We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb hotel. Cannot fault it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort
Ranked #7 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Superb hotel. Cannot fault it!”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Just returned from a week at the Sandos Papagyo. What an excellent hotel! Staff superb, food amazing. Rooms spotless. Perfect location to get away and relax. Can't fault hotel-amazing!!! Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank jo8review
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subdireccion S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear jo8review,

Thank you very much for bringing us your feelings. We appreciate your comments and remarks and the trust you have placed on us.
Looking forward to welcoming you again.

Yours faithfully,
Natalia Bravo de Laguna
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,167
    2,234
    661
    160
    73
See reviews for
2,303
2,964
71
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,827)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Was here from the 10th/24th March as a birthday treat which had been a month earlier and we still received a bottle of champagne. We staying in block D, 4th floor. I would say block C and D on 4th floor or higher as you will not be disturbed on a night by any noise. We had a superb sea view - brilliant, going to sleep on a night with the sound of the sea. Rooms were a good size - our shower was over the bath, which could be a problem for less able bodied people. Bed was amazing size, felt as if you could get lost in it. Bedrooms and the hotel as a hole was very clean. Air Conditioning was very good in the bedroom. All the hotel staff were very friendly/polite. The meals were amazing and so many different tastes to behold. I defy anybody not be able to find something to eat at every meal. There is also an Italian and Mexican diners to eat in. We did not try the Mexican but the Italian was really nice, their were three different types of pasta per meal to choose from and is cooked fresh for you + there are usually three different pizzas and a choice of soup. You can sit in the Italian and still go and get your meals from the main restaurant or vice versa. We did sit in the Italian part more often than not. Plenty of soft drinks, wine and local beer to choose from. You are invited to have a Bucks Fizz drink when you arrive, they serve this every afternoon in reception and you can have this with your breakfast/or any meal in the main restaurant. At this time of year there were plenty of sun beds although there were the usual crowd that rush out to put their towels on the beds. There is plenty to do in the hotel exercise/health wise with a gym, sauna and jaccuzi. To relax there are so many different areas to sit in on comfy sofas/chairs you would be hard pressed not to find anywhere to sit in comfort. There is a "Green Bar" which is for adults only and often has music in, although the room got full quickly. There are various other bars for you to relax and have a drink if you do not want to listen to music or the t.v. There is a market every Wednesday/Saturday down at the marina, which is approx. 25 minutes stroll and there are plenty of seats for you to sit down and look out to sea. There is a supermarket to the back of the hotel, but we found the best were at the marina and in the shopping centre opposite the marina (latter has nice clean toilets). There is a courtesy bus into playa blanca for the less abled people. We strolled there and back, having a seat when we felt like it. The nearest chemist we found out is in playa blanca. I feel this is a place for a relaxing holiday and we really enjoyed it. We felt the whole of the hotel was amazing. We never felt crowded in at this time of year. By the way there is not much of a beach, it is mostly rocky. I would say "Go For It" if you are thinking of staying here.

Room Tip: We were advised (trip advisor) to go for Block C/D on a high floor to avoid noise. Brilliant advis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Viv G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subdireccion S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Viv G,

Thank you very much for bringing us your feelings. We appreciate your comments and remarks and the trust you have placed on us.
Looking forward to welcoming you again.

Yours faithfully,
Natalia Bravo de Laguna
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Booked holiday via Thomas Cook in December 2012, emailed hotel to ask for sea view room in block (C) as we have been before. Recieved return email acknowledging email would be dealt with.Upon arrival at reception we booked in and we mentioned that we had asked for a block(C) room where the receptionist denied hotel recieved email.We were then allocated a room in block (G) room G1215 . ALL ODD number rooms in blocks (G) AND(H) are at the back of the hotel and overlook wasteland where people walk to get to pappagayo beaches.Hotel itself is on a par with other cheaper 4 star hotels around but not quite as good as Riu, Costa Calero.
facilities were good, poolsand surrounding areas cleaned night and day.Rooms cleaned daily and staff helpfull and happy (exclude reception).Entertainment staff very good for both children and adults.Bars have very good service throughout hotel best one being Green bar adults only
Food in the main restaraunt was very good breakfast, lunch, and evening withplenty of options to choose from A GOOD HOLIDAY SPOILT BY ROOM AN LIES

Room Tip: All Block Cand D seem to have sea view BlocksG and H odd numbers overlook wasteland
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Howard5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subdireccion S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Howard5,

Thank you very much for bringing us your feelings. We appreciate your comments and remarks and the trust you have placed on us.
We know that you were disappointed with your room. The dates you were with us, the Hotel was fully booked and for that reason we could not give to all guests sea view rooms. We will try to do our best so that this matter won`t happen to you on your next visit.

Yours faithfully,
Natalia Bravo de Laguna
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is located at the far end of the resort and is an easy enough walk to both the Marina and Playa Blanca, and if returning at night it's only 4 euros away in a taxi.
The amenities are far, good availiabilty of sunbeds and pools, with a towel provided.
The room we stayed in (block C) had a good view, but if enjoy sitting on the balcony avoid floor 4 as all the balcony s are in the shade. Decor was a bit dated but comfy enough.
This is an average all inclusive, and not comparable at all to a Caribbean version (H10, Dreams etc). There is no Waiter Service either by the pool or in the restaraunts, and in most cases the drinks are 'help your self', which after you gets head around is actually quite good. Help yourself is only beer, wine and soft drinks though.
The food in my opinion was poor, yes there was a huge selection, but everything was bland or low quality. The meat was fatty and low grade, burgers and sausages are to be avoided at all cost, and the sauces were pretty tasteless. Pizza in the 'Italian' restaraunts were frozen supermarket standard. The salads and fruit selection though was always good.
Snack bar by the pool was handy but the choice limited and again the meats very poor.
All 3 Inclusive restaurants were buffett, and after a week this is very repetitive . We have stayed in many all-inclusive hotels and so accept that by default at some point you will eat the same thing again, and that a Buffett is standard but this was the worst I have experienced. We ate out twice in the evening as we felt it was so poor, which goes against the AI concept.
There was a huge amount of food wasted every day, people's plates piled high and beng half eaten, and then going back for more... if the food was of better quality maybe not so much would be wasted?

Plenty of Bars to choose from, outside or in, day and night. If you want an outside pace early evening you need to get there quick ! Bit frustrating sometimes ow long you had to queue at the bar, servings are generous enough but all local spirits, try the Honey Rum it's lovely. Wine isn't great, beer is fine.

In summary, as a hotel it's quite a nice hotel, but if you enjoy your food and meals are part of your holiday rather than just fuel then don't stay here or be prepared to eat out a couple of times to break it up.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subdireccion S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Ruth C,

We appreciate your comments and remarks and thank you for the trust you have placed on us.
For us is fantastic to know the good and the not so good of your stay. Please don´t doubt that we will transfer the comments to the respective departments to improve our service on these points.
We hope to see you again in the near future.
Yours sincerely,

Natalia Bravo de Laguna
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby England
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

I didn't expect to like this hotel as much as I did! My husband & I don't normally stay in big hotels & nearly didn't book it because of this. However, we were pleasantly surprised by the whole experience.
We had a top floor room (as it's built into the hillside it is not a high-rise hotel which immediately hides the actual size) in block A - which had the most beautiful view - when you sat on the bed it felt as though you were on a ship - all you could see was water! We went to sleep listening to the sea - lovely.
We found the hotel very peaceful at night, the corridor outisde the room was carpeted & doors seemed to close quietly.
Food: Again, better than I expected for such a big hotel. Lots of choice, meat, fish, salads , lovely fresh bread. The main restaurant is slightly partitioned from the Italian restaurant, but you can sit either side & eat from any food counter - so you can have a meat/salad/fish starter then go to the fresh pasta station & choose your pasta/sauce & seasoning cooked to order (which I was slightly addicted to!) or whatever you want to do - it would be very hard not to find something you wanted.
The Mexican & Chinese are both very good (you need to prebook these, but they are included in the all-inclusive) they are much smaller & they make a nice change to the big main restaurant.
We booked the Royal Elite upgrade & have to say that I would do it again. It was worth it to get the separate breakfast room (nicer, quieter start to the day) . The private lounge was great to pop in for a lovely coffee & cake or sandwich during the day, glass of sparkly wine before lunch, & nice place to meet people in the evening. I would say that towards the end of our stay it was getting quite busy in the lounge & I think as more people take up the Royal Elite it will become an issue that the hotel will need to address. I also think an outside area for Royal elite would be appreciated.
Outisde area: Kept spotlessly clean (as is the rest of the hotel) - plenty of beds & separate areas so that again, the size of the hotel is disguised. Although the hotel may want to start a 'No reserving beds' policy - as it seemed to be getting slighly worse just before we left which would start to spoil the relaxing feel of the hotel. People come & go all day so reserving beds is totally unecessary.
Location: A lovely walk 15 minutes one way leads to the Rubicon Marina & a further 25 minutes takes you to Playa Blanca centre - it's a proper pathway with gorgeous views all the way along the seashore - both Marina & resort centre are really nice & worth a visit. There is a hotel shuttle bus, but we didn't use it - we needed to burn off some calories!
10 minutes walk the other way (out of the front of the hotel & turn right over the hill leads to the first of the Papagayo beaches - they are all beautiful - no facilities so take a drink & suncream - but well worth the walk & not very busy.
All in all a lovely relaxing holiday in a very nice hotel which we would not hesitate to go back to. We ate well, slept well & met some lovely people. (I would mention that we went out of school holidays, so a lot more children may change the feel of the place in some ways). The only thing that I would change would be for the entertainment to be more contained & not as audible around the quieter pools - but we knew about it before we went so it wasn't a big issue.
We had lovely weather & came back relaxed & recharged which is exactly what we wanted from this holiday!

Room Tip: most of the rooms seem to have a good view but there are some that back onto the hill - which I wou...
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Patjo818DerbyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subdireccion S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Patjo818DerbyEn,

We appreciate your comments and remarks and thank you for the trust you have placed on us.
For us is fantastic to know the good and the not so good of your stay. Please don´t doubt that we will transfer the comments to the respective departments to improve our service on these points.
We hope to see you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Natalia Bravo de Laguna
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

1st visit was in december,came back 19-26th march as birthday treat.Allocated a superb seaview room in block C.Bottle of bubbly in fridge,plus bag with bath slippers,2 baseball caps and aloe vera toiletries for my wife.Stay was just as good as December,food excellent in main dining room and mexican..Acceptable drinks choice with wine,beer and cocktails.If you want chillout holiday,as opposed to party central,then this is definitely chilled.Choice of bars and outside drinking space if desired.Plenty sun beds and quiet areas if you want peace and quiet.I used sauna and jaccuzi every night.Courtesy bus great for getting into Playa Blanca,and njce walk along prom to get back to hotel.Can't understand why anyone has cause to moan and complain as staff are all very attentive and pleasant,we shall go back again this year.

Room Tip: Blocks A,B.C and D are on seafront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank fisherman63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subdireccion S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear fisherman63,

Thank you very much for bringing us your feelings. We appreciate your comments and remarks and the trust you have placed on us.
Looking forward to welcoming you again.

Yours faithfully,
Natalia Bravo de Laguna
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Just returned from fabulous 12 night stay here with our friends. We were fortunate to have a lovely room in block C but as it was at ground level, we felt a little bit on show as the promenade was only a stones throw away. Having said this, we did feel safe at night as the hotel locked the gate at. 8.10 pm.

There is little that I can expand on as the majority of guests have covered it all. I can honestly say that I have not been to a hotel before that has such a great repertoire of food. To offer 2 or 3 different soups, wonderful salads, freshly cooked roast meat, fish and steaks plus all the extra serve yourself food, followed with desserts, fresh fruit and cheese/crackers and then to repeat it in the evening with alternatives, I found incredible. Must mention too the wonderful Italian where the Chef would cook your chosen pasta dish or help yourself to soup and alternative dishes.

All the staff were friendly and efficient. We loved the chill out terrace in the evening ..... A little chilly at this time of year but it was such a lovely place to be and certainly worth donning the jackets for. A first I think, that the hotel shop sold good quality items at a reasonable price.

Loved Marina Rubicon market ...... Again good quality items at reasonable prices. Someone mentioned bartering, but this is a fixed price market. Nice 25 minute stroll along promenade.

I had to think hard about any criticisms and could only come up with a few tiny ones: bacon was very fatty (I know this is the norm but I think this was the fattiest), could have done with a few parasols in sunbathing areas away from the pool area as it got so hot by lunchtime. Possible suggestions: to make the Italian dining room an adult's only dining area and to have discreet wall clothe driers on the wall of terrace/balcony.

Been to Playa Blanca before but not to Sandos Papagayo. This is certainly our favourite and we will be back. Thanks to all the staff and keep up the good work.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BetsyBoothroyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subdireccion S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear BetsyBoothroyd,

Thank you very much for bringing us your feelings. We appreciate your comments and remarks and the trust you have placed on us.
Looking forward to welcoming you again.

Yours faithfully,
Natalia Bravo de Laguna
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa Blanca hotels
1.5 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
0.2 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
0.8 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#6 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3,716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
#8 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,598 reviews
1.7 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#14 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,056 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort

Property: Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort
Address: Calle Las Acacias, no 6 | Playa Las Coloradas, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Blanca
#3 Green Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#6 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
#6 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
#8 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 488
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort All Inclusive is located on the seafront in Playa Blanca, Lanzarote. The hotel is close to beaches of the Papagayo Natural Park (600m). The Timanfaya National Park is 20 km away. The rooms are spacious and bright, with a balcony with views, bathroom with hairdryer, satellite TV with international channels. Each room provides a safety deposit box (supplement charge). The complex provides four outside pools, gym, minigolf and sports center, plus spa, sauna and steam bath. It also has eight bars, a disco and a snack bar, as well as a few restaurants: - International Restaurant - Italian Restaurant - Fusion Restaurant: Alternately Mexican/Oriental Nights The front desk is 24 hour manned and has a tourist information including car rental and tour services. The hotel provides free Wi-Fi in public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandos Papagayo Arena Beach Hotel
Papagayo Arena Lanzarote
Papagayo Arena Resort
Hotel Papagayo Arena
Papagayo Arena Hotel Lanzarote
Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing