. The hotel is large and it does take a day or two until you get to know your way around but you are given a map upon arrival. Some reviews say that people were getting lost. You couldn't get lost as all of the bars,restaurants and communal areas are together but you might get out of the lifts on the wrong floor so you just needed to go up or down a floor for the first few days until you work out how the floors are numbered. Our room was fantastic. Large bathroom with power shower,double wash hand basin and seperate toilet and bidet area. Vanity area with hairdryer, two double wardrobes (not many hangers) king size bed (very comfortable) fridge, TV (only a couple of English channels) and sofa bed. The rooms were kept spotlessly clean and towels were replaced when you wanted them. You get towels in the room and you get towels for the pool from the spa so you only need to pack towels for the beach. We were in C block and were right on the seafront with stunning views. The beach in front of the hotel is shingle and pebble but there were plenty of people swimming everyday. The pool areas were busy but there was always room and most people were sunbathing so the pools were not busy.The water was cold but once you were in and swimming the temperature was ok. The pool bar was great with all inclusive drinks and frozen cocktails and ice creams available along with peanuts etc.The snack bar is a godsend if you want a bite to eat at lunch and don't want to get dressed for the restaurant. You just had to cover your swimwear and men had to wear a tshirt to enter.There was always plenty of choice, hot and cold dishes available and self serve lager, wine and soft drinks plus a coffee machine. We did use the snack bar quite a few times at night as well and stopped off for a last drink on the way back to our room once the all inclusive drinks had finished. There is a shop in the hotel that sells swimwear, sarongs, sunglasses and lots of souvenirs. You can also get a newspaper, magazines and some basic toiletries and suncreams etc from here. There is a supermarket a couple of minutes walk away from the hotel if you need anything but the nearest chemist is in Playa Blanca.There are several bars and we used most of them. The chill out terrace bar is lovely and the views are fantastic when Playa Blanca is lit up at night. We also met our friends before dinner each night at the Canarian bar. There is a lovely terrace that gets the sun for most of the day and you get a great view of the sunset from here. The restaurants are large and spacious and the staff work really hard to keep everything running smoothly. At breakfast, lunch and dinner there was always plenty to chose from. Apart from breakfast (where I had a cheese omelette every morning as they were delicious) I didn't have the same thing twice. The paellas were lovely and pork, chicken, duck, veal and steaks etc were cooked in front of you. There were several fish dishes and vegetarian dishes available each night. The Italian side of the restaurant was always quieter so we got a table in here and then you can walk between the two and chose your food. There were always lots of nice pizzas and pasta dishes available and the chef would also cook to order for you. Again there were drink stations in the restaurant for lager,wine and soft drinks.We also booked in the Mexican restaurant which is in the snack bar at night.We booked a few days after we arrived and then had to wait a few days for our reservation so as all of the other reviews state you will need to book upon arrival. We would have booked in at the Mexican again if we would have had time. Men can wear tailored shorts or three quarter trousers in the restaurant. The sign says no tracksuits, swimwear and swimshorts and no vest tops for men. The staff at the hotel were very friendly and worked really hard to keep everywhere immaculate and everyone happy. The only thing that I could pick fault with is that there were a few broken tiles around the pool areas but how big the pool areas were they would be hard to come across. I think that this hotel is excellent value for money and I would definitely return again for an all inclusive, relaxing week in the sun.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank gurnsmrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

This was my second visit with family and with some friends. I like the spaciousness of the resort, the choice and quality of food. The rooms are a very good size with views out to sea. We stayed in the block furthest from reception and always find it quiet and relaxing.
Plenty of Spanish on holiday here, always a good sign. There is a lovely long walk along the promenade towards the marina at Playa Blanca with stunning views across the sea towards Fueteventura.
My only negatives would be, some of the areas by the pool need some TLC, broken tiles and in particular the football pitch (outdoor court area) desperately need work to repair fencing etc as its dangerously spikey when children and adults are running into it during some 'world tournament' football matches!
The evening animation is very amateur but the really little children like it but it does start very late. Can't fault the efforts if the animation team by day and they aren't pushy only trying to be inclusionary:-)
We will be back as the day flights are perfect and transfers smooth and the welcome glass if Cava is appreciated.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BourneSharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Lovely hotel, spotlessly clean, we hired a kettle to have a cup of tea when we woke and you could help yourself to tea bags/coffee/sugar from the bar which opened at 9.30 a.m but they would not give a jug for milk just a plastic cup which was fine till we found the supermarket. It is easier to go down the hill out the front of the hotel and follow road round to the left to reach the supermarket. The entertainment was not too great to be honest,basic to say the least.The food was not that good in my opinion,except the snack bar-- I always found something half decent there, the mackerel on the salad bar was lovely another day they put on fried chicken in breadcrumb-lovely.On 1 of the evenings we decided to go into Playa Blanca for dinner and found a wonderful restaurant called ASIA, delicious food.

Room Tip: Bed and breakfast may be a better option here.Ask for a room in the main building if you can,we were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edmarsnedd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subdireccion S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Dear edmarsnedd,

We appreciate all your comments. We will keep on working hard to improve in all aspects in order to make your stay unforgettable.

We remain at your disposal for anything you need.

Yours faithfully,
Natalia Bravo de Laguna
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
66 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

A very nice hotel, very clean, good food and service. Altough the hotel is located as far out of Playa Blanca as you can get we found it perfect. The town is a pleasant walk if you turn right out of the back of the hotel whilst the lovely sandy coves are to your left! Enjoyed our stay and would happily return.

Room Tip: Blocks A-D are in the fron with sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StevePu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We loved our week stay at the Papagayo Arena (not sure what the correct name is!).
We had a room overlooking the pools and the sea beyond, absolutely lovely. The hotel and our room were always very clean. We found all the meals excellent, the wines good, considering they were limitless. We cannot comment on the bars, as we did not use them, we drink very little. We found the meals varied, we could always find something new and nice to try, the ice creams were delicious. However, we ate at the Chinese restaurant, it was not worth it, and the Mexican which was slightly better, but just.
The vast majority of staff were lovely, the cleaners very friendly and efficient.
The only things the hotel could improve on is the free wifi which is only available near the reception area (either on the same level or the other levels), and an iron and ironing board in the room.
You might think we are easy to please, but we have stayed in 5 star hotels round the world, so we know what we are talking about. For a 4 star hotel, it is very very good. I have stayed previously on business at the Melia Las Salinas in Costa Teguise, although the food was excellent there, I much prefer the Sandos, the staff is so much better.
We will be back!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank strtchrst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa Blanca hotels
1.5 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
0.2 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
0.8 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#6 of 38 in Playa Blanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#13 of 38 in Playa Blanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,963 reviews
1.5 mi away
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
#8 of 38 in Playa Blanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,554 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort

Property: Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort
Address: Calle Las Acacias, no 6 | Playa Las Coloradas, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Blanca
#3 Green Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#6 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
#6 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
#8 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 488
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort All Inclusive is located on the seafront in Playa Blanca, Lanzarote. The hotel is close to beaches of the Papagayo Natural Park (600m). The Timanfaya National Park is 20 km away. The rooms are spacious and bright, with a balcony with views, bathroom with hairdryer, satellite TV with international channels. Each room provides a safety deposit box (supplement charge). The complex provides four outside pools, gym, minigolf and sports center, plus spa, sauna and steam bath. It also has eight bars, a disco and a snack bar, as well as a few restaurants: - International Restaurant - Italian Restaurant - Fusion Restaurant: Alternately Mexican/Oriental Nights The front desk is 24 hour manned and has a tourist information including car rental and tour services. The hotel provides free Wi-Fi in public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TravelUp, Expedia, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandos Papagayo Arena Beach Hotel
Papagayo Arena Lanzarote
Papagayo Arena Resort
Hotel Papagayo Arena
Papagayo Arena Hotel Lanzarote
Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing