We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent all round”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort
Ranked #7 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent all round”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Just back from a week at Sandos and miss it already. The food was excellent and varied enough from day to day to keep you interested. Our 4 year old loved it as did our 2 year old.
The location is perfect. It is right on the beach and you hear the surf every night. We stayed in block A which we found to be perfect for us as it was quiet at night and just steps from a quiet beach. The hotel was very clean and the staff were very welcoming and pleasant. The pools were lovely and the views of the ocean were spectacular from almost everywhere.
The entertainment was what you would expect and certainly pleased the children.
One quibble would be the WiFi which was patchy and slow.
The décor and interior of the hotel is very nice and the rooms were ideal and spotlessly cleaned every day.
I would recommend this hotel if you have young children and wish to have a worry free relaxing time.
A 15 minute walk over a stony path will bring you to a fabulous undeveloped golden beach (Papagayo) which was nicer than the beach which the Hotel sits on though it is also nice.
Also a 15 minute walk along the promenade brings you to a marina which had a great market there on Saturday.
Excellent Hotel. We will definitely return!

Room Tip: Block A B and C seem to be quieter at night especially block A. Ground floor rooms give you the pea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Derek T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subdireccion S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Google Translation
Apreciado Derek T,

Le agradecemos enormemente la confianza que deposita en nosotros y los buenos comentarios que nos hace. Confiamos seguir cubriendo sus expectativas en su próxima estancia en el hotel en un futuro no lejano.

Atentamente,
Natalia Bravo de Laguna
Subdirectora
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,212
    2,259
    667
    161
    76
See reviews for
2,330
3,009
71
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,849)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

It's hotel is in the middle of nowhere, however there is lots to do in the hotel and we were never bored. There is a great walk to the right of the front door, which takes you to secluded beaches and a restaurant if you walk far enough on the top of the 3rd beach. Very quaint. To the left of the hotel is a paved walkway which takes you to shops and a lovely harbour. Although we were all inclusive we had lunch one day on the harbour. Beautiful day, lovely lunch (and a few beers) in a bar that had just opened, on a veranda overlooking the boats. We jumped on a bus a couple of times and went exploring. Bus service is very good and cheap. We climbed a volcano one day, which isn't well advertised, if at all, but its in a wee village in playa blanca. Only disappointment I got was there was no dragon at the top. Although my husband said I made a good substitute!!! Weather was lovely and warn during the day but got rather chilly at night. Wear a cosy top whilst sitting in the cracking chill out bar at the top of the hotel. If you like sunsets and stars it'll be heaven for you. Food is lovely with a good choice to keep you spoilt. Should you book this hotel???? Yup, go for it. Especially for a Xmas break. We go to Fuerteventura and Lanzarote a lot and this hotel is one of our favourites. Enjoy

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AlyAkerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subdireccion S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear AlyAkerman,

Thanks for bringing your feelings and if you want to spend again your next holidays in our hotel, we will be delighted to attend you.

Yours sincerely,

Natalia Bravo de Laguna
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtownabbey,N.Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Mostly enjoyed our week at this fine hotel. We had paid for a superior sea view room via First Choice to ensure that we had a good view. What was not clear on FC's website that this entitled us to the Royal Elite Service and we were pleasantly surprised to be given the gold wrist bands and the swipe card for the Elite lounge ( Superb choice of high end drinks -but be careful with your spirit measures! ) For us the best thing was the separate dining room whereby you could avoid the morning "rush hour " in the main restaurant.

As others have mentioned, other advantages include a bottle of cava in our room on arrival, pool towels in the room,a well stocked fridge with water and soft drinks,daily replacement of water. (One slightly annoying aspect was the evening delivery of chocs at variable times -sometimes when you did not want to be disturbed! )

The hotel is huge but we were given excellent directions to our room in block A by our check in receptionist.

Our room overlooked the stony beach which frankly is a bit of an eyesore but the views and sound of the sea were superb.

As regards the food we thought that it was a bit poor when we arrived but it improved over the week.

The major downside of our stay was the terrible evening entertainment.There were a couple of duos providing "live" music during the week -both awful and as regards the piano music in the green room forget it .. twee is a word that came to mind!

However, all in all we we enjoyed the holiday - a special word of mention to the friendly staff.

Room Tip: Get the Royal Elite Service -worth every penny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beatman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subdireccion S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Beatman,

Thank you very much for your kind words. We will keep on working hard to improve in all aspects in order to make your stay unforgettable.
We hope to see you again in the near future.

Yours faithfully,
Natalia Bravo de Laguna
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Just returned from a weeks AI stay at this good 4 star hotel. On arrival we up-graded to the Royal Elite Service the hotel provides. This guaranteed us a good room with superb sea views. Our room was in block C (326). Nice and quiet, good sized balcony and as I've said great sea views/sunsets. Royal Elite customers also have a separate lounge with well stocked serve yourself bar and International drinks available as well as two PC's at your disposal and various snacks all day/night. Our only complaint would be that we were asked to leave the lounge as soon as the AI finishes at 11pm, maybe something the management needs to look at??
Directions to our rooms were a little confusing with the hotel being so spread out and on different levels, the lifts were quite confusing at first but we got used to moving around the grounds.
Pools good and plenty of sunbeds. Food was very good most of the time and good the rest with plenty of choice at both lunch and dinner. Royal Elite breakfasts are taken in what is used as the Oriental dining room in the evening, much quieter with fresh cooked food on order,nice table linen etc. A good start to the day we thought.
Hotel is well placed for an easy 15 minute walk to the Rubicon Marina along the sea pathway, a few nice shops,cafe/bars.
Another ten minutes or so will get you to Playa Blanca with a much more to see.
Took a trip acroos the water to Fuerteventura and the resort of Corallejo, not particularly impressed (looking tired) but the trip was a nice day out.
All in all a great holiday, would we go back, definately.

Room Tip: A,B,C&D blocks are the quieter rooms with lovely ea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Firstly, this hotel is spotlessly clean and excellently maintained. The décor is good and especially liked the big chunky solid furniture everywhere. Check in was swift and I’d previously emailed the hotel to request Block C with sea views and for us to be put next to my parents. Also informed the hotel it was my mums birthday while we were there and they put a bottle of bubbly in the room, which was a nice touch.

Didn’t try the Chinese or Mexican restaurants as my little boy didn’t fancy them. To be honest there was so much choice in the main and Italian restaurant that you didn’t need to on a 7 day break. The breakfast was a bit all the same, but there isn’t much you can do with breakfast really. We had lunch in snack bar a few times for ease when we were around the pool, not as much choice but still as nice. Evening meal, loads of choice – I tried loads of new dishes such as goat stew, veal, rabbit and tripe which were all lovely (apart from the tripe!). I loved the Mojo sauce which I ate with nearly every meal. Puddings were a bit naff, but I’m not a pudding person. No upset stomachs for whole party and food was always hot and excellent quality. Staff in restaurant were so efficient and polite.

Rooms were spacious and cleaned every day and beds I think had memory foam mattresses which were a nice touch.

Now the negatives. There was NOTHING for my 8 year old to do. The entertainment was aimed at toddlers. The games room wasn’t great with a couple of pool tables and one x-box type game. We went once to the kids disco which was aimed at the very young and the evening entertainment was very hit and miss. We enjoyed the circus and acrobats but The Lion King rendition was in Spanish and was that bad it was funny. We lasted 10mins before my son wanted to leave. I would suggest opening the disco at say 9 and allowing older kids in until 11pm.

This hotel is crying out for a more kid friendly pool with a water slide and some music around one pool. I understand that some like it more peaceful, well that’s fine for the adults pool, but surely one pool can be more lively.

One more moan is you aren’t given enough information about what the hotel had to offer. It took us a couple of days to find our way around and many people were wandering around lost. I think a more detailed welcome pack would be very beneficial.

Would I return, sadly no as there isn’t enough for my 8 year old to do. However, my parents are definitely returning as it was perfect for them.

Room Tip: Block D was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheWilsonGradys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Just came back from a quick 5 day stay. Ive got to say there are a few things which make this hotel stand out from the crowd;
All Inclusive Package - fantastic value - very fresh food, even have a chef doing live cooking each evening to make dishes to order which is unusual with AI. Dishes are rotated with theme nights and you can also make a reservation at the Mexican, oriental or French restaurants if you fancy a break from international dining.

Location - beautiful location, our room was in C block on the ground floor and you could hear the waves on the beach when you opened the door - fab

Room Size - rooms are bigger than the normal size

Cleanliness - very very clean with daily maid service, fresh towels etc

Pools - choice of pool areas all very nice and not too crowded

Staff - all the staff have happy smiling faces and are eager to help.
Activities - our son (12) enjoyed the daily activities and the staff again were great.

Loved it!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed here for one week all inclusive from 18th April. When we arrived there was as stated a drinks reception. Bubbly didn't taste great but it was a nice touch . The directions to our room weren't great but we did find it after going the wrong way a few times . We requested an ocean view and that is exactly what we got . View was amazing . We watched the sunset go down each night with a bottle of champagne. I was travelling with two friends who were in the next hotel room . My friend went for the premium class so he got us a bottle of bubbly each night from his bar !!
The main food hall was as you would expect from a 4 star Spanish resort . You def won't starve ! I really wouldn't recommend the themed restaurants . We went into the marina a few nights for dinner . One night to the big steak house . It was horrendous but we also went to port de Calero and the food was amazing . A must if you rent out a car. The entertainment was so bad it was funny . The white bar is really beautiful to sit at night and have a few drinks . If you are single and looking for a crazy holiday this is not for you but if you want a relaxing holiday with lovely staff in a very clean and well kept hotel this is perfect . The walk into the marina is lovely only takes 15minutes . I have recommended this hotel to my sister I hope she isn't disappointed !

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an ocean view . If you get one you won't be disappointed .
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leah w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subdireccion S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear leah w,

Thank you very much for bringing us your feelings. We appreciate your comments and remarks and the trust you have placed on us.
Looking forward to welcome you again.

Yours faithfully,
Natalia Bravo de Laguna
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Blanca
1.5 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
0.2 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
0.8 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#6 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3,761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
4,728 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
1.7 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#13 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort

Property: Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort
Address: Calle Las Acacias, no 6 | Playa Las Coloradas, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Blanca
#3 Green Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#6 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
#6 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
#8 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 488
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort All Inclusive is located on the seafront in Playa Blanca, Lanzarote. The hotel is close to beaches of the Papagayo Natural Park (600m). The Timanfaya National Park is 20 km away. The rooms are spacious and bright, with a balcony with views, bathroom with hairdryer, satellite TV with international channels. Each room provides a safety deposit box (supplement charge). The complex provides four outside pools, gym, minigolf and sports center, plus spa, sauna and steam bath. It also has eight bars, a disco and a snack bar, as well as a few restaurants: - International Restaurant - Italian Restaurant - Fusion Restaurant: Alternately Mexican/Oriental Nights The front desk is 24 hour manned and has a tourist information including car rental and tour services. The hotel provides free Wi-Fi in public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandos Papagayo Arena Beach Hotel
Papagayo Arena Lanzarote
Papagayo Arena Resort
Hotel Papagayo Arena
Papagayo Arena Hotel Lanzarote
Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing