We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort
Ranked #7 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

I am late writing this report and so am now getting round to it because I feel it is important for others to know how wonderful this hotel is!. We stayed at the hotel in July 2012, the minute my daughter finished school, off we went. We are a family of four including 2 children, aged 3 and 9. From the minute we got there we were impressed. If you are looking for the most relaxing holiday with absolutely everything included then this is the place!

It is spotless and food is excellent with such a huge selection (I really dont know how they do it) We visited all of the restaurant options and really the main restaurant is the best.

The pools are fabulous slightly breezy but we liked this as it was very hot. We are beach people really though and so spent alot of time on the beautiful beach which is located a short walk behind the hotel. Here we saw Trigger fish, Squid, Flounder and many other species in the beautiful turquoise waters.
The kids went to the kiddie club everyday, (not our choice!), and so this lended itself to some nice relaxing time for us.

We would return tomorrow and have no problem recommending this hotel as a truely great holiday - the best we have had yet in fact!

Well done and thankyou to everyone at the Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort !

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank clare d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subdireccion S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear clare d,
Please do not thank us, we thank you for choosing us to spend your holidays and recommend our establishment. We hope to see you again in the future and we will be delighted to attend you again.

Yours Sincerely,
Carlos Cera. Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,166
    2,230
    661
    160
    73
See reviews for
2,303
2,959
71
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,826)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

This was our first visit to this hotel (27.9.2012 - 04.10.2012) and our second visit to this island albeit our first was 16 years ago.
The hotel was recommended by our local travel agent who have sent many clients there and the hotel complex did not disappoint. The external fabric, pools and internal areas have been maintained to a high standard with constant cleaning evident throughout the day however some of the tiling surrounding pool areas were cracked and could be doing with remedial attention.
The adult pools x average depth 1.20 - 1.35metres which disadvantages adults who are of small stature and not proficient swimmers; this affected my wife whose main enjoyment on our holidays is being able to use these facilities extensively.
We had emailed the hotel in advance of our holiday and were allocated a lovely room the outlook of which was exactly as we requested.The view from our room was superb, extending over the hotel pools and across the bay and coastline.
The hotel complex was somewhat isolated, the nearest shopping complex was 10 mins walk with a supermarket who charged extortionate prices for Cocoa Cola drinks ( my wife does not like sweet Pepsi Cola which the hotel favoured as part of their All Inclusive package )
Food quality was very good with extensive selections on offer - I almost grew gills with the amount of fish dishes I ate during lunch and dinner.
One criticism I have was the 'search for a table' at dinner service instead of being shown to our table which I would have thought should have been the norm for a 4* Hotel.
Entertainment in the evenings was focussed on Magic Shows / Comedy / Instrumentals, but nothing on adult singing( e.g. tribute ) acts.
Hotel staff were very attentive and friendly.
Unfortunately our stay was marred by bouts of inclement weather when it rained 4 days out of 7 for some 1 1/2 - 2 hours per afternoon and low temps of 23-26 degrees, which from our chats with other guests we met, was not the norm for the Canary Islands.
Will we be back? Don't think so, mainly due to the weather conditions, this was our 2nd (Autumn) holiday this year. We will probably go back to Cyprus for next year's Autumn break.
I hope these comments are of help to our fellow travellers out there.
Best Wishes, Tom Carey, Burnside, Glasgow, Scotland.

Room Tip: Request your room preference via an email to the hotel some 2 weeks before you travel, they do their...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TJCarey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subdireccion S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear Mr. Carey,
We are glad to now that you spend a great holidays with us. But as you are saying next holidays time you will spend in Cyprus because you had a bad weather in Lanzarote. Do not worry, we were delighted to attend you and we wish the best for your next holidays ( maybe in the near future we could see you again in our establishment).

Yours SIncerely,
Carlos Vera. Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheltenham
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We selected Papagayo Beach after reading reviews and by golly we were not disappointed. The hotel is very spacious, very modern, very clean and we have to say that the food was outstanding with a wide selection for every meal. Their fresh fruit availability was the best we've ever seen; bananas, peaches, oranges apples, melon etc every day where other hotels have had restricted choices. You can also eat at an Italian, Mexican or French restaurant on site if you wish.
There are several pools, plenty of sunbeds, lots to drink if AI and lots of free water too, again not always available all of the time in some AI hotels we've stayed in. Staff were all very courteous and pleasant.
On;y 2 minor points. We have slept on more comfortable mattresses. And the hotel is the furthest from Playa Blanca town with rather a long walk along the coast path but there is a courtesy bus to take you to the beach several times a day to make up for that. Even a taxi is only about 5Eu.
All in all a very restful and very pleasant stay. Definately not disappointed and considered this excellent value for money all in all. Would certainly consider returning

Room Tip: Sea view in blocks A to C will avoid the night time theatre near H block
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank badger42Cheltenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subdireccion S, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear badger42Cheltenham,
Thank you very much for your comments. We will be delighted to attend you again.

Yours SIncerely,
Carlos Vera. Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oundle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We chose this hotel as the reviews were all good, well this hotel exceeded our expectations. It was spotless, especially the toilets, cleaning was being done everywhere throughout the day. The rooms were cleaned daily and the staff - everyone of them - were so friendly and helpful. There was no problem getting a sunbed (Sept/Oct) although still annoying when people left towels there all day and didnt use the beds again, it was funny that their towels got wet as we had some rain which is unusual for Lanzarote. It did not spoil our holiday as we were totally relaxed by the pool and yes Crazy Frog played every day but if you moved to another pool you didnt have to listen to it. The Entertainment Team were fantastic and worked very very hard including rehearsals at lunchtimes. Their shows were funny and it was nice to sit in the theatre in the evenings to see visiting acts who were all very good. The "Chill Out" Bar is lovely and the views and sunsets amazing. The Green Bar was relaxing and nice to meet up with others with no children in the evenings to catch up on their day, Theresa was a star and soon knew the drinks you were drinking and was always cheerful. The food was excellent, there was plenty of choice, plenty of places to eat you were not tied to one place, it was always hot or freshly cooked and they were happy to cook your meat a little longer if you like it that way. We enjoyed the Mexican Restaurant and the Chinese but didnt try the French or the Italian but there was always people in them so that is a good sign. Our room was perfect for us and although had not requested a sea view we would ask for this room again, it was spacious and the bed was massive and very comfy!The Papagayo Beach is beautiful and well worth the trek only about 15 mins from the hotel but not a clear path. The walk to the Marina is lovely and the first day we walked into Playa Blanca although this is quite a walk it was well worth it. There is a courtesy bus from the hotel so we used that and then walked back, although the taxi was only 5 euros which we used when we walked into Playa Blanca. We normally go to a different hotel and resort each year but we are very tempted to go back next year, if not for our main holiday definitely for an extra treat!

Room Tip: We had B114 and it was excellent on the ground floor, sea view and you could hear the sea, but very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jules789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUBDIRECTORA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Dear
Thank you very much for your kind’s words and for us were a pleasure attend you . We´ll be delighted to see you again in the future and that´s would be mind that you want spend again your holidays with the big family at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort.
Once again, thank you very much to choose us between many and many hotels.
Yours Sincerely,
Carlos Vera.Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

just returned from our 4th visit to this fabulous hotel. cannot be faulted in any respect. Location, views, rooms, cleanliness,staff, service,friendliness, food quality and choice are second to non and in our opinion should be a 5 star rating. definately the best hotel we have ever stayed in and will be making many return visits and continue to reccommend to all our family and friends.In a word FANTASTIC!!

Room Tip: Blocks C and D have amazing panoramic views although 90% of the rooms also have very nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dulcielily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUBDIRECTORA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear Dulcielily,
We appreciate your comments and remarks and thank you for the trust you have placed in us.
Looking forward to welcoming you again, best wishes.
Best Regards,
Carlos Vera. Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

First of all, this is a BIG hotel. So big that after 5 days we had not discovered all of it. As we were celebrating our wedding anniversary, we e-mailed the hotel asking for a high room with a sea view. As we did not receive a reply we did not expect to be pleased, but were very pleased with the room we were given, it could not have been better. On the quiet side, a high room with the best view possible of the resort and the sea with fantastic views of the setting sun.
The staff were all very friendly and could not have been more helpful. Maintenance was carried out very unobtrusively but very efficiently. Cleaning of public areas was continuous and very thorough.
The animation team are very enthusiastic and during the day it is difficult to ignore them! They do however provide very good entertainment in the theatre at night, but only from 10:00 pm to 11:00. The other entertainment is by what must be ex-circus acts. They are all brilliant and very entertaining.
This hotel is very popular with families with pre-school age children, not a problem as they are mainly Spanish families and the children are on the whole, very well behaved.
Our room was kept very clean by the housekeeping staff, except for the shower which had mould around the shower tray. It is quite easy to treat and remove of this so why is it such a problem?
This is an hotel which provides an ‘All inclusive’ package. It may be advantageous to the hotel in increasing their revenues, but not to the advantage of the guests. The choices, early, appear to be good but after a few days are very repetitive. Salads with a few variations are very similar, too much fried food and poor cuts of meat not fully cooked. ‘lamb cutlets’ more accurately described next day as ‘mutton’ beef always called ‘veal’ when it is obviously not. The fish dishes were varied and very tasty.
Although we enjoyed our stay, it is difficult to recommend this hotel. We prefer to eat at local restaurants, which ‘All inclusive’ are putting out of business.
The beach in front of the hotel is black pebbles or scrub, no sand. About 20mins walk from the hotel (turn right from reception) is a fantastic beach, but take care as there are no facilities there, nor shade. Take plenty of water and sun screen.
A free bus is available from the hotel to Dorada Playa. The beach hear is busy but there are plenty of beach bars.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Guis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUBDIRECTORA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear Guis,
We are really sorry that your opinion of the location were not the best and your not so good opinion about the food . Its is a shame but we hope to see you again.
Best regards,
Carlos Vera. Assiatnt Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhondda, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We travelled as 2 couples, for 1 week, arriving on the 23rd September in early afternoon, very impressive reception and the staff were most helpful. We stayed in H block (even numbers overlooking the main pool) odd numbers overlooked barren land and volcanoes. By the swimming pools there was a snack bar plus a drinks bar.
There was a well equipped gym and spa. and lifts to upper floors where we found a large bar with a sun terrace with comfortable chairs.
There is also the green bar which is adults only. The most impressive bar was the chill out bar on the roof terrace, you have to see it to believe it.
The food is good and varied, there is a main resturant and just along from it a green resturant this was a lot cooler then the main resturant.
All the staff are friendly and will help or assist any time. The animation team was something else and were very entertaining.
You can walk into the new marina along the coastal path in about 30 - 40mins and its well worth taking the free bus into Playa Blanca to do some shopping.
Pool towels are available free and can be picked up by the gym everyday bar Thursday where you will have to get them from reception.
The safe in the room cost 21 euros with a 20 euro deposit refundable at the end of the holiday.
Go ahead and enjoy your holidays you won't go wrong with this hotel.

Room Tip: G & H block even numbers for pool and sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tinkydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUBDIRECTORA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear
We are happy to know that you spent a pleasant holiday. We thank you for recommending this hotel through Tripadvisor and send you our best regards.
Carlos Vera. Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa Blanca hotels
1.5 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
0.2 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
0.8 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#6 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3,713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
#8 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,598 reviews
1.7 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#14 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,053 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort

Property: Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort
Address: Calle Las Acacias, no 6 | Playa Las Coloradas, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Blanca
#3 Green Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#6 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
#6 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
#8 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 488
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort All Inclusive is located on the seafront in Playa Blanca, Lanzarote. The hotel is close to beaches of the Papagayo Natural Park (600m). The Timanfaya National Park is 20 km away. The rooms are spacious and bright, with a balcony with views, bathroom with hairdryer, satellite TV with international channels. Each room provides a safety deposit box (supplement charge). The complex provides four outside pools, gym, minigolf and sports center, plus spa, sauna and steam bath. It also has eight bars, a disco and a snack bar, as well as a few restaurants: - International Restaurant - Italian Restaurant - Fusion Restaurant: Alternately Mexican/Oriental Nights The front desk is 24 hour manned and has a tourist information including car rental and tour services. The hotel provides free Wi-Fi in public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandos Papagayo Arena Beach Hotel
Papagayo Arena Lanzarote
Papagayo Arena Resort
Hotel Papagayo Arena
Papagayo Arena Hotel Lanzarote
Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing