We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd Visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 26, 2013

We visited the hotel for two weeks at the end of June as a family of 4 for our second stay at the Sandos. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and agree with previous reviews with regards to standard of food and drink being very good. Hotel was spotlessly clean and rooms cleaned to good standard everyday. We tried both the mexican and chinese and they were nice for a change from main restaurant. Our 2 kids enjoyed the evening entertainment and kids club and used this on most days with no issues. Thought that the animation team were really nice and very good with our children who were sad to leave them.

Possibly would be better for more staff to be on in the theatre bar as most nights there was only one person serving - or have self serve soft drinks and beer here? Reception staff - I found not very friendly or helpful although all other staff I found to very pleasant. There was an area fenced off at childrens pool as tiles were coming up but no work done on this for 2 weeks. Not keen in the photographers walking around taking pictures of children without asking permission and no explanation of what would happen to these pictures.

Anyway there are more positives than negatives and would certainly return for a 3rd visit in the future and would recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ScotGirl79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subdireccion S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear ScotGirl79,

Thanks for bringing your feelings. If you want to spend your next holidays in our hotel, we will be delighted to attend you.

Yours sincerely,

Natalia Bravo de Laguna
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,510)
There are newer reviews for Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,195 - 3,201 of 6,510 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Had a fantastic stay here from 28th June til 11th July '13 with my partner & two daughters aged 8 and 18months.

Although the hotel is huge and was full when we were there we definitely didn't feel it was crowded, although it was a bit difficult to get sunbeds by the pool towards the end of our stay. We had an amazing sea view from our room in block C which was lovely.

The food in the restaurants was excellent, we always managed to get something tasty. We particularly enjoyed the Mexican restaurant, and wish we'd booked it sooner.

The only slightly negative thing I could say about this hotel is regarding the evening entertainment. The nightly shows weren't of great quality and were aimed more at young children rather than adults or whole families. Our 8 year old loved them!

Finally, this is a real family friendly hotel and we hope to return in the near future.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subdireccion S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear Laura M,

Thank you very much for bringing us your feelings. We appreciate your comments and remarks and the trust you have placed on us.
We look forward to welcome you again.

Yours faithfully,
Natalia Bravo de Laguna
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Just returned from the Sandos Papagayo Arena Hotel. We stayed between 20th June and 4th July 2013. This was our 6th time to this hotel and as you can guess we think it offers excellent quality all round. We are a couple in our late 40's but have been going since the hotel was built in 2003. The food is of a fantastic quality, the staff are polite and very friendly and there is never any problems getting sunbeds. Yes if you choose to lie in bed until mid morning you may struggle getting your favorite place by the pool, but otherwise this is not an issue. The entertainment is a mixed bag to be honest, some very good, others not so. There are several bars, none of which get too crowded, there is a orderly queuing system so everyone waits their turn and there is non of the barging or pushing to the front.
The hotel is very well placed for the papagayo beach and there is a really nice walk along the coastal path from the door of the hotel right to the town centre, this is quite a walk but well worth the effort. All in all we can not fault the hotel in the main areas such as food, clenliness, location or staff. Already booked to go back in November. Well done Sandos !

Room Tip: Roos in C and D block have great ocean views.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ManchesterLorna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subdireccion S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2013

Dear ManchesterLorna,

Thank you very much for your kind words. We will keep on working hard to improve in all aspects in order to make your stay unforgettable.
We hope to see you again in the near future.

Yours faithfully,
Natalia Bravo de Laguna
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

we booked a week in this hotel from 21 to 28 april this year, this was the second time we had stayed here in 15 month. the hotel staff are brilliant and nothing is too much trouble for them. unfortunately whilst we were there my husband was admitted to hospital in arricefe for 4 days following a mini stroke, this was when we realised that the tour operator was absolutely useless, we were not the only ones who needed medical attention and found the rep to be of no use whatsoever. our holiday had to be extended by 4 days and the tour operator did nothing to assist us - no advise on the best way to reach the hospital, no assistance with sorting the hotel room for an extra 4 nights, no support at all, when we complained we were told by the reps superior that the support that the operator offered was a daily telephone call to see how my husband was - I am glad I am mid 50's and not in my 70's as had we been so I dread to think how we would have coped with what was a very stressful time. the hotel staff couldn't do enough to assist and the people we met during our week prior to my husbands illness were an absolute brick to me. we lodged a complaint in resort before we left to which we have had no response, I lodged a further 3 page letter of complaint on our return and received a 3 paragraph response which basically a fob off, I sent a further letter 38 days ago to which I have received no response again therefore tonight I have contact abta for them to take up the case, all we want is full detailed response as to where the operator went wrong as the fob off letter stated that the writer of it was very concerned as to the help and support we received and they have sent feed back to them, this is not good enough I want a reassurance that the resort team have been reprimanded and that this will not happen again to anyone else. I kind of get the feeling that the assistance we received is the norm but the operator will not confirm this.
the general advice we can give is don't bother lodging a complaint in resort - we were told by the staff in the agency when we got home that most reps do not forward these complaints but if you do lodge one make sure you follow it up when you get home and keep a photo copy of everything, I have and it will all be forwarded to ABTA tomorrow
at present we are reviewing our future as to whether we will use this operator again, my current feelings are there are many more operators out there and they possibly need me more than I need them,
finally - well done sandos papagayo beach resort staff for being there when we needed you, what a shame we cant say the same for Thomas Cook!!!!!, I have waited until now to forward this review in the hope that they would have done something to redeem themselves sadly this is not the case therefore I am submitting this now

Room Tip: high floor, blocks a b and c we cannot rate on the room service and spa as we did not use them
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Den757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subdireccion S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear Den757,

We appreciate very much all your comments and we are very sorry for what happened with your TTOO. We hope you to remeber just the good moments.

We look forward to welcome you again.

Yours faithfully,
Natalia Bravo de Laguna
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Just back from a brilliant two week stay at Sandos Lanzarote, never been before but cannot wait to go back. A slice of paradise with no long haul flight. The hotel is huge so never felt like it was crowded, it was clean and well maintained. Some reviews have said that the reception staff were rude, cant say that we got that feeling mind you we never really had to ask for much the odd time we did they were helpful. We are family of four, the kids had a great time at the pools as well as the snack bar copious amounts of ice cream, juice etc and it was safe for them to go off on their own to help themselves. We did book with Royal Elite Service which I totally recommend it was well worth the money. The private breakfast room was just great the staff were friendly, helpful and great with kids. Elite lounge was good kids had a ball there making their own drinks and using the computers and it was a lovely place for a few drinks before dinner. We stayed in D block one of the suites facing the sea, the room was very very clean the maid always made as feel special giving the kids extra sweeties and we were asked everyday if we wanted extra water, coffee etc. The food was very good like all other All Inclusive holidays you always get the samey feeling however there was plenty to choose from. Some reviews have said food was not good!! Well I disagree there was lots of different options and the food was high quality and the kids could help themselves to little or much as they wanted. Food was just perfect. For people who take All Inclusive options it should be of no surprise that sometimes you get the same things, however we felt having visited All Inclusive hotels in other countries that Sandos did it well, there was always enough to eat and a great choice and the dining room was very clean. Only down side was that you did have to be up very early to get a sunbed beside the pool, only issue no matter where you go you will always have this issue!! Mind you this was only to get beds by one of the pools there was no shortage of sunbeds. So would I recommend this hotel to a family...absolutely would, will I go back, oh yes..and it was sad having to leave!! My tips would be book this hotel now for next year, book the Royal Elite Service with a private taxi transfer too and from airport, you will have a stress free relaxing holiday, and if you can.... take a walk to the Marina. Well done Sandos Papagayo Lanzo!! We will be back.

Room Tip: We were in block D facing the sea, was really well placed lovely clean fresh corridor and close to p...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MoffatTribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subdireccion S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Dear MoffatTribe,

Thank you very much for your kind words. We will keep on working hard to improve in all aspects in order to make your stay unforgettable.
We hope to see you again in the near future.

Yours faithfully,
Natalia Bravo de Laguna
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Just returned from staying a week at this hotel.. Overall the hotel is pretty average but don't think I will return.

Good things:
Nice outside space, 3 large pools
Rooms cleaned to a high standard
Lovely view from our room, we were in block D
Nice location, only a 20 min walk to the marina and not far from some lovely beaches

Bad points
Horrible smell and black mould along the corridor in block D
Food was ok but very repetitive, we got bored of the food and went out for dinner a couple of times, the Mexican restaurant was nice the first time we went so we booked again, second time we went, 3 days later the food was exactly the same, would have been nice to have had something slightly different
Reception staff not very helpful during check in, Diana on reception was quite rude, didn't explain where our room was (the hotel is like a maze) and we walked around for ages, she also didn't explain where to get towels from, location of restaurants etc.. A little more guidance would have been useful.

We had a good week..

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lotte24_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subdireccion S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Dear Lotte24_13,

We appreciate very much all your comments and we are very sorry for not being able to satisfy your expectations. We will keep on working hard to improve our service.

Yours faithfully,
Natalia Bravo de Laguna
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We were a little apprehensive before travelling as we were worried hotel would be too big.

We travelled with Thomson but booked through Barrhead Travel - this was great as we got a much better deal. We chose the Royal Elite option which I would definitely recommend. If you hate the 'school canteen feel' of all inclusve resorts then you'll love the separate restaurant for breakfast.

We were initially allocated a room in H block which was actually pretty disappointing. We were moved a few days later to A block which was much better. (I read in one review that people had loungers on their balconies - this is definitely not standard.)

The rooms are pretty standard - not luxurious - but certainly more than adequate.

The pool areas are well kept.

The food is excellent! We were very surprised at the very high standard of the food and the amount of choice was amazing. Super for all of the family. There was a good selection of restaurants and bars. We generally used the Royal Elite Lounge, albeit it is like an airport executive lounge. It was a really nice place to escape to although it was really busy most of the time.

The walks to Rubicon Marina are a must - we loved the change of scene and we ate at Casa Roca a few times. There's also a lovely tapas bar on the sea front, and an excellent jazz bar where we had a superb evening listening to Lem from The Voice (who was holidaying there) and Lydia Louden.

We previously holidayed at Punta Prima in Menorca. Sandos Papagayo may not have such lovely grounds etc but the food was far superior.

Our kids are aged 10 and 6 and they had a ball - so overall a great family holiday.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MotherwellGirl42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subdireccion S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Dear MotherwellGirl42,

We appreciate your comments and remarks and thank you for the trust you have placed on us.
We look forward to welcome you again.

Best Regards,
Natalia Bravo de Laguna
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Blanca
1.5 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
0.1 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
0.8 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#6 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3,822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
6.7 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
4,924 reviews
1.7 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#14 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort

Address: Calle Las Acacias, no 6 | Playa Las Coloradas, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Playa Blanca
#3 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Blanca
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#6 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
#7 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
#8 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range: $180 - $366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 488
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort All Inclusive is located on the seafront in Playa Blanca, Lanzarote. The hotel is close to beaches of the Papagayo Natural Park (600m). The Timanfaya National Park is 20 km away. The rooms are spacious and bright, with a balcony with views, bathroom with hairdryer, satellite TV with international channels. Each room provides a safety deposit box (supplement charge). The complex provides four outside pools, gym, minigolf and sports center, plus spa, sauna and steam bath. It also has eight bars, a disco and a snack bar, as well as a few restaurants: - International Restaurant - Italian Restaurant - Fusion Restaurant: Alternately Mexican/Oriental Nights The front desk is 24 hour manned and has a tourist information including car rental and tour services. The hotel provides free Wi-Fi in public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandos Papagayo Arena Beach Hotel
Papagayo Arena Lanzarote
Papagayo Arena Resort
Hotel Papagayo Arena
Papagayo Arena Hotel Lanzarote
Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing