We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A week away from it all”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort
Ranked #7 of 38 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A week away from it all”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

This is a holiday that could have gone all so wrong.
On the way to Lanzarote I blacked out on the plane and had to go to hospital.
Firstly the hospital was amazing...clean, modern and friendly. I felt really well looked after and it did not dampen my spirits.
The staff at the hotel were sad to learn of my ordeal and often faxed things to my insurance provider and photo copied things for me without complaint.
The actual hotel is beautiful. The pool is lovely and there were plenty of sun loungers.
Food wise it could get a little repetitive but I still really enjoyed the meals we had.
Our favourite place in the evening was the rooftop terrace bar, they always had relaxing music playing and the cocktails were delicious!
There was a beach as well, you had to climb over the hill from the hotel to get there but it was great to have a beach day every now and then.
I was also really happy to see that they had a little house for the cats you sometimes see wandering about.They all look very healthy and happy.
I love cats so I was really pleased!
Just go and you will surely have an excellent holiday!

Room Tip: Ask for block C for a great sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drumsgemma83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subdireccion S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear guests,

We are happy to know that you spent a pleasant holiday. We thank you for choosing this hotel and send you our best regards.

Carlos Vera. Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,122
    2,202
    656
    158
    71
See reviews for
2,284
2,907
68
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,809)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Catterick Village
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This was our second trip to this hotel....1st trip January 2010..where my husband proposed to me.
This time was our honeymoon !!! we married on 29th December, 2012.
My sister and her partner were staying at the same time...their 3rd trip to this hotel!

Everything was as we remembered...food excellent....rooms spacious, clean and comfortable. Outside areas very clean and spacious as were the inside areas. Staff very helpful, courteous and friendly. Special mention to Reception Staff, especially a young lady (didnt get her name) who booked us in and thereafter when we went to reception greeted us with 'Hello sisters'.
My husband and I stayed in room 309 overlooking the sea..we upgraded to the Royal Elite Service....this was well worth the cost...special room for breakfast..lounge with bar facilities and internet etc...bathrobes, slippers and aloe vera toiletries...made our holiday a bit special.
The setting is perfect..wonderful sunsets..a memorable honeymoon.
We have decided we will probably make this our annual post Christmas holiday!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christybel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subdireccion S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Christybel,

Thank you very much for your kinds words and for us were a pleasure attend you again. We´ll be delighted to see you and once again, thank you very much for choosing us .

Best Regards,
Carlos Vera. Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Just returned from Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort.
Went with friends.
Before we went we emailed the Hotel to request a sea view and high floor. Our request was granted we were in block B and on third floor. What a view of the sunsets - fantastic.
The staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble.
Hotel spotlessly clean. We did see 5 leaves by one of the lifts - gone in 15 minutes!!! Well done to all the staff.
Food was excellent, plenty of choice. If its not hot enough for you there are always the microwaves. We had no problems. Always space and tables cleared as soon as you have finished each course.
Drinks were plentiful and of good quality. Service excellent.
We found the big adventure of the holiday were the lifts!!!! It took all the holiday to get everyone right first time, but we did laugh!!!!
Rooms could do with a revamp but they were always spotless clean and to be honest we didn't spend that much time in them.
Pools excellent, loungers plentiful no need for the towel brigade!! The only shame was that the large pool near reception was empty and no one on loungers this was because it was so windy and cold. Perhaps this should be looked into to see if the problem could be solved. This wasn't a problem as there were plenty of loungers around the other pools.
This is a hotel I will recommend and return to.
Well done to all staff for making our stay with you such a pleasure.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Trsah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subdireccion S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Trsah,

We are happy to know that you spent a pleasant holiday. We thank you for recommending this hotel and send you our best regards.

Carlos Vera. Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Stayed here in 2008 and have some fantastic memories with our then 4 year old Wanted to return with our now 8 year old to remind him how much we enjoyed it all Amazing prompt response to our request by email for a room we stayed in during our last visit EXCELLENT service Can't wait to see Sandos Papagayo Arena between 10th and 17th February Memories are priceless

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JoRooney1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subdireccion S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear JoRooney1968,

Thank you very much for your kinds words and for us were a pleasure attend you again. We´ll be delighted to see you and once again, thank you very much for choosing us .

Best Regards,
Carlos Vera. Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We have just returned from another fantastic stay at the Sandos Papagayo. As with previous stays we found the hotel staff great from the moment we arrived to the minute we left. We stayed in this hotel last year for our honeymoon and returned to celebrate our first wedding anniversary. I emailed the hotel prior to our arrival with a request and they went above and beyond. We recieved a gift for our anniversary with a lovely note and a gift for being a return customer.

We requested block B and specifically room 517 and 518 and this was granted.These are great rooms with fabulous views and the sun from lunch onwards.

My husband had two treatments in the Spa with Maria who was fabulous. I also have to mention Erika and Theresa in the bar, they provided a great friendly service and took time to chat and give some helpful tips.

The staff on reception were alao very friendly, helpful and polite.

I would recommend this hotel over and over again.

Room Tip: Block B, floor five - great view and sun all afternoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sept2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subdireccion S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear sept2006,

Thank you very much for your kinds words and for us were a pleasure attend you again. We´ll be delighted to see you and once again, thank you very much for choosing us .

Best Regards,
Carlos Vera. Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hailsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Just back from a weeks holiday, really enjoyed ourselves. Our holiday was to celebrate our friends joint birthdays, we all met over there as we flew from different airports and different dates.
I emailed a few weeks ahead of our arrival and asked for rooms close to each other and explained why we were coming.
We were delighted as the rooms were next to each other, in block G with lovely views of sea and pools, perfect. Our friends arrived and they got a bottle of bubbly for their birthdays, well remembered and special touch.
The staff were all very good and appeared genuinely happy. The pool/snack barman, Rayco was really lovely, also Theresa in the chill bar was amazing, it was not that warm in the evenings up there and she always welcomed us and had a laugh with us.
Food was very good, can't see how anyone could complain, plenty, hot and a variety, yes it's buffet but that's all inclusive!!! Mexican was really nice, chineese not my favourite, could do with more choices. Breakfasts really good, something for everyone.
Location great, every morning a stroll to playa blanca, had a drink/snack there and a stroll back. Had a wonderful meal one night at the marina.
The only negative I have at all and I feel quite strongly about is the drinking water.
I think that no one should be allowed to refill existing bottles of water to keep, this is unhygienic, people drink directly from the bottles and then fill them, bottle top touching the pourer. I bought water every day, I did not mind doing this but feel its a very small thing that would really improve the all inclusive, even in my workplace we are not allowed to fill personal bottles. Even if the bars had new bottles of water to take way this would be an improvement.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone who likes all inclusives.
An excellent holiday choice this time.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caz226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subdireccion S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear caz226,

We are happy to know that you spent a pleasant holiday and we thank you for recommending this hotel and send you our best regards.

Carlos Vera. Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Just returned from a one week Holiday with my family from this Hotel and was very impressed during my stay. Since being taken over by the Sandos Group the Hotel has maintained a high level of customer service. The staff were always very friendly & polite, the restaurant has something for everyone with the International restaurant serving a very good selection of excellent meals at Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner. There is also a Mexican & French Restaurant that needs to be booked however I never ate there as I found the main restaurant so good. The Rooms are Spacious and fairly modern with Balconies that face the Sea and Afternoon sun. Pool areas have ample space as there are 3 Pool areas, the main one with activities and music throughout the day. Request Blocks A,B or C from the Hotel after booking if you want to be away from daytime Pool noise & evening entertainment. The only reason I never gave the Hotel a 5 star rating is because the Childrens pool which should have been heated was too cold for toddlers etc, only once was it warm enough for children to enjoy which was unfortunate as my daughter loved it when it was warm enough. I did bring it to the attention of the Hotel Reception but nothing seemed to change..? The Hotel has many nice Bar areas depending on preference, adults can go to the Green Bar if they wish to escape from the kids as it is adults only, the Chill Bar roof terrace is a nice touch too. Overall a very nice 4 star hotel which i would certainly return too in the future!

Room Tip: Email hotel and request Block A,B,C or D prior to arrival which are a little quieter with great Sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subdireccion S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Anthony S,

We appreciate your comments and remarks and thank you for the trust you have placed in us.
Looking forward to welcoming you again, best wishes.

Best Regards,
Carlos Vera. Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa Blanca hotels
1.5 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
0.2 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
0.8 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#6 of 38 in Playa Blanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#13 of 38 in Playa Blanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,964 reviews
1.5 mi away
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
#8 of 38 in Playa Blanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,556 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort

Property: Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort
Address: Calle Las Acacias, no 6 | Playa Las Coloradas, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
#3 Green Hotel in Playa Blanca
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#6 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
#6 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
#8 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 488
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort All Inclusive is located on the seafront in Playa Blanca, Lanzarote. The hotel is close to beaches of the Papagayo Natural Park (600m). The Timanfaya National Park is 20 km away. The rooms are spacious and bright, with a balcony with views, bathroom with hairdryer, satellite TV with international channels. Each room provides a safety deposit box (supplement charge). The complex provides four outside pools, gym, minigolf and sports center, plus spa, sauna and steam bath. It also has eight bars, a disco and a snack bar, as well as a few restaurants: - International Restaurant - Italian Restaurant - Fusion Restaurant: Alternately Mexican/Oriental Nights The front desk is 24 hour manned and has a tourist information including car rental and tour services. The hotel provides free Wi-Fi in public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Cancelon, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandos Papagayo Arena Beach Hotel
Papagayo Arena Lanzarote
Papagayo Arena Resort
Hotel Papagayo Arena
Papagayo Arena Hotel Lanzarote
Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing