We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel, average food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort
Ranked #7 of 38 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, average food”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Just back from 11 nights at Papagayo. It's a lovely hotel, very clean and spacious. The room was fine, adequate storage space for family of 4. Massive bed for us and double bed settee for the children. Cleaners came in every day and it was spotless, as was the rest of the hotel. The hard-working animation team were great, not too pushy, but plenty of activities for those that wanted to join in. Evening entertainment was good standard - kids loved the mini disco at the start of the night and the shows were very good, both those done by the animation team and the entertainers that came in.
The swimming pools are fab, no problem at all getting sunbeds and the 2 children's pools were shallow enough for our 6 and 2 year olds to play in while we sat at the side.
Food was the only let down for us. We like good food and maybe all inclusive wasn't a great idea, but seemed like the right thing to do with having young children. The restaurant is very much like a canteen and as it is self-service we were constantly up and down getting food for us and the kids, so never seemed to be all sat down together. The seating area in the Italian section is a bit quieter and you can access all the food from there. Also much quieter in main restaurant at lunch time. There was lots of choice, but quality wasn't great - a bit like eating supermarket cheapest brand food, which isn't what we expected from a 4 star. Nothing wrong with the cooking of it, just seemed to be the food they were using. The Mexican was pretty good, Chinese was ok, but make sure you book on your first day. We arrived Sunday and went to book on Monday, but couldn't get in until the following weekend. On the plus side, the churros and chocolate sauce at breakfast were lovely! Good cocktails in the Canarian bar and never had to wait long for service in any of the bars. Papagayo beach is lovely and only 10 minute walk over the volcanic landscape at the back of the hotel, well worth it. We walked into Playa Blanca a few times for beaches and food, about half an hour walk along the promenade, with fantastic views and the Rubicon Marina on the way, which had nice bars and restaurants. Lanza Sur water park was a good day out, small but not too busy and we really enjoyed it. Overall, great holiday, but we wouldn't go again because of the food.

Room Tip: Would probably be noisy if you were on front side of H block, as it's by the theatre for evening...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FamilyHoliday123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,120
    2,201
    656
    158
    71
See reviews for
2,284
2,905
68
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,807)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Just returned from ten days here and had a brilliant holiday. The hotel is spotless and the staff are so friendly. Highly recommend the kids club we felt guilty sending ours there but they loved it so much and the girls who ran it that they insisted on going everyday twice a day!

Plenty of sun loungers so no need to reserve.

Food is lovely although can be a bit repetitive plenty of choice though

Rooms fully air conditioned.

Evening entertainment was a bit hit and miss but kids loved the mini disco.

Couldn't fault a thing with this hotel would highly recommend, very child friendly and family orientated

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Emmag2610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Just got back from a weeks stay at Sandos Papagayo. Travelled with my husband and six year old son.
We booked through First Choice and be warned they no longer have a film or any television programs to watch on shorthall flights. I asked the air stewardess why this was and she said everyone has laptops ect with them, we don't and its hard to keep our son entertained for what turned out to be a 5 hour flight with no TV, we were not impressed that First Choice did not let us know before hand about this change in their company policy!!!
Anyway on to the holiday, which was fantastic!!
Friendly quick check in, make sure you help yourself to the Cava they have on ice in reception!!
Found our room easily and we had a great sea and pool view in room H 916. The rooms are very clean and a good size with plenty of storage and fridge. Great bathroom with twin sinks. There was a bottle of Cava in the fridge as I had joined the Sandos 4 U club on the Sandos website so that was a nice surprise! Our shower did not work, my husband reported this to reception and within half and hour the handyman had a new shower and tap fitted, now theres good service.
The hotel is large but very easy to get round as there is lots of signs, everywhere is very clean and well maintained.
Food is of an excellent standard and plenty of choice. Make sure you try the churos and chocolate at breakfast time, yummy!! We ate lunch at the snack bar everyday, usual things, toasties, salads hot dog ect. We tried all the restaurants in the evening and all very good, make sure you try the fish spaghetti in the Italian end of the main buffet restaurant its cooked fresh to order and very good. Lots of different bars to try out the one on -3 serves premium brand drinks and cocktails included in AI, and the pool bar offered salted nuts and olives as well as great alcoholic slushes!!
The kids club is brilliant and my son went every single day 10-12 and 3-5. They done lots of games, art and craft ect and one night they even had a birthday party for the hotel mascot Sanditos, so me and my husband got to have a meal by our selves that night!.
Lots of activities during the day if you fancy joining in(we were just happy sitting round the lovely pools )but the annimation team are not in your face. The pools are not heated in October but we found them fine, but perhaps we are just hardy as not many people went in, but thats nice then you get the pool to yourself!!
Evening entertainment is the usual stuff - quizzes, daft shows put on by animation team magic shows ect, As long as the kids are entertained thats the main aim of the evening entertainment in my mind!!
Make sure you take a walk to the Papagayo beach, just turn right out of reception and take a 6 or 7 min walk over the hill and you will come to a stunning golden sand beach. No facilities what so ever so make sure you take everything you need. The sea is warmer than the pools but it is the Atlantic so can be quite rough and large waves can happen quickly even if when you get it its calm. Me and my husband both got knocked off our feet, funny for us, but watch your children (our son refused to go to the beach we just went when he was at kids club!)
Don't book the First Choice organised coach trips for days out, just book a hire car with the company in reception. A small car will cost you £35 Euros its very easy to get round the island as its very small and roads are good. Be warned though there are no sign post in the towns!!!. Timanfaya park is only £8 euro each with kids free and the caves verdes cost about the same. Both of these attractions are worth doing and we really enjoyed them.
We had a really good holiday and we will definitely be returning in the future.

Room Tip: most rooms are sea view, so I think you would be unlucky not to get one!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Melanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

hotel clean. pools areas good never had to worry about getting sun bed any time of day.Good for familys.Beer could not drink to gassey wine with evening meal help your self not very good. If you wanted a bottle had to pay extra even though all inclucive. Water was from a dispencer in a plastic cup.this is the first time we have had this in a four star hotel in the 24 years we have been going to a spanish resort. Resturant felt like a canteen poor. tryed to book the chinese resturant all booked up the day after we arrived for the week. wood not go again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Great hotel large and spacious. Very clean is always being cleaned. Staff very helpful. Great location as away from Playa Blanca but is easy to visit the town and local marina which is in walking distance. Will definitely return again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Treatig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We returned to this hotel after staying here 4 years ago. This hotel has been used by my partner as his benchmark to anywhere else we have stayed and so far nowhere has matched up. I can honestly say the hotel was better than what I remembered.

We used the Royal Elite service where you get a sea view room, bathrobes, slippers, bottle of cava on arrival, sweets for the kids and chocolates in your room as well as beach towels and free use of the safe (20 euro deposit). You also get private dining for breakfast away from the hustle and bussle as well as use of a private bar area where you can help yourself to premium brand drinks.

Food is great plenty of choice even for the fussiest of people. Hotel is spotless staff always cleaning.

There is wifi spots throughout the hotel although not in rooms.

The only disappointment was one day of rain and having to go back home.

Will be back again (soon I hope)

Room Tip: We stayed in block B which is right on the sea front only noise comes from the waves rolling in and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank EveK69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

I didn't feel it lived up to a 4 star rating, we had contacted them on more than one occasion to request an upgrade to the elite service but did not get a response. I expected a hotel on the beach....well I suppose technically it was. There was a courtesy bus service into Playa Blanca but the beach there was small and crowded, It was our first time to Playa Blanca and our last. The hotel was too far out even though we had read about it prior to going. Papagayo beaches could be accessed by either mountain climbing or hiring a car, we did walk one day and the beach was beautiful but the walk back was a killer when you are unfit. Staff were excellent, cleanliness couldn't be faulted, huge hotel but lacked good entertainment. It has some good possibilitites but the lack of parenting from some people did manage to spoil some days. Children being allowed to run amok did cause a few problems and they were british !!!! However poor parenting skills are not the fault of the hotel. Food - always managed to find something to eat, the French restaurant was the highlight of our holiday it was excellent. The spa facilities were nice until children came in with grandparents and swimming googles. On reflection we would consider Sandos again but probably a child free hotel.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the elite service
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank maryanne1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa Blanca hotels
1.5 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
0.2 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
0.8 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#6 of 38 in Playa Blanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#13 of 38 in Playa Blanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,956 reviews
1.5 mi away
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
#8 of 38 in Playa Blanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,550 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort

Property: Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort
Address: Calle Las Acacias, no 6 | Playa Las Coloradas, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
#3 Green Hotel in Playa Blanca
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#6 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
#6 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
#8 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 488
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort All Inclusive is located on the seafront in Playa Blanca, Lanzarote. The hotel is close to beaches of the Papagayo Natural Park (600m). The Timanfaya National Park is 20 km away. The rooms are spacious and bright, with a balcony with views, bathroom with hairdryer, satellite TV with international channels. Each room provides a safety deposit box (supplement charge). The complex provides four outside pools, gym, minigolf and sports center, plus spa, sauna and steam bath. It also has eight bars, a disco and a snack bar, as well as a few restaurants: - International Restaurant - Italian Restaurant - Fusion Restaurant: Alternately Mexican/Oriental Nights The front desk is 24 hour manned and has a tourist information including car rental and tour services. The hotel provides free Wi-Fi in public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandos Papagayo Arena Beach Hotel
Papagayo Arena Lanzarote
Papagayo Arena Resort
Hotel Papagayo Arena
Papagayo Arena Hotel Lanzarote
Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing