We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total Relaxation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Casa del Embajador
Ranked #27 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Total Relaxation”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Another return visit to Casa del Embajador and nothing has changed -total peace and quiet apart from the sound of the sea and occasionally of people on the promenade below the terrace and completely relaxing. Apart from the maid in the morning and the gardener sometimes during the day you rarely see any other staff. Will not suit everybody but if you want a small beautifully decorated quality hotel in a great location but with minimal extras this is the place.
Will return before too long I hope.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CliffordM8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    18
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
80
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This is a small and wonderfully peaceful place. The building is built on one floor, so you will never here anybody disturbing you from above. The building is a traditional style with thick walls and is very well insulated for sound. The only sound you will here is the ocean lapping on the rocks below.

There is a well stocked honesty bar (unopened bottled water would be a nice addition), but no bar, restaurant, pool, gym or entertainment. The absence of these things is advantageous as it creates the tranquility that is the main attraction. However, there is no advantage in having an unstaffed reception. For €185 a night in October, I expect a receptionist. A small hotel like this would deserve 5 out of 5 on TripAdvisor if there was someone available to recommend and book restaurants or give some advice on the local area, but at this price I can't rate higher than Average without a receptionist.

Similarly, breakfast is laid out from 8.30am until 11am. However, by 9.30am during our stay, the eggs were either cold or gone, the fruit was always gone, and the cereal left without enough cold milk. I would be happy to ask someone for more milk, but with no staff, there is nothing that can be done.

The building is beautiful, with numerous communal areas and a wonderful deck outside the bedroom windows that is bathed in sun from sunrise to sunset. Cleanliness is almost perfect, although our mini-bar fridge was in quite bad condition with an unsightly stain inside. WiFi is free in the breakfast area, but does not extend any further (even with devices that usually have good range). Dressing gowns, beach towels and bath products are provided.There is no air conditioning, only a ceiling fan. The temperature during our October stay reached 25 degrees during the day, and the heat at night was the only thing that disturbed otherwise excellent sleep in the comfortable bed. During the summer I would have to go to a hotel with AC.

Location is superb, situated above the promenade that links the town's main beaches, only a short walk from all bars and restaurants, yet with a quiet and secluded atmosphere.

I would happily visit again for the peace and quiet, and would recommend to a friend, albeit with the caveats detailed. One additional member of staff on duty could transform this place into an excellent property deserving the best marks on TripAdvisor.

Room Tip: Most rooms face the ocean (I don't know if they sell the ones that don't). Rooms are quite s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bard_Lucy_Hume_XI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed here for a week in mid-May. Agree with previous reviews - the view from the rooms and terrace of the sea and over to Fuerteventura is spectacular, the hotel is very quiet and peaceful (we were the only guests for some of the week, then only one other couple) and the location in the middle of the resort is perfect. We were happy with the breakfast and access to hot drinks, fridge/safe in room, very high standards cleanliness and polite and helpful staff. Playa Blanca was a surprise - quiet, low-key, very attractive resort, much of it brand new, including marina - many good restaurants and perfect for couples/young families. Much preferred this hotel to larger noisier alternatives and would highly recommend it to others. Also plan on returning!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kerrylegend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in late January 2013. We are not fans of large package deal type hotels - so this was just perfect with just 12 rooms & the feel you were a guest in someone's home. The room while not large was perfectly adequate with comfortable beds & the bathroom well appointed. The large stone terrace with ample sun loungers was just perfect with the most incredible view of the sea with passing ferries & sail boats & Fuerteventura looming in the distance. The garden is beautifully planted with red geraniums, palms & cactus's & the stone steps down to the green door provides access to the lovely boardwalk just 1 minute from the shops & restaurants of Playa Blanca. This truly was a unique experience - one of the nicest boutique hotels we have stayed in. The staff were very pleasnt & helpful but unobtrusive.
We would return & recommend this hotel without any hesitation.

Room Tip: Any room is good - all on same level & they all have a large window facing the sea. Choose the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dorothea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed at Casa Del Embajador for 7 nights in Early March 2013,as with other reviewers I found this a truly Unique Hotel,which gives the guest a very private hotel experience,while it is situated in the centre of Playa Blanca it has the feel of a secluded location.I found all aspects of my stay excellent,the staff were all very helpful, the rooms are very clean and comfortable.The grounds are peaceful with fantastic views of Fuerteventura , ideal for sunbathing or quietly reading.The main beach is minutes walk.The nearby Princesa Yaiza hotel has a good gym which you can pay to use.35 Euros for a week.I will Definately return and would recommend it for single travellers or couples.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Charlie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Well we agree absolutely with all other reviews, it really is something different and such a unique hotel, we were given an emergency number when we arrived just in case, the rooms were not all occupied. A mixture of nationalities staying there, but only saw them at breakfast, we would have liked a heated ban marie to keep eggs and bacon warm, as they were cooked well in advance. This is the place to chill out as the kids say, we both read books and dozed with just the sounds of the sea beneath us. Definitely would stay again.

Room Tip: If you can afford the suite go for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Anthony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is unique. Most of the hotels in Lanzarote cater for package holidays and are based on the same model. Casa is totally different. It has only 12 rooms, no restaurant (except for breakfast), no bar, no pool, no spa and no full-time reception staff. So what is it? It's a small private hotel. The rooms are smaller than in the package hotels but they have a quaint "colonial" style. The location is in the very centre of Playa Blanca, yet it is very very quiet. It has a super "garden" or terrace with great views over the sea and the nearby Fuerteventura. Bowl of fruit in your room when you arrive. There are some aperitif drinks available on a self-service and "honour system" (take note of your consumption and pay when you leave). It's ideal for a peaceful, quiet holiday. Not suitable for children (in fact, not at all recommended because of the stone steps down to the promenade). Free wifi in the reception area. You need to call them by phone when you need reception staff (like paying the bill before you leave). Not everybody will like this formula, but those who like it will love Casa del Embajador and keep coming back (me - 5 times).

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank pbru54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Playa Blanca hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
0.7 mi away
Pueblo Marinero
Pueblo Marinero
#10 of 37 in Playa Blanca
769 reviews
0.4 mi away
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
#8 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
#6 of 37 in Playa Blanca
3,768 reviews
0.3 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
0.3 mi away
Apartamentos Las Clacas
Apartamentos Las Clacas
#25 of 46 in Playa Blanca
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa del Embajador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa del Embajador

Property: Hotel Casa del Embajador
Address: C/ La Tegala, 56 | Playa Blanca, 35570 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
#18 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Casa del Embajador 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Casa del Embajador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Casa Del Embajador Lanzarote/Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing