We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go to the club”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Ranked #6 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Just arrived back from what was a great holiday at the volcan .
when we arrived we were upgraded to a suit room 502 plus halfboard as the club volcan was not open fully this was a nice surprise.
we have to say that the evening buffet was quiet good we never went away hungry.
The club area of the hotel was wonderful no rushing for sunbeds ,peaceful (no kids)
The afternoon tea was very nice as was the free bar with many branded products
What made this holiday so good were the staff all that we met were friendly and helpful
But if you can go for the CLUB it is worth the extra

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank rhinos252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Director General at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Dear Guest:
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a positive review about your stay in the Hotel Volcán Lanzarote.
It was a pleasure to meet you and we look forward to see you again soon. Thank you very much for recommending the hotel and the Club to other travelers.
Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,866)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,632 - 1,638 of 3,866 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2014

Just had a week at the Hotel Volcan and it was fabulous. The entrance hall is just incredible and the staff are about as friendly, polite and attentive as you can get. Our room over looking the lake pool was fantastic, far enough away from the general hubbub and also close to the marina exit which was very useful. Breakfast was very nice though I look back with a tinge of regret that I didn't have any of the cava on offer, there was certainly enough choice to start the day well.

The pools were all warm enough for me, though the lake pool needed a bit of a clean to get some of the leaves and debris out of it.

The hotel is well located next to a very nice marina with plenty of restaurants and bars to choose from, but also 15 minutes from the main section of playa blanca which is much busier and also has a great beach at playa dorada.

We had two young children with us, 1yo and 4 yo and we felt that it possibly wasn't the best environment for the 1yo. The hotel couldn't have done any more to make us feel welcome but it just seemed like it more of a hotel for slightly older children.

Would definitely stay there again though.

Room Tip: 116 had a view of the restaurant, lake pool and good access to the marina exit. Handy if you have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Hamishthehighlandcow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Director General at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Dear Guest:

We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your holidays in the Hotel.
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this positive review recommending us to other travelers. As the most of the children that we receive are older that two/three years, our infantile animation program is more focus to this age. Nevertheless, we will keep in mind your comments.
We look forward to see you soon again in the Hotel Volcán Lanzarote.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014

We stayed during school whit holidays this year. We have already booked to return next year. My parents came with us and we all agreed that this was the best hotel we have ever stayed in. The staff are brilliant and can't do enough for you. The food is fantastic especially the breakfast. The bar prices are reasonable compared to the marina. The location is great for a little walk in the evening around the marina. The pools are clean and we really had them to ourselves. The kids club staff are brilliant. My 8 year old loved it. The rooms are spacious and cleaned every day. We stayed in room 208 and parents in 417. The views were fantastic. Worth the little extra. Looking forward to next visit.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TracyLacy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Director General at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a positive review about your stay in the Hotel Volcán Lanzarote.

It was a pleasure to meet you and we look forward to see you and your family again the next coming year.

Thank you very much for recommending us to other travelers.

Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

When we arrived in Lanzarote, we were pleasantly surprised with a private transfer to our hotel. Whilst checking in, we were given a welcome drink. We stayed room 113 which is classed as a standard garden room. It overlooks the main pool and the restaurant too. The rooms are very spacious. My bed was really hard, I asked if they had a mattress topper and within ten minutes they had put one on my bed. That's service for you!! All the staff are very friendly and helpful. The management invites you to a cocktail evening on a Friday which we thought was a nice touch and Jesus the director came up and spoke to us. I was disappointed the main pool was closed, he did explain and said it would be open the following Wednesday. That was a week after we had arrived and only then had 4 more nights left. However there are other pools available. The main pool was not cleaned like the others were. There is plenty of choice at meal times and were of good quality. Holidaymakers were queuing the wrong way to get there meals, we found they would choose their vegetables then wait for their meat to be cooked, we pointed this out to Jesus The location of the hotel is excellent there is a gate straight on to the marina. If you go half board with Thomas Cook you can eat out twice in the Marina. We tried Casa Brigida which was excellent, we had prawn avocado for starters, fillet steak for main and cheese cake for dessert, the staff were very pleasant and also presentation of the food was excellent. For our second visit we went to Il commendatore we were extremely disappointed and this was the worst place we have eaten. My starters had cornflakes on it with a salad, the lasagne was tasteless and my husband calzone pizza only was cheese and tomato. We wished we had gone to the Casa Brigida or stayed in the hotel. There is no need to reserve sunbeds as there are plenty of them, you feel like you have the hotel to yourself, very spacious. We liked the idea of the buzzer that you could get a drink and snacks brought to your sun lounger. The hotel needs to improve its entertainment on a evening which isnt 5 Star. We also went to the bar Vino Blanco on the marina which was reasonably priced and had entertainment . If the marina is too quiet, it is about 15 to 20 mimutes walk into Playa Blanca where you will find more bars and restaurants. You will pass the Playa Dorada beach which is a lovely beach. If you go off the main beach road and go up a side street you will come to main town where there are more shops. Even though the hotel pool was closed we had a fantastic holiday and felt totally relaxed, we did try to book the spa but unfortunately it was fully booked so that must be good. We would definitely stay at this hotel in the future and would recommend to our friends.

Room Tip: Room 113 overlooks the main pool and restaurant. the balcony is covered which didn't bother us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Amanda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your stay in the Hotel.

It was a pleasure to meet you, and to read that you will return in the future.

Thank you very much for recommending us to other travellers.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

We went in early December for a week. It is a nice hotel, beautiful entrance. Breakfast was really nice. Had dinner in the main restaurant 2 nights and it was nice.
Our room was right beside the restaurant and was very noisy outside. There are steps beside the room and every time someone goes up or down them it's really loud. It's like they are in your room. On our first night at 5am the noise was ridiculous, it went on for over 2 hours. I complained in the morning and the Dutch guy at reception said some French people had checked out at around that time so it must have been them!! I think it was because it was near the delivery entrance and that was the noise, aswell as the staff coming into work and people running up and down the stairs. I asked at reception could we change rooms and he said the hotel was full, and that was that! I asked him was it going to be full all week and he said Yes. If definitely wasn't full.
Bought earplugs and didn't hear a thing after that. Also the pay movie channel didn't work in the room and he said it was a problem with the signal in that room!! It wouldn't have been a problem if the weather was good but it had rained for most of the week. And his blasé attitude annoyed me anyway.
The location was great and the hotel has lots of pools but it was too cold to use them. Lovely restaurants in the Marina and in Playa Blanca which was a nice 20 minute walk with bars and restaurants along the way. I would definitely go back but would get a different room.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PamDub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Director General at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your stay in the Hotel Volcan Lanzarote. We are really sorry for the noise you had the first night and on the other hand happy that you could finally sleep well during your stay. We have sometimes late check – in and this is something that could be annoying for our guest; but this is something infrequently.
We are also sorry for the inconveniences you had with the pay movie system.
We look forward to see you again at our hotel; for sure the next time you will have good weather and opportunity to use our pools.
Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Volcan and have just returned home. We cannot rate the hotel high enough, customer service second to none, great food, perfect position and great views. We stayed in a Club Volcan room and it was well worth the extra money. Felt very special.

Room Tip: Get a seaview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2014

Dear Guest

We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your holidays in the Hotel.

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review recommending us to other travellers.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Great general resort area, but hotel facilities, hotel restaurants (which were all closed in June/ July!!) entertainment and staff were generally very disappointing. We, luckily, had a great room ,although many other rooms appeared to be in the depths underground with no view or reasonable outlook. Our room looked over the main pool, which was also out of use for our entire stay..... Can appreciate that necessary repairs have to be made but a general lack of any urgency in any respect was not what you would expect from a five star hotel . Further pool facilities were as a result inadequate and very cold. Cannot imagine how this hotel might cope when at full capacity, probably only at one third of its potential during our visit. Nevertheless a great holiday which was more to do with the surrounding marina area of the resort than the hotel itself.
Jean H

Room Tip: Ask for a room not underground and with plenty of light!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Jean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Director General at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your stay in the Hotel Volcan Lanzarote.
We truly apologize that you were not satisfied with our entertainment program, neither our staff but, happy to see that your were satisfied with the room you was staying in. We have different room types and locations, some of them with sea views and other looking to the pools and / or the sea.
We indeed had a problem with our main pool during some days and tried to compensate our guest by offering other values during their stay – free entrance into the Spa.
As you write that you had great holidays, we really look forward to welcome you again once to have another opportunity to meet your expectations.
Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Blanca
0.8 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
0.6 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
7.3 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
5,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
0.8 mi away
H10 Sentido White Suites
H10 Sentido White Suites
#8 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,787 reviews
1.0 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#14 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote

Address: C/ El Castillo 1, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range: $143 - $366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote 5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote is placed in the South of Lanzarote, the island of the volcanoes. This is a five-star-resort that is distinguished by its excellence and its privileged location. With the yachting port Marina Rubicón at its feet and facing the sea, you will find this spectacular hotel designed as a typical village of Lanzarote. At it you will admire the distinctive architecture of the island. But you will also discover true replicas of emblematic places of the island like the church of Nuestra Señora de Guadalupe in Teguise at its entrance, or La Geria at its solarium. Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote disposes of 255 rooms, five pools, four restaurants, three bars, conference rooms, a spa center and a gym. In addition, in Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote you can enjoy a new exclusivity concept at its Club Volcán, an area only for adults. Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote features 255 rooms that are distributed over twenty typical houses and give magnificent views of Lanzarote, Fuerteventura and Lobos Island. Designed taking care of every detail and where the sea blue colour stands up, we put at your disposal three room categories: the comfortable Double Room (Garden View, Sea View, Pool View), the elegant Junior Suite (Garden View, Pool View) and the outstanding Suite (Garden View, Sea View, Pool View). Following a new concept of luxury and privacy, we dispose of 48 rooms that form the Club Volcán, exclusively for adults. In the categories Double, Junior Suite and Suite, every room enjoys spectacular sea views. Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote puts at your disposal a wide range of entertainment, sports, leisure and relaxing offers, providing an exquisite treat and service. Moreover, from the hotel you can directly access Marina Rubicón, which disposes of an ample shopping and leisure area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Playa Blanca
Sol Melia Playa Blanca
Gran Melia Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing