We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Casa del Embajador

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Casa del Embajador
Ranked #27 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
Galway Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Perfection!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

Reading the reviews I thought this place might be too quiet and too reserved, so we played it 'safe' and opted to try it out for just 3 of the 7 nights of our Christmas break. The minute we walked in we instantly knew that we were wong and that we should have booked the entire week here. It is simply perfect. You immediately feel at home. What a treat. We'll be back and for a much longer treat next time!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MMLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    18
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
79
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

What a place! Ideally positioned in Playa Blanca, halfway between the marina and old harbour. Our first time to this resort were delighted that our 1 week New Year break to celebrate my husband's 60th birthday was hot and sunny, with sunbathing most days. Stepping down steps out of a 'secret door' from the hotel onto the promenade we were close to shops and a range of excellent restaurants. Particularly enjoyed the "Tapas Bar" overlooking the old harbour where we spent several lunchtimes wining and munching whilst getting a tan by the open windows. Back through the door, the hustle and bustle of the resort disappeared leaving a tranquil, quiet atmosphere. The Casa has plenty of seating and sun beds - a 'help yourself' bar that you pay for at the end of your stay - and lovely buffet breakfast. Past reports state that the breakfast goes quick but we found that there was a wide range of meats, cheese, bacon/eggs, cereal, coffee, fruit and excellent local smoked salmon that was topped up as needed. TV was limited (but who needs that on holiday) and there was a supply of paperback books left by others in english, german and spanish. We would love to stay there again and already miss the sun!

Room Tip: There is a suite which is supposed to be lovely. Most rooms have a lovely sea view, straight over t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Family P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level Contributor
89 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel in a great spot above the promenade in Playa Blanca. Rooms were well maintained, good size with a lovely sea view. There were 3 to 6 other rooms occupied during our week stay but apart from breakfast you rarely saw any one and it was like staying in a plush private house. Not cheap and few facilities as others have said but a very relaxing place in a great location.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucky_traveller_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

I stayed here a few days back in December 2012. I can only recommend this nice little hidden gem. The rooms, service, breakfast etc was all so nice. Amazing you can have such a nice place almost completely hidden from the rest of the town. Should I go to lanzarote agai this would definitely be I would stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TFNLONDON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
196 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Another return visit to Casa del Embajador and nothing has changed -total peace and quiet apart from the sound of the sea and occasionally of people on the promenade below the terrace and completely relaxing. Apart from the maid in the morning and the gardener sometimes during the day you rarely see any other staff. Will not suit everybody but if you want a small beautifully decorated quality hotel in a great location but with minimal extras this is the place.
Will return before too long I hope.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CliffordM8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

This is a small and wonderfully peaceful place. The building is built on one floor, so you will never here anybody disturbing you from above. The building is a traditional style with thick walls and is very well insulated for sound. The only sound you will here is the ocean lapping on the rocks below.

There is a well stocked honesty bar (unopened bottled water would be a nice addition), but no bar, restaurant, pool, gym or entertainment. The absence of these things is advantageous as it creates the tranquility that is the main attraction. However, there is no advantage in having an unstaffed reception. For €185 a night in October, I expect a receptionist. A small hotel like this would deserve 5 out of 5 on TripAdvisor if there was someone available to recommend and book restaurants or give some advice on the local area, but at this price I can't rate higher than Average without a receptionist.

Similarly, breakfast is laid out from 8.30am until 11am. However, by 9.30am during our stay, the eggs were either cold or gone, the fruit was always gone, and the cereal left without enough cold milk. I would be happy to ask someone for more milk, but with no staff, there is nothing that can be done.

The building is beautiful, with numerous communal areas and a wonderful deck outside the bedroom windows that is bathed in sun from sunrise to sunset. Cleanliness is almost perfect, although our mini-bar fridge was in quite bad condition with an unsightly stain inside. WiFi is free in the breakfast area, but does not extend any further (even with devices that usually have good range). Dressing gowns, beach towels and bath products are provided.There is no air conditioning, only a ceiling fan. The temperature during our October stay reached 25 degrees during the day, and the heat at night was the only thing that disturbed otherwise excellent sleep in the comfortable bed. During the summer I would have to go to a hotel with AC.

Location is superb, situated above the promenade that links the town's main beaches, only a short walk from all bars and restaurants, yet with a quiet and secluded atmosphere.

I would happily visit again for the peace and quiet, and would recommend to a friend, albeit with the caveats detailed. One additional member of staff on duty could transform this place into an excellent property deserving the best marks on TripAdvisor.

Room Tip: Most rooms face the ocean (I don't know if they sell the ones that don't). Rooms are quite s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bard_Lucy_Hume_XI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed here for a week in mid-May. Agree with previous reviews - the view from the rooms and terrace of the sea and over to Fuerteventura is spectacular, the hotel is very quiet and peaceful (we were the only guests for some of the week, then only one other couple) and the location in the middle of the resort is perfect. We were happy with the breakfast and access to hot drinks, fridge/safe in room, very high standards cleanliness and polite and helpful staff. Playa Blanca was a surprise - quiet, low-key, very attractive resort, much of it brand new, including marina - many good restaurants and perfect for couples/young families. Much preferred this hotel to larger noisier alternatives and would highly recommend it to others. Also plan on returning!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kerrylegend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa Blanca hotels
0.5 mi away
Hesperia Playa Dorada
Hesperia Playa Dorada
#17 of 37 in Playa Blanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,857 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pueblo Marinero
Pueblo Marinero
#13 of 37 in Playa Blanca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
0.3 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#5 of 37 in Playa Blanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,536 reviews
0.4 mi away
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
#9 of 37 in Playa Blanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,419 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apartamentos Las Clacas
Apartamentos Las Clacas
#23 of 45 in Playa Blanca
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa del Embajador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa del Embajador

Property: Hotel Casa del Embajador
Address: C/ La Tegala, 56 | Playa Blanca, 35570 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
#18 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Casa del Embajador 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Casa del Embajador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Casa Del Embajador Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing