We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good week but a few niggles” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort
Ranked #7 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good week but a few niggles”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

We spent a week here late June. Decided to upgrade to Royal Elite Service and found it well worth it. Spent a lot of time before booking reading reviews perhaps too much! We did mean to e mail hotel before travel as suggested but never got round to it but as royal elite does guarantee sea view didn't need to. Other benefits were daily water replacement,bottle of cava in room on arrival,bathrobe & slippers,kettle,coffee, tea and free safety deposit box normally 3 euros daily. The main benefit for us was having use of royal elite lounge accessed by a swipe card you could pour your own branded drinks avoiding all the often long queues at the bar also provided were newspapers,snacks,tea coffee and internet access. We were on second floor of A block with fantastic sea views and so quiet. Yes it was a good 10 minute hike to get to restaurants pools etc but worth it as only noise we had was crashing waves! The complex is huge took us about 4 days to get our bearings as hotel is built as separate blocks and on a hillside so getting to main restaurant involved two lifts. That said never had to wait too long for a lift. Food was always good but due to number of diners did feel a bit like staff canteen at times, very much survival of fittest! Booked the Mexican and oriental restaurants on arrival both good but both buffet style so perhaps if you looking for extra special dining experiences this not for you. There is also French restaurant which didn't try but that at extra cost.
Now the gripes - all main areas of hotel were spotlessly clean, dining areas well staffed plates cleared away promptly etc. however this seemed to be at the expense of some outdoor areas. We never like booking sun beds and signs say this prohibited but didn't stop people doing it. We watched one family of five (Brits it has to be said) book the same five poolside sun beds every day and not pitch up till 3pm some days. Selfish or what! As beds nearly always available on sun terraces we ended up there most days but many sun beds grubby and tables sticky and cigarette butts not cleaned up. Also morning showers in room were often cold. Lastly even though hotel did not appear fully occupied we were denied request to keep on our room for a few hours ( or any room) rather given a half hour time slot in courtesy room. One courtesy room in a hotel of this size! This only works if previous occupants of room keep to their time slot we ended up with 10 mins to shower, dry hair and dress before departure. So made for a rushed unsatisfactory final impression of hotel. All in all nice hotel in nice location would we go back maybe but did feel once you checked out you don't exist.

Room Tip: Book royal elite room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anniem15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subdireccion S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear anniem15,

We appreciate very much all your comments and we will keep on working hard to improve our service.
Looking forward to welcoming you again.

Yours faithfully,
Natalia Bravo de Laguna
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,014 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,013
    2,144
    632
    154
    71
See reviews for
2,223
2,799
65
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,742)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bexley
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

There were 6 adults in our party and one 6 month old baby and this hotel ticked all the boxes for what we wanted from our holiday.

The pros:
The food was good and plentiful. We especially liked the snack eating area as the food here was 24 hours with a range of foods to meet all tastes and the soft drinks, beer, wine and coffee were on tap which allowed for us to continue socialising once the all-inclusive bar options had finished at 11pm.
We ate in the Mexican and Chinese which are bookable and worth a visit. The Italian is at the end of the mail restaurant and can be accessed any time. The food was frequently changed as well as hot and there was also microwaves available for warming food. Plenty of highchairs were available, as well as a buggy park at the entrance to the restaurant which was handy.
We also liked the fact that pots of peanuts and olives were available with your drinks at any of the bars.
All areas of the resort were spotlessly clean and well kept and again in particular the drinking and eating areas. Our room was very outdated but large and functional and again very clean.
The reception area is large and area with a small selection of shops and bars/games area, car hire and travel company boards. The reception staff were always helpful and called taxis on request. There is also a curtisy bus that goes into playa Blanca.
The resort is ideally positioned but a 10 minute walk to the Rubicon Marina and a further walk to playa Blanca.
The Marina is lovely to walk round and there is a market on a Saturday.

The cons:
Whilst we had a lovely holiday all of us found this resort charmless and impersonal. The staff are very efficient but were like robots and apart form the animation team, didn’t engage with the public at all. I’m not saying that I want to have a lengthy conversation but a smile and a hello does go along way! The sunbeds have got to be the most uncomfortable that I have ever laid on, however they are plentiful and your are not allowed to reserve them – having said this I never saw anyone monitoring this. Infact I never saw any staff around the pools apart from the animation team.
The animation team tried really hard. This is not our thing therefore I can’t say if they were good or bad.

All in all a good quality 4* all -inclusive resort which was really good value for money. I emailed ahead and asked if we could have our rooms together and near a pool and which was complied with. They also left a bottle of Cava in my daughter’s room on her birthday and would have provided a cake but we ate in the marina for her birthday. We asked to keep a room on as we weren’t leaving until the evening and although we couldn’t keep any of our rooms were allocated a room nearby. The charge for this is 30 euros - a bit steep but this was fine as it was between 6 of us and great to have a shower before we travelled to the airport.

I would recommend this resort if you are travelling with family but I’m unlikely to revisit although we met quite a few people who were on returning visits.

Room Tip: H8000 block- ground floor pool facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KAH365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subdireccion S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear KAH365,

Thank you very much for your kind words. We will keep on working hard to improve in all aspects in order to make your stay unforgettable.
We hope to see you again in the near future.

Yours faithfully,
Natalia Bravo de Laguna
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

This is a really good hotel, not the poshest I have been to, not the best food I ever had, but overall a good balance I thought. Usual problems of food not being particularly hot, but I have just accepted that now on All inclusive it is a large hotel. Caipriana cocktail was lovely, drinks good, but be aware that after 11 you have to pay, disco does not open until 11 so all drinks have to paid for in there and not allowed to take any drinks in. Grill bar is open for beer, wine or soft drinks on a serve yourself basis until 8 in the morning. The best part of this hotel was the chill bar, the worst was the adult only bar. Adult only was green and dingy, no natural light, no atmosphere, not worth going in. The chill bar was heavenly, and to be honest I think this should be the adults only bar, very chilled, smooth music, all white really lovely, but was a bit annoying when some children were having races up and down, I am not averse to children by any means, but this was not the place for playground antics. About a 20 minute walk into the town on a walkway along the coast. Nice beach in Playa Blanca town.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grimmers39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subdireccion S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear grimmers39,

Thank you very much for your kind words. We will keep on working hard to improve in all aspects in order to make your stay unforgettable.
We hope to see you again in the near future.

Yours faithfully,
Natalia Bravo de Laguna
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

From first arriving at hotel how clean everything was and staff very helpful and friendly,room lovely with sea view food and drink excellent really enjoyable holiday.Plenty of pools and sun terraces,and lovely quiet areas with comfy seat to chill and read

Room Tip: higher blocks get more sun later on in the day
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brenda015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subdireccion S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear brenda015,

Thank you very much for your kind words. We will keep on working hard to improve in all aspects in order to make your stay unforgettable.
We hope to see you again in the near future.

Yours faithfully,
Natalia Bravo de Laguna
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

I went into this hotel to have a look around with my family. We wanted to have something to eat in one of the restaurants there. While we were in the snack bar area I lost my sunglasses. When I reported this to the reception they were extremely rude to me. Although the sunglasses were eventually handed in - I was made to feel most unwelcome.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Richardjourno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Me and my boyfriend have just returned after a week at the Sandos Papagayo and it was truly amazing from the moment we arrived until the moment we left. I've stayed at all inclusives around the world including a 5 star Riu in Mexico-this was better...any hotel that has champagne freely available on reception every day has got to be good!

The staff were always helpful and friendly, the service 10/10 on a daily basis, buffet restaurant was the best I've eaten in, Mexican was good (if a bit spicy for us but that's personal taste), Chinese was fantastic, several pools all clean, loads of sun beds and never a problem getting one, mini golf on site as well as pool, air hockey etc, shops within the complex, more bars than I can mention each offering something slightly different, a spa on site with free use of sauna, steam room and jacuzzi, room was huge and immaculate with many an hour whiled away on the fab balcony looking across the pool and over to the coast and sea, luggage and shower rooms for departure day...the list of facilities is endless.

Yes it's a little way from either the Rubicon Marina or Playa Blanca centre but a bus 4 times a day helps (one earlier than half 10 and a couple after 5pm (maybe 9pm and 11pm) would really help) and the walk along the coast is lovely.

Really don't understand why this isn't 5 star and we can't wait to go back!

Thank you Sandos Papagayo for an amazing holiday.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subdireccion S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Claire H,

Thank you very much for your kind words. We will keep on working hard to improve in all aspects in order to make your stay unforgettable.
We hope to see you again in the near future.

Yours faithfully,
Natalia Bravo de Laguna
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mills, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

i wrote a e-mail to the hotel before we arrived explaining it was my partners birthday the week we was staying and would it be at all poss to have a sea view room. the reply was sorry we cant reserve room s but when i arrived the receptionist recognised my name and said we had a sea view .The room was superb it was clean roomy and the balcony overlooked fuerteventura and the beach . The hotel is huge and there was always somewhere to sit for a drink day or night .
The pools were clean and not too deep there was always sunbeds to be had . The food was repetitive but always cooked to perfection . Most of all i was impressed by the friendliness of the staff from the maids all the way up nothing was too much trouble .
i would recommend the hotel to couples more mature people families alike ..

Room Tip: c block overlooks the beach and fuertaventura
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philip p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subdireccion S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear pippyManchesterUk,

Thank you very much for bringing us your feelings. We appreciate your comments and remarks and the trust you have placed on us.
Looking forward to welcome you again.

Yours faithfully,
Natalia Bravo de Laguna
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa Blanca hotels
1.5 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
0.8 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#5 of 37 in Playa Blanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,536 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#13 of 37 in Playa Blanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,785 reviews
1.5 mi away
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
#9 of 37 in Playa Blanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,419 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hesperia Playa Dorada
Hesperia Playa Dorada
#17 of 37 in Playa Blanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort

Property: Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort
Address: Calle Las Acacias, no 6 | Playa Las Coloradas, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Blanca
#3 Green Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#6 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
#6 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
#8 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 488
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort All Inclusive is located on the seafront in Playa Blanca, Lanzarote. The hotel is close to beaches of the Papagayo Natural Park (600m). The Timanfaya National Park is 20 km away. The rooms are spacious and bright, with a balcony with views, bathroom with hairdryer, satellite TV with international channels. Each room provides a safety deposit box (supplement charge). The complex provides four outside pools, gym, minigolf and sports center, plus spa, sauna and steam bath. It also has eight bars, a disco and a snack bar, as well as a few restaurants: - International Restaurant - Italian Restaurant - Fusion Restaurant: Alternately Mexican/Oriental Nights The front desk is 24 hour manned and has a tourist information including car rental and tour services. The hotel provides free Wi-Fi in public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandos Papagayo Arena Beach Hotel
Papagayo Arena Lanzarote
Papagayo Arena Resort
Hotel Papagayo Arena
Papagayo Arena Hotel Lanzarote
Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing