We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vamos a la Playa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort
Ranked #7 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Lucerne, Luzern, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Vamos a la Playa”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

the facade of the 4 star hotel resort will promise you a vacation time full of excitement and good times.we stayed their for 11 days and 10 nights and we actually ran out of things to do.the first days we stayed in our hotel and later on walked on the nearby beaches.the food was great,it has international buffet and italian buffet and you need to book for the oriental and the mexican restaurants 24 hrs prior to the said date. the staff is friendly and because we have an all inclusive package,we had free flow of alcohol drinks. we rented a car to explore the whole island of Lanzarore,had a Camello ride,go kart racing and we also tried authentic Paella outside the hotel.
it was a very nice and memorable 3rd yr wedding anniversary so far.we made a good choice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mhitchz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subdireccion S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Mhitchz S,

We really appreciate your kind words and look forward to see you again in the near future.

Yours faithfully,

Natalia Bravo de Laguna
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,241
    2,282
    669
    164
    78
See reviews for
2,359
3,031
71
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,863)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 2 weeks. It was a wonderfull holiday. The hotel is beautiful and the staff is so friendly. The best thing was the animation team. They worked so much and were still smiling. My dauchter loved the animation. They were really good for her in the miniclub and also with the activities at the pool. She loved the game called sjoelen. The animation shows were so good and my daughter was crying when we had to leave. She had a wonderfull stay because of the animationteam and thats making me and my husband really happy. I also want to say that the staff in the disco are lovely. Our holiday was fantastic and we will come back next year!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cactuskatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subdireccion S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear cactuskatie,

We appreciate your comments and remarks and thank you for the trust you have placed on us.
We look forward to welcome you again.

Best Regards,

Natalia Bravo de Laguna
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 8, 2013

I went to this hotel in July with my husband and 3 children. I have one word for this holiday: amazing! The hotel is lovely and all the staff was incredibly friendly. We loved the Italian restaurant and the chill out bar. What most impressed me was how hard the animation team worked to make our holiday special! My kids want to go back just because of these lovely people! They loved the shows and I couldn't get my little one away from the mini club. My son from 8 was totally in love with the girls. I also want to mention how great the staff in the Canarian bar is. We're definitely coming back to this place!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Englishpanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subdireccion S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear Englishpanda,

Thank you very much for your kind words. We will keep on working hard to improve in all aspects in order to make your stay unforgettable.
We hope to see you again in the near future.

Yours faithfully,
Natalia Bravo de Laguna
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 7, 2013

The position of the hotel is perfect,and the building too. All the staff was lovely,what most impress us was the animation team!!!! Working insanely everyday always smiling...That's what i really appreaciated,stay in a holiday place with people that always are happy and smiling...Definetly we will be back

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bello d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subdireccion S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear bello d,

Thank you very much for bringing us your feelings. We appreciate your comments and remarks and the trust you have placed on us.
We look forward to welcome you again.

Yours faithfully,
Natalia Bravo de Laguna
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2013

We booked last minute, having had to cancel a holiday booked for early August. We have never tried All Inclusive, images of queues for food, drinks, loungers etc. however, this wasn't the case.

The International Restaurant was awful though, we arrived late the first night and it resembled McDonalds rather than a restaurant. The glasses stacked near the beer/wine etc weren't very clean, so I used the plastic disposable ones. I didn't find this a problem elsewhere in the hotel.

Things looked better the next day. We found out by the second night the adjacent Italian is much better, more like a restaurant. You can get food from the International and eat it in the Italian. Be prepared for the mayhem in the International, people rushing around as if the haven't been fed for a week, no manners whatsoever.

The Chinese wasn't very nice and the Chinese waitress would not let us sit near the window, she said the tables near the window were for 2 people only. Whilst we were eating a family of 5 came in, yes, she seated them on a table next to the window!!

The snack bar was very good, a wide selection and changed regularly.

We had booked the Elite service, which was worth the money and included the safe, which was otherwise £30. There was a separate breakfast area, which I can't fault. More civilised and staff were pleasant, especially Alfonso and Annabel who were very friendly. Would have liked back bacon, but when in Spain! The elite lounge was excellent, imagine it would be busy in peak weeks though, as quite small for the size of the hotel. You helped yourself to premium drinks, bottles of water, soft drinks, snacks etc during the day. In the evening there was a barman.

The choice of pools was very good. Always sun beds, but we were just outside peak weeks and the hotel wasn't full. You had to be up by 10 to get shade, probably much earlier at the beginning of August. A pool was closed one day and so the large pool was very busy, I had to carry a lounger half way round the pool which was a struggle, the SOS guy just stood and watched me struggle, not 4 star service!!

Rooms were nice and clean. We were block C with a great view, would have liked the floor above though, the people above us for the second half of our stay were noisy, so I didn't sleep well. As the hotel was probably less than half full they could have spread people around a bit more. They provide candles in the bathroom, but no matches, ask at reception, they will tell you to buy your own!

The safe blocked one day, but the man came to open it within 30 minutes. The air conditioning worked well in our room and was needed.

The walk to Papagayo Beach is worth it, very nice. No facilities, but a man comes with a van to sell drinks.

The hotel is in a very pleasant location, but rather isolated, there is nowhere for a stroll after your evening meal. A week would probably be enough, as there are limited things to do in the evening. The entertainment isn't very good. The evening show starts at 10 and lasts 30 to 45 minutes. The magician was very good and the entertainment team put on a good show on one night, but the other nights were a bit poor.

I wasn't impressed with the daytime entertainment for kids, not enough pool based activities and they were quite impersonal with the kids. There were adult only pool games! I thought this was odd and they should have been family games. I doubt many adults book a holiday looking for someone to keep them occupied in the day, more for kids I would have thought.

There were pool tables etc, €1 per game. The games area on the ground floor was a bit dingy for a 4 star, the equipment wasn't in good condition. Maybe they need to reinvest all the €1s in equipment.

A bottle of Cava was left in our room on my birthday with a note wishing me a happy birthday, that was a nice touch and very much appreciated.

Overall a good experience. A bit more effort is required from some staff to make this a truly 4 star experience. More staff like Alfonso, Annabel and the lady who refreshed the drinks in our room/left chocolates etc (sorry didn't see name tag).

Wouldn't rule out visiting again, but only with the elite option. Would probably try somewhere that offers the elite service as their standard benchmark though.

Room Tip: Book the Elite service if you can. Otherwise, book a sea view room if possible, otherwise pool view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 1LizT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subdireccion S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear 1LizT,

We appreciate your comments and remarks and look forward to see you again in the near future.

Yours faithfully,

Natalia Bravo de Laguna
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We have been visiting the Papagayo now since 2007 and have been every year since from 7 days to 14 days.

The hotel is lovely and clean and the staff are always very friendly.

We enjoy sitting around any of the pools but in the winter months you do need to be by the heated pools if you want to swim. The bar is placed in the middle of all the pools so never far to go and get a drink or something to eat.

Since we have been going we have seen improvments with the addition of the Mexican restaurant which is a real hit with our 9 year old and also the new bar outside on the roof top which is good for when the balcony is full and enjoy going here to watch the sun set and have a pre dinner drink.

The food as all inclusives can get repetative but if you book the mexican and the chinese for a couple of nights it does break it up. We also go into Playa Blanca and have a meal out at the local curry house. The pancakes are great in the afternoon and always handy being able to make toasted sandwiches in the all night cafe after a few drinks.

The entertainment staff have normally changed each time we go but are always very good and seem to enjoy there jobs. The evening entertainment is usually also very good and some we have seen often but still go - however we did miss the parrots last time.

We normally get a seaview on the ground floor and the reception staff are very good and if there is not one available will move you next day if possible if you want.

All in all I would recommend hotel we have done to friends you have also been back. Cant wait till our next visit.

Room Tip: A block and B block nice and quiet with views over the sea and away from pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lucinda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subdireccion S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear Lucinda S,

Thank you very much for bringing us your feelings. We appreciate your comments and remarks and the trust you have placed on us.
We look forward to welcome you again.

Yours faithfully,

Natalia Bravo de Laguna
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanzarote, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

I loved every minute. From the champagne reception, to the animation shows, to the day activities, to the chill out sun sets.
We had to inform the reception about my sons allergic reactions ti some types of food, and the sub director Carlos was very helpful, telling us to ask the head waiter iñaki and he will help us with all inquiries. They also cooked special breakfast for him. A truly wonderful experience. All the animation team were wonderful and treated my son so well. Defiantly going bk next year.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank beetroot432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Blanca
1.5 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
0.2 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
0.8 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#6 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3,789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
6.7 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
4,806 reviews
1.7 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#12 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort

Property: Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort
Address: Calle Las Acacias, no 6 | Playa Las Coloradas, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Playa Blanca
#3 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#6 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
#6 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
#8 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 488
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort All Inclusive is located on the seafront in Playa Blanca, Lanzarote. The hotel is close to beaches of the Papagayo Natural Park (600m). The Timanfaya National Park is 20 km away. The rooms are spacious and bright, with a balcony with views, bathroom with hairdryer, satellite TV with international channels. Each room provides a safety deposit box (supplement charge). The complex provides four outside pools, gym, minigolf and sports center, plus spa, sauna and steam bath. It also has eight bars, a disco and a snack bar, as well as a few restaurants: - International Restaurant - Italian Restaurant - Fusion Restaurant: Alternately Mexican/Oriental Nights The front desk is 24 hour manned and has a tourist information including car rental and tour services. The hotel provides free Wi-Fi in public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandos Papagayo Arena Beach Hotel
Papagayo Arena Lanzarote
Papagayo Arena Resort
Hotel Papagayo Arena
Papagayo Arena Hotel Lanzarote
Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing