We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Steak” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Argentino

El Argentino
Ranked #88 of 196 Restaurants in Playa Blanca
Price range: $11 - $38
Cuisines: Argentinean, International, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: typical Argentinean restaurant with excellent meat quality typical of the country and barbecues, plus a range of domestic and imported wines letter, typical desserts, with excellent service and very good prices.
Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Steak”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

Visited El Argentino late one night during our holiday in October. The restaurant was fairly quiet so we got quick service. There are no major frills here and the menu is a bit garbled and confusing but the steaks were cooked to perfection and it was a nice relaxed atmosphere.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank EmmsieBubbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    76
    33
    23
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chorley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Super steak !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

Service really was excellent & very friendly - steak excellent - ok not too elegant presentation but none the less flavour superbe. My brother who really likes his meat commented that this was the best steak he has ever had - we're going back this Friday ! On Peter & Janet's wedding anniversary !

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Totoscard2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great steak, but everything else poor”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

My wife and I plus 2 friends who are staying in PB for a few months went to El Argentino last night with high hopes. Unfortunately, although the steak was excellent, the rest of the food, drink and service were so poor we will not be going here again.

Although the restaurant was about 1/3 full, were not allowed to sit at our preferred, empty, table for 4 as "it may be needed to make a table of 8". We were put at a table nearby, in front of a large cinema screen showing old (1930's?) Argentinian films, mainly of Tangos. For the first 10 minutes this was interesting, but then the repetitive nature of the films, plus what seemed to be an ever increasing soundtrack (or poor quality), eventually made it hard to hear ourselves.

We asked the waiter for a recommendation for a robust red to go with the steak we had all ordered, he shrugged his shoulders and said "any of the Spanish reds". We initially had the house wine, as this is good barometer of a restaurants quality, but it was awful. We then tried a bottle of that which was unopened on each table, which seemed to be a recommendation, but it was not good.

We all 4 agreed our medium-rare 300g Entrecotes were great and well cooked. However the starters and accompliments, except for the bread roll, were not..

The main issue however is the indifference we were treated with. We requested to sit at an empty table away from the cinema screen. We were told that was not available as it may be used with another table for 8 people. We were given a table near the screen. 30 minutes after we arrived, 2 people were allowed to sit at the table we had wanted. We complained to the waiter who shrugged again and said, ask the boss. He did not come to see us.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Denis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“If you are in Playa Blanca visit this restaurant.... twice!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Went to this restaurant on Tuesday 8th October for my partners birthday as we googled "best steak in playa Blanca" and this came up!! However to our dismay the restaurant was closed!!! With a sign in the window saying closed Tuesday!!! Unsure if this was only that particular Tuesday but beware if planning a visit!!

We returned the following monday as a party of 4ads, 2ch and a baby, we wer given a table on the balcony area overlooking the sea, the view over to Fuerteventura was breathtaking!!! The restaurant appears to be owned and ran by a non-English speaking family however their level of comprehension with the English language made this no issue, tbh I think it added to the experience as the restaurant is in no way 'commercialised'

The food was exquisite, I have genuinely never had a steak so mouth-wateringly good!!!! The size of it was amazing and wow just cannot put into words how good this peice of meat was (all the adults had the 500gm entrecôte) my dad said his was so good that he didn't even use the sauce he ordered!!!!!

The kids had pizza and spaghetti bolognaise and these wer equally as good and both kids cleared their plates!!

Would definitely return to this restaurant if is as ever in playa Blanca again!!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MayFamily1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
argyll, scotland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Superb steak!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

We ate here last week and it was one of the best steaks I've ever had, portions were massive! The service was great, friendly staff, good with the kids - well worth a visit!

Helpful?
Thank esg13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Argentino also viewed

Playa Blanca, Lanzarote
 
Playa Blanca, Lanzarote
Playa Blanca, Lanzarote
 

Been to El Argentino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing