We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,545)
Filter reviews
4,546 results
Traveler rating
2,571
1,355
456
109
55
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
2,571
1,355
456
109
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviews club volcan club area free bar fun pub rubicon marina balinese beds evening buffet star hotel bed and breakfast pillow menu lovely hotel half board bloody mary marina area blue note reception area sitting area
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 4,546 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We’ve just returned home from a wonderful holiday at this lovely hotel after an 11 night stay there. It really is a great hotel, in a perfect location, situated on the edge of the marina outside Playa Blanca.

Upon arrival we were met with a welcome drink and shown to our room, which was located opposite the children’s pool. This was perfect for us with our four year old daughter, as we spent a lot of time in this pool and was handy for numerous toilet trips back and forth(!) The room was more than large enough for the three of us, very clean and well equipped. We especially liked the fact that there were always plenty of sunbeds available around all four of the swimming pools, no matter what time of the day.

We were very impressed with the vast choice and quality of food on offer at breakfast (we didn’t opt for the half board package, so can’t comment on the evening food). The breads and cakes offered were excellent - some of the nicest I’ve had at a hotel resort. The staff in here were very helpful, happy and worked hard to keep everything flowing, especially during busy periods. I think we had one day here where it was very busy, over a weekend, but there were always seats available and plates are cleared away quickly.

But what most impressed us was the Entertainment Team, headed by the lovely Gaby with her team Bertina, Adele and Jamie, who look after both the Kids Club and the Events programme at the Volcan, We hadn’t read any reviews about the kids club, so didn’t really know what to expect, but we needn’t have worried as it was excellent! It was open daily from 10-14.00 (perfect for getting the little ones out of the midday sun for a couple of hours) and caters for children between age 4-12 (under 4s need to be accompanied by a parent). Your child can go along for all or just part of that. Everyday they were doing different activities with lots of focus on arts and crafts, plus plenty of dressing up items and toys/games to play with. We took our four year old for a look and she loved it and asked to go back each day - some days for just an hour, and others for 3-4 hours. The staff who run it are lively, engaging, caring and energetic and all speak Spanish and English, plus between them French, German and Dutch. It really deserves a special mention, especially for those thinking of staying with children and are wondering what the hotel has to offer. There is also a kids disco at 19.30 but ours never made it to this as was either asleep (after all the activities) or we were at dinner. I know that a lot of children enjoyed this though!

We ate our evening meal out every night at various restaurants in the Marina. The food was wide and varied, and on the whole very good. They all offer a fixed price children’s menu for around €5. The only one we wouldn’t revisit was the large (TexMex) Steakhouse Grill restaurant on the corner of the Marina. They seem to have lost their way a bit re; the quality of food and service.

We will definitely be returning to the Volcan in the future. Would highly recommend it to everyone especially those with young children. In our opinion not only is it a lovely hotel but has the best location in Playa Blanca!

Room tip: If travelling with young children ask for one of the rooms near the children’s pool!
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Sonja P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Director General at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Sonja P.

Thank you very much for your wonderful review and excellent score. We are delighted to read you experienced a most enjoyable stay at THE Volcán of Lanzarote***** with highlights on the location, the staff and the delicious and fresh breakfast.

It is a real pleasure to verify that we exceed your expectations regarding the facilities that we offer, like the animation program and team. I will show to them your lovely comments. In fact, our day to day efforts are to create a particularly pleasant atmosphere for our guests with the numerous services available in our hotel, so your words confirming our success are really important to us. We are very happy that our clients appreciate the work done since your satisfaction is our main objective.

We really look forward to meet you again here in Lanzarote and share a new experience between us.

Kind regards,

Natalia Bravo de Laguna
General Manager THe Volcán Lanzarote
nataliabravodelaguna@hotelesthe.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here on the recommendation of friends and were not in any way disappointed. It is located by the marina away from the main part of town, but has plenty of shops and eateries in the immediate vicinity. There is a promenade just outside the hotel grounds which gives walking access in both directions, towards town and further out. It's about 20-25 minutes to walk in to Playa Blanca centre.
The hotel itself is very comfortable and clean, and all of the staff we met were friendly and efficient. Tea and coffee making facilities are in the room and replenished daily - very good. The breakfast offering is very wide-ranging and should satisfy every taste.
Built over several levels into the (small) cliffs the hotel has a large footprint and during our week's stay I don't think we saw every part of it. There are at least three outdoor pools for example. We sampled the restaurant one night - it's a hot buffet with great choice and a theme which differs from night to night, although I think this affects only a small part of the offer. If you like it will probably depend on your opinion of the hot buffet as a dinner concept, buy I'd happily revisit it if we returned to the hotel, which we'd also very happily do.
Although not crazy about Playa Blanca itself, Hotel The Volcan was faultless in a delightfully quirky way -10/10. Don't be put off by the monks on entry !

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Poconut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Director General at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Poconut,

Firstly we would like to thank you for having chosen our hotel for your recent vacations on THe Volcan Lanzarote*****.

Thank you also for posting such a lovely comment about our facilities and your stay with us on TripAdvisor.

It is our pleasure to hear that we were able to fully satisfy you with the services we offer and we highly appreciate your kind comments about our staff, the location of the hotel and the food in our main restaurant.

We hope to be able to welcome you back on our grounds in the near future.

Please inform us about any future reservations you are planning on making with us.



Kind Regards.

Natalia Bravo de Laguna
General Manager
THe Volcán Lanzarote*****
nataliabravodelaguna@hotelesthe.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We are staying here at present after a fabulous visit in December, but we feel things have deteriorated since our last visit. We feel the ‘free’ bar - part of Club Volcan which we paid a good deal extra to be part of, has gone down in quality. At Christmas we were delighted with the range & the quality of the branded drinks. This visit, choices are missing & there are quite a few locally branded drinks.

This trip we opted for half board & although we have eaten very early, we have found the food in the restaurant to be cold.

For several days some of the Balinese beds by the pool have had Reserved signs on them, making you feel you are not a valued client although you have paid a substantial amount of money to have access to these things.

Tonight was really the last straw when I was reprimanded by a member of staff for using a saucer to put some sweets on as the normal dishes for sweets were not there! When I mentioned the small dishes she said they had never had them!

Don’t think we will be returning which is a real shame as our last visit was amazing.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Holidaymad22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Director General at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Holidaymad22.

Allow me to express my gratitude for your stay at THe Volcan Lanzarote, and for completing your online review on TripAdvisor.

First of all, I would like to extend my sincere apologies for not having met your expectations during your stay at the hotel.

As indicated, and to improve our service, we have made changes. Regarding the Open Bar service, it is true that, we have sought to improve the visibility of local quality brands, so that, taking advantage of your visit, you can see products that you can not normally buy in your country. However, we also have international brands of spirits such as Bombay Shapire, smirnoff, Jack Daniels, etc.
However, if your favorite beverage could have communicated and we would have given you a solution.

In your review you can read that the food was cold, this is because I am surprised because during the service we take the temperature of the dishes to make sure they are at an adequate temperature

Regarding the reservation of Balinese beds. I would like to tell you, the Club area has 10 Balinese beds, it is true that during 2 days two of them were booked because another guest requested special service. However, if you had communicated your discomfort with that we would have explained it to him.

Once again, thank you for your comment as it is very valuable and helps us to further improve the facilities and standards of our hotels. Also, I would like to take this time to put myself at your disposal.

I sincerely hope that you allow us the opportunity to speak with you and thus rectify our supervision, please contact me.

Best wishes,

Kind Regards.

Natalia Bravo de Laguna
General Manager
THe Volcán Lanzarote*****

nataliabravodelaguna@hotelesthe.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Stayed at TH Volcan for one week at the beginning of April. Excellent hotel, good size room, big bed, bathroom with two sinks and plentiful supply of large bath towels ,shampoos etc and bathrobes. We ate breakfast in the hotel which was plentiful and varied. We ate out during the evening at restaurants in the Marina which were all good and some were excellent. For one evening, after a long day out visiting the Timanfaya National Park, we decided to order room service which was very good. The hotel is not ideal for children, more of a couples, young and mature, hotel. I think our own grandchildren would have been a bit bored but would probably have chosen a different hotel if planning a three generation family holiday. For us, it was perfect. All staff were friendly and helpful particularly those on the reception desk where we were given good advice on places to visit durng our stay. Would recommend this hotel for a week to relax and chill out.

Date of stay: April 2019
2  Thank Carol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Director General at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Carol D,

Thank you so much for sharing your holiday experiences and feedback with us. We are delight of knowing that you had an relaxing holidays.

We appreciated indeed as well that you consider to come back to our The Volcan Lanzarote ***** again, that is our best reward.

We are at your disposal and we will come up your expectations again on your next visit

Kind Regards.

Natalia Bravo de Laguna
General Manager
THe Volcán Lanzarote*****

nataliabravodelaguna@hotelesthe.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We stayed B&B basis April 2019. Welcome drink provided upon arrival which was lovely. Our room was not quite ready so our luggage was tagged and we had a walk around. Concierge took all of our cases in the staff lift to the room. Our room was perfectly clean and the bed is the biggest and most comfortable I have ever slept in. We made requests from the pillow menu and a couple of more requests and within no time everything was provided. Breakfast is to die for. There is everything anyone could want. Staff are lovely and polite and will make egg dishes how you like them. Very professional staff in the restaurant. Rooms are cleaned every day and the ladies are very friendly who came to our room. We loved the huge double sunbeds and they are provided with white sheets which we put our towels on. There are also huge comfy chairs available. The restaurant beside the sunbed lounge area was lovely too. Around the other areas there are buttons to press if you need anything. There is also a little round café area which provides hot and cold drinks and icecreams and snacks. We booked a room looking out on the sea and the marina and I could not fault it. There is a lovely sized balcony which makes it so pleasant to sit out with the beautiful views. We did not use the spa or have any treatments but we did have a nosey around. It looked perfectly adequate. The games room was getting ready for the summer time so we were the only people in there. There is plenty of entertainment on at various times and they seem to cater for children really well. The service we received was well above what I expected. Our favourite part of our stay has got to the breakfasts, we ate like royalty! Highly recommended.

Room tip: Definitely recommend booking a room with a sea view as you look over the marina which is beautiful
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Director General at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Mrs Lyn C,

Our best reward is your trust on our The Volcan Lanzarote ***** and you had an amazing holidays with us again.We would like to thank you ,first of all for your positive, kind and gently tripadvisor review.
By another hand, we appreciated your recommendations abour our Breakfast


We will be delighted to greet you personally on your next visit

Kind Regards.

Natalia Bravo de Laguna
General Manager
THe Volcán Lanzarote*****
nataliabravodelaguna@hotelesthe.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews