We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort
Ranked #7 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
East Yorks, UK
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A great holiday”
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from this hotel after a great half term break.
We went Royal Elite & we definitely felt it was worth the extra for the good breakfast room and especially for the lounge with premium drinks.
Meals - what you expect from this sort of all inclusive. The food was good quality, hot and always plenty to choose from. Only downside is the large, busy restaurant but it didn't bother us much. Really enjoyed the Mexican and Oriental - book early though!!
Pools, hotel etc - very clean and well maintained.
Best bit is being so close to the sea. It's great to sit on your balcony or open the doors in the morning and look straight out at the sea with views of Fuerteventura.
We shall definitely be going back !!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank colleensportster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subdireccion S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear,

Thank you very much for bringing us your feelings. We appreciate your comments and remarks and the trust you have placed on us.
We look forward to welcome you again.

Yours faithfully,
Carlos Vera
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,220
    2,267
    667
    161
    77
See reviews for
2,336
3,018
71
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,851)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Westhoughton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We stayed here in January 2013. First impressions were not good, check in took ages, although there were only 2 groups in front of us at the desk. Finally checked in, given our room key, and directed in the general direction of our room, had to tote our own luggage!!! Where was the bellboy? Not what we are used to.

The room was ok when we eventually found it, nice sea view, but as we had upgraded to 'privilege', we were expecting that. Plaster was coming away from the wall on the corridor outside our room, and had fallen onto the
floor. It was still there 2 weeks later when we checked out!

We thought that the buffet restaurant resembled a canteen, and it seemed very understaffed. Tables were very close together, and it was difficult to get around, especially whilst carrying plates of food. The food was usually overcooked, and meats were very dry, vegetables overcooked, and salads dull and uninspiring. As we were 'privilege' guests, we were permitted to take breakfast in a separate dining room, which made a pleasant change from the canteen.

There were 2 a la carte restaurants at the hotel Chinese & Mexican, and we ate in both. However, these were not waiter service, which is what I would normally expect from a la carte, and the food was not great, although not so much of a 'bun fight' as the main dining room.

Drinks were branded, but only for 'privilege' guests, and could only be got from the 'privilege' bar, and you were not allowed to take them out, so if you wanted to watch the entertainment, you had to have local drinks from the other bar.

There was no private beach to the hotel. The sun beds were very tired, and the drinks tables around the pool area were filthy, and we never saw anyone cleaning them during our stay. The sunbeds too, were never cleaned, and there were broken tiles all over the sunbathing areas. Although we never sat by the main pool, where the entertainment took place, the PA system was deafening all around the other pools, and we found the noise very intrusive.

We like to keep active on holiday, and were pleased that the hotel had a fitness centre. However, facilities here were very limited, and tired and we struggled to get a good workout. Also there was no supervision in the gym, which we felt was a safety issue.

To sum up, we felt that the extra money we paid for the 'privilege' facilities at this hotel was not worth it. We do not rate this hotel as 4*, and will never return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Almondson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subdireccion S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Almondson,

We are very sorry to hear your comments about your stay. We also regret not being the hotel you expected.

Yours faithfully,
Carlos Vera.
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Having just spent a week at this hotel and we had an amazing holiday. Myself, my partner and his daughter went to this hotel for the October half term, after reading some of the reviews I was a little bit dubious when booking. However, I am not sure where some of these people have been staying! The food was fantastic with plenty of choice for each meal. We ate in all of the restaurants included in the all inclusive package, the food in all restaurants was very good. The hotel was extremely clean and the staff are very friendly. What's nice about the hotel is you don't get pestered and you are left alone. My only criticisms are the gym is very small with no air conditioning and parts of the hotel around the pool area are a little bit shabby, this might be what makes it a 4* over a 5*. I would recommend this hotel if you want a relaxing holiday in a nice quiet location away from the stereo typical Brits abroad that you sometimes get in Spain!

I can't comment on room service as we didn't use it.

Room Tip: We asked for a sea view room and we got it
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank helen_r_smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subdireccion S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear helen_r_smith,

We are happy to know that you spent a pleasant holiday. We thank you for choosing this hotel and send you our best regards.

Carlos Vera. Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

We'd gone for a sunny relaxing weeks break around half term - it met all our hopes and expectations.
Prompt friendly reception meant a quick arrival to an excellent room. Large room(ours had a lounge area too), good view of the coast and hills, massive firm bed(bigger than queen), loads of storage space, nice patio area and bathroom - clean and pleasant.
Worries about it being a big hotel quickly disappeared as did some of the concerns we'd seen on tripadvisor. We got a sun bed every day even though we didn't always go for one straight away. We tended to go on a patio area as it left the cold pools to those with kids - it was also convenient for bars, loos and dining room. Lots of pools, all nice. The weather was much better at the end of October than we'd expected. Didn't need half the clothes we'd taken. Food and drinks options were many and all good. Soft drinks or alcoholic ones were available widely which made it easy and only the odd and smallish queues. Beer could be serve yourself or get a cocktail or short and mixer from the bars or a non-alcoholic one from the bar or DIY. Lots of snack options thru the day from nibbles to burgers etc.
The place is massive/cavernous but dead easy to navigate. It's well layed out and well signposted. Lots of blocks and floors so the first thing to get your head around is what was on which floor and then workout which floor you were actually on at any time. Free wifi was good when you could get it. Mid dining room was ok, but many communal areas were poorly covered.
Meals were all excellent. Lots of choices, so getting a good different meal was down to personal choice. If something looked nice but wasn't, then go find something that was nice. We tended to go in the Italian as it was quieter and at lunchtime you could easily get a freshly cooked pasta dish (choice of 3 pastas and 3 sauces varied daily) whereas there was a queue at evening meal. Wine and beer and soft drinks on tap - all drinkable. Good range of fresh salad things. The soup was always disappointing. I usually have it at hotels like this and they did have a choice of 3 - all naff, too salty, thick or thin. Lots of ripe fresh fruit. The staff were like good referees, you knew they were there but they were largely invisible as they religiously cleared plates (odd times a touch too keen to clear, which is the right way to be). I regularly ate the freshly cooked fish options as they were outstandingly good. Overall there was just so much choice of freshly presented/prepared food. Specialty restaurants were excellent - book early to avoid disappointment - it was nice to have something completely different like say the buffet style Mexican.
We also went in the sauna/spa area which was good rather than excellent. Typically not too busy, the steam room was ok if you sat up on the seat surrounds, sauna excellent, but the jacuzzi's were only warm. The walk to town was 1 to 1.5 hours depending on whether you stepped out or ambled. Lots to see on the way and it was a lovely walk. The marina is much nearer. The market there is 'nice'. Lots of interesting home craft things and lots of tack, but mostly stuff that you'd wonder why you bought it, or the recipient would. It was also more expensive than local shops for same priced things - e.g. Some clever felt pens were €10 but half that in a local shop. Hiring bikes was easy and means you can cover a much larger area. We also walked to the local beaches the hilly side of the hotel. They were in easy reach (15-50 mins) with mostly easy walking and really nice, if a bit windy and exposed. There were naturists lurking round some. Personally I don't see much advantage is upgrading. We could always find a seat by a bar (chill, green, whatever) and could easily get a drink and watch the sun go down.
Entertainment was bit hit and miss. It seemed to alternate. Good acrobatic acts, reasonable magician interleaved with weak house entertainers poor lip-synching to We will rock you, Lion king or Glee(they tried hard). We had a bottle of water and got one in the room first day and didn't need any more while we walked around most days. We enjoyed a week and it felt about right for the place for us and yes, we'd go back again as we really enjoyed it.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank johnboySheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

It was our first 'Sun' holiday abroad and we had this hotel recommended to us by our Travel agent. We can only praise them for selecting such a beautiful resort. It was an amazing experience and a very restful holiday. Everything about the hotel was excellent. Our room was beautiful & roomy with gorgeous sea views, everywhere was kept brilliantly clean. All the staff were so friendly and helpful no matter where we went. The food was excellent with so much selection. We would highly recommend this resort to anyone - couples, families - anyone!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MerriS2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We visited the hotel at the end of September to beginning of October.
The reception staff were excellent and told us everything we needed to know.
I had emailed the hotel to upgrade to elite service(which we paid on arrival) and also ask for rooms together as we were a party of seven adults and a 2 year old. We were in the next rooms on C floor and our daughter and her husband were in a junior suite on D floor just down the corridor from us. Everything we asked for was given to us. If you can't book the elite service with your travel company(as happened with a single booking) it is worth e-mailing the hotel with your request.
This was our first time on all inclusive and we were not sure what to expect.
We were glad we had upgraded to Elite as we were able to go in a separate
restaurant for breakfast which was quieter and coffee tea and fresh orange juice served by the staff. What a pleasure it was to meet Anabel and the rest of the staff they were so polite and friendly. We also went into the Elite lounge where you could help yourself to drinks and food on an evening and during the day
The Elite lounge could have been bigger as some nights you could not get a seat)
.
In our rooms on arrival the mini bar was filled with drinks (free) and water and tea coffee etc were refilled every day. A bottle of cava upon arrival. The rooms were cleaned every day to a high standard.
We went in the International and Italian restaurant most nights, but also tried the Mexican and Chinese(the latter twice) We went into the snack bar at lunchtime.
The food is good with plenty of variety. The Italian food was cooked to order and was lovely.
We found that people were saving beds (notices everywhere) but we went to the bottom baby pool and found a bed most days, even though some days it was
after dinner when we got back. I do think that it would be better with more parasols as there are a lot of sun beds without any shade at all especially on the bottom terraces. It might be hard to find a sunbed in the school holidays.
As a lot of people have said it is a big hotel and very confusing at first getting about
but after a few days you do get the hang of it,
All inclusive was good especially for our grandchild as she could just go and get some fruit and a drink when she needed it.
All in all we had a really good family holiday, all the staff were very friendly and helpful. I did see on a previous review someone complaining about children in the elite lounge if you have paid for this service you are perfectly entitled to this service and after all it is a hotel that children go to!

My daughter realised on the flight home that she had left her fleece and I emailed the hotel and Sergio replied and I paid the postage and they returned it to my home.
We did go on a trip to the volcanoes, walked into Playa Blanca, the Marina nearly every day. Visited the market which has some nice things. A walk to the beaches
at the side of the hotel is lovely, but no toilets cafes shade etc. Take a drink with you. beautiful sand. We did go on the beach outside the hotel and went in the sea
a bit pebbly.
We went out for a meal one night to El Mirador restaurant at the Marina, which was wonderful. We were lucky as the weather was very good all the ten days.

Would we go again the concensus of opinion is probably yes but not in the school holidays.
I can see that when people have children it is certainly cheaper to go all inclusive
just for drinks as we didn't spend any money and you know how much you are going to spend.

Room Tip: C and D floor a beautiful view and very large balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Couple46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ebbw Vale, South Wales
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed at Papagayo from 6th October. We were a group of six adults. The rooms are spacious and airy. The beds were firm to say the least. There is lots of storage space. There is a fridge in the room but there are no mini bar items in it. Water is an issue. The first bottle of water is in the fridge on arrival but afterwards it has to be filled from water coolers about the resort.
There are no waiters at all. In the restaurants all food is buffet service even in the a la carte restaurants.
The food is good and there is plenty of variety. The house wine is fair. The main buffet is very varied and there was always something being cooked or carved to make a good meal.
The Italian restaurant links to the main international buffet and is readily accessible.
The pools are lovely. There were plenty of sunbeds. We spent very pleasant days in the sun, as the weather was lovely, a bit cloudy the first few days but this gave us a chance to acclimatise.
There is a local market on the Wednesday and Saturday. The hotel provides a bus to the market and town. It was very reasonable to take a taxi too.
We visited the volcano and the caves. We hired a vehicle to do our own trip. It was cost effective for six of us to travel under our own steam.
To summarise, the hotel is very good. It is clean and pleasant. The views from the hotel are quite beautiful. We had a lovely holiday and can recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: the rooms overlooking the pool were lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ChrisandMikeEbbwVale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Blanca
1.5 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
0.2 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
0.8 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#6 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3,771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
4,740 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
1.7 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#13 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort

Property: Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort
Address: Calle Las Acacias, no 6 | Playa Las Coloradas, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Blanca
#3 Green Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#6 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
#6 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
#8 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 488
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort All Inclusive is located on the seafront in Playa Blanca, Lanzarote. The hotel is close to beaches of the Papagayo Natural Park (600m). The Timanfaya National Park is 20 km away. The rooms are spacious and bright, with a balcony with views, bathroom with hairdryer, satellite TV with international channels. Each room provides a safety deposit box (supplement charge). The complex provides four outside pools, gym, minigolf and sports center, plus spa, sauna and steam bath. It also has eight bars, a disco and a snack bar, as well as a few restaurants: - International Restaurant - Italian Restaurant - Fusion Restaurant: Alternately Mexican/Oriental Nights The front desk is 24 hour manned and has a tourist information including car rental and tour services. The hotel provides free Wi-Fi in public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandos Papagayo Arena Beach Hotel
Papagayo Arena Lanzarote
Papagayo Arena Resort
Hotel Papagayo Arena
Papagayo Arena Hotel Lanzarote
Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing