We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Playa Blanca
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,804)
Filter reviews
4,804 results
Traveler rating
2,026
1,826
680
184
88
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2,026
1,826
680
184
88
Show reviews that mention
All reviews deluxe guests deluxe restaurant deluxe room volcano restaurant deluxe option wellness centre papagayo restaurant booked deluxe vip lounge de luxe half board sea view lovely hotel rubicon marina sunbathing area coffee machine separate restaurant
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 4,804 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I am about to leave lanzarote after a short break at the hesperia with my daughters 15 and 16 years old. Absolutely loved our stay at the hesperia. Location was spot on , you could walk out from the hotel pool area to a coastal path that took you to playa Dorado in about 4 mins or the shopping commercial area in about 7 mins. Heading in the opposite direction was marina Rubicon with its twice weekly markets and gorgeous layout. The hotel had amazingly friendly staff , thanks especially to Diana at reception for making us feel so welcome . The hotel has a vast number of casual seating areas which the majority of guests used to lounge in meaning that the place always felt quite lively. We went deluxe half board and thought there was an selection of dishes with several freshly cooked options. Only small complaint was having to pay for water at dinner.
Thought the rooms were sufficient , bit dated but comfy beds and good shower and daily cleaning excellent.
Only real complaint was the inclusion in the evening entertainment of an exotic bird show that had a parrot with weights attached to its legs apparently roller skating across a surface. Felt this was inhumane and this type of entertainment very outdated and insensitive. The variety and quality of vocal acts was very good indeed. Would highly recommend staying at hotel before the planned refurb in 2020 to a 5 star hotel which will no doubt push the prices up.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank deirdrem714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hplayadorada, Departamento Atención al cliente at Hesperia Playa Dorada, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear deirdrem714,

thank you very much for having chosen the Hesperia Playa Dorada for your recent holidays and for your excellent comment.
We are more than pleased to see that you had such a fantastic time with us. We will pass on your kind words to all the hard working staff and especially to Diana as she will be very happy to hear about your satisfacion.
We are more than pleased that you enjoyed our services and you found the big variety of our fresh cooked meals at your liking.

We truly hope to get the chance to welcome you again here next year. Kind regards,
Guest Service Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

There is nothing negative to say about this hotel. Speedy, smooth check in with glass of cava, friendly receptionists and luggage delivered to our room very quickly. Rooms bright and spacious with ample bottled water and towels. Maid service daily. Food was plentiful with lots of variety and the staff were very hardworking but always had a smile on their faces. The animation team were fabulous, with special thanks to Ozzy, who always went out of his way to stop and chat to us. Alicia was great at her job as well as Martin, who I think was being showed the ropes! The evening entertainment was fantastic, especially the Il Divo tribute act. The hotel is positioned in a brilliant place, just a stone's throw to the beautiful beaches and harbour. Will definitely be booking this hotel again.

Room tip: We stayed in room 2016 which overlooked the car park with a tiny view of the sea. Not complaining though....that's what we paid for.
Date of stay: October 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank angieBooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hplayadorada, Guest service department at Hesperia Playa Dorada, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear angieBooth,

Thank you very much for your excellent comment, for choosing us and for sharing your experience in our hotel Hesperia Playa Dorada with us

We are really happy to know that you have enjoyed all our services and facilities, we would like to thank you also for your mention to the animation team, we will pass your comment to them,

We look forward to welcome you back in our hotel.

Kind regards,
Guest Service Department.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

4*.....only if you upgrade to Deluxe. Accommodation and food 3*+ at its best. A two tier system of haves and have nots. Advertising as a 4* hotel should apply to all residents, rooms, restaurants and pool areas, not just to those who wish to pay extra on top. Absolute shame as hotel is in a prime location. Hopefully the new build next door will make this hotel smarten it’s act up.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank Lee sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hplayadorada, Guest service department at Hesperia Playa Dorada, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Lee sharon C,

Thank you for choosing our hotel Hesperia Playa Dorada to enjoy your holidays.

We inform you that we offer different services and packages, but we provide the same high standard service to all our guests. We are sorry we did not cover your expectation but we would like to inform you that our guest service department is making every day quality survey and we are receiving good comments about all our services. We would had like to know your opinion during the stay in order to give to you the correct explanation to each matter or to listen constructively your comments in order to improve.

We hope you may consider to give us an opportunity in the future to show to you all our improvements.

Kind regards,
Guest Service Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed Half Board, Standard room.

We arrived about 40 minutes late after delayed flight, so it was after midnight. We were not offered anything to eat or drink - and everything around was closed. We were given very poor directions by the receptionist (and there is poor signage) to our room and it took us 25 minutes and 3 visits to reception to find it. We even asked to be shown to our room but were not. Sadly the room was also disappointing- a basic ground level room lacking both sun and privacy, overlooking the main pool area. We were not aware there would be no kettle or cups! It probably didn’t list these as a feature when we booked, but this is so basic a feature I assumed we would have it!

We probably would have accepted all of this, but the air conditioning started dripping that night and although they fixed it promptly the next day, the room smelled of damp. From the damage to the floor (and the smell) you could tell this was not the first time it had happened. Another small thing bit they hadn’t Checked the TV - the remote didn’t work.

So we raised this and some other issues with guest services the second evening and I’m glad we did. We requested another (higher up) room and they gave us a much better one, partial sea view and still standard (so not a deluxe upgrade) and no tea/coffee facilities, but even the fixtures and fittings were better, and the air con worked properly. They also gave us a chilled bottle of Cava and some truffles to make up for it which was a welcome touch.

After this our holiday was much better. The food is of good quality, fresh, very little processed stuff, lots of Canarian/ Spanish Dishes and fresh seafood - and they tried to give variety. I am glad we weren’t all inclusive though as we did get bored with it after a while. A number of guests complained about having to pay for water with their evening meal (€2.20/Bottle).

The evening entertainment is mostly outside in the front pool area (where our room was) and it starts from 9.30-10 til about 11.30pm. It wasn’t really our thing but that is just preference. A lot of it is tribute singers, so it can be very noisy in your room. Not as bad if you close the patio door although the Air Con made my husband cough so sometimes we just had to live with it. Would suggest if you have young kids or like to go to sleep earlier you ask for a room at the back of the hotel overlooking the second pool area. Similarly if you want peace and quiet by the pool then use this back one, it’s a nicer pool as well.

The hotel is advertised as having 4-5 restaurants, in reality for standard guests this is 2 - and one is only open at the pool for lunch. 2 were shut (Asian and Mediterranean) and 1 was only for deluxe guests.
This is a huge hotel, a bit impersonal. It wasn’t really for us - we will probably go for an apartment next time.

I would suggest the hotel does away with the deluxe option and just improves all the rooms and standardises access to the services, along with tea and coffee as standard in rooms, as it is in every other BnB and hotel I have stayed in! They could then charge more if they wanted for the basic standard room - you can either afford it or not. The a la Carte ‘Vulcano’ restaurant should be accessible to all by booking and then pay as you go.

After these improvements then they could still charge more for the higher level rooms/sea view etc but they need to do away with the ‘them and us’ mentality which the Deluxe system creates. We very much felt the bottom of the heap after seeing our original room and then some of the others. That said, the hotel did take action when we complained and improved things.

Other than access to the 2nd evening restaurant (and the spa) I’m not sure it’s worth the upgrade to deluxe, you’re not even guaranteed a sea view unless you again pay extra. I would also suggest the hotel introduce a drinks package option for those who don’t want to go AI.

Overall it is a little dishonest of the hotel to sell its four star facilities (like having 5 restaurants and a Spa ) and then not have them available to all guests as they’re closed or unless they pay substantial upgrade or daily costs (I was quoted €35 per day for deluxe - for a non sea view room).

All in all this hotel is OK. It is clean, the food is good and the maintenance, cleaning and serving staff work very hard and are friendly. The pools are good and whilst some are a bit chilly they’re refreshing on a hot day. Always plenty of sun loungers. The location is very handy if you want to be central.

We had a good holiday - but I wanted to give lots of info on this hotel for those considering booking - as it wasn’t clear for me when I did.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Jennyfoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hplayadorada, Guest Service Department at Hesperia Playa Dorada, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Jennyfoo,

thank you very much for having chosen the Hesperia Playa Dorada for your recent holiday and for taking the time to give other guests and us such a detailed feedback about your stay with us.

We are more than pleased to see that you enjoyed the great variety of freshly cooked meals in our restaurant, the friendlinessof the staff and the cleanness of the hotel in general and your room.

We are sorry if the first room did not fulfill your expectations and we are glad we could sort your issues out with a change of room.

We do not know were you found the information that we have "4 to 5" restaurants in the Hotel. Apart from the two main restaurants Papagayo and Vulcano we have the Palapa close to the Pool Bar were you can find lunch and snacks during the day time. In both pool areas are pool bars were you can find drinks and small snacks.

Please let me give you and other guest some additional information regarding the deluxe package. Deluxe rooms are sitauated in general closer to the sea, they have tea making facilities and amenities in the room. Guest with the deluxe package have free access to the Wellness Center, the deluxe lounge with newspapers, computers, ipads, longer breakfast and afternoon snacks and to the Vulcano restaurant.

Once again thank you for your time to write this review and for having chosen the Hesperia. We hope to get the chance to welcome you again here in the future.

Kindest regards
Guest Service Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Generally nice but some odd things. Not comfortable with the segregation deluxe guests and others roped off. Deluxe restaurant badly organised.. Waiting ages for wine snd children's sweets on desert display.. Very odd. Staff very helpful and friendly.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Arlette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hplayadorada, Guest Service Department at Hesperia Playa Dorada, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Arlette S,

thank you very much for having chosen the Hesperia Playa Dorada for your recent holidays and for your kind words about the hotel and its services in general. We are sorry to hear about your impressions as it is in no one moment our intention to make our guests feel in any way treated differently if the book a standard room or a deluxe room. In no one moment we make a difference in the treatment of our guests.
We are sorry if there was a bit of a waiting time in the Restaurant. I can assure you that the waiters and responsables work efficiently to please every guest as fast as possible.

We are glad that you had an enjoyable stay with us and we will continue keeping up the hard work to make your next stay even more enjoyable and relaxing.

Once again thank you for taking the time to share your experience in our hotel.

Kind regards
Guest Service Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews