We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Ranked #6 of 37 Hotels in Playa Blanca
Certificate of Excellence
Hordle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic time”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Volcan and have just returned home. We cannot rate the hotel high enough, customer service second to none, great food, perfect position and great views. We stayed in a Club Volcan room and it was well worth the extra money. Felt very special.

Room Tip: Get a seaview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Guest

We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your holidays in the Hotel.

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review recommending us to other travellers.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,761 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,095
    1,162
    381
    85
    38
See reviews for
855
2,340
82
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,093)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Great general resort area, but hotel facilities, hotel restaurants (which were all closed in June/ July!!) entertainment and staff were generally very disappointing. We, luckily, had a great room ,although many other rooms appeared to be in the depths underground with no view or reasonable outlook. Our room looked over the main pool, which was also out of use for our entire stay..... Can appreciate that necessary repairs have to be made but a general lack of any urgency in any respect was not what you would expect from a five star hotel . Further pool facilities were as a result inadequate and very cold. Cannot imagine how this hotel might cope when at full capacity, probably only at one third of its potential during our visit. Nevertheless a great holiday which was more to do with the surrounding marina area of the resort than the hotel itself.
Jean H

Room Tip: Ask for a room not underground and with plenty of light!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Director General at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your stay in the Hotel Volcan Lanzarote.
We truly apologize that you were not satisfied with our entertainment program, neither our staff but, happy to see that your were satisfied with the room you was staying in. We have different room types and locations, some of them with sea views and other looking to the pools and / or the sea.
We indeed had a problem with our main pool during some days and tried to compensate our guest by offering other values during their stay – free entrance into the Spa.
As you write that you had great holidays, we really look forward to welcome you again once to have another opportunity to meet your expectations.
Yours sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melton Mowbray, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We stayed at this hotel on the basis of a 5 start rating and expected something pretty decent, however we were pretty disappointed. It is a big hotel with a lot of rooms but how on earth it got such a rating is beyond me. The room we had was described as a 'garden room' but the view was not that. We stayed several nights and never had the sheets changed, the used glasses were never replaced with clean ones and the bathroom decor was tired. The towels were certainly not good quality as one would expect as they were thin and rough textured.
Breakfast is reasonable with plenty of it but fairly repetitive. Never ate in the restaurant as there was plenty of other choices a short stroll away.
Saw dirty glasses etc left in the seating area from the night before a couple of times.
Overall, not a hotel deserving of a 5 star rating.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Director General at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your stay in the Hotel Volcan Lanzarote.
We apologize that you were not satisfied with your stay. As we are a big hotel, we have different rooms type and views. We are sorry that your were disappointed with your “garden room”.
We have taken note of your comments with regards to the issues that you did not like about the Hotel services.

I have personally distributed a copy of your review to all the members of our management staff, in order to take the necessary corrective actions with regards to the issues pointed in your review.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Lovely relaxing holiday. Spacious bedrooms, excellent buffet breakfast, very friendly helpful staff. Grounds very spacious never felt you were surrounded by people. Would definitely recommend to friends

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for recommending the Hotel to other travellers.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Beautiful grounds and stunning views. although felt there was not alot to do for our 3 year old daughter unless we wanted to put her into the kids club which she was against. All round great hotel with good food and friendly staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Guest

It has been our pleasure to read that you enjouyed your stay in THe Volcán Lanzarote.

We hope to have you back in the Hotel during your future holiday break.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We very much enjoyed our stay in late June. The room was spacious, great shower facilities etc and we liked the extra personal touches in the room too. The view from the balcony was lovely, looking out towards the bay / marina, watching the sun setting. There was plenty of sunbeds/pools to choose from in the hotel and it didn’t feel overly busy – with a very relaxed feel throughout our stay. Breakfasts were excellent with plenty of choice for adults and kids. Also our son enjoyed the kids club activities and the mini disco - only very minor gripe maybe put the mini disco on earlier like 6.30-7pm rather than 8.30pm.Staff on reception were really helpful too, we are arrived a couple of hours early before check-in time and they managed to get our room ready. Also helped with booking out bike hire and sorting out transfers back to the airport. So all in all very good – we hope to return again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, General Manager at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for sharing your opinion with other travellers.

We hope to see you again during your next holidays.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

We have just returned from our stay at the Hotel Volcan between June 29th - July 5th. After reviewing the reviews here we still went ahead and booked the hotel hoping that the reviews were over rated and exaggerated. So on arrival we were greeted with cocktails which were very refreshing. We were given the details of the hotel and restaurants etc. and also details about the adult pool being closed for maintenance and the Chinese restaurant being closed for holidays and assured that all areas would be open in a few days.
We closely checked out the room on arrival. Yes it wasn't completely 5 star modern but it was going with the theme of the hotel. The bathroom & toilet area were all clean. Towels bed sheets curtains were clean. The bed sheets could do with a revamp - had some stains on the bed base sheet. The two single beds pushed together to make a double, were dressed separately on arrival, so when we asked reception to dress the bed as appropriate for a double bed this was done no problem. Air con was perfect keeping the room cool day and night. We stayed in room 554.
The breakfast (7-10am) was excellent, plenty of choice and yes if you come down early you seat your self but if you leave it till 9am the management will seat you as it's very busy at this time. Tea was self service which we liked as you could make your own teapot as you like it. The 'egg' chef Rolando was very friendly, one of the most friendliest of all the staff & cooked what you wanted to your choice.
The evening buffet was very reasonably priced for the selection, but could definitely do with a better variety - buffet was quite limited, so only ate there one night. We went to the other local restaurants in the Rubicon Marina just a few minutes from hotel - all were reasonably priced and much better food compared to down at Playa Blanca. In particular, the Marina restaurant 'Cafe Del Mar' was very very good and 'La Casa Roja' was fine.
It was only the main pool that was closed on arrival but opened after a few days. There was 4 other pools to jump around in including the heated pool which was too warm for the really hot days. Spa was not open until 10am each day, so be sure to change your pool/lounger towels the evening before.
The pool side bars were all open and yes they could have done with a few extra staff members but by the end of the week it seemed they had sorted this out (quite possible staff were on hols while maintenance being carried out).
The food and drink were good and fresh at the different pool bars. Some lunch items on the menus (Pizza's) were not available.
We had a look in at the 5* L hotel Princesa Yaiza, and pool area was packed like sardines no room to move. Not our cup of tea thanks no matter what the price.
The location was quite good - away from the busy strip. The kids facilities and club were well looked after. Hotel didn't feel packed, which was great. Grounds were very nice. Supermarket only 5 minute walk away. Overall a pleasant stay, food reasonably priced, would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Coupleonfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelVolcanLanzarote, Director General at Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for taking the time to write about the hotel and your stay.
We are really happy to read that you spend a great time in Hotel Volcán Lanzarote and that you are very satisfied with the services and facilities.
Nevertheless, we will take care about the comment of the limitation of the buffet.
We sincerely hope to see you again soon and really appreciate your opinion.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Blanca
0.8 mi away
Princesa Yaiza Suite Hotel Resort
7.3 mi away
Hesperia Lanzarote
Hesperia Lanzarote
#2 of 4 in Puerto Calero
4,725 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gran Castillo Tagoro Family & Fun Playa Blanca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
SENTIDO H10 White Suites
#8 of 37 in Playa Blanca
2,636 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Hesperia Lanzarote Playa Dorada
1.0 mi away
H10 Lanzarote Princess
H10 Lanzarote Princess
#13 of 37 in Playa Blanca
5,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote

Property: Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote
Address: C/ El Castillo 1, 35580 Playa Blanca, Lanzarote, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Lanzarote > Playa Blanca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Playa Blanca
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Luxury Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Family Hotel in Playa Blanca
#5 Romantic Hotel in Playa Blanca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote 5*
Number of rooms: 251
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote is placed in the South of Lanzarote, the island of the volcanoes. This is a five-star-resort that is distinguished by its excellence and its privileged location. With the yachting port Marina Rubicón at its feet and facing the sea, you will find this spectacular hotel designed as a typical village of Lanzarote. At it you will admire the distinctive architecture of the island. But you will also discover true replicas of emblematic places of the island like the church of Nuestra Señora de Guadalupe in Teguise at its entrance, or La Geria at its solarium. Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote disposes of 255 rooms, five pools, four restaurants, three bars, conference rooms, a spa center and a gym. In addition, in Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote you can enjoy a new exclusivity concept at its Club Volcán, an area only for adults. Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote features 255 rooms that are distributed over twenty typical houses and give magnificent views of Lanzarote, Fuerteventura and Lobos Island. Designed taking care of every detail and where the sea blue colour stands up, we put at your disposal three room categories: the comfortable Double Room (Garden View, Sea View, Pool View), the elegant Junior Suite (Garden View, Pool View) and the outstanding Suite (Garden View, Sea View, Pool View). Following a new concept of luxury and privacy, we dispose of 48 rooms that form the Club Volcán, exclusively for adults. In the categories Double, Junior Suite and Suite, every room enjoys spectacular sea views. Hotel THe Volcán Lanzarote puts at your disposal a wide range of entertainment, sports, leisure and relaxing offers, providing an exquisite treat and service. Moreover, from the hotel you can directly access Marina Rubicón, which disposes of an ample shopping and leisure area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Melia Playa Blanca
Sol Melia Playa Blanca
Gran Melia Volcan Lanzarote
Hotel THe Volcan Lanzarote Playa Blanca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing