We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing, friendly, beautiful hotel in great setting.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Ranked #6 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing, friendly, beautiful hotel in great setting.”
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Staff- very friendly, courteous and hard working. Management were visible and accessible and eager to assist when required without being intrusive.
Hotel - large hotel without the feeling of being over-crowded. Some beautiful seating areas with fantastic views of marina. Gives impression of a Mediterranean village.
Room- Club Volcan. Large tastefully decorated room with built in wardrobes, large bathroom, huge bed, spacious seating area and small balcony over looking the Club pool area and Fuertaventura.
Food- half Board. Club Volcan private breakfast buffet which was never crowded or noisy. Less choice than in the main breakfast buffet in Restaurant Florida but more than sufficient for our needs. Dinner buffet had large variety of foods on offer including meat and fish of the day which was cooked while you waited and variety of pasta/ rice dishes. Club volcan free cakes and coffee 4pm-6pm and free bar 6-9pm. (Cookies cafe in Marina serves delicious crepes).
Pools- uncrowded, towels provided daily, clean, plenty of loungers. Club Volcan also has numerous Balinese beds which provided pleasant shade when required.
OVERALL IMPRESSION - beautiful hotel, good location, courteous staff made for a most relaxing and enjoyable, problem free holiday. Will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Upgrade to club volcan was definitely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 11AnjiM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Asisstan Manager / Subdirector at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Guest

We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your holidays in THe Hotel Volcán Lanzarote.

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this positive review.

We look forward to see you soon here again.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,790 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,111
    1,173
    383
    85
    38
See reviews for
867
2,355
82
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,094)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed July 18, 2014

This was my first experience in a five star hotel, I stayed 7 days and everything was perfect, I loved our room that had a spectacular view on the marina, the staff was friendly and efficient and the food was a good quality and prepared with love.
The hotel roof is dedicated to the club members with a nice pool and ocean view, however the beach is not so far.
To visit the island I suggest to rent a car!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marta c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Assistant Manager / Subdirector at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Guest

We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your holidays in the Hotel and that your first five stars esperience was positive.
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2014

This hotel has received some harsh reviews recently which we think are unjustified. we stayed here 10 July 2014 and have just returned earlier hours this morning 18 July.

We felt we must balance some of the reviews with our comments on an excellent 7 days stay.

The hotel facilities and staff are excellent and we were received with a welcome cocktail and a speedy checkin with a detailed explanation and map of the hotel.

We stayed in room 509 with an excellent view of the main lagoon pool and two of the smaller pools. beautiful view of the Marina Rubicon from this room too. Our room was bigger than we had anticipated and perfect for us and our daughter but would also suit a family of 4. The balcony was also a good size.

The food was of good quality and a good selection in the buffet restaurant. Everything was very clean and hygiene was of high importance to the hotel. There was something for everyone. The only disadvantage of the buffet is that you have to serve yourself. The breakfast selection was superb, especially the waffles and scrambled egg with ham! With Thomas Cook, we were able to switch 2 of our dinners ( we were half board) to 2 other restaurants other than the buffet. So we switched to one night at Kazan, the Japanese restaurant in the hotel and IL Commidatorie at the Marina. Both restaurants were great but Kazan was fantastic. The food was truly delicious and you could watch it being cooked in front of you by a very clever and entertaining chef. We wore kimonos and the children were given a gift at the end of the evening. The evening was so lovely, we gave up one of our half board dinners and paid to return to Kazan for a 2nd evening. The restaurant was quiet on both eves and we can't understand why - it was a highlight of our holiday, especially for our daughter who was amazed by the egg being thrown in the air and then being converted to an omelette in seconds in front of her and then added to noodles!

The pools are lovely and although a bit chilly, it was a great way to cool off.

We had a truly, lovely and relaxing holiday. One thing for the hotel to consider would be to have a bit more planned entertainment for adults and children - daytime and in the evening.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a sea view room if you have the option
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jusak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Assitant Manager / subdirector at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Guest

We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your holidays in the Hotel.
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this positive review recommending us to other travelers and thank you for feeling "to balance other reviews"; we really appreciate this.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2014

I have just returned from Lanzarote, having chosen Hotel Volcan as our hotel for our holiday - we were not disappointed!

First impressions count and from the drop off we were impressed by the beautiful building and grand entrance. Whilst waiting in reception we were given a lovely refreshing drink and our bags were taken whilst we waited for our room to become available; we arrived 3 hours before check in but staff were friendly and let us roam the hotel at our leisure whilst we waited.

Once our room had become available we learned that we had been upgraded to club volcan - the adults only club - we were delighted and these extras made our holiday even more special! We were allocated room 658. The room was very clean with light, traditional decor. The room had a large bathroom, large wardrobes with a safe as well as TWO balconies, one overlooking the pool and one with a sea view! Rooms were cleaned daily to a good standard, with fresh towels and toiletries being replaced regularly. There was only one occasion when it was not cleaned until late afternoon. On the first evening we were invited to a cocktail by management and we also had a small selection of chocolates left in the room (they were soo delicious I wish they were left every day!!).

Having been upgraded this meant that we could enjoy the extras that are offered to Club Volcan guests, such as unlimited cakes, tea and coffee daily between 4pm-6pm and an open bar between 6pm and 9pm - which of course was fantastic! We also thought that the Club Volcan pool area was very well designed with sun loungers, a pool, swim up bar, beds overlooking the sea and hot tubs. We thought upon arrival that we would prefer the main pool but we spent most of our time in the club volcan exclusive area and we would definitely book this if we were to stay again! We also used the gym and spa facilities as well as attending one of the aquagym sessions - which was good fun!

We chose to stay half board. Breakfast included cakes, english breakfast, fresh fruit and cereals which was all that you need for breakfast! We did on some occasions go to the main dining hall for breakfast as we felt that it had more variety than the club volcan breakfasts. Dinner was the typical buffet dining with lots of salads, fish, pasta, meats and vegetables. Whilst the food was average, I would have expected more for the price to stay. I feel that if we would have stayed for more than the 7 nights we would have been really disappointed with the food as it lacked variety. One night was BBQ which was good, but for three nights the speciality dish was paella and we felt on these nights that if you didn't like fish, you didn't have much else to choose from. Whilst the staff were really friendly, they seemed really rushed off their feet and there were times when plates were not cleared after our return with the next course - the hotel really needs a few more waiting staff! The hotel had a Japanese and Italian restaurant which we would have loved to have visited one evening as opposed to eating at the buffet but this was only offered to Thomas Cook packages. However, even though we felt that the Japanese was quite expensive we probably would have dined in one evening if the hotel would have promoted it more.

In terms of the location of the hotel we really could not have wished for better! It sits right on the Marina Rubicon, which is absolutely beautiful and not really as expensive as you may think on first impressions. There is a supermarket within a few minutes walk as well as lots of bars and restaurants. It is about a 20 minute walk from the hotel to the other end of the resort and only a 10/12 minute walk to the nearest beach and with the canarian winds this makes it an enjoyable walk.

Overall, we had a really fantastic stay and we are glad that we took no notice of some of the poorer reviews when booking. We feel that Hotel Volcan is the second best hotel after Princesa Yaiza and we would be more than happy to return to the hotel, potentially on a B&B basis at Club volcan depending on whether the buffet dinners improved.

Thankyou for a fabulous holiday Hotel Volcan!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CSym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Assistant Manager / Subdirector at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Guest

We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your holidays in the Hotel.

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this long and positive review.

Nevertheless, we will take care about the comment about the buffet.
We sincerely hope to see you again soon and really appreciate your opinion.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire,UK
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Great location next to marina, and if you dont fancy the 20 min walk along the sea front to centre of playa Blanca, then a cab is 5 euros, so location is near perfect,
The welcome at the hotel and overall feeling, is a very welcoming and impressive and i have to say one of the best I have encountered.
Rooms are good size and have a fridge, great for that sneaky bottle if vino and beer, rooms clean and have all the little extras,
Breakfast is good and plenty for everyone, however, get in early to enjoy a relaxing and quite time to wakeup.
Pools are great, a little cold at first, but that just means you get a pool that is never crowded,
We only dinned out as plenty of choices and good prices now exchange rate is better, The Tapas bar in the Marina, worth a try while you get your bearings,
Bars in hotel lack any atmosphere but good for a nightcap.
if you are in to sun bathing by the pool, the rule is place towels on the chairs only after 9am to avoid hunting arround for chair later,

Room Tip: Lower floors are good and over look the pool, higher up rooms have a good view of harbour, either...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Astra29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Assistant Manager / Subdirector at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Guest

We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your holidays in the Hotel.
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review.
Nevertheless, we will take into consideration your comments about the pool.

We hope to see you again soon at THe Hotel Volcán Lanzarote.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

We stayed at the Volcan w/c 7/7/14 until 14/7/14 we had a lovely time first impressions count and on arrival we were served with a cool refreshing drink, the staff took our luggage and off we went to our room. Our room was spotlessly clean and had everything you needed from toothbrushes to shower gel and your own dressing gowns and slippers!!!! The staff at the Hotel were fantastic, the service from the kitchen staff to waiters/waitresses and the maids that cleaned our room everyday were fantastic. We originally booked just B&B as you never know what the food will be like! We changed to half board as the food at Breakfast was so good with plenty to choose from we decided to try the evening meal which was just as good as breakfast. We are very picky eaters but the quality and large choice of food to choose from was superb. My two children really enjoyed the food also. We did eat out but found that almost everywhere we ate other people would smoke just as our food came so at least in the Hotel Restaurant no one was allowed to smoke. We will definitely visit the Volcan again and would book half board; We all slept very well as our room had air conditioning. We had 5* luxury and look forward to visiting again hopefully sooner rather than later. Jo and family.

Room Tip: We had a Garden View room which was fantastic; would love to of stayed in a larger room Junior Suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Assistant Manager / Subdirector at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Guest

We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your holidays in the Hotel.

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this positive review recommending us to other travelers.

We hope you visit us "sooner rather than later" again.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chelmsford, england
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2014

This is a lovely hotel in the best part of Playa Blanca down by the Marina Rubicon. We looked at a number of options and felt this was the best location in the resort and were not disappointed. There is very little to criticise about this hotel, the service is excellent, the hotel is spotlessly clean and the breakfast was excellent every day. The pools are fantastic ( but too cold in winter, as were the bar areas which were too cold to sit in at night without a jumper!) and our room was large and beautifully appointed with a nice view of the bay despite being ground floor. The hotel architecture and decor is very original with great use of the local volcanic rock in keeping the Volcan theme. The bars and restaurants of the Marina are a very short walk and the main beach is a pleasant 10 minute walk. We were also able to use the Club Volcan area which is excellent with lovely views of Fuerteventura. On the downside the spa area could do with some attention and the gym was a bit poor for a hotel of this standard. On the whole excellent hotel in a great location.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkandBJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Assitant Manager / Subdirector at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for your nice review about your stay at THe Volcán Lanzarote.
We are very happy to hear that you spent a great time and look forward to see you soon again.
Nevertheless, we will take into account everything you mention in the feedback to try to improve our product and service.
Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Blanca
0.8 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
7.3 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
4,806 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
0.8 mi away
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
#8 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,678 reviews
22.1 mi away
Melia Salinas - Adults recommended
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote

Property: Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Address: C/ El Castillo 1, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote 5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote is placed in the South of Lanzarote, the island of the volcanoes. This is a five-star-resort that is distinguished by its excellence and its privileged location. With the yachting port Marina Rubicón at its feet and facing the sea, you will find this spectacular hotel designed as a typical village of Lanzarote. At it you will admire the distinctive architecture of the island. But you will also discover true replicas of emblematic places of the island like the church of Nuestra Señora de Guadalupe in Teguise at its entrance, or La Geria at its solarium. Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote disposes of 255 rooms, five pools, four restaurants, three bars, conference rooms, a spa center and a gym. In addition, in Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote you can enjoy a new exclusivity concept at its Club Volcán, an area only for adults. Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote features 255 rooms that are distributed over twenty typical houses and give magnificent views of Lanzarote, Fuerteventura and Lobos Island. Designed taking care of every detail and where the sea blue colour stands up, we put at your disposal three room categories: the comfortable Double Room (Garden View, Sea View, Pool View), the elegant Junior Suite (Garden View, Pool View) and the outstanding Suite (Garden View, Sea View, Pool View). Following a new concept of luxury and privacy, we dispose of 48 rooms that form the Club Volcán, exclusively for adults. In the categories Double, Junior Suite and Suite, every room enjoys spectacular sea views. Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote puts at your disposal a wide range of entertainment, sports, leisure and relaxing offers, providing an exquisite treat and service. Moreover, from the hotel you can directly access Marina Rubicón, which disposes of an ample shopping and leisure area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Playa Blanca
Sol Melia Playa Blanca
Gran Melia Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing