We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great holiday, great hotel!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort
Ranked #7 of 38 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great holiday, great hotel!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

This was me and my boyfriends first beach resort holiday and we were not disappointed!! When we first arrived we got a lovely and professional reception despite other peoples reviews. We were given all the information we needed, given directions to our room and around the hotel and also Cava or Orange juice was available to kick start the holiday. I had e-mailed prior to arriving asking for a sea view room and we got exactly that. We were in block B room 516 and it was exactly what we wanted and more. The room was huge and so was the bed also with a comfy foam mattress. The views from our balcony were amazing looking over the beach, sea and over to Fuerteventura. The bathroom was pretty and chic with a big mirror and also a amazing power shower(not so amazing for the sunburn though). The walls are pretty thick as well so we had no noise complaints which was nice.

Straight away we hit the bar and we had plenty of choice for drinks including a good range of cocktails which for me was a bonus. The vodka sun and pina coladas went down well a treat. The food was good which was rotated often as well with a wide range to chose from and we took full advantage of that. There are five restaurants which you can chose from baring in mind you have to book for the Mexican, oriental and French which is at a extra cost. We tried all of these and we had not complaints really apart from that the oriental could do with more choice and the French we didn't feel should be a extra cost as the food wasn't up to par with the atmosphere and service which, the waiter on hand was exceptional and did his best to please everyone. We also went to the snack bar when we were peckish which was tasty but could do with more choice.

We tried out the chill out bar which was lovely at night with comfy chairs and perfect views of the sunsets, also the music was calm and made us feel very chilled out. The canarian bar was our main spot were we enjoyed relaxing on the balcony bit in the sun sipping on our favourite cocktails. Every day there was bingo on this balcony which was free and also a good laugh with the staff who ran it. We tried out the spa which had Jacuzzis, a sauna and a gym. There was also massages, manicures, waxing and pedicures which were at an extra cost. I did the massage which was great and cost €40 and also had a manicure which was €17 but felt for the price they could of offered a French manicure but was happy all the same. There a loads of sun loungers with ones always available(despite other peoples reviews, I'm guessing there wont be as much available when height of season) and the pools where lovely. We weren't sure which one was the heated pool but we tried a coldish one which was soon fine once we were in for a few minutes and with the heat of the weather was refreshing. We watched a couple of shows at the theatre which were entertaining and fun. The staff definitely made sure of that.

The whole experience here was great and we had a amazing time which we are sad to see finished now. All the staff were lovely and efficient. The hotel was clean and well maintained also located nicely just outside Playa Blanca so not so much hustle and bustle even though it only took a 20minute walk along the sea front to get there or a free 5min shuttle bus from hotel to town centre. We are sad to have come home but we would definitely recommend this hotel and we will return in the future.

One great tip is just as you get into the marina there is a tour guide shop called Customer travel Excursions. Its a green leaflet. The woman inside is lovely and very friendly. The tours with this company are brilliant, lovely staff and lovely, clean coaches.

Room Tip: Block B has great views from balcony overlooking the sea, beach and to Fuerteventura. Also located g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank macwil27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subdireccion S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear macwil27,

Thank you very much for bringing us your feelings. We appreciate your comments and remarks and the trust you have placed on us.
Looking forward to welcoming you again.

Yours faithfully,
Natalia Bravo de Laguna
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,061
    2,181
    650
    156
    71
See reviews for
2,260
2,853
67
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,778)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

Just returned from papagayo beach resort on Lanzarote. Lost count of how many times we have visited but each visit we have seen improvements. This year we upgraded to Elite service and would definitely recommend especially for the lounge area with help yourself drinks (all branded)
and snacks. Chill out bar was also a great addition for pre dinner drinks in evening (not part of Elite service). Entertainment during the day and evening definitely needs improvement. Although quite a walk to town (45mins) it is a coastal walk and the views are amazing.The food is excellent just don't expect gourmet and waiter service. The choice is good. Overall would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: b c and d blocks over look the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subdireccion S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Dear Janet P,

Thank you very much for your kind words. We will keep on working hard to improve in all aspects in order to make your stay unforgettable.
We hope to see you again in the near future.

Yours faithfully,
Natalia Bravo de Laguna
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

Well where do I start with this amazing hotel went for 1 week and wished I booked 2 weeks.
Me and my boyfriend are 22/23 years old and have just returned from playa blanca.

Rooms- after emailing before hand we received a sea view room in block B room 324. The view was amazing and was extra lovely to wake up to the sound of the waves. Beds were memory foam and in our opinion very comfortable. Spacious room am bathroom with bath and shower. Maids came every day an even left the extra special touches of leaving flowers that were carefully placed on towel racks or on cabinets. Mini fridge in room which can be stocked at an additional cost but we used to keep after sun and bottles of water in.

Food and drink- snack bar was very handy and especially tasty for fresh crepes every day at 4pm. We didnt try the oriental or Mexican so can't comment but intentional and Italian were so delicious and was always fresh pasta and meats on offer. Drinks for all inclusive are also great and I was so pleased to know it wasn't cheap cola/lemonade. They also had Malibu and other branded spirits included in all inclusive.

Pool area- kept very clean and well maintained gardens pools are massive but only 1 o them are heated which can make it very busy at times but the busier the better. Some beds were reserved but this didnt make it any harder at all to get a bed as there were loads.

Animation team- I DON'T CARE WHAT ANYONE SAYS THE ANIMATION TEAM HERE WORK SP HARD TO MAKE SURE EVERYONE HAS A FUN FILLED HOLIDAY. Yes the shows they put on are not all west end shows but come on your on holiday and its all about having relaxed fun, we would see the animation team all throughout the day from early in the morning and at 11pm at night dancing and jumping around. A BIG WELL DONE TO THEM.

Overall- this hotel is amazing and I woul recommend to my friends and family who want a chilled out holiday and want everything included in the hotel. Thanks to all the friendly staff who helped our stay more enjoyable.

Jet2 holiday FLIGHT review- 1 word Awful- 8 hours on a plane (4 on the ground and 4 in the air) and was expected to be shushed with a complimentary soft drink ridiculous.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Heatherbates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subdireccion S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear Heatherbates,

Thank you very much for bringing us your feelings. We appreciate your comments and remarks and the trust you have placed on us.
Looking forward to welcome you again.

Yours faithfully,
Natalia Bravo de Laguna
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leics
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

Just back from 10days at the sandos papagayo beach and delighted with all it offered.very nice room ,huge bed,top shower and quiet as requested.Food varied,well cooked,plenty of choice and if you vannot find something good to eat you must live on another planet.
Beach outside hotel only has sand at low tide,most of day it is pebbles,rocks and boulders but a 35 minute walk into playa blanca brings you to a super sandy beach with full facilities or take the hotel courtesey bus.
ita a large hotel and the international restaurant can get like the underground rush hour so go early to avoid the mad rush,
Alcoholic drinks of good quality and large measures.If you want a drink without children around use the Green room bar for adults only,they play some good music and some nights a piano player or a violinist provide reasonable entertainment.
All in all a top hotel,good value and if we go back to Lanzarote would have no hesitation in using the sandos again.
JUST A WARNING. IF YOU DONT LIKE LIFTS OR FIND STAIRS DIFFICULT YOU WILL HAVE SERIOUS PROBLEMS IN GETTING AROUND THE HOTEL.

Room Tip: phone the hotel,tell them what you would like and will do all can to accomodate your request
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SQUIBLeics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subdireccion S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear SQUIBLeics,

Thank you very much for bringing us your feelings. We appreciate your comments and remarks and the trust you have placed on us.
Looking forward to welcome you again.

Yours faithfully,
Natalia Bravo de Laguna
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

Stayed again January 2013 for three weeks,everything previously written by myself still stands..a great resort All Inclusive Hotel with absolutely unrivalled front desk service..nothing was too much for the girls .
The food still of good quality ;although you can, if you have been before notice some change in the quality of the cooked/roast meats,( presumably due to cut backs) offered but still a great restaurant with its Italian pizzaria at one end and main buffet in the rest. Yes it has a noisy cantina feel to it but thats the only complaint. eat in the French restaurant(had to pre book and pay,superb service and decor, smoked salmon salad starter huge and tasty, steak had to be left was fatty and inedible, wine list comprehensive and yes pricey, but a reasonably priced Italian Lambrusco sparkling wine was superb.plus there was a complimentary drink when first seated..pink champagne ,nice touch and flaming crepe Suzette to finish.
The 24 hr poolside cafe is turned into the Mexican restaurant at night a few days a week,pre - booking required as was the Chinese and French,French has an a la Carte menu chargeable but reduced for resident guests.The Mexican food was the best I have eaten anywhere. The Chinese one leaves a lot to be desired dish and taste wise, but makes a change, desserts poor choice, so we left and went back to main restaurant for our dessert.many gateau's available including various ice creams yoghourt and fruit.
The weather, as always; great for sunbathing, numerous sunbeds everywhere.but it was noticeable that exterior maintenance had been left to slide a bit as eagle eyed manager Maria Bueno no longer with hotel . I have shown in photos the items of disrepair, the flaking roof shown in corridor over rear entrance to beach has been like that since 2010 !! two unusable /broken sunbeds which were pointed out by me to pool man first week and then again second week..finally getting him to repair them in front of me.
The cracked and broken tiles shown were also dangerous as I cut my foot on one moving sun bed.
Generally maintenance to rooms and internal areas is very good, for instance our tap in bathroom was so stiff we could not turn to hot or cold easily or turn it off, and door would not close, mentioned it to reception and within two hours ,whilst we were sunbathing, new tap fitted and door closed properly.
Unsurpassed service throughout..faultless.! The Wi-Fi is free but weak reception with bad drop offs,better in the Green Room/Adult only bar and round grounds- although there is a pay Internet corner in hotel .
Cleanliness is second to non and staff make the holiday with their friendly and helpful attitude.
One point management need to look at carefully and previously mentioned by others..the smoking banned now in Hotels in spain but still allowed on the internal verandah of the Canarian bar which is wrong, lovely comfortable seating with tables but for smokers ! also when guests sit outside sun bathing and smoking makes it bad for others around them..!! ban smoking in Hotel and grounds, the place gets littered with fag ends .!
We asked for the same room we had on a previous visit and got it. Pool towels available from reception with refundable deposit and can be changed at spa as and when required.Water is usually given free in room (1 bottle) and can be topped up at any bar with a self service fresh water cooler dispenser,one in main lobby bar near tunnel and games area on lower floor.
One area management should look at is the fridge, it is not stocked with anything unless a payment of e40 made, but why ?... it is supposed to be A/ Inclusive ...whats the difference if you go to the bar for a drink or mixer, water, beer and putting some in your fridge.
We were there for my wife's 69th birthday and were plied with free Cava in the room and restaurant , a nice touch with Managers card offering his best wishes.
Moans over, don't let them put you off, its a great Hotel and will be returning for a long winter break again soon .any advice or queries please message me. Happy Sandozing. !!
Another point worth mentioning mainly for Thomas Cook clients ;which we were;service in resort excellent,they even extended my two weeks to three without a problem.although I had to buy another flight home, losing the the one we had pre booked.but when booking the on-airport parking at the same time as our holiday booking in England a few weeks prior to travelling, something is very wrong, I will explain..pre booked On- airport Parking (Apcoa Co)at Gatwick,when arriving home, drove to exit with ticket which had my car Reg no printed on it, so they had my booking on computer..gate would not let me exit without payment of over £200.! I immediately walked to the office and complained , woman looked on computer screen and said never had my booking, which was nonsense, I had the documentation with me and said they would be reading about this scam on Trip Advisor..to that end they let me go with exit ticket and no extra payment.
Since returning checked with Thomas Cook office where I booked holiday and parking and they confirmed they had passed on booking to car park, but could not confirm when they passed on my payment to 'Apcoa.'. presumably not promptly & Apcoa are making people who have pre- paid pay again., I saw it happening whilst in queue. and it was another Thomas Cook client ...something is wrong and a lot of grief is being caused. remember to take your paper work with you..as proof..always.!!

Room Tip: Blocks A & B face sea with large verandas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlienWicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subdireccion S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Dear Brightonman70,

We appreciate your comments and remarks and thank you for the trust you have placed on us.
For us is fantastic to know the good and the not so good of your stay. Please don´t doubt that we will transfer the comments to the respective departments to improve our service on these points.

We hope to see you again in the near future.
Yours sincerely,
Natalia Bravo de Laguna
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

Just returned from another week at the Sandos, You will not be disappointed if you book this hotel the service is excellent from the moment you walk through the doors. The Management had recognized that we had been before and therefore gave us a beautiful room E1172, the view from the balcony was amazing.....Thank you. Also thank you for the Sparkling Cava and the extras of the hats and slippers the letter was also a lovely touch. The new Chill Out area is a lovely bonus and although we were happy to stay in the main restaurant there are now the added Mexican and Chinese to choose from. We will go back, please do not take any notice of the negatives you may read (although my partner has just reminded me it is personal opinion). Thanks to all at Sandos. Mike & Kathy

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kazmikSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subdireccion S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear kazmikSheffield,

Thank you very much for bringing us your feelings. We appreciate your comments and remarks and the trust you have placed on us.
Looking forward to welcoming you again.

Yours faithfully,
Natalia Bravo de Laguna
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

Just returned from this hotel which is huge,food is quite good but the soups let it down,entertainment was very poor,not the ideal hotel for the infirm as the hotel is in a isolated hilly position,so if you like staying in the hotel grounds for your holiday you will enjoy your stay,if you can get one of the rooms in block A / B you will get a view of the bay which is very pretty,i would have given the hotel 5 marks but the hilly area just let it down that little bit.
Would we go again -that would be very unlikely do to its location

Room Tip: If you decide to book-ask for room B517-518-516 all have beautiful views of the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James4517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subdireccion S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear James4517,

Thank you very much for bringing us your feelings. We appreciate your comments and remarks.
Looking forward to welcoming you again.
Yours faithfully,

Natalia Bravo de Laguna
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa Blanca hotels
1.5 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
0.2 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
0.8 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#6 of 38 in Playa Blanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#12 of 38 in Playa Blanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,874 reviews
1.5 mi away
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
#9 of 38 in Playa Blanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,478 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hesperia Playa Dorada
Hesperia Playa Dorada
#17 of 38 in Playa Blanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort

Property: Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort
Address: Calle Las Acacias, no 6 | Playa Las Coloradas, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
#3 Green Hotel in Playa Blanca
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#6 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
#6 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
#8 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 488
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort All Inclusive is located on the seafront in Playa Blanca, Lanzarote. The hotel is close to beaches of the Papagayo Natural Park (600m). The Timanfaya National Park is 20 km away. The rooms are spacious and bright, with a balcony with views, bathroom with hairdryer, satellite TV with international channels. Each room provides a safety deposit box (supplement charge). The complex provides four outside pools, gym, minigolf and sports center, plus spa, sauna and steam bath. It also has eight bars, a disco and a snack bar, as well as a few restaurants: - International Restaurant - Italian Restaurant - Fusion Restaurant: Alternately Mexican/Oriental Nights The front desk is 24 hour manned and has a tourist information including car rental and tour services. The hotel provides free Wi-Fi in public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandos Papagayo Arena Beach Hotel
Papagayo Arena Lanzarote
Papagayo Arena Resort
Hotel Papagayo Arena
Papagayo Arena Hotel Lanzarote
Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing