We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At the quiet side of the resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 4, 2012

First of all, this is a BIG hotel. So big that after 5 days we had not discovered all of it. As we were celebrating our wedding anniversary, we e-mailed the hotel asking for a high room with a sea view. As we did not receive a reply we did not expect to be pleased, but were very pleased with the room we were given, it could not have been better. On the quiet side, a high room with the best view possible of the resort and the sea with fantastic views of the setting sun.
The staff were all very friendly and could not have been more helpful. Maintenance was carried out very unobtrusively but very efficiently. Cleaning of public areas was continuous and very thorough.
The animation team are very enthusiastic and during the day it is difficult to ignore them! They do however provide very good entertainment in the theatre at night, but only from 10:00 pm to 11:00. The other entertainment is by what must be ex-circus acts. They are all brilliant and very entertaining.
This hotel is very popular with families with pre-school age children, not a problem as they are mainly Spanish families and the children are on the whole, very well behaved.
Our room was kept very clean by the housekeeping staff, except for the shower which had mould around the shower tray. It is quite easy to treat and remove of this so why is it such a problem?
This is an hotel which provides an ‘All inclusive’ package. It may be advantageous to the hotel in increasing their revenues, but not to the advantage of the guests. The choices, early, appear to be good but after a few days are very repetitive. Salads with a few variations are very similar, too much fried food and poor cuts of meat not fully cooked. ‘lamb cutlets’ more accurately described next day as ‘mutton’ beef always called ‘veal’ when it is obviously not. The fish dishes were varied and very tasty.
Although we enjoyed our stay, it is difficult to recommend this hotel. We prefer to eat at local restaurants, which ‘All inclusive’ are putting out of business.
The beach in front of the hotel is black pebbles or scrub, no sand. About 20mins walk from the hotel (turn right from reception) is a fantastic beach, but take care as there are no facilities there, nor shade. Take plenty of water and sun screen.
A free bus is available from the hotel to Dorada Playa. The beach hear is busy but there are plenty of beach bars.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Guis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUBDIRECTORA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2012

Dear Guis,
We are really sorry that your opinion of the location were not the best and your not so good opinion about the food . Its is a shame but we hope to see you again.
Best regards,
Carlos Vera. Assiatnt Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,507)
There are newer reviews for Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,683 - 3,689 of 6,510 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2012

We travelled as 2 couples, for 1 week, arriving on the 23rd September in early afternoon, very impressive reception and the staff were most helpful. We stayed in H block (even numbers overlooking the main pool) odd numbers overlooked barren land and volcanoes. By the swimming pools there was a snack bar plus a drinks bar.
There was a well equipped gym and spa. and lifts to upper floors where we found a large bar with a sun terrace with comfortable chairs.
There is also the green bar which is adults only. The most impressive bar was the chill out bar on the roof terrace, you have to see it to believe it.
The food is good and varied, there is a main resturant and just along from it a green resturant this was a lot cooler then the main resturant.
All the staff are friendly and will help or assist any time. The animation team was something else and were very entertaining.
You can walk into the new marina along the coastal path in about 30 - 40mins and its well worth taking the free bus into Playa Blanca to do some shopping.
Pool towels are available free and can be picked up by the gym everyday bar Thursday where you will have to get them from reception.
The safe in the room cost 21 euros with a 20 euro deposit refundable at the end of the holiday.
Go ahead and enjoy your holidays you won't go wrong with this hotel.

Room Tip: G & H block even numbers for pool and sea view
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tinkydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUBDIRECTORA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2012

Dear
We are happy to know that you spent a pleasant holiday. We thank you for recommending this hotel through Tripadvisor and send you our best regards.
Carlos Vera. Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

me and my wife just returned back from the papagayo arena , really great hotel , spotlessly clean
food great , pools great , but really cold , could do with a being heated really,
staff really polite and helpfull,
its a really big hotel , it will take a couple of days to get used to where everything is,
for the size of the hotel theres plenty of sunbeds around the pools
all in all a great hotel

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lee s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUBDIRECTORA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2012

Dear lee s,
We are happy to know that you spent a pleasant holiday. We send you our best regards.
Carlos Vera. Assiatnt Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

After our June visit here we wanted to come back as we loved it so much so booked for 3 months later in September.

Everything great. As we had been before we just settled in as soon as we got dropped off. We were given room A508, previously we had B520 and had requested a room similar to before, so very grateful the hotel gave us the lovely view and peace again and an identical room. Again a massive bed which I found so comfy. The husband could feel a dip in the memory foam but he seemed to sleep well.

Food = Wonderful. So much choice and as I love food I had to have a desert plate for lunch just so I didn't pile it on and eat too much! LOVED the large king prawns one lunchtime.

New chill out bar is an excellent addition to the hotel and very very nice.

We had signed up for Sandos4U which was well worth doing as we got some freebies in exchange for points from our last visit.

We received a bottle of cava in our room on arrival which was very kind and also on my birthday they left another bottle which was very thoughtful. Another day they left some slippers and baseball caps which was very useful and kind.

In the hotel questionnaire on departure one question was 'What is the best feature of the hotel' my husband replied 'The staff' as all of them keep the place spotless, maintained and help provide our holiday, he is spot on. It's like a well oiled machine.

The odd improvement would be making a rule that all parents to put babies in a swim nappy.

Shall be booking again. It suits us and we really enjoy this hotel.

Thank you Sandos Papagayo Arena! Wish we were there!

Room Tip: Email the hotel your request. They are very kind at trying to please.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EssexAngelDelight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUBDIRECTORA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2012

Dear EssexAngelDelight,
Thank you to you to choose us to spen your holidays and we hope to sse yoou soon on your 3rd visit. We will be delighted to attend you again.
Best Regards,
Carlos Vera. Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

My partner and I visited Papagayo for 10 nights in June. Fantastic hotel, very spacious, very clean etc etc. It took us a few days to get our bearings, the resort is that large. The All Inclusive is fantastic, anyone who says this isnt the case, are very picky shall we say. The quantity of food was unreal, all freshly provided daily, loads to choose from and even if you were a picky eater I would be very surprised if you couldnt find something to suit.
We enjoyed walks along the main strip sea front area, which took you right up the marina where there are many nice bars and restaurants should you want to go out to eat. The local market was brill, which we visited twice during our holiday. staf fon site were lovely, very hard working and couldnt do enough for you. Before we arrived, my partner had emailed the Resort to request a sea view room, which we got without any problems what so ever. Very spacious clean and tidy room, cleaned daily, new bed linen and towels daily, cannot fault. Our only one gripe we had while staying at the Papagayo was the sunbed issue. There where signs (rightly so too) stating that you couldnt reserve sunbeds, but yet every morning we struggled to get two decent ones, with parasol, due to everyone placing towels out either the night before or very... very early morning. There was lack of policing really for this, which ideally I think should maybe be addressed. On our last day, the reception staff where fantastic too... a courtesy room is available for all, so you are able to shower etc before leaving. We had a late flight home and wasnt leaving the resort until 6pm so this was very helpful and you don't seem to get that much nowadays on resorts... its out at 12 and thats that. All in all great holiday, really enjoyed our stay, weather was brill, staff food and drink excellent and very clean spacious resort. Would definatley return.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nbj2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUBDIRECTORA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2012

Dear nbj2012,
And we definatley will be glad to attend you again. Thank you very much to choose us bteween many and many hotels.
Best Regards,
Carlos Vera.Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

My wife and I spent 11 nights at the Sandos Papagayo in mid September.

The good

- staff attentive and friendly
- lots of pool choices but could have done with more sunshades
- Chinese and (especially) Mexican restaurants very good but you needed to book, sometimes three or four days ahead for Mexican. The food did get a bit repetitive though.
- room was spacious, if dated
- Papagayo beach was fantastic and near to the hotel. It's a 10-15 minute walk, admittedly a bit steep and rocky for some (quite normal for abroad) , but well worth the trip. Beautiful clear blue warm water, and so much better than Playa Blanca beach which had some sort of foamy head to it and was v overcrowded, unlike Papagayo.
- nice to be able to get your own drinks. Beer and (chilled) red wine were great, although we avoided the white wine.
- lots of bars to spend the evening, and quite decent entertainment – Chinese acrobats were great, although Glee evening and Animacion miming less so.
- Chill out bar fab, watching the sun go down with a beautiful view and a G&T. Only down side was the Spanish cover versions in a poor man's Cafe del Mar style of Beatles songs (and some Madonna)!
- Location excellent. Short walk to Papagayo Beach and about 20 minutes to the Marina which has excellent bars and restaurants, and a market twice a week. The walk in the evening was fine as the wide pavement was well-lit.

The not so good

- the bed, which although massive, was the most uncomfortable we have ever had the displeasure to sleep on. Like concrete!
- the Animacion team. Yes, I know they have a job to do, but if I ever hear the Crazy Frog again I won't be responsible for my actions. Given the noise level at certain times, and impact on those of us trying to relax, this were out of all proportion to the number of 'Aqua Fit' participants (no more than a dozen).
- the 'International Buffet'. Be sure to get to the main restaurant early for breakfast or dinner as otherwise it's a complete bunfight. The food offer was not as comprehensive as other hotels we've stayed in, e.g. the Iberostar just down the road from the Sandos. That said, the Mexican/Chinese restaurants were great.

Overall

We had a good time, were able to relax, and it was lovely having a room where we could heard the waves crashing against the beach. Just be sure to hide the Crazy Frog CD if you stay!

Room Tip: If you get given a side view room ask to move as we did and were rewarded with a sea view room (Alth...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SweetPeasSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUBDIRECTORA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2012

Dear SweetPeasSouthampton,
For us is fantastic to know the good and the not so good of your stay. In reference to the not so goog, please don´t doubt that we will transfer the comments to the respectives departments to improve our service on these points. Even so I still think to see you again.
Best Regards,
Carlos Vera. Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

we stayed in this hotel 3 time over the last number of years and loved it. Food was good, staff friendly and the place spotless....we barely left the hotel as it had everything for a relaxing family break...hope to return in the future :)

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Happygal2401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUBDIRECTORA, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2012

Dear Happygal2401,
Thank you very much for your kinds words and for us were a pleasure attend you. We´ll be delighted to see you again in the near future.
Best Regards,
Carlos Vera. Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Blanca
1.5 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
0.1 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
0.8 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#6 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3,822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
6.7 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
4,924 reviews
1.7 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#14 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort

Address: Calle Las Acacias, no 6 | Playa Las Coloradas, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Blanca
#3 Green Hotel in Playa Blanca
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#6 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
#7 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
#8 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range: $180 - $366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 488
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort All Inclusive is located on the seafront in Playa Blanca, Lanzarote. The hotel is close to beaches of the Papagayo Natural Park (600m). The Timanfaya National Park is 20 km away. The rooms are spacious and bright, with a balcony with views, bathroom with hairdryer, satellite TV with international channels. Each room provides a safety deposit box (supplement charge). The complex provides four outside pools, gym, minigolf and sports center, plus spa, sauna and steam bath. It also has eight bars, a disco and a snack bar, as well as a few restaurants: - International Restaurant - Italian Restaurant - Fusion Restaurant: Alternately Mexican/Oriental Nights The front desk is 24 hour manned and has a tourist information including car rental and tour services. The hotel provides free Wi-Fi in public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandos Papagayo Arena Beach Hotel
Papagayo Arena Lanzarote
Papagayo Arena Resort
Hotel Papagayo Arena
Papagayo Arena Hotel Lanzarote
Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing