We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort
Ranked #7 of 38 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Greenock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Family holiday”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I Have just returned from this hotel with my family there were11 of of us 8 adults and 3 children. We had a wonderful time .It was my husband and I second time also my eldest daughter and one of my grandsons.It was a special holiday for our family my husband was retiering it was my daughter and her husbands 7 th Wedding Anniversary and 2 of my grandchildren were going to be starting school in August .When we arrived we stayed in Block B which was wonderful it had a lovely sea view. We also had been given a bottle of bubbly and a nice soap gift set these were in each of the 4 rooms we thought that to think that the hotel manager had arranged this for us was really nice each one of our family had a great time and loved everything about this hotel food, was great how clean it was and the childrens entertainment my 3 grandchildren had a ball they just loved Patricia from the kids club she is a credit to your hotel .We will definitly all be coming back to this hote lit was a fabulous holiday and i would recomend this to my friends.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margaret185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subdireccion S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear margaret185,

Thank you very much for your kind words. We will keep on working hard to improve in all aspects in order to make your stay unforgettable.
We hope to see you again in the near future.

Yours faithfully,
Natalia Bravo de Laguna
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,122
    2,202
    656
    158
    71
See reviews for
2,284
2,907
68
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,809)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
heighington village
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Just returned.had good time but a few things let this hotel down.public areas very clean.however where we sat by the quiet pool at the back of the snack bar was very dirty.tiles never cleaned stains all over.had lovely sea view room in c block'but had to clean own balcony table,no big deal I suppose.food was very good lots of choice meats well cooked.went to Chinese three t times,loved it,Mexican was OK.Chill out bar good idea but uncomfortable seats.entertainment was just for kids.quiet pool was the best the others had noisy music playing.overall we enjoyed the holiday as a couple but would not rush back as this is more a family hotel.went with jet 2 who we use a lot,was not impressed this time when I heard a stewardess swear to her colleague about a passenger.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bonniesbed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subdireccion S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear bonniesbed,

We appreciate all your comments and we are very sorry for not being able to satisfy your expectations. We will keep on working hard to improve our service.
We look forward to welcom you again.

Yours faithfully,
Natalia Bravo de Laguna
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a week here loved it hotel ace food good but some weird choices like rabbit stew and boar, staff give service with a smile will be going back next year, only bad points pools freezing which means they are empty most of the day this comes up time and time again on trip advisor, other thing late check out room not available which was a massive problem as we had a night flight, one Irish family of five reserving sun beds all day coming out at 3 or 4 o clock, winds bad and night times chilly which we wasn't expected, anybody who has booked this hotel lucky you. Most guests seemed very happy, royal elite worth the extra money as see view rooms great any questions feel free to email me

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank forest1208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subdireccion S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear forest1208,

Thank you very much for bringing us your feelings. We appreciate your comments and remarks and the trust you have placed on us.
Looking forward to welcome you again.

Yours faithfully,
Natalia Bravo de Laguna
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level Contributor
46 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Me and my wife just had a 9 Night All Inclusive stay and as we have stayed at a lot of AI hotels we are now getting a general idea what to look out for and the Sandos Papagayo certainly delivered nearly everything we could have expected ...First of all on arrival it has a Nice big Entrance/Lobby area, Cava/orange on ice in the entrance is a nice start. First thing you will notice when you get your room allocation is that all the rooms are on a negative floor.. i.e.. reception is 0(actually 9) and you go down in the lift to floor -2 and then down a a long corridor to another lift and then your at say block D ..get in the lift and your on floor 7 then go down to what ever floor your on...strange but you eventually get used to it.
The food at this hotel is superb ..Hand carved roast Beef/Pork, Steak..Pork. Fish shark ,tuna, salmon, sword fish etc. Chicken, Duck, fresh prawns, Piella. Rabbit. Pizza Pasta...all with show cooking the list is endless... .enjoy and wine and beer on free flow taps self serve
5 restaurant available.. Main and Italian are available every day.. Chinese/Mexican/French and bookable
Sunbeds...absolutely loads of sunbeds so never a need to reserve
Main blocks of rooms on sea front will all have sea view
Our room was in block D and it was a good size room with a 7ft by 7ft bed and sea view and was very clean but a little bit dull with brown wall and brown floor tiles but still a good room
The hotel offers a Free shuttle bus down to Playa Blanca and a taxi cost 4.5 Euros
The only thing we found a little bit poor was the way the bars around the complex close
eg..pool bar shuts at 6,45pm Snack bar shuts at 6.00pm to change into the Mexican restaurant..so if you want a drink thereafter you will have to go to the top floor bar(9) but most people probably just go back to their rooms and get changed for the evening. After your evening meal two bars are open.. top floor and green bar but they finish AI at eleven so if you want to have another drink after eleven you will have to join the queue at 10.45 and double up or go back down to the snack bar(which was the Mexican) and help yourself to beer and wine all night if you want.. strange
All the Staff are very hard working and friendly.
Towels for sunbeds are available on request
We would definetly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a good quality hotel with a nice relaxed atmosphere but the evenings can be a bit boring but for 4.5 euros its worth a trip down to playa blanca and just where the taxi drops you off just over the road is an irish bar that has some good entertainment on.

Room Tip: Avoid Block H rear..no sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shedstick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subdireccion S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear shedstick,

Thank you very much for bringing us your feelings. We appreciate your comments and remarks and the trust you have placed on us.
Looking forward to welcome you again.

Yours faithfully,
Natalia Bravo de Laguna
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed at this hotel and elected to go with the Royal Elite standard because of the additional facilities.
The exterior and interior of the reception (the Rotunda) were impressive. The interior on all levels was clean, bright and well maintained.
The reception desk staff were friendly, helpful and efficient as were all the staff we encountered during our stay.
Our accommodation was in A block, it clean, neat and tidy with views of the bay, surrounding coastline and Fuertenventura. There was a bottle of Cava on ice which very nice if you like it, we would have preferred a decent local medium sweet wine.
All the meals were well prepared and presented and the choice available was excellent. People have the choice to vary their own menus and dietary needs were also catered for. The in the main restaurant the staff were friendly, helpful and efficient. The breakfast room was excellent and more suited to us in the morning.
We did not make use of the entertainment mainly because of the late time it was presented nor the pools so we cannot give an opinion on these , but the surrounds of the pools were clean and tidy and there were always sun beds available.
The bars were well stocked and the staff were excellent.
The one thing that, with a lot of young families staying there, was there were no self service washing machines and the prices of the laundry service was exorbitant.
We only went on one excursion round the island which was very enjoyable and even though we were the only British couple with 26 French people the guide was very attentive and friendly.
In hindsight I think I would have hired a car for a few days to roam round and see a bit more.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel and this was due mainly to the friendly staff who are a credit to the hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid third floor of A block
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Douglas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subdireccion S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Dear Douglas H,

We are happy to know that you spent a pleasant holiday. We thank you for choosing this hotel and send you our best regards.

Natalia Bravo de Laguna
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Myself, husband and 16 year old son have just returned from a weeks stay at the excellent Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort. As soon as I entered this hotel I felt at home and relaxed, the reception staff were friendly and informative and the standard double room exceeded expectations. It was roomy, cool and the balcony was large with a view over the volcanic mountains and the sea and papagayo beaches in the distance. I requested a quiet room and a high up room and our room was just those things, very quiet and peaceful and on the top floor of G block (12 on the lift). The architecture of the hotel was stunning, loads of comfy places to sit and relax, my favourite was the terrace outside the Canarian Bar. The international buffet restaurant has been critiscised by some people but I found it lively and a pleasant ambiance. The selection of food was superb, we ate in the Italian restaurant once and if you are a pasta lover this restaurant would be heaven, they cook the pasta and sauce in front of you so its super fresh, my only critisism was it was a bit slow because each dish was cooked on the spot.

We would definatly like to return to this hotel.

Room Tip: G block was nicely situated for the pools and reception. I would have been happy to be in any of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanK311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subdireccion S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear Janet K,

Thank you very much for bringing us your feelings. We appreciate your comments and remarks and the trust you have placed on us.
We look forward to welcome you again.

Yours faithfully,
Natalia Bravo de Laguna
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armadale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

This is a lovely hotel has loads to offer for both families and couples, singles may find it just abit to far out of town. one of the outstanding feature of the hotel would be their staff, who made the difference at this hotel, they can't do enough for you and always with a smile they were all great( the only exception was a manager). We never visited the French/gourmet as you need to pay, you could go into town for the same costs and the others were great any way. I loved the Mexican it is buffet but great choices and the food was refreshed constantly. we would go to the Green Room bar after diner as they have a performer most evenings and as a couple was adults only, the Canarian Bar is for families which has the TV for the football. The bars close at midnight though you have to pay after 11pm, so if you want a free drink after 11pm you either order a double round at last orders or go to the late night grill with food and drink is available self service plastic glasses with paper plates, really good if you get the nibbles late on.
Rooms are big facing either the sea, pool or hills, if you book a standard room request a pool view or even number as the odd ones face inland. They do sell elite rooms which gives you access to a dedicated lounge and better positioned rooms. This was the only are where we had any issues, on the third day we had to report a terrible drain smell in the bathroom, which appeared to be resolved as when we came back to our room it was virtually gone. our final evening after a great evening we returned to our room and the smell on entering our room was so bad it made me feel sick, we had to keep the front door and balcony doors open to vent the room. we reported it to the front desk who offered to give us another room. it was midnight with us checking out the next morning, so we stayed in our room once it was habitable. The next day we asked to speak to the manager, to make a complaint, all he said was thanks for bringing it to their attention and implied that we were lying when he suggested that no one else had complained so couldn't understand why if there was a problem they hadn't.
Its a shame that our lasting memory is such a bad one after all the good times we had.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnhhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subdireccion S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear johnhhall,

Thank you very much for bringing us your feelings. We apologize for all the inconveniences you find and do appreciate all your comments.
We look forward to welcome you again.

Yours faithfully,
Natalia Bravo de Laguna
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa Blanca hotels
1.5 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
0.2 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
0.8 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#6 of 38 in Playa Blanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#13 of 38 in Playa Blanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,963 reviews
1.5 mi away
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
#8 of 38 in Playa Blanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,554 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort

Property: Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort
Address: Calle Las Acacias, no 6 | Playa Las Coloradas, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
#3 Green Hotel in Playa Blanca
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#6 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
#6 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
#8 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 488
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort All Inclusive is located on the seafront in Playa Blanca, Lanzarote. The hotel is close to beaches of the Papagayo Natural Park (600m). The Timanfaya National Park is 20 km away. The rooms are spacious and bright, with a balcony with views, bathroom with hairdryer, satellite TV with international channels. Each room provides a safety deposit box (supplement charge). The complex provides four outside pools, gym, minigolf and sports center, plus spa, sauna and steam bath. It also has eight bars, a disco and a snack bar, as well as a few restaurants: - International Restaurant - Italian Restaurant - Fusion Restaurant: Alternately Mexican/Oriental Nights The front desk is 24 hour manned and has a tourist information including car rental and tour services. The hotel provides free Wi-Fi in public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Cancelon, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandos Papagayo Arena Beach Hotel
Papagayo Arena Lanzarote
Papagayo Arena Resort
Hotel Papagayo Arena
Papagayo Arena Hotel Lanzarote
Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing