We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed November 2, 2011

Stayed here during October with friends. Disappointed with position of rooms we were given, 1st floor Block C. Asked to be moved but it was not possible for several days as hotel was full so we stayed put. That out of the way, once we had found our way around the hotel we enjoyed our stay. The staff were helpful, especially in the restaurant which was huge and extremely busy but we never had to wait for a table. The food was varied and plentiful, anyone who cannot find something to eat must be especially fussy.
The one down side was the lack of outside seating during the evenings, as we were a party of 6 it was always difficult to find somewhere comfortable to sit on the terrace.
All in all a really nice hotel and we would visit again but request rooms overlooking the pools.

Room Tip: Can't really advise as different people have different needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sprogsgran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUBDIRECTORA, Manager at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2011

Dear guest,

Very grateful we are for your splendid comments, and we would suggest -as pointed out by you- that you write to us in advance, in order to present your specific requests, and we will endeavour to meet them.

Kindest regards,

Mrs. Bueno,
Sec. Manageress

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,676)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,171 - 4,177 of 6,676 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2011

We recently returned from this hotel after a week's all inclusive stay. We are a family with two girls 9 & 6 and just wanted to relax for a week and do nothing. We arrived after a 30 minute hassle free transfer from the airport. Checked in, paid the deposit for the safety deposit box in the room (3 euros per day plus 20 euros returnable deposit - cheap for peace of mind). The family room was pleasantly large with a made up sofa bed for the girls and a huge double/twin bed. The bonus was the large balcony complete with table and chairs with a pleasant view over the pool & out to sea.
The room had plenty of storage and was very clean with a bath as well as a shower.
The complex is large but we found our way around pretty quickly. The main restaurant although huge was very well laid out with a comprehensive and varied choice of hot and cold food. The choices changed daily and kept both the girls and ourselves interested throughout our stay. We particularly enjoyed the crepes each day in the poolside snackbar between 4 and 6. The girls went each day to the kids club sometimes to the morning session (10 - 1), other times to the afternoon (3 - 5) some days to both! We also had a go on the rooftop mini-golf which was good fun. We never got around to using the spa although it looked good. I had intended to use the gym (which was free and looked well looked after with nice equipment) but in the end I just read my book and lazed around. We used the pools everyday (even though it was cloudy a couple of days it was still nice and warm).
We did notice that due to the position of the hotel the sun doesn't reach the pools until late morning after it gets over the top of the hills so early on the water is CHILLY. It soon warms up once the sun hits it though.
The kids enjoyed the mini-disco in the evening (which we found a bit repetitive but then it wasn't aimed at us). The shows afterwards were a bit of a mixture (although they didn't start until 22.15) - the magician was very good. The main bar area finished all inclusive at 23.00 (which for us with the girls was o.k. but may be a bit early for others). I understand drinks were available in the disco afterwards although we never went.
Our room was nice and quiet and with the blackout curtains closed the sun didn't intrude to wake you up. The rooms were cleaned and tidied daily. The staff were polite and helpful. The staff in the restaurant were incredibly efficient with tables being cleared and relaid within minutes of people leaving, ensuring that there were always place settings available.
The girls were very taken by the resident cats (about 4 I think) which had their own proper feeding station at the rear of the ground floor. No flea bitten moggies these - well looked after and never ventured into the hotel proper they had their own area of the garden they had adopted and they were forever getting stroked and fussed by the guests young and old.
We took a walk to the Rubicon Marina (about 15 minutes pleasant walk down the coastal path) and had a lovely relaxing drink at the Blue Note Jazz bar. The setting around the marina with the boats and the lovely clean wine bar & restaurant area was a treat - highly recommended.
Overall we found the Sandos Papagayo Arena a very good choice. We have probably had holidays that were enjoyed slightly more overall but we couldn't really fault anything.
Book with confidence and enjoy.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Lammares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUBDIRECTORA, Manager at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2011

Many thanks for your thorough description, which is informative to other customers, and for conveying your personal experience, and hope to see you again soon.

Kindest regards,

Mrs. Bueno,
Sec. Manageress

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

We have just got back from our 3rd visit to this hotel. It was once again a brilliant holiday. There has been a few changes since our last visit in April last year. We just love the new layout in the main restaurant with the table dividers which has allowed for many more tables for two and much more privacy. Although the hotel was very busy with family's we always managed to find a nice table for the two of us which had been a problem for us on previous visits. Also found changes to the snack bar with lots more seat's and much more choice of food. We again found plenty of sunbeds and never had a problem getting one at any time of day which is a big problem at other hotels. The staff again friendly and remembering us from past visits. The only problem for us on this visit was not being able to find a table on the canary bar terrace in the evening due to the new no smoking policy in the hotel so many people using the terrace for smoking leaving non smoker's without any outside seating, hope this problem can be resolved before our next visit in August 12 when we are visiting with our grandchildren. Well done to this hotel for constantly making improvements and listening to the views of their guests. A great hotel for family's and couple's can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank cass19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUBDIRECTORA, Manager at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2011

Dear client,

We are very happy that you realised the changes and improvements, and that your stay was so pleasant. We trust you will visit this establishment again,and you will have anochter fantastic holiday.

Best regards,

Mrs. Bueno,
Sec. Manageress

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

We stayed here during oct school holidays, we had a lovely stay but some small niggles and it would be a wonderful hotel that I would recommend. We holiday 4 times a year so I guess you always compare holidays.

Room - we stayed in block D a junior suite, wow lovely room amazing sea view. Lovely and quiet at night so had a lovely sleep.
Breakfast - so busy and manic, lots of young children rushing about, need to be careful when carrying hot tea etc.
Lunch and evening meal - buffet, self service wine and beer
Chinese restaurant - also buffet but a lovely change
You can always find something to eat late night pizzas etc from snack bar available through the night.
The all inclusive finishes at 11pm in all the bars so if you are having a nice evening relaxing you either quickly rush and get more drinks in or you have to leave and then go to the snack bar for drinks. The drinks from the snack bar are then served in plastic cups yuk!! It really is annoying that you fancy a drink but cant be bothered going to the snack bar outside. All inclusive in Turkey means 24hours all incl and you never saw any drunks.
Entertainment at night - probably the worst we have ever seen, usually you can sit through it and have a laugh even when its bad, but once again as the entertainment is outside near the pool area, you have your glass of cava in a plastic cup!! During the day plastic cups are fine but at night a glass would be nice.
Adult bar - Green bar, no kids which is nice as been there done that! Lovely bar lady but once again they play very old music and could do with some updating and maybe if it didnt close at 12pm would be more popular. (Drinks finish at 11pm)
Disco - popped in a couple of times but not busy at all.
No waitress service anywhere in the hotel, its either self service or go the bar and queue. Not got a problem with that but seemed really strange that in a huge hotel no waiters getting you drinks.

On a positive note - no rushing to get up for sunbeds.

Room Tip: sea view available in all junior suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WirralHolidaybabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUBDIRECTORA, Manager at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2011

Dear customer,

Thanks for your comments, and, as you have perfectly pointed it out, no glass is allowed at the pool areas, for obvious safety reasons. On the other hand, we appreciate your observation of a music change at the piano bar.

With best wishes,

Mrs. Bueno,
Sec. Manageress

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

My husband,aughter are just back from a seeks holiday here, overall I think this is a nice place to stay, however there are a few things that could be improved.

I'll start with the positives

The rooms are, while dated, more than adequate. Beds are big and balcony size is good

Pool area is nice

Children mini disco at night is great, entertainment staff seam very personable

The negatives-

The hotel is a bit far out of resort centre for my taste. The hotel does provide a free shuttle though and taxis are cheap but I prefer being able to walk

The food is definitely catered to the Spanish clientele, you'll find something to eat and some days are better than others, but there is definitely room for approval.

Staff are not overly friendly, don't expect service with a smile, which on the whole didn't really bother me as service was adequate, but was very put of when realised half hour before we were due to leave that we had left something in room and when I went to reception to ask them to get it for us they didn't seam to care. The item wasn't very expensive and yes it was our own fault for forgetting it, but you think that you should be able to retrieve it when you haven't left hotel. I actually found the girl at reception very rude she pretty much said nothing she could do. You would think there is a system in place where left things are easible retrieved.

the pools are freezing which is ok but the childrens pool should definately be heated, I was looking forward to bringimg my daughter into the pool but couldn't as was too cold. Another thing about pool is that you have to get towels from spa which you keep for the week. There should be towels at the pool, you shouldn't have to keep towels for the week, although it is probably more environmentally friendly, but I wouldn't say this reason they do this.

Overall I think this a good hotel for families with children to stay in, I wouldn't recommend this to couples though. I wouldn't rush back but I would perhaps go back when I have children are a few years older and im just looking for a bit if sun.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shellpe76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUBDIRECTORA, Manager at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2011

Dear customer,

Your observations and suggestions are appreciated, and we thank for your trust and for your visit to this hotel on the lovely island of Lanzarote. Furthermore, we regret the inconvenience regarding the lost item.

With best wishes,

Mrs. Bueno,
Sec. Manageress

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We just got back from the Papagayo Arena last night after a lovely relaxing week at the hotel. It is a fair bit out of town but that didn't bother us too much and we had planned to hire a car for the last part of the holiday anyway. Playa Blanca is lovely, really pretty but best to be aware that there's not a huge amount there.
There are many plus points where the hotel is concerned, and yes, a few negatives but overall for myself and my husband taking our 15 year old son and his friend it was the perfect choice. This place is massive yet is run with such military precision that we really couldn't fault much at all over the week. There are teams of staff who work hard to keep the hotel spotlessly clean and they do a great job....we never saw a speck of dirt or dust anywhere.
We opted to take a taxi from the airport to the hotel which was pretty straightforward and cost us 50 euros. Check in was smooth and the reception staff were friendly and helpful, even assisting me with my (lousy) Spanish. We had rooms next to the boys as requested and were in G1034 and 1036 which overlook the pools and the ocean out to Fuertaventura. The rooms are really large and suited our purpose however they could be nicer and a little more up to date. This aside the bathrooms are also really practical and spacious and so we were happy overall. Our beds had memory foam mattresses which were fab, but spoiled by the HORRIBLE plastic mattress protectors. I understand why they feel the need to use them but it drove me crazy so I have to confess I removed mine every night.

There is a lovely supermarket just a few minutes away which has the usual bits and pieces.....but no sweeets!!!! The Rubicon Marina is a bit of a distance but lovely at night. It was really quiet when we were there though and seemed to close quite early. Bar Bianco in the Marina was our favourite stop off for a drink after an evening walk.

We loved;

The big rooms and comfy mattresses and pillows, lots of wardrobe space and and having a fridge in the room which was an unexpected bonus.
The views and the large balconies.
The friendly staff.
Our boys loved the pasta/pizza stations in the restaurant and the late night snack bar was a life saver as they were never hungy and became frequent visitors especially when the pancakes were being served.
The one outdoor seating/bar area! Just wish they could extend this somehow as it wasn't big enough.
The great variety of alcoholic drinks...oh and the cava was lovely!

And some things which would make for a better holiday;

New towels, both for the pools and bathrooms as they were all pretty thin and tired!
Warmer pools....the pools are lovely but they were all icy cold!! Well supervised by pool guards at all times though.
Fewer indoor bar/seating areas....yes, fewer!!! There are so many throughout the hotel and they are all so impersonal that folk are spread about all over the place meaning that there is little or no atmosphere. If the hotel created ONE large central bar area with comfortable couches, smooth music and softer lighting it would be popular and create the atmosphere that is sadly lacking throughout. Instead there are some hard wooden seats scattered around on hard tiled floors with some really harsh lighting to top it off. We felt that this was such a shame as we couldn't find one 'comfy' bar to settle in.
The crazy restaurant layout made busy mealtimes a bit frantic as the busy bread/desert/fruit stations are smack bang in the middle of the main route in and out of the restaurant and so you have to negotiate your way past people at all times. That said we couldn't fault the food at all and thought that for such a massive operation it was really very good.
We didn't hang around for the entertainment after catching a glimpse on the first night....enough said!!
Oh and I have to agree with the comments about the shop owner.....how grumpy is he????? We decided not to buy anything after one scowl from him!

Overall a very well run hotel with lots of facilities which with a little more thought and imagination could be even better. We thought it was great value for money and would certainly return.

Room Tip: G1036 was on the 2nd floor had a pool and sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mich&co
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUBDIRECTORA, Manager at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2011

Dear Family Wheeler,

We are very grateful for your remaks and comments, and we appreciate your suggestions. We shall study all your proposals.

With best wishes,

Mrs. Bueno,
Sec. Manageress

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

We stayed here for 1 week from 16 Oct - 23Oct, Scottish school week and had a great time. We have stayed all over europe and found this very family friendly for 1 week in winter. 3 Adults and 1 (5 yr old) Grace loved kids club each day. We had a nice room B415/419 but are a little tired in decor
but a lovely view over sea.
Food was all very nice, especially italian pastas etc, and loved the nightshift snack bar from 2300 - 0800 after AI finished at 2300 ... a bit dissapointing ! On tap beer, 3 wines , tea.coffee machine , cold /hot good snacks
a small snag was I could not get any wifi to connect at all all week on either my HTC phone or my Ipod , which is a bit of a pain if you need to have access to e mail for business.
My father in laws 2nd stay here , i booked him here 2 years ago and he again enjoyed it as did we.
And we may just be back next winter sandos .... thanks again.....Mr/s Wheeler & Family x

Room Tip: Ask for a room over looking the pool area , as the A B C block is quiet far from pools and rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caz/stevePaisley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUBDIRECTORA, Manager at Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2011

Dear Family Wheeler,

We thank you so much for your nice, pleasant review, and we are happy to inform you that we have wifi nowadays in the common areas. We have just recently installed it.

Best regards.

Mrs. Bueno,
Sec. Manageress

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Blanca
0.1 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun
1.5 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
1.4 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#7 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3,927 reviews
1.7 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#15 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,435 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
5,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort

Address: Calle Las Acacias, no 6 | Playa Las Coloradas, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
#3 Green Hotel in Playa Blanca
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Playa Blanca
#6 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#7 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
#8 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range: $160 - $381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 488
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort All Inclusive is located on the seafront in Playa Blanca, Lanzarote. The hotel is close to beaches of the Papagayo Natural Park (600m). The Timanfaya National Park is 20 km away. The rooms are spacious and bright, with a balcony with views, bathroom with hairdryer, satellite TV with international channels. Each room provides a safety deposit box (supplement charge). The complex provides four outside pools, gym, minigolf and sports center, plus spa, sauna and steam bath. It also has eight bars, a disco and a snack bar, as well as a few restaurants: - International Restaurant - Italian Restaurant - Fusion Restaurant: Alternately Mexican/Oriental Nights The front desk is 24 hour manned and has a tourist information including car rental and tour services. The hotel provides free Wi-Fi in public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandos Papagayo Arena Beach Hotel
Papagayo Arena Lanzarote
Papagayo Arena Resort
Hotel Papagayo Arena
Papagayo Arena Hotel Lanzarote
Sandos Papagayo Beach Resort Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing